Photo editors range from free community projects to subscriptions bundled with cloud storage, and the jobs differ: developing RAW files, layered retouching, or quick browser fixes.
This guide ranks twelve photo editing products on what the first ninety days cost, what the licence costs once extras are added, how files and settings leave, and whether you can buy and run without a partner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What photo editing software does
Photo editing software adjusts, retouches and composites digital photographs, usually by developing RAW files, editing in layers and masks, or both, and runs on a desktop, in a browser or on a phone.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each photo editing tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Subscription on an annual plan billed monthly, published prices; free trial offered
—
Retouchers and designers who need layered compositing and the widest PSD ecosystem
Casual users who edit a few photos and want no ongoing payment
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Volunteer-built RAW developer and photo library, free to run on three systems
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Photo Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
darktable edits non-destructively through a processing pipeline and keeps your images in a database that you browse on a zoomable lighttable.
It is released under GPL 3.0, so the first ninety days cost only learning time, the real price is nil, and exit means keeping the sidecar files. Linux is the home platform and Windows and Mac are ports, with the Print module missing on Windows. It does not do layered design work.
What stands out
Open source
RAW developer
Non-destructive
Where it costs you
Official macOS builds for Intel Macs ended at version 5.6.1
Adobe DCP camera profiles are not supported, only ICC profiles
Right for
Photographers who shoot RAW and want a free, vendor-free developing workflow
Wrong for
Anyone who needs layered compositing or vendor support
Not stated by the vendorFree to use, open source under GPL 3.0
Free pixel editor with layers, scripting and plug-ins, built by volunteers
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Photo Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
GIMP is free software released under the GNU General Public License, built by its authors and contributors, with stable release 3.2.6 on the day we checked. It does retouching, restoration and composites, and plug-ins and scripts in Python, Scheme and C extend it.
Nobody can raise the price or change the terms, and exit is trivial because there is no account. What you buy with your time is learning an interface that no company supports.
What stands out
Open source
Layers and masks
Scriptable
Where it costs you
The project pages describe community help and donations, not a vendor helpdesk
The home page names no cloud, mobile or team-collaboration features
Right for
People who retouch and composite images and want free software they can script
Wrong for
Teams needing vendor support, a RAW catalogue or collaboration
Not stated by the vendorFree to use, open source under the GNU GPL
RAW editor with lab-profiled lens corrections, sold as a lifetime licence
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Photo Editing Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
PhotoLab 10 is sold as a perpetual licence for Mac and Windows, with a 30-day trial that has no watermarks or export limits. DeepPRIME handles noise and demosaicing, AI Masks select skies, people and animals, and DxO Modules supply lens and camera corrections.
Files are managed without being locked inside a catalogue, which keeps exit simple. The shop sells new versions as upgrades at a lower price, so owning it still costs again every few years.
What stands out
Perpetual licence
DeepPRIME denoising
RAW editing
Where it costs you
Each new major version is sold as a paid upgrade
It edits RAW files and does not offer layered compositing
Right for
Photographers who want strong RAW noise reduction and lens corrections without a subscription
Wrong for
Designers who need layers, vector tools or mobile editing
Not stated by the vendorPerpetual licence with published price, paid upgrades between versions, 30-day trial
One-app RAW editor with layers, sold as a purchase or a subscription
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Photo Editing Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Photo RAW 2026 combines browsing, RAW editing, layers and masks in one app, so the first ninety days involve one learning curve rather than two. The one-time purchase covers versions 2026 and 2027, and the yearly MAX subscription adds 200 GB of cloud sync and three installs.
Real price depends on the tier: MAX adds restoration and the plugin mode. Refunds are available within 30 days. Prices shown were campaign prices for general visitors.
What stands out
One-time purchase
RAW and layers
Cloud sync option
Where it costs you
Restore AI, the Adobe plugin mode and cloud AI rendering are only in the MAX edition
The standard purchase installs on two computers only
Right for
Photographers replacing Lightroom and Photoshop with one app they can own
Wrong for
Buyers who want a single flat price with every tool included
United StatesOne-time purchase or yearly subscription, published prices
Colour-managed RAW editor with tethering, from a Copenhagen company
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Photo Editing Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Capture One is a Copenhagen company whose strength is tethered shooting, RAW conversion and colour profiles, with more than 550 cameras supported. It sells Pro, All in One and Studio subscriptions, and a one-time Pro licence for people who can skip new updates and cameras.
The page says you can cancel anytime, switch to a perpetual licence, and get that licence at no cost after five years of subscribing. Collaboration and mobile cost extra tiers.
What stands out
Tethered shooting
Subscription or licence
Camera profiles
Where it costs you
Mobile, cloud settings and online collaboration are in the All in One tier or higher
The vendor's pricing page text did not show figures when we checked
Right for
Studio and tethered photographers who need broad camera support and colour control
Wrong for
Casual editors who want a free or one-off cheap tool
DenmarkMonthly or annual subscription tiers, or a one-time Pro licence
Free vector, pixel and layout app from Canva, with RAW and PSD import
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Photo Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Affinity combines vector, pixel and layout work inside one .af file, and the vendor page says it is free for individuals on Mac and Windows. It imports PSD, AI, IDML and DWG files with layers kept.
The privacy policy names Serif (Europe) Limited of Nottingham as a Canva company, and Canva as the controller for version 3 and later. Organisations needing single sign-on are sent to Canva Enterprise or Education.
What stands out
Free app
Canva account
PSD import
Where it costs you
AI tools require a Canva premium plan, so the free offer is not the whole product.
The iPad version is listed as coming soon, so tablet users cannot rely on it yet.
Right for
Freelancers who want desktop vector, photo and layout tools without paying
Wrong for
Companies needing a vendor with no tie to Canva
United KingdomFree to download and use; AI tools need a Canva premium plan
Browser-based Photoshop-style editor that opens PSD and RAW files
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Photo Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Photopea needs no install: the editor loads in a browser, opens PSD, AI, Sketch, PNG, TIFF and camera RAW files, and offers layers, masks, smart objects, adjustment layers, liquify and a background-removal tool.
The vendor says nothing is uploaded and you can keep using it offline once loaded. That makes setup minutes and the cost nil. Exit is easy because PSD is its main format, but the vendor page offers no company details or service terms.
What stands out
Runs in browser
PSD support
Free
Where it costs you
The site names no company, country, support contact beyond one email address or service terms
GitHub states Photopea is not fully open source, so the code cannot be self-audited
Right for
Occasional editors who need to open a PSD or RAW file in a browser
Wrong for
Organisations that need a named vendor, licence and support contract
Not stated by the vendorFree to use in the browser
AI-first photo editor from Skylum, sold as a one-time purchase
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Photo Editing Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Skylum offers Desktop Only, All Platforms and Max as one-time payments, each with a 30-day money-back guarantee. AI tools such as GenErase, GenSwap and GenExpand come for the first year only, with an optional paid auto-upgrade afterwards, so the permanent part is the base editor.
The desktop licence covers two devices. Mobile and the web version sit in the pricier tiers, and the web version was marked as arriving in autumn 2026 when we looked.
What stands out
One-time purchase
AI tools
Cross-device
Where it costs you
Generative tools are included for one year, then renew at a yearly fee
The pricing page ran inside a time-limited sale, so list prices are unclear
Right for
Hobbyists who want guided AI edits and a one-time purchase
Wrong for
Buyers who need a named company country or enterprise service terms
Not stated by the vendorOne-time purchase tiers published; yearly paid upgrade option
Browser photo editor with an AI-credit system and paid tiers
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Photo Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
Pixlr states that it is headquartered in Singapore and the privacy policy names Pixlr Pte. Ltd. Yearly billing saves 20 percent, and credits bought yearly stay valid for the year while monthly ones last one month.
A credit pack can top up an account. Its image generator sits alongside a video generator, an audio generator and an agent in the navigation, so credits are shared across media types, and heavy image work competes with video for them.
What stands out
Browser-based
AI credits
Free tier
Where it costs you
Ultra's unlimited fast generations are subject to fair use and the page says availability is not guaranteed.
Plus allows one concurrent AI generation and 80 credits a month, which is thin for batch work.
Right for
Casual editors who want generation inside a familiar photo editing workflow
Wrong for
Teams that need contractual indemnification for commercial campaigns
SingaporeFree tier with paid Plus, Premium and Ultra plans, monthly or yearly
Apple-owned Mac and iPad editor with RAW layers and vector tools
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Photo Editing Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Pixelmator Pro opens RAW photos as layers, has auto-enhance, super resolution and background removal, and works with PSD, SVG and PDF files. Apple sells it as a one-time Mac purchase or inside Apple Creator Studio, where new subscribers get a 30-day trial.
Owning it costs a single payment, but that purchase is for Mac and the Warp tool is subscription only. The product depends entirely on Apple hardware and on Apple's choices.
What stands out
Mac and iPad
Apple-owned
One-time purchase
Where it costs you
It runs only on macOS 26 or iPadOS 26, so Windows users are excluded
The Warp tool is listed only under the subscription version
Right for
Mac and iPad users who want RAW, layers and vector tools without Adobe
Wrong for
Windows users or teams sharing files across mixed platforms
United StatesOne-time Mac purchase or Apple Creator Studio subscription, published prices; 30-day trial of the subscription
Adobe's cloud photo library and RAW editor across desktop, mobile, web
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Photo Editing Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The Lightroom plan includes 1 TB of cloud storage, 250 monthly generative credits, Lightroom on desktop, mobile and web, and Lightroom Classic. The real price moves up when you add Photoshop through the Photography plan, which also adds storage and more credits.
Adobe states a 14-day refund window and offers a free trial of unstated length. Exit means exporting your edited images, because you cannot own the software.
What stands out
Subscription
Cloud storage
Desktop, mobile, web
Where it costs you
It is subscription only, with no option to buy a perpetual licence on the page
Generative credits are capped monthly on each plan
Right for
Photographers who want one catalogue synced across desktop, phone and web
Wrong for
Anyone who wants to own the software or avoid cloud storage
United StatesSubscription on an annual plan billed monthly, published prices; free trial offered
Layer-based pixel editor with generative fill, sold by subscription
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Photo Editing Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Photoshop is a layer-based editor with Generative Fill and Generative Expand built in. The single-app plan is billed on an annual plan monthly, and the Photography plan adds Lightroom and 1 TB of storage for less than Photoshop alone, which changes the real price for photographers.
Creative Cloud Pro costs much more but bundles many apps. Ninety days of setup is mostly learning time, and exit means PSD files you can open elsewhere.
What stands out
Subscription
Generative Fill
Layer-based
Where it costs you
It is a subscription with no perpetual licence listed
Generative credits are limited to 25 a month on the single-app plan
Right for
Retouchers and designers who need layered compositing and the widest PSD ecosystem
Wrong for
Casual users who edit a few photos and want no ongoing payment
United StatesSubscription on an annual plan billed monthly, published prices; free trial offered
Photo editing software adjusts, retouches and composites digital photographs, usually by developing RAW files, editing in layers and masks, or both, and runs on a desktop, in a browser or on a phone. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
11 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 1 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: darktable, GIMP, DxO PhotoLab, ON1 Photo RAW, Affinity, Photopea, Luminar Neo, Pixlr, Pixelmator Pro, Adobe Lightroom, Adobe Photoshop.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 5 countries across 4 regions (Elsewhere 5, North America 4, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
3 of these are open source: darktable, GIMP, Photopea. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
RAW developer or layer editor: decide which job you are buying
Photo editing is two jobs sold under one name. A RAW developer such as darktable, DxO PhotoLab or Capture One turns camera files into finished images, with denoising, lens corrections and colour. A layer editor such as Photoshop, GIMP or Affinity composites, retouches and builds graphics. ON1 Photo RAW and Pixelmator Pro try to do both in one window, and Photopea covers the layer side in a browser.
Buying the wrong type costs more than any licence: a photographer who shoots hundreds of frames needs a library and batch tools, while a retoucher needs masks, smart objects and brushes. Write down the three tasks you repeat most, then test each shortlisted product on exactly those tasks with your own files.
Name your three most repeated tasks before comparing prices.
Check whether the product keeps a library or only opens single files.
Test noise reduction and masking on your own highest-ISO photo.
Subscription, one-time licence or free: how photo editors are billed
This market splits three ways. Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop are subscriptions that bundle cloud storage and generative credits. DxO PhotoLab, ON1 Photo RAW and Luminar Neo sell versions you own, though DxO sells new versions as paid upgrades, ON1 offers MAX as a subscription with cloud sync, and Luminar Neo's AI tools run for one year before a paid renewal.
Capture One and Pixelmator Pro offer both a licence and a subscription. darktable, GIMP, Photopea and Affinity cost nothing to use. Count the cost over three years, including the upgrade you will want, and ask what stops working the day you stop paying.
Model three years of cost, including paid upgrades or renewals.
Ask which tools stop working if a subscription lapses.
Check how many computers one licence may be installed on.
Opening a PSD: the exit test for photo editors
Layered files are where photographers get locked in. Photopea treats PSD as its main format, Affinity imports PSD, AI and IDML with layers kept, and Pixelmator Pro supports PSD, SVG and PDF, while GIMP and darktable are free software with no account to lose. Adobe's PSD format is the common currency, and the vendors above advertise PSD import.
The harder problem is settings. A Lightroom catalogue, a Capture One session or a darktable sidecar holds edits that other programs do not read, so a move means exporting finished images and starting new edits. Test an export from your current tool into the candidate before you commit a year of archives.
Open a layered file from your current tool in the candidate.
Ask where edit settings live: catalogue, session, sidecar or cloud.
Export a sample batch and compare colours on a calibrated screen.
AI tools, credits and what is included in the price
Generative features are the newest cost layer. Adobe Photoshop includes 25 monthly generative credits on the single-app plan and Lightroom 250, with more on the Photography plan. Pixlr resets AI credits at each renewal and clears them on cancellation. Luminar Neo includes generative tools for one year, and ON1 places cloud AI rendering and Restore AI in MAX.
Affinity is free but unlocks its Canva AI tools only with a Canva premium plan. DxO prices DeepPRIME inside the licence, and its shop page shows no credit meter. Ask which AI features run on your computer, which run in the vendor's cloud and which stop when credits run out.
List which AI features run locally and which use cloud credits.
Check whether credits roll over, reset or disappear on cancellation.
Confirm a one-year AI window does not end before your project does.
What goes wrong most often when buying photo editing software
Choosing a layer editor when most of the work is processing hundreds of RAW files from one shoot.
Comparing the entry price of a subscription with the one-time price of a licence without counting three years.
Assuming a free tool is account-free, when Affinity needs a Canva sign-in to download.
Trusting a sale price: Luminar Neo's pricing page ran inside a time-limited campaign, so recheck before paying.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best photo editing software in 2026?
darktable leads our ranking of 12. A community project with no company behind it, which makes it the only entry here with no account, no licence key and no vendor to leave.
It develops RAW files and manages a library non-destructively and does not edit in layers. Its FAQ says only ICC camera profiles work, not Adobe DCP, and official builds for Intel Macs have stopped at version 5.6.1.
Which photo editing tools publish their pricing?
11 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
darktable: Free to use, open source under GPL 3.0.
GIMP: Free to use, open source under the GNU GPL.
DxO PhotoLab: Perpetual licence with published price, paid upgrades between versions, 30-day trial.
ON1 Photo RAW: One-time purchase or yearly subscription, published prices.
Affinity: Free to download and use; AI tools need a Canva premium plan.
Pixlr: Free tier with paid Plus, Premium and Ultra plans, monthly or yearly.
Pixelmator Pro: One-time Mac purchase or Apple Creator Studio subscription, published prices; 30-day trial of the subscription.
Adobe Lightroom: Subscription on an annual plan billed monthly, published prices; free trial offered.
Adobe Photoshop: Subscription on an annual plan billed monthly, published prices; free trial offered.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free photo editing tool?
darktable, GIMP, Affinity, Photopea, Pixlr offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these photo editing software vendors established?
In 5 countries across 4 regions: Elsewhere 5, North America 4, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1.
darktable: Not stated by the vendor.
GIMP: Not stated by the vendor.
DxO PhotoLab: Not stated by the vendor.
ON1 Photo RAW: United States.
Capture One: Denmark.
Affinity: United Kingdom.
Photopea: Not stated by the vendor.
Luminar Neo: Not stated by the vendor.
Pixlr: Singapore.
Pixelmator Pro: United States.
Adobe Lightroom: United States.
Adobe Photoshop: United States.
Which photo editing tools are open source?
darktable, GIMP, Photopea.
What should you use instead of darktable?
GIMP and DxO PhotoLab are the next two on this page. GIMP is for People who retouch and composite images and want free software they can script; DxO PhotoLab is for Photographers who want strong RAW noise reduction and lens corrections without a subscription.
Who should not buy darktable?
Anyone who needs layered compositing or vendor support. Official macOS builds for Intel Macs ended at version 5.6.1.
If your photo editing software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.