darktable vs RawTherapee

Both programs are free, open source RAW developers under a GPL licence, so the choice rests on platform reach and workflow shape. darktable pairs a darkroom with a lighttable library and calls Linux its developed platform, with Windows and Mac as ports. RawTherapee publishes builds for Linux, Windows and 64-bit macOS, including ARM64 for the first two, and lists detailed sensor-level tools such as pixel-shift and flat field correction. Both credit only a team, with no company or country. Only darktable shows a library, and only RawTherapee shows a detailed list of correction tools.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

01

darktable and RawTherapee side by side

darktableRawTherapee
Our photo editing software rank#1 of 14#13 of 14
Established inNot stated by the vendorNot stated by the vendor
List price, 7 November 2026No price at all: GPL 3.0, free of any stated priceFree download, with no plans or prices on the site (version 5.13)
Free tierYesYes
Open sourceYes—
Self-hostable——
Built forPhotographers who shoot RAW and want a free, vendor-free developing workflowPhotographers who want detailed raw control from free software they can inspect
Not forAnyone who needs layered compositing or vendor supportUsers wanting cloud sync, mobile apps or paid support

Both are reviewed in full in our photo editing software ranking: darktable and RawTherapee.

02

Where they differ

darktable 1 · RawTherapee 3 · open 2
  1. 01

    Which systems get a real build

    RawTherapee's front page lists a Linux AppImage for x86_64 and ARM64, Windows for x86_64 and ARM64, and macOS for 64-bit. darktable's FAQ says Linux is the platform it develops, while Windows and Mac are ports, the Print module is unavailable on Windows, and official Intel Mac releases stopped at version 5.6.1. RawTherapee's page lists no such gaps, so its platform list is the cleaner one for anyone who is not running Linux as their main system.

    Edge: RawTherapee

  2. 02

    Same licence, different wording

    Both projects ship under the GPL. darktable's home page states GPL 3.0, and RawTherapee's front page states GPLv3 and describes the program as Free Software. RawTherapee also lists source code among its downloads next to the installers, while darktable's site, as far as we read it, has no comparable download list. Since the licence terms match, nothing here favours either side, and you can inspect and modify both. Neither page mentions a licence key, an account or a paid plan.

    Depends on the buyer

  3. 03

    A team, not a company

    darktable's copyright line reads the darktable team, and no company or country is stated. RawTherapee credits the RawTherapee Team in its copyright notice and likewise names no country or company of establishment. Its site links only downloads, forum, documentation and source, which means there is no vendor support contract to buy. The same limit applies to darktable, where no support offer turned up either. Governance looks alike, so this round is level, and both depend on community help.

    Depends on the buyer

  4. 04

    Catalogue versus single-file development

    darktable describes itself as a photography workflow application with a lighttable and a darkroom, edits non-destructively, and never modifies the original image. It also mentions XMP sidecar files, which hold your edits beside the originals. RawTherapee is described as a raw processing program with a non-destructive engine, and no library or catalogue feature appeared there. If you want to organise a shoot and develop it in one place, darktable matches that need more directly, since the library is part of the program itself.

    Edge: darktable

  5. 05

    Sensor-level correction tools

    RawTherapee lists pixel-shift compositing with ghost masking, dark frame subtraction, flat field correction, and hot and dead pixel correction, on a 32-bit floating-point engine with modern demosaicing algorithms. Its current release, version 5.13, is dated 26 July 2026. darktable's site names none of these correction tools, though that does not rule them out. For astrophotography-style frame work or pixel-shift files, the documented list is RawTherapee's, which is a clear point in its favour on features.

    Edge: RawTherapee

  6. 06

    Camera colour profiles and support lists

    darktable's FAQ says only ICC camera profiles work, not Adobe DCP, and it sends camera support questions to a separate camera support page, giving no number on the FAQ. RawTherapee's front page names no profile format and no camera count. Because neither site gives a figure here, you cannot compare camera coverage from these pages. The DCP limit is the one stated restriction, and it counts against darktable if your workflow depends on DCP files.

    Edge: RawTherapee

03

When neither fits

If you need layered compositing or vendor support, neither program fits. GIMP is a free layered editor, and DxO PhotoLab is a RAW developer sold by a company, which suits people who want a supplier to contact.

04

darktable or RawTherapee: questions

3 answers
Will my camera's RAW files open in each program?

darktable keeps its list on a separate camera support page, and the FAQ gives no number. RawTherapee's front page does not state a camera count either. Check your model on each project's own pages before you commit.

Does either one keep a catalogue of my photos?

darktable describes a lighttable where you browse the images stored in its library. RawTherapee is described as a raw processor, with no catalogue feature shown. If a library matters, darktable is the one that documents it.

Can I move edits between the two programs?

Neither site describes importing the other program's edits. darktable mentions XMP sidecar files, and RawTherapee does not say how it stores them. Plan to keep your original RAW files and expect to redo adjustments when you switch.

—

Sources

Checked 7 November 2026
  • darktable home page: GPL 3.0, lighttable and darkroom, non-destructive editing, team copyright line.
  • darktable FAQ: Linux as home platform, Print module on Windows, Intel Mac stop at 5.6.1, ICC only, XMP sidecars.
  • RawTherapee front page: GPLv3, platform list, version 5.13 date, pixel-shift and flat field tools, team credit, no prices.
—

More comparisons