Coding assessment software sends developers a timed test or a live pair-coding session and scores what they build.
This guide ranks twelve products on setup effort, the bill once candidate volume and add-ons are counted, whether you can stop and keep your results, and whether a small company can buy without a partner.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What coding assessment software does
Coding assessment software runs programming tests and live coding interviews for developer candidates, scores the code, flags plagiarism and returns ranked reports to hiring teams.
We ranked the 12 coding assessment tools on setup effort first, then total cost, then data export, then exit, then fit for the buyer. The ranking then gives places 1 to 3 to challengers outside the best-known brands, if the category has such vendors, and the incumbents follow. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
No prices on the homepage; trial by sign-up form and consultation booking
—
Teams hiring framework developers who want realistic project tasks marked automatically
Buyers who need visible prices before contacting a vendor
We list the country the vendor operates from or contracts through. That is not the same as the hosting region, and any difference is spelled out in the entry.
Coding and skills tests sold in prepaid candidate packs, no subscription
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Coding Assessment Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
TestDome turns a hiring round into a purchase of invites. A pack lasts until used, so a team that hires in bursts is not paying for idle months, and the invite refund after six days limits waste on no-shows.
Interviews with video, chat and a shared code editor sit in the same balance. Where it falls short is predictability at scale: the cost grows with every candidate, and large contracts move to sales.
What stands out
Pay per candidate
Packs never expire
Live interviews
Where it costs you
A pack is a prepaid balance, so a large intake means buying several packs rather than paying one flat fee.
The home page says 100+ skills but does not describe how coding tasks are built or scored.
Right for
Small teams that screen a few dozen developers a year and dislike subscriptions
Wrong for
Companies pushing hundreds of candidates through screening every month
CroatiaPublished prepaid candidate packs, no subscription; packs do not expire; 14-day trial
Credit-based tests and chatbot screening, billed yearly from a solo plan upward
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Coding Assessment Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
Adaface prices through credits: a test is set up once at five or ten credits, and each invite then costs one, returned if the candidate never starts.
The site advertises 500+ ready tests and a conversational chatbot format, with coding tests for 35+ languages and 20+ frameworks. Weak points are rigidity: yearly billing, a one-year credit life, and a jump from a 1,000-credit plan to a 5,000-credit tier.
What stands out
Annual credits
Chatbot screening
500+ ready tests
Where it costs you
Unused credits vanish at the one-year mark.
The pricing page lists annual plans only, with no monthly billing.
Right for
Staffing firms and mid-size teams that can forecast a year of screening
Wrong for
Teams wanting to pay month by month and stop
SingaporePublished annual plans by credits, from an individual plan to unlimited staffing use; 14-day trial
Take-home and live assessments with a flat yearly plan or pay-as-you-go
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Coding Assessment Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Coderbyte covers screening, graded take-home assessments, live collaborative interviews and personality tests, so one vendor can handle developers and non-developers. The Pro yearly plan removes per-candidate counting, which helps teams with seasonal peaks.
What changes the real price is the add-on list: the single-sign-on, branding, proctoring and personality modules each carry their own fee, and a bundle of all of them has its own yearly price.
What stands out
Flat yearly
Pay as you go
Paid add-ons
Where it costs you
On Pro, SSO and SCIM, branding, proctoring analytics and personality testing are bought as separate yearly add-ons.
The monthly plan includes only 20 invites, then each extra invite costs more.
Right for
Teams wanting an unlimited-candidate yearly price with the option to start small
Wrong for
Buyers needing SSO and proctoring without add-on fees
United StatesPublished prices: yearly plan, monthly plan, pay-as-you-go invites and Enterprise; paid add-ons; trial
Monthly credit plans with the option to cancel from account settings
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Coding Assessment Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
HackerEarth keeps entry simple: Growth gives one admin, 10 monthly credits, FaceCode live interviews and a 5K+ question library, and Scale adds unlimited admins, 25 credits, ATS and calendar integrations and a 20K+ library.
Charges apply only to attempted tests, so unanswered invites cost nothing. The ceiling is the feature ladder: single sign-on, API access and the 25K+ library wait behind a sales conversation.
What stands out
Monthly credits
FaceCode interviews
Cancel online
Where it costs you
Amounts already charged are non-refundable after cancellation.
API access and SSO sit under Enterprise, which is quoted.
Right for
Growing teams that want monthly billing and a clear step-up path
Wrong for
Teams needing SSO or API access below Enterprise level
United StatesMonthly subscriptions at two published levels with a yearly toggle; Enterprise by quote; cancel in settings
Screening, assessment and live-coding products with interview-count plans
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Coding Assessment Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
CoderPad groups Qualify (video screening), Screen (coding assessments) and Interview (live pair coding with code playback). Prices step by interview count and question-library size, with unlimited users on each plan, so adding interviewers costs nothing.
A monthly option exists for Starter and Team at a higher rate. The strain shows after a quota is used: overage per test, and an automatic renewal onto the same plan when an annual quota runs out.
What stands out
Interview-count plans
Overage per test
Live coding
Where it costs you
Every extra test or interview beyond the plan quota is billed individually.
Annual billing is a single upfront charge for twelve months.
Right for
Engineering teams that interview often and want unlimited interviewer accounts
Wrong for
Teams hiring in short bursts that dislike upfront yearly charges
United StatesThree published monthly levels with a yearly discount; Enterprise by quote; trial needs no card
Browser coding interviews on plans counted in interviews per month
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Coding Assessment Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
CodeInterview concentrates on the interview itself: a collaborative IDE, video calling, whiteboard, code playback and templates across 40+ languages and frameworks.
The standing plan with two sessions each month lets a team try it indefinitely, and the 14-day trial needs no card. The page does not state where the company is based. Anyone who needs a candidate-facing test library should look at Adaface or HackerEarth instead.
What stands out
Interview-only
No minimum term
40+ languages
Where it costs you
API, SAML single sign-on and ATS integration are Enterprise-only features.
Extra interviews beyond the monthly quota cost a fixed amount each.
Right for
Small teams that run live interviews and want to leave without penalty
Wrong for
Buyers who need automated take-home tests at volume
Not stated by the vendorFree plan with two interviews a month; paid tiers by monthly interviews; Enterprise quoted; 14-day trial
Skills platform selling candidate credits across assessments and interviews
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Coding Assessment Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
CodeSignal sells a credit that covers three kinds of candidate event: an assessment, an AI interview or a live interview. The Build plan includes a 2,000-question library, and Grow raises the pool to 420 credits a year.
Because a credit is consumed the moment a candidate starts, abandoned screens still cost money. The platform also sells courses and education plans, which a hiring-only buyer will not use.
What stands out
Credit per candidate
AI interviews
Live interviews
Where it costs you
The pricing page lists no trial for the Hire plans.
Monthly billing gives far fewer credits than annual billing.
Right for
Mid-size engineering teams screening a few hundred candidates a year
Wrong for
Early-stage teams wanting a trial before they commit
United StatesTwo Hire levels with published monthly rates, cheaper yearly; Pro by quote; extra credits on demand
AI interviews and skill assessments sold by monthly credit tiers
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Coding Assessment Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
WeCP starts at a zero-cost tier of five credits a month and moves to 10 credits with one seat, then 40 credits. Add-ons include question creation with WeCP AI, English and culture tests and a Vibe Coder assessment.
One credit is used each time a candidate starts a test. The costs to watch are the extras: seats on the Screen tier and additional credits, each listed at differing rates on the same page.
What stands out
Monthly credits
AI interviews
Seat add-ons
Where it costs you
Two different per-credit prices for extra credits appear on the pricing page.
The entry paid tier includes a single seat; more seats cost extra.
Right for
Teams trying AI-led first-round screening on a small monthly allowance
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a single clear company identity and price
United StatesFree tier of five credits monthly; paid tiers by credits and seats; extra credits per unit; Enterprise quoted
Coding tests and live interviews with invites sold by year or month
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Coding Assessment Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Codility lets teams buy online by card for engineering screening and interviews, with an AI assistant, plagiarism detection and proctoring snapshots included. The task library grows with the plan, and the full 1,300+ tasks arrive at higher volumes.
Limits are the invite ceiling of 1,400 a year online, five platform users, and a pricing page that hides amounts for the larger monthly steps. Enterprise unlocks SSO and every integration.
What stands out
Invite volumes
AI assistant in tests
Proctoring
Where it costs you
Only the 25-invite monthly step shows a price; the 50 and 100 steps do not.
Online plans allow one standard ATS integration and five platform users.
Right for
Hiring teams of moderate volume that want card payment and an AI-in-test option
Wrong for
Large organisations that need SSO or Workday links cheaply
United KingdomOnline rates by invite volume, annual cheaper; Enterprise by quote; trial offered
Skills test library on a credit plan with an ongoing free tier
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Coding Assessment Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
TestGorilla treats coding as one part of a general skills library. The free plan includes five essential skills tests used without limit, plus limited access to 180+ others, and paid plans add the full 350+ library.
Yearly payment saves 25 per cent. Where it strains is specialist depth: the pricing page says nothing about live coding interviews, and job simulations and integrations sit on the Plus plan.
What stands out
Free plan
350+ tests
Per account
Where it costs you
The pricing page does not name programming languages in the 350+ library.
ATS and API integrations and AI interviews start on the higher paid plan.
Right for
Teams screening many role types who want a no-cost starting point
Wrong for
Engineering-only teams that need a deep coding library
NetherlandsFree plan with monthly credits; paid plans per account or per seat, published; yearly billing cheaper
Screening and interviewing with plans counted in yearly candidate attempts
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Coding Assessment Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
HackerRank splits its work into Screen, Interview, Engage and SkillUp, with plagiarism detection and certified assessments among the listed features. Its self-serve entry is a yearly attempts allowance with unlimited users, which suits a stable hiring plan.
The shortfall is transparency and elasticity: amounts were not readable on the pricing page, and ATS links start at Pro. Compare it against TestDome or HackerEarth if you want sums visible up front.
What stands out
Attempt-based
Plagiarism detection
Enterprise tier
Where it costs you
Attempts are capped per year on Starter and Pro.
ATS integrations are listed with Pro and above in the FAQ.
Right for
Teams that want a widely used platform and can plan yearly attempt volume
Wrong for
Buyers who need published amounts before talking to sales
United StatesStarter, Pro and Enterprise plans counted in yearly attempts; trial link; amounts not seen on the page
Framework-based coding projects scored by unit tests inside a web IDE
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Coding Assessment Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Qualified runs assessments as real projects: a web IDE with integrated test frameworks, prebuilt or custom tasks, and automatic scoring from unit tests. Free demo assessments exist per language and framework, and tasks can be embedded in your own content.
Code review tools add playback and similarity checks. The trade-off is opacity: no prices are shown on the homepage, and the page ties the product to Andela only through a testimonial.
What stands out
Unit-test scoring
Framework projects
Embeddable
Where it costs you
The homepage lists no prices, so budgeting needs a conversation.
Pricing page text could not be retrieved for confirmation.
Right for
Teams hiring framework developers who want realistic project tasks marked automatically
Wrong for
Buyers who need visible prices before contacting a vendor
United StatesNo prices on the homepage; trial by sign-up form and consultation booking
Coding assessment software runs programming tests and live coding interviews for developer candidates, scores the code, flags plagiarism and returns ranked reports to hiring teams. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
The split is 9 published against 3 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with TestDome, Adaface, Coderbyte, HackerEarth, CoderPad, CodeInterview, CodeSignal, WeCP, TestGorilla.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Check the vendor's home market (North America 7, Europe 3, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.
How coding assessment software charges: invite, attempt or credit
The unit of billing decides your real cost more than the headline price. TestDome sells prepaid candidate packs that never expire, Adaface sells credits that lapse a year after purchase, and CodeSignal spends a credit the moment a candidate starts. HackerRank counts yearly attempts, CoderPad counts interviews, and Codility counts invites.
Abandoned screens are the hidden variable: some vendors refund them, others do not. Before comparing, convert each quote into a cost per candidate who actually finishes, using last year's drop-off rate. A team that sends 400 invites and sees 100 abandoned pays for 400 on some schedules and for 300 on others, which moves the effective rate by a third. Ask each vendor in writing how an unstarted invite is treated.
Ask whether a no-show or unfinished test is refunded to your balance.
Convert every plan to cost per finished candidate.
Check whether credits or attempts expire at year end.
Take-home screens or live sessions in coding assessment software
Products split by what they do best. Adaface and TestGorilla lean on automated tests that candidates complete alone, while CodeInterview, CoderPad Interview and HackerEarth FaceCode centre on a shared editor with the interviewer present. TestDome and Coderbyte offer both. Automated screens save engineer hours in the first ninety days but invite copying, so look at the plagiarism and proctoring features each vendor names.
Live sessions test how a person explains a decision, though every session consumes an interviewer's time. Decide which stage fails in your funnel today and buy for that stage first. A product that does both, such as TestDome, is useful only if its second half matches how you actually interview, so test that half separately during the trial rather than assuming it is equal.
Identify the funnel stage where you lose the most engineer hours.
Confirm which plan includes proctoring or plagiarism checks.
Run one real role through the trial before signing.
Annual lock-in across coding assessment software vendors
Terms differ more than features. Adaface lists annual plans only, and CoderPad's Frontier Lite is yearly only, with annual plans charged as a single upfront payment. HackerEarth bills monthly and cancels from account settings, CodeInterview has no minimum term and a 30-day refund, and Coderbyte offers a pay-as-you-go pack valid for 365 days.
A hiring freeze turns an annual plan into shelfware, so match the term to your hiring certainty. Check also what happens when you exceed the quota: CoderPad renews you onto the same plan, and CodeSignal sells extra credits on demand. Neither is a trap, but both are decisions made for you at the moment the quota runs out, so read the renewal paragraph before the feature list.
Compare minimum term, refund window and renewal behaviour.
Ask what overage costs per extra test or interview.
Estimate a hiring freeze and see what remains unused.
Integrations and access controls behind the higher tiers
A small buyer meets gating on the second week of use. Coderbyte sells SSO and SCIM, branding and proctoring as separate yearly add-ons. HackerEarth places ATS integrations on Scale and single sign-on on Enterprise. CodeInterview limits API, SAML and ATS links to Enterprise. Codility gives one standard ATS link on online plans and every integration, including Workday and SAP, on Enterprise.
TestGorilla puts ATS and API access on Plus. If your recruiters live in an applicant tracking system, price the plan that includes your connector, not the entry plan on the front page. The gap between the two is often larger than the gap between competing vendors, and it appears only once the recruiting team starts asking for their normal tools.
List the ATS, SSO and API needs before reading plan tables.
Price the cheapest plan that includes each need.
Ask whether proctoring is bundled or an add-on.
What goes wrong most often when buying coding assessment software
Buying on the entry price without checking whether credits or invites expire.
Choosing an interview-only product when the actual bottleneck is first-round screening.
Skipping the ATS connector check until after the contract is signed.
Treating an AI-assisted assessment as cheat-proof instead of reading the proctoring and plagiarism detail.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best coding assessment software in 2026?
TestDome takes first place among the 12 we reviewed. TestDome Ltd, registered in Zagreb, charges per invited candidate: five invites at the top rate, up to 600 at the lowest, with every feature in every pack.
Unused packs never lapse, and an invite is refunded when a candidate fails to finish within six days. The catch is volume: a heavy graduate intake keeps buying packs, and the site names skills but does not detail its coding-test format.
Which coding assessment tools publish their pricing?
9 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
TestDome: Published prepaid candidate packs, no subscription; packs do not expire; 14-day trial.
Adaface: Published annual plans by credits, from an individual plan to unlimited staffing use; 14-day trial.
Coderbyte: Published prices: yearly plan, monthly plan, pay-as-you-go invites and Enterprise; paid add-ons; trial.
HackerEarth: Monthly subscriptions at two published levels with a yearly toggle; Enterprise by quote; cancel in settings.
CoderPad: Three published monthly levels with a yearly discount; Enterprise by quote; trial needs no card.
CodeInterview: Free plan with two interviews a month; paid tiers by monthly interviews; Enterprise quoted; 14-day trial.
CodeSignal: Two Hire levels with published monthly rates, cheaper yearly; Pro by quote; extra credits on demand.
WeCP: Free tier of five credits monthly; paid tiers by credits and seats; extra credits per unit; Enterprise quoted.
TestGorilla: Free plan with monthly credits; paid plans per account or per seat, published; yearly billing cheaper.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free coding assessment tool?
CodeInterview, WeCP, TestGorilla can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these coding assessment software vendors established?
Across 6 countries (North America 7, Europe 3, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1):
TestDome: Croatia.
Adaface: Singapore.
Coderbyte: United States.
HackerEarth: United States.
CoderPad: United States.
CodeInterview: Not stated by the vendor.
CodeSignal: United States.
WeCP: United States.
Codility: United Kingdom.
TestGorilla: Netherlands.
HackerRank: United States.
Qualified.io: United States.
What should you use instead of TestDome?
Second is Adaface, which suits Staffing firms and mid-size teams that can forecast a year of screening. Third is Coderbyte, which suits teams wanting an unlimited-candidate yearly price with the option to start small.
Who should not buy TestDome?
Companies pushing hundreds of candidates through screening every month. A pack is a prepaid balance, so a large intake means buying several packs rather than paying one flat fee..
We rank 12 coding assessment software products on this page. If we missed one, its maker can write to us about its purpose and customers. We pick what gets added; the terms of a listing are set out under software advice.