Animation software covers hand-drawn film tools, bone-rigged cut-out programs, interactive runtimes and template-based explainer makers, and they are bought in very different ways.
This guide ranks twelve products on what the first ninety days cost, what the licence or subscription becomes at a working size, how files leave, and whether you can run without a partner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What animation software does
Animation software lets you draw, rig and sequence moving images, from frame-by-frame cartoons and cut-out characters to interactive graphics and templated explainer videos, exported for film, web or apps.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each animation tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Subscription, single app or Creative Cloud bundle, published; free trial
—
Teams already inside Creative Cloud producing vector animation or HTML5 banners
Buyers who want to own a licence or avoid a large vendor
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Perpetual-licence 2D rigging and frame-by-frame animation for Windows and macOS
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Animation Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Moho costs the least time to start: a 30-day trial with all features except import and export, and files made there still open after you buy. The real price depends on edition.
Debut is the cheap tier but carries Smart Bone, mesh and ten-layer PSD limits, while Pro adds physics, Liquid Shapes and FBX export. Version 14 owners receive 14.x updates free, and upgrades from older versions are discounted. Budget for Pro if you rig characters.
What stands out
Perpetual licence
Bone rigging
Windows and macOS
Where it costs you
The 30-day trial cannot import external images or export animations
Debut limits Smart Bones, meshes and PSD import to ten layers
Right for
Solo animators and small studios wanting rigged cut-out characters on a one-time licence
Wrong for
Linux users, because only Windows and macOS builds are listed
Not stated by the vendorOne-time perpetual licence, published; 30-day trial
Bitmap frame-by-frame animation from a French company, bought once per version
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Animation Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
TVPaint answers the independence test well: one French company, one product, bought once per version. The Professional demo has no time limit and unlocks every feature, which lets you test drawing feel for as long as needed, though nothing saves.
Professional adds storyboarding tools, bitmap puppet rigging and a 2D camera over Standard. Upgrading from version 11 is priced separately, and studios are sent to a quote form, so plan for a conversation.
What stands out
Bitmap drawing
One-time purchase
Windows, macOS, Linux
Where it costs you
Prices appear only after choosing a country in the shop
The demo cannot save or export, so work done in it is lost
Right for
Hand-drawn animators who want paper-like bitmap drawing and a one-time licence
Wrong for
Teams wanting rigged puppets instead of frame-by-frame drawing work
FranceOne-time purchase per version, price set by country; demo without time limit
GPL vector tweening and bone-based cutout animation for three operating systems
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Animation Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Synfig is free and GPL v3, so setup costs only time. Its strength is vector tweening: set key positions and the in-between frames are calculated.
A bone system drives cutout animation with bitmap images, and parameters can be linked through expressions to build puppets. Exit is easy because the source is on GitHub, but nobody sells support, and a production depending on it relies on forums and documentation.
What stands out
Open source
Vector tweening
Windows, macOS, Linux
Where it costs you
The site names no company or country behind the project
Stated minimum systems date from 2012-era Linux and OS X 10.8
Right for
Hobbyists and schools wanting vector tweening and bones without any licence cost
Wrong for
Studios needing a vendor contract, paid support or a scanning pipeline
Not stated by the vendorFree to download; GPL v3 licence
Free production software adapted by Studio Ghibli, with source under BSD
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Animation Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
OpenToonz is free for commercial work and its source is under New BSD. Studio Ghibli used the original Toonz for ink, paint and compositing, and customised it, including the GTS scanning tool.
Both xsheet and timeline views exist, and a plug-in effects SDK lets others add effects. The question to ask is who supports you: Dwango releases it, but no support contract is described, so you depend on the community.
What stands out
Open source
Studio Ghibli origin
Scanning tools
Where it costs you
Some manuals and the scanning guide are in Japanese
No paid support or hosted service is listed
Right for
Studios digitising hand-drawn paper animation who want a free production tool
Wrong for
Teams wanting vendor-backed training and a support contract
Not stated by the vendorFree for commercial and non-commercial use; source under New BSD licence
Lightweight raster and vector hand-drawn animation for four operating systems
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Animation Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Pencil2D costs nothing to start and nothing to leave, since the licence is GPL v2 and the site states it is free to use even commercially. The interface is deliberately small and moves between raster and vector drawing.
That suits a first animation course or quick sketch tests. The limits are the ones the minimal design implies: the site advertises no rigging, no compositing and no vendor contract, so a production would outgrow it quickly.
What stands out
Open source
Hand-drawn
Windows, macOS, Linux
Where it costs you
The site lists no rigging, compositing or effects features
No company, support contract or country is named on the site
Right for
Students and hobbyists learning hand-drawn animation with a minimal interface
Wrong for
Studios needing rigging, effects or vendor support
Not stated by the vendorFree to download and use, including commercially; GPL licence
Montréal studio software in three subscription editions with a 14-day trial
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Animation Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Harmony is priced in three editions, and the edition matters more than the term. Essentials covers vector drawing and ink and paint, Advanced adds bitmap tools and 4K camera, and Premium adds Node View, deformers and master controllers.
Monthly, yearly and three-year terms differ in cost, and the shop lists student prices separately. The 14-day trial is short for a program of this depth. Stopping payment ends access.
What stands out
Subscription
Three editions
Production pipeline
Where it costs you
Only subscriptions are listed, with no perpetual licence
Node view and advanced rigging need the Premium edition
Right for
Professional studios and freelancers building cut-out rigs and traditional animation in one pipeline
Wrong for
Hobbyists who want to buy once and own the licence
CanadaSubscription in three editions, monthly, yearly or three-year, published; 14-day trial
Turns images and PSD layers into rigged puppets with lip-sync
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Animation Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Cartoon Animator is a short route from a drawing to a moving character: import an image, SVG or layered PSD, rig it, then drive the face with your expressions or audio.
The download page shows a 30-day trial and a full licence side by side, so the first ninety days cost little. The catch is platform, since only Windows 64-bit is listed, and a subscription version exists that requires internet while you work.
What stands out
Puppet animation
PSD and SVG import
30-day trial
Where it costs you
The installer page lists Windows 64-bit only
The subscription version needs a continuous internet connection
Right for
Creators making talking characters from images, PSD files or vector art quickly
Wrong for
Mac users and animators who draw every frame by hand
United StatesLicence with published price, subscription also offered; 30-day trial
Interactive animation editor that ships small runtime files to apps and games
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Animation Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Rive differs from drawing programs: you build animation and its logic in an editor and ship a small .riv file played by runtimes that are published under the MIT licence.
The free plan covers three collaborative files with a splash screen, Cadet removes it for up to three seats, and Voyager adds libraries for up to 25 seats. Above that comes an enterprise tier. It fits developers more than traditional animators.
What stands out
Interactive
Runtimes
Per seat
Where it costs you
Free exports play a Rive splash screen until you upgrade
The free plan allows three collaborative files and the paid tiers cap seats
Right for
Product teams shipping interactive animation inside apps, games and websites
Wrong for
Animators wanting frame-by-frame film or hand-drawn cartoon production
United StatesFree plan with splash screen; paid seats published per month
Free procedural 2D motion design for Mac and Windows, owned by Canva
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Animation Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Cavalry is free for individuals with no restrictions stated, which makes the first ninety days cheap. The catch is ownership: it now belongs to Canva, a Canva account is required, and previous Teams or Pro licences can be swapped for the free version.
Features such as rig control, duplicators, spreadsheet data import and Lottie export suit motion graphics. Organisations connect through Canva Enterprise or Education single sign-on.
What stands out
Free for individuals
Motion graphics
Canva-owned
Where it costs you
A Canva account is required to use it
Only Mac and Windows are supported
Right for
Motion designers wanting procedural 2D animation and data-driven sequences without a licence fee
Wrong for
Teams needing a vendor independent of Canva, or Linux support
Not stated by the vendorFree for individuals with a Canva account; enterprise through Canva sales
Template-based explainer videos with AI credits, sold by the month or year
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Animation Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Powtoon builds videos from templates, characters and stock media rather than from drawings. The free plan is enough to try it, but carries a watermark, 720p and three-minute limit.
Lite removes the watermark with five exports a month, Professional unlocks full content, and Advanced adds lip-sync, custom fonts and thirty minutes. AI credits are separate from the subscription, and extra credits can be purchased, so heavy AI use raises the real price.
What stands out
Explainer videos
AI credits
Watermark on free
Where it costs you
The free plan exports 720p video up to three minutes with a watermark
AI features draw on credits that renew with the plan
Right for
Marketing and training teams producing templated explainer videos without animation skills
Wrong for
Animators wanting to draw, rig or export frame-level work
United KingdomFree plan with watermark; paid plans published, billed yearly or monthly
Business video animation with published plans counted in monthly credits
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Animation Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Starter shows 10,000 credits per user per month and Professional 20,000, with the Professional tier adding team collaboration, Shutterstock assets and translation into ninety-five languages.
Prices are published, and the annual rate is far below the monthly one, so a trial month is expensive. Contracts run through GoAnimate, Inc., a Delaware corporation, with a San Mateo address in the privacy policy.
What stands out
Business video
Credits
Per user
Where it costs you
Agency and the top tiers are not available monthly
Credits are capped per user each month, at 10,000 on Starter
Right for
Corporate communicators who want branded animated explainers rather than live-action look
Wrong for
Individuals wanting cheap monthly access or cinematic realism
United StatesFour published plans, monthly or annual; free trial offered
Frame-by-frame and vector animation from Adobe, sold as a subscription
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Animation Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Adobe Animate is easy to start if you already pay for Creative Cloud: the single-app plan and the bundle are both published, and a trial is offered.
It covers frame-by-frame drawing, Flexi bone posing and export to HTML5 Canvas and WebGL, and the page highlights interactive banners. The exit test is weaker, since the access ends with the subscription, and the page does not list a perpetual option.
What stands out
Subscription
Vector animation
HTML5 Canvas export
Where it costs you
Subscription only: the product page lists no perpetual licence
The page does not state the length of the free trial
Right for
Teams already inside Creative Cloud producing vector animation or HTML5 banners
Wrong for
Buyers who want to own a licence or avoid a large vendor
United StatesSubscription, single app or Creative Cloud bundle, published; free trial
Animation software lets you draw, rig and sequence moving images, from frame-by-frame cartoons and cut-out characters to interactive graphics and templated explainer videos, exported for film, web or apps. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
11 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 1 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Moho, Synfig Studio, OpenToonz, Pencil2D, Toon Boom Harmony, Cartoon Animator, Rive, Cavalry, Powtoon, Vyond, Adobe Animate.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 5 countries across 3 regions (North America 5, Elsewhere 5, Europe 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
3 of these are open source: Synfig Studio, OpenToonz, Pencil2D. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Frame-by-frame, rigged or interactive: choose the method before the product
Animation programs solve different problems, and a feature list hides that. TVPaint is built around bitmap frame-by-frame drawing with paper-like brushes. Moho and Synfig Studio rig characters with bones so one drawing can move many times. Toon Boom Harmony covers both traditional and cut-out work, but its rigging depth depends on the edition.
Rive builds interactive animation with logic that app runtimes play back, and Powtoon assembles videos from templates. Buying a frame-by-frame tool for rigged production, or a runtime tool for film, wastes the first quarter. Decide how many drawings per second of film you can afford, then shortlist two tools for each method and test the same short scene in both.
Animate the same ten-second scene in two tools before buying.
List whether your output is a film file, a web file or an app asset.
Ask which edition contains the rigging or camera features you need.
Perpetual, subscription or free: how animation software is paid for
This market splits cleanly on the licence. Moho and TVPaint are sold as one-time purchases, with discounted upgrades for owners of earlier versions. Toon Boom Harmony and Adobe Animate are subscriptions, so access ends when payment stops. Pencil2D, Synfig Studio and OpenToonz are free under open-source licences, and Cavalry is free for individuals with a Canva account.
Rive and Vyond charge per seat or per user. The cheapest first year is rarely the cheapest fifth year, so count the upgrade cycle: a perpetual tool may need a paid upgrade for new versions, while a subscription renews whether you use it or not. Ask what happens to your files when payment stops.
Price five years of use, including paid upgrades for perpetual licences.
Check which edition tier carries the features you need.
Ask whether the licence covers one machine or several.
Explainer-video makers are a different product: Powtoon and Vyond
Powtoon and Vyond appear in animation searches but sell something else: finished business videos assembled from templates, characters and stock assets, not drawing and rigging. Their cost is metered. Powtoon's free plan exports 720p up to three minutes with a watermark, and higher plans raise length and AI credits.
Vyond publishes four plans with monthly credit allowances, and its two top plans are annual billing only. That suits marketing and training teams without animators, and it fails for anyone wanting to draw their own characters or deliver frame-level work. Before comparing them with Moho or TVPaint, decide whether you need a drawing tool or a video assembly line, because the two groups answer different briefs.
Check the maximum video length on the plan you would really buy.
Count how many AI credits a typical video uses.
Ask whether stock assets are included or sold separately.
Trials, demos and the limits that hide in them
Animation trials restrict exactly the steps that test your pipeline. Moho's 30-day trial cannot import external images or export animations, and Cartoon Animator offers 30 days on the download page. TVPaint's demo has no time limit and unlocks Professional features, but nothing can be saved or exported. Toon Boom Harmony gives 14 days, and Rive's free plan exports with a splash screen until you pay.
Since a trial that cannot export proves little about delivery, plan a purchase decision around one real deliverable, not a feature tour. Also check where your project files can be opened afterwards: open-source tools such as Synfig Studio and OpenToonz publish their source, which helps long-lived archives.
Note what each trial disables before you start a test project.
Export one real file and open it in another program.
Confirm files made during the trial open after purchase.
What goes wrong most often when buying animation software
Comparing a rigging program with a frame-by-frame program on feature count instead of on the production method you actually use.
Buying the cheapest edition of Harmony or Moho and discovering that node view, deformers or full rigging sit in a higher one.
Treating a free tier or open-source tool as free of cost, when training time and missing support land on your team.
Judging a trial that cannot import or export, then being surprised by the pipeline after paying.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best animation software in 2026?
Moho leads our ranking of 12. Moho is sold by LOSTMARBLE LLC as two editions, Debut and Pro, each a one-time licence with the price on the buy page, and 14.x updates cost owners of version 14 nothing.
The 30-day trial cannot import files or export, so judge it on drawings made inside the program. Debut limits Smart Bones, meshes and PSD import to ten layers, which pushes rigged character work towards Pro.
Which animation tools publish their pricing?
11 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
OpenToonz: Free for commercial and non-commercial use; source under New BSD licence.
Pencil2D: Free to download and use, including commercially; GPL licence.
Toon Boom Harmony: Subscription in three editions, monthly, yearly or three-year, published; 14-day trial.
Cartoon Animator: Licence with published price, subscription also offered; 30-day trial.
Rive: Free plan with splash screen; paid seats published per month.
Cavalry: Free for individuals with a Canva account; enterprise through Canva sales.
Powtoon: Free plan with watermark; paid plans published, billed yearly or monthly.
Vyond: Four published plans, monthly or annual; free trial offered.
Adobe Animate: Subscription, single app or Creative Cloud bundle, published; free trial.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free animation tool?
Synfig Studio, OpenToonz, Pencil2D, Rive, Cavalry, Powtoon offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these animation software vendors established?
In 5 countries across 3 regions: North America 5, Elsewhere 5, Europe 2.
Moho: Not stated by the vendor.
TVPaint Animation: France.
Synfig Studio: Not stated by the vendor.
OpenToonz: Not stated by the vendor.
Pencil2D: Not stated by the vendor.
Toon Boom Harmony: Canada.
Cartoon Animator: United States.
Rive: United States.
Cavalry: Not stated by the vendor.
Powtoon: United Kingdom.
Vyond: United States.
Adobe Animate: United States.
Which animation tools are open source?
Synfig Studio, OpenToonz, Pencil2D.
What should you use instead of Moho?
TVPaint Animation and Synfig Studio are the next two on this page. TVPaint Animation is for Hand-drawn animators who want paper-like bitmap drawing and a one-time licence; Synfig Studio is for Hobbyists and schools wanting vector tweening and bones without any licence cost.
Who should not buy Moho?
Linux users, because only Windows and macOS builds are listed. The 30-day trial cannot import external images or export animations.
If your animation software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.