Desktop publishing software places text, images and graphics on pages for print or PDF, and the cheapest download is not always the cheapest finished brochure.
This guide ranks twelve products on first-ninety-day effort, the real price once extras are added, how files leave, and whether you can run it without a partner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What desktop publishing software does
Desktop publishing software arranges text, images and graphics into multi-page layouts such as brochures, magazines and books, and exports them as print-ready PDF files or digital formats such as EPUB.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each desktop publishing tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Companies sharing finished catalogues and magazines online as page-turning flipbooks
Anyone who needs to design or typeset the document itself
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Volunteer-built page layout program with CMYK, spot colour and PDF output
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Desktop Publishing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The first ninety days are the real cost: no fee, but hours spent learning a program whose help sits in a wiki, forums and a bug tracker. In return you get CMYK and spot colours, colour separations and PDF creation, with Arabic, Hebrew and Indic text supported.
Nothing renews, so the price at month thirty-six equals month one. The risk is people: when your one expert leaves, training the next one is your job.
What stands out
Open source
CMYK and spot colour
Community support
Where it costs you
Support comes from the community, not from a vendor you can hold to a response time
We found no paid support tier, so training and onboarding are yours to arrange
Right for
Print-literate users who want CMYK and PDF output without any licence fee
Wrong for
Teams that need a vendor contract, training or guaranteed support
Not stated by the vendorFree download; open source under the GPL
Mac-only layout app sold as a one-off licence with 500 templates
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Desktop Publishing Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
A single purchase covers the first ninety days: more than 500 templates, two-page spreads, master pages and linked text boxes are included. Real cost stays low, though the extras pack for clipart and fonts is sold separately.
Exit is plain export to PDF, EPS, TIFF, PNG or JPEG. Booklet printing uses page imposition, and labels print to many paper stocks and printers. Test one real print job with your printer first.
What stands out
Mac only
One-off licence
Print templates
Where it costs you
It runs on the Mac only, with a version for iPhone and iPad still announced
The product page names RGB and CMYK export but not spot colours or PDF/X
Right for
Mac users making brochures, labels and booklets for small print runs
Wrong for
Offices on Windows or print shops demanding PDF/X files
UkraineOne-off Mac licence, price published; trial offered
One free app combining vector, photo and page layout work
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Desktop Publishing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Affinity combines vector, pixel and layout work inside one .af file, and the vendor page says it is free for individuals on Mac and Windows. It imports PSD, AI, IDML and DWG files with layers kept.
The privacy policy names Serif (Europe) Limited of Nottingham as a Canva company, and Canva as the controller for version 3 and later. Organisations needing single sign-on are sent to Canva Enterprise or Education.
What stands out
Vector, pixel, layout
Mac and Windows
Imports IDML
Where it costs you
AI tools require a Canva premium plan, so the free offer is not the whole product.
The iPad version is listed as coming soon, so tablet users cannot rely on it yet.
Right for
Freelancers who want desktop vector, photo and layout tools without paying
Wrong for
Companies needing a vendor with no tie to Canva
United KingdomFree for individuals; organisation licences through Canva
Long-standing print layout program sold as subscription or perpetual licence
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Desktop Publishing Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
QuarkXPress gives a buyer a real choice: pay yearly and receive every upgrade, or pay once and add maintenance later. The perpetual licence includes the first year of maintenance and support, which then renews until cancelled.
A seven-day trial is short for a layout system, so plan the test job in advance. CopyDesk, the collaboration software, is a separate perpetual purchase. Windows 11, 10 and recent macOS are supported, which suits mixed offices.
What stands out
Perpetual option
Mac and Windows
Pantone libraries
Where it costs you
New feature releases need an active maintenance plan or subscription
The purchase page we fetched listed no prices, so budget comparison needs a quote
Right for
Print studios that want a perpetual licence and Pantone libraries included
Wrong for
Buyers who need public prices before they speak to anyone
United StatesAnnual subscription or perpetual licence with maintenance; 7-day trial
Book formatting tool paid once, running on Windows, Mac and Linux
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Desktop Publishing Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Atticus asks a single payment and states there are no monthly fees, which keeps the three-year cost flat. It runs on Windows, Mac, Linux and Chromebook, so a mixed household is covered.
Exports are EPUB, PDF and DOCX, and DOCX gives an exit path to a word processor. Features named include full bleed images, large print, footnotes and callout boxes. It is a book formatter, so free-form page design is not what it offers.
What stands out
One-time payment
Books
Cross-platform
Where it costs you
Trim sizes are not stated on the page we read
The site names no company entity, so contract and data terms need checking
Right for
Self-publishing authors wanting one payment and a tool that runs anywhere
Wrong for
Studios producing brochures, magazines, catalogues or other non-book layouts
Not stated by the vendorOne-time payment, price published
Mac book formatter with PDF/X-1a print files and EPUB output
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Desktop Publishing Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Vellum can be downloaded and tried on your own manuscript for as long as needed, and payment is required only to generate files. That makes the first ninety days nearly free. Real price depends on the edition: ebooks only, or ebooks plus paperbacks.
Print output offers 24 trim sizes, full-bleed pages and PDF/X-1a, and ebooks are validated EPUB. A refund is possible within 30 days. Layouts follow built-in book styles rather than free placement of objects.
What stands out
Mac only
PDF/X-1a
Books
Where it costs you
It runs on macOS 13 or newer only, so Windows users cannot use it
One licence is tied to an individual and cannot be shared with a colleague
Right for
Authors on a Mac who want print and ebook editions from one manuscript
Wrong for
Windows teams or anyone laying out non-book documents
Not stated by the vendorOne-off licence in two editions, published; trial download
Vector suite with multipage layout for Windows, Mac and web
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Desktop Publishing Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
CorelDRAW is a vector illustration program that includes page layout for brochures and multi-page documents, with a switch between single and multipage editing. Three buying routes exist: subscription, one-time purchase, or a licence plus annual maintenance.
The company says a perpetual licence gives no support for future operating systems or devices. A fifteen-day trial needs no credit card, which is generous for a suite this size. Web access is listed for subscribers only.
What stands out
Vector first
Windows and Mac
Perpetual option
Where it costs you
The one-time purchase excludes many features offered to subscribers and maintenance customers
The pricing page we fetched showed no amounts, so costs must be confirmed
Right for
Sign makers and designers needing illustration and layout in one Windows or Mac suite
Wrong for
Buyers whose main work is long books or magazines
CanadaSubscription, one-time purchase or maintenance plan; 15-day trial
Industry reference for magazines and books, billed as a subscription
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Desktop Publishing Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
InDesign is the format other studios send you, which is the real reason to buy it. The single-app plan is billed annually by the month, while Creative Cloud Pro bundles more than twenty apps at a higher regular rate after a promotional period.
A team plan is priced per licence. New in the current version are Flex Layout, a beta AI assistant and PDF-to-InDesign conversion. The page lists no operating systems, so check requirements before buying.
What stands out
Subscription only
Flex Layout
Teams plans
Where it costs you
The pricing page lists only subscription plans, so stopping payment ends access
The seven-day trial is short, and the promotional price later rises to the regular rate
Right for
Magazine, book and agency teams exchanging files with other InDesign users
Wrong for
One-off projects where a perpetual licence would cost less
United StatesPer month on an annual plan, published; 7-day trial
Brand templating platform, formerly Lucidpress, with locked templates
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Desktop Publishing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Marq was known as Lucidpress until its July 2022 rebrand, after an acquisition by Charles Thayne Capital. The Team plan covers two to twenty licences, with advanced template locking and unlimited data automations; Enterprise adds approval workflows, SSO and API access.
Trials last seven days. Exit is the open question: templates and brand assets live in the vendor's platform, so ask what an export contains before building two hundred templates.
What stands out
Formerly Lucidpress
Template locking
Per seat
Where it costs you
Every admin and every user needs a licence, which raises cost for many occasional editors
The free plan is limited to three projects and 2 GB of storage
Right for
Franchise, real estate and sales teams filling locked brand templates
Wrong for
Designers who need free layout, spot colour or prepress control
United StatesFree, Pro, Team and Enterprise plans; per-seat prices published for the first three
Browser design tool whose brochure and flyer templates export to PDF
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Desktop Publishing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Visme publishes four tiers: Basic at zero, Starter and Business priced per person with a yearly discount, and a custom Enterprise tier from ten users. Basic allows unlimited projects but a limited template and asset library and downloads as JPG, PNG and PDF.
Business adds PPTX, HTML5, video and GIF downloads, a brand kit and analytics. The company says it is headquartered in Rockville, Maryland, and the legal entity is Easy WebContent, LLC.
What stands out
Browser based
Per person
Templates
Where it costs you
Editable PowerPoint download only starts on the Business plan
The free plan restricts templates and design assets
Slides are one product among many, so the editor is broader than a deck needs
Right for
Marketing teams making decks, infographics and reports in one tool
Wrong for
People who only need a plain slide editor
United StatesFree Basic plan; per-person tiers published; Enterprise custom
Apple word processor with page layout templates for newsletters and posters
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Desktop Publishing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Pages costs nothing to start, and Apple states it remains free for everyone. A page layout document lets you place objects freely, link text boxes so text flows between them, and use mail merge. Books can be created in EPUB format and sent to Apple Books.
Pages for iCloud allows editing in a browser. The paid Creator Studio subscription adds premium templates, a media library and intelligence features. For professional print work, the missing colour documentation is the gap.
What stands out
Apple devices
Page layout mode
Free app
Where it costs you
The guide pages we read do not describe CMYK, bleed or PDF/X output
Premium templates and intelligence features need the paid Creator Studio subscription
Right for
Apple users producing newsletters, posters and short books for screen or office printers
Wrong for
Print shops needing prepress colour control or spot colours
United StatesFree app; optional Creator Studio subscription adds premium extras
Turns finished PDFs into page-flip flipbooks with a hosted viewer
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Desktop Publishing Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Publuu starts after the layout is finished. Upload a PDF and it returns a page-turn viewer with sharing, embedding and statistics. The first ninety days are cheap: a fourteen-day trial needs no card and the entry tier is a few dollars per month.
The real price rises with stored flipbooks, PDF size, custom domain and lead forms. The operator is MDN GROUP SC of Opole, Poland, and the terms address entrepreneurs only. Check the export of reader statistics.
What stands out
PDF to flipbook
Hosted viewer
Per month
Where it costs you
It cannot design pages: you must supply a finished PDF
Custom domain and logo are missing from the cheapest tier
Right for
Companies sharing finished catalogues and magazines online as page-turning flipbooks
Wrong for
Anyone who needs to design or typeset the document itself
Desktop publishing software arranges text, images and graphics into multi-page layouts such as brochures, magazines and books, and exports them as print-ready PDF files or digital formats such as EPUB. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
10 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 2 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Scribus, Swift Publisher, Affinity, Atticus, Vellum, Adobe InDesign, Marq, Visme, Pages, Publuu.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 6 countries across 3 regions (North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 3). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
1 of these are open source: Scribus. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Print-ready output: CMYK, bleed and PDF/X decide the first job
Desktop publishing differs from a design tool at the print shop, where colour model, bleed and PDF standard decide whether a file is accepted. Scribus lists CMYK, spot colours and colour separations. Swift Publisher lets you choose RGB or CMYK and set bleed on export, yet its page names neither spot colours nor PDF/X.
Vellum produces PDF/X-1a files for paperbacks, and Atticus exports PDF without naming a standard. Pages guides describe layout and EPUB but not print colour. Ask your printer for its preflight requirements before you pick a tool, then export a one-page test and send it. A tool that fails that test costs more than any licence, because the reprint is paid by you.
Get the printer's written file requirements: colour model, bleed, PDF standard.
Export a one-page test from each shortlisted tool and send it to the printer.
Check whether spot colours such as Pantone are supported or only simulated.
Subscription, perpetual licence or free: three-year cost in this market
Buying models split the market. Adobe InDesign is a subscription only, so the cost continues for as long as you publish. QuarkXPress sells a yearly subscription or a perpetual licence with one year of maintenance, after which new releases need a renewing plan. CorelDRAW adds a one-time purchase that excludes features offered to subscribers.
Vellum and Atticus charge once, and Affinity and Pages are free to individuals. Free carries its own limits: Affinity routes organisation licences and AI tools through Canva, and Pages is free while its premium templates need Creator Studio. Compare the three-year total including renewals, not the first invoice, and write down which features each cheaper tier leaves out.
Add three years of subscription, maintenance and upgrade fees for each option.
Ask what is lost if you stop paying: access, upgrades or support.
Check which features the cheaper or free tier leaves out.
Layout tool or template platform: Marq, Visme and Publuu do different jobs
Three products here do not ask you to place frames on a master page. Marq lets a brand team lock templates so staff change only approved fields, and it prices every admin and user licence. Visme works in the browser, with brochure and flyer templates that download as ready-to-print PDF, and a free Basic plan limited to 50 pages per project.
Publuu starts from a finished PDF and publishes a flipbook, billed in four monthly tiers. They suit marketing output and distribution well. They are the wrong choice for a book, a catalogue with hundreds of pages or any job needing prepress control, where a true layout program earns its learning time.
Decide whether you need free page design or controlled templates.
Count how many people need a licence, including occasional editors.
Confirm what you can export if you leave the platform.
Leaving a layout tool: what the file becomes
Layout files are the hardest to move, because styles, linked frames and master pages rarely survive a conversion. Affinity states it can bring in PSD, AI and IDML files with layers and structure preserved, which gives InDesign users a route out. InDesign itself converts a PDF into an InDesign document.
Swift Publisher exports to PDF, EPS, TIFF, PNG and JPEG, Atticus to EPUB, PDF and DOCX, and Publuu works from a PDF you keep. Scribus uses an open-source licence, so your files do not depend on a vendor staying in business. Keep the source document, the fonts and a PDF of every finished job, so a future switch never depends on one vendor.
Archive the native file, linked images and fonts together with each finished PDF.
Open a sample file in the alternative tool before committing to a switch.
Check what a template platform hands back when you cancel.
What goes wrong most often when buying desktop publishing software
Choosing by the first-year price and ignoring that a subscription never stops, while a perpetual licence needs paid maintenance for new releases.
Assuming a free tool outputs print-ready files, when its documentation may mention only screen or office printing.
Buying a flipbook service such as Publuu to design a document, when it only publishes a PDF you already have.
Skipping a test job at the print shop and discovering a colour or bleed problem on the final run.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best desktop publishing software in 2026?
Scribus leads our ranking of 12. Scribus carries no seat count, renewal or vendor, which settles the independence test: the code is released under the GNU General Public Licence, version 2 or later, and the project lists CMYK and spot colours, colour separations and PDF creation.
The cost is yours to carry. Help comes from the bug tracker, wiki, forums and mailing lists, so a studio must budget its own learning time.
Which desktop publishing tools publish their pricing?
10 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Scribus: Free download; open source under the GPL.
Swift Publisher: One-off Mac licence, price published; trial offered.
Affinity: Free for individuals; organisation licences through Canva.
Atticus: One-time payment, price published.
Vellum: One-off licence in two editions, published; trial download.
Adobe InDesign: Per month on an annual plan, published; 7-day trial.
Marq: Free, Pro, Team and Enterprise plans; per-seat prices published for the first three.
Pages: Free app; optional Creator Studio subscription adds premium extras.
Publuu: Four monthly tiers published; 14-day trial.
The other 2 quote per organisation.
Is there a free desktop publishing tool?
Scribus, Affinity, Marq, Visme, Pages offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these desktop publishing software vendors established?
In 6 countries across 3 regions: North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 3.
Scribus: Not stated by the vendor.
Swift Publisher: Ukraine.
Affinity: United Kingdom.
QuarkXPress: United States.
Atticus: Not stated by the vendor.
Vellum: Not stated by the vendor.
CorelDRAW: Canada.
Adobe InDesign: United States.
Marq: United States.
Visme: United States.
Pages: United States.
Publuu: Poland.
Which desktop publishing tools are open source?
Scribus.
What should you use instead of Scribus?
Swift Publisher and Affinity are the next two on this page. Swift Publisher is for Mac users making brochures, labels and booklets for small print runs; Affinity is for Freelancers who want desktop vector, photo and layout tools without paying.
Who should not buy Scribus?
Teams that need a vendor contract, training or guaranteed support. Support comes from the community, not from a vendor you can hold to a response time.
If your desktop publishing software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.