Customer engagement platforms send push, email, in-app and SMS messages to app and web users, triggered by their behaviour, and the price depends on how each vendor counts users.
This guide ranks twelve platforms on first-ninety-day effort, the invoice after add-ons, exit terms, independence from a sales process, and the buyer each one suits.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What customer engagement platforms do
A customer engagement platform sends behaviour-triggered push, email, in-app and SMS messages to app and web users, and orchestrates journeys, audiences and reporting across those channels.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each customer engagement platform is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Personalisation suite with a stated yearly entry floor
—
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
One per-user price with every feature on every plan
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Customer Engagement Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Pushwoosh answers the real-price question more plainly than most: three prices per 1,000 users, a $0 band up to 1,000 users, and a statement that every capability is on every plan.
Email is bundled at 20 sends per user per month, extra sends cost per 1,000, and push and in-app are unlimited. The catch is the meter itself, because any messaged user counts, even without an app install.
What stands out
Per-user pricing
No feature tiers
US and Germany data centres
Where it costs you
The meter counts every user messaged on any channel, so email-only contacts raise the bill
No country of establishment appears on the site or terms we read
Right for
App and web teams wanting one usage price with full features from day one
Wrong for
Buyers who need a stated company address or a country of establishment
Not stated by the vendorPer 1,000 monthly active users, published; free up to 1,000 users
Workflow-based messaging with published tiers and a US or EU data centre
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Customer Engagement Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Customer.io has a short ladder: Essentials from a published monthly rate, Premium billed yearly with custom profile and email volumes, and a quoted Enterprise tier.
Data export, SSO, US or EU data centres and the visual workflow builder are already in Essentials, so leaving is cheaper than on tiers that gate them. A startup programme gives a year free to companies that raised under $10M, which matters for the first ninety days.
What stands out
Published tiers
US and EU data centres
Startup programme
Where it costs you
Warehouse destinations, managed deliverability and chat support need Premium
Premium is billed yearly and its floor is ten times the Essentials monthly rate
Right for
Product and growth teams sending data-triggered email, push and in-app messages
Wrong for
Teams wanting a free plan or a flat entry price above Essentials
United StatesEssentials tier published; Premium billed yearly; Enterprise quoted
Push-first messaging with an open plan and per-user metering
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Customer Engagement Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
OneSignal gives the cheapest way in: a free plan with all channels, then Growth from a published monthly rate. Email, mobile push and web push are metered separately, per send, per active user and per subscriber, so a mixed programme needs the cost calculator rather than one headline price.
Plan limits are the real gate: journeys, segments, data tags and reporting history all grow with the tier, and Professional is sold by contact.
What stands out
Free plan
Per-user push
Self-service signup
Where it costs you
Free caps journeys at 3 and reporting history at 30 days
Advanced experiments and permission management need Professional, priced on contact
Right for
Small app and web teams starting push with no budget and a self-service signup
Wrong for
Teams that need long reporting history or many journeys without negotiating
United StatesFree plan; Growth from a published monthly rate; Professional and Enterprise quoted
Paris CRM platform with mobile SDK roots and warehouse links
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Customer Engagement Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Batch comes from a mobile-CRM background, founded in 2015, and the site still leads with its SDK. Email, SMS, in-app, mobile push and web push sit in one editor, and Snowflake and BigQuery connectors let data stay in your warehouse.
The buying route is a demo, and the legal notice names IMEDIAPP SA in Paris as owner, which settles the contracting party but not the price.
What stands out
Demo-led
Paris company
Warehouse connectors
Where it costs you
No price and no trial appear on the site, so budgeting starts with a sales call
Its pitch and client lists target CRM teams in retail, media, finance and luxury
Right for
European CRM teams in retail or finance wanting a Paris vendor and warehouse links
Wrong for
Small teams wanting to sign up and test without talking to sales
Three tiers with a published entry price and 30-day trial
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Customer Engagement Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
CleverTap is one of few vendors here that print an entry price and offer a 30-day trial before billing starts.
The Core price scales with monthly active users and excludes taxes and add-ons, and the add-on list is long: channels, geofencing, exports and security features such as PII encryption. Core and Pro keep three years of data, Ultimate ten. Price the add-ons you need before the trial ends.
What stands out
Three tiers
Add-on modules
30-day trial
Where it costs you
WhatsApp Direct, geofencing and warehouse exports are add-ons on top of the entry price
Pro and Ultimate have no published price and ten-year retention is Ultimate only
Right for
Growing app companies wanting a priced entry tier and a month to try it
Wrong for
Teams needing a fixed total cost across channels and exports
United StatesCore tier published by monthly active users with 30-day trial; Pro and Ultimate by demo
Ecommerce CRM with a small free plan and a plan builder
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Customer Engagement Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Klaviyo treats an email list as an extension of the store rather than a separate database, so browse history, order value and product affinity are available in segmentation without a connector.
For a store doing meaningful revenue that produces flows the general-purpose tools cannot match, and the reporting attributes revenue per message. Away from ecommerce the value collapses: you are paying a premium per contact for a data model you are not using.
What stands out
Free plan
Ecommerce focus
Email and SMS
Where it costs you
Expensive for a list that is not attached to a store
Setup assumes ecommerce data you may not have
Right for
A Shopify or WooCommerce store that wants revenue per email
Wrong for
A B2B newsletter with no product catalogue behind it
United StatesFree plan for up to 250 profiles; paid plans configured in a plan builder
App-first engagement platform sold as Growth and Enterprise plans
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Customer Engagement Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
MoEngage sells two plans, Growth and Enterprise, both metered by monthly tracked users, and the plans page compares features without showing a figure.
Its own security text lists separate data centres for the EU, North America and India, which is a concrete answer for residence questions. The 16-plus channels are an advantage only if you use them; a push-only team pays for breadth it does not need.
What stands out
Per tracked user
Quote-based
Regional data centres
Where it costs you
The plans page shows no prices, only a route to a demo
Metering by tracked users can rise with monitored but inactive users
Right for
App-first brands with users in several regions needing regional data centres
Wrong for
Teams that must compare list prices before speaking to a vendor
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; metered by monthly tracked users
Mobile-first journeys with wallet passes and a results guarantee
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Customer Engagement Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Airship splits its offer into the Experience Platform, quoted, and Essentials, self-service and no-code, yet shows a price for neither. The distinctive channel is mobile wallet, next to push, SMS, RCS, MMS, email and web notifications, and the company is a Delaware corporation.
Its main claim is a results guarantee. Ask in writing what result, over what period and with what remedy, because the pricing page does not say.
What stands out
Quote-based
Mobile wallet
No-code builder
Where it costs you
Neither the platform nor Essentials shows a price on the pricing page
The results guarantee is advertised without terms on the page
Right for
Mobile brands in retail, travel or media using wallet passes alongside push
Wrong for
Teams wanting a published price before any sales conversation
United StatesQuoted per organisation; Essentials tier self-service, price not shown
Cross-channel campaigns and journeys sold only after a demo
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Customer Engagement Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Iterable focuses on campaigns, journeys, audiences, catalog data and AI decisioning for consumer brands, with industry pages for fintech, marketplaces, retail and media. Its privacy notice names Iterable, Inc.
in San Francisco as the entity providing the service. What the site omits is any figure: the pricing path ends on a demo request, so cost, onboarding hours and exit terms all have to be obtained in writing.
What stands out
Demo-led
Journeys
Catalog data
Where it costs you
The pricing address redirects to the homepage, so no price is visible
We found no self-service signup or trial on the site
Right for
Consumer app and fintech teams ready to run a vendor-led evaluation
Wrong for
Small teams that want to test the product before contacting sales
United StatesRequest a demo; no prices on the site
Six-product marketing suite from Mumbai, sold only through a demo
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Customer Engagement Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
WebEngage sells six products on one customer record, from a customer data layer and analytics to segmentation, campaigns, automation and on-site personalisation. Its AI layer is a set of agents the site calls Atlas.
The legal centre offers a master subscription agreement for India and another for DMCC, which tells a buyer where the contracting entity sits. No price, trial or export clause is shown anywhere, so request all three in writing.
What stands out
Demo-led
Mumbai headquarters
Fifteen channels
Where it costs you
The pricing address returns an error page and the only route is a demo request
Customer agreements are published as separate India and DMCC versions, so check which entity contracts with you
Right for
Brands in India and the Gulf wanting data, analytics and campaigns on one record
Wrong for
Teams wanting a published price or a self-service trial before talking
Four editions metered by monthly active users, sold by quote
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Customer Engagement Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Braze separates its four editions by governance and AI, not by channel: email, push, SMS, WhatsApp, in-app messages and content cards are listed for every tier.
Pricing scales with monthly active users, and the pricing page offers a trial and a quote, no amounts. Expect the first quote to cover the edition with the AI you want, then ask how the active-user count is measured and when tracking starts.
What stands out
Four editions
Quote-based
Cross-channel
Where it costs you
Pricing is by request only, metered by monthly active users
Predictive AI starts at Pro and agent tooling at Enterprise, which pushes teams up the editions
Right for
Large consumer brands running orchestrated journeys across many messaging channels
Wrong for
Small teams wanting published prices or a free entry
United StatesQuoted per organisation by monthly active users; trial offered
Personalisation suite with a stated yearly entry floor
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Customer Engagement Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Bloomreach states an entry point of $60K a year for smaller brands and says most of them also serve 500K or more monthly visitors. It names who it is not for: low-volume programmes and buyers wanting a no-cost tool.
The current site sells Email and Marketing Automation as Loomi apps, so confirm which product the quote covers before comparing it with a stand-alone engagement tool.
What stands out
Quote-based
Ecommerce focus
Entry floor
United StatesRequest pricing; entry level stated on the site
A customer engagement platform sends behaviour-triggered push, email, in-app and SMS messages to app and web users, and orchestrates journeys, audiences and reporting across those channels. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
5 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 7 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Pushwoosh, Customer.io, OneSignal, CleverTap, Klaviyo.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 4 countries across 4 regions (North America 8, Elsewhere 2, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Monthly active users, profiles or tracked users: three meters
These platforms charge for different things, so the same audience costs different amounts. Pushwoosh counts monthly active users and includes any user who receives a message, even by email alone. Customer.io sells by profiles, with 5,000 in Essentials. MoEngage meters monthly tracked users, and Braze meters monthly active users under quotes.
OneSignal splits the meter by channel: per active user for mobile push, per subscriber for web push and per send for email. A list of dormant contacts therefore costs nothing on one platform and a lot on another. Ask each vendor to define the count in writing and to say when a user stops counting, then price your real audience, not the one on the sales slide.
Ask how a user becomes billable and when they stop counting.
Price the active audience and the dormant list separately.
Check whether email-only contacts count towards the same meter as app users.
Self-service signup against demo-only buying
The market splits on who controls the first step. OneSignal, Pushwoosh and Customer.io let a team sign up and send a first message without a call, and Klaviyo and OneSignal publish a free plan. CleverTap offers a 30-day trial on Core before billing begins.
Iterable, Batch and WebEngage show a demo button and no price, and Bloomreach Engagement states that smaller brands start around 60K dollars a year. The cost of a demo-led process is not only the invoice, it is the weeks before anyone can test import, consent and sending. Decide whether your team needs to see delivery working on its own domain and data before it signs, and rank vendors accordingly.
Count the days from signup to a first sent message at each vendor.
Ask whether a sandbox or trial uses your real data model.
Check whether a stated entry floor fits your yearly budget.
Editions, add-ons and the feature that decides the price
Three pricing designs appear. Pushwoosh states that all features are on every plan. Braze keeps its channel set in every edition and moves predictive AI to Pro and agent tooling to Enterprise. CleverTap keeps three tiers and lists WhatsApp Direct, geofencing, PII encryption and several exports as add-ons.
Customer.io moves warehouse destinations, managed deliverability and chat support from Essentials to Premium. OneSignal raises journey, segment and reporting limits with each plan. The entry price is therefore the lowest number you will see on any invoice. Write down the five features you need in year one and ask each vendor which edition or add-on carries them, and what it costs at your volume and term.
List your must-have features and map each to a plan or add-on.
Ask which limits, such as journeys or reporting history, rise by tier.
Request the add-on price list with the first quote.
Leaving: exports, retention and where the data sits
Engagement platforms hold the event history and consent records that a replacement needs. Customer.io lists data export in its Essentials tier and offers US and EU data centres, while warehouse destinations start on Premium. CleverTap keeps three years of data on Core and Pro and ten on Ultimate, and sells several export routes as add-ons.
Pushwoosh states data centres in the US and Germany, and MoEngage names regions for the EU, North America and India. None of these pages states what a full export contains on exit. Ask for the export format, the cost, how long data stays after cancellation and which region your data will sit in before the contract is signed.
Ask which export formats and destinations are included in your tier.
Confirm in writing how long data is kept after cancellation.
Check the data centre region against your own residence rules.
What goes wrong most often when buying customer engagement platforms
Comparing entry prices without defining the audience meter, so one vendor counts every contact and another only active users.
Choosing a demo-led vendor for a small team, then spending the first month waiting for a trial environment.
Assuming WhatsApp and SMS are included, when carrier and Meta charges are billed separately by several vendors.
Buying the cheapest edition, then finding that the AI or export feature needed in year one sits in a higher tier or an add-on.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What are the best customer engagement platforms in 2026?
Pushwoosh leads our ranking of 12. Pushwoosh sells one meter, monthly active users, in omnichannel, push-only and email-only variants, and states that no feature sits behind an enterprise tier.
Signup and prices are open, and usage up to 1,000 users costs nothing. The meter counts any user messaged on any channel, so a large dormant list stays cheap only while you leave it unmailed. WhatsApp and SMS fees from carriers and Meta are billed on top.
Which customer engagement platforms publish their pricing?
5 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Pushwoosh: Per 1,000 monthly active users, published; free up to 1,000 users.
OneSignal: Free plan; Growth from a published monthly rate; Professional and Enterprise quoted.
CleverTap: Core tier published by monthly active users with 30-day trial; Pro and Ultimate by demo.
Klaviyo: Free plan for up to 250 profiles; paid plans configured in a plan builder.
The other 7 quote per organisation.
Is there a free customer engagement platform?
OneSignal, Klaviyo offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these customer engagement platform vendors established?
In 4 countries across 4 regions: North America 8, Elsewhere 2, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1.
Pushwoosh: Not stated by the vendor.
Customer.io: United States.
OneSignal: United States.
Batch: France.
CleverTap: United States.
Klaviyo: United States.
MoEngage: Not stated by the vendor.
Airship: United States.
Iterable: United States.
WebEngage: India.
Braze: United States.
Bloomreach Engagement: United States.
What should you use instead of Pushwoosh?
Customer.io and OneSignal are the next two on this page. Customer.io is for Product and growth teams sending data-triggered email, push and in-app messages; OneSignal is for small app and web teams starting push with no budget and a self-service signup.
Who should not buy Pushwoosh?
Buyers who need a stated company address or a country of establishment. The meter counts every user messaged on any channel, so email-only contacts raise the bill.
If your customer engagement platforms product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.