AI music generators turn a text prompt, a mood or a reference track into finished audio. They are bought on licence terms as much as on sound, because the plan decides whether you may monetise, distribute or register what comes out.
This guide ranks eleven products on setup time, real price, how files leave and independence.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What AI music generators software does
An AI music generator composes audio from prompts, styles or MIDI input and exports tracks or stems under a licence that states what the buyer may do commercially with them.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each AI music generators tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Free tier; Pro and Premier plans published, monthly or yearly
Yes
Songwriters wanting full songs with vocals and room to iterate on credits
Teams needing a ruling on the copyright status of their output
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Luxembourg composer tool with MIDI export and a copyright-ownership tier
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best AI Music Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
AIVA passes the exit test best in this list, because MIDI comes with every plan and a composition can move into any notation or sequencing program. Setup is an account and a style choice.
The real price is Pro, since Standard leaves the copyright with AIVA and limits monetisation to four named platforms. Pro adds 300 downloads a month, WAV export and tracks up to five and a half minutes. Yearly billing shows the lower monthly figure.
What stands out
Copyright on Pro
MIDI export
250+ styles
Where it costs you
Copyright stays with AIVA on both lower plans, so only Pro suits commercial releases
The free plan allows three downloads a month and no monetisation
Right for
Composers and game makers who need MIDI files and full ownership of the result
Wrong for
Buyers who need unlimited downloads, since Pro stops at 300 a month
LuxembourgFree tier; Standard and Pro plans published, billed yearly or monthly
Fairly Trained background music generator aimed at video and podcasts
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best AI Music Generators in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Beatoven answers the setup test quickly: describe the scene, download MP3 or WAV, and a licence document arrives by email with every download. The cost question stays open, because the pages mention per-track purchases and subscriptions for download minutes without a table, so ask before committing.
Exit is clean for content use, yet you hold a licence and not a copyright, since Beatoven owns every track. Stems may be used for sampling in remixes.
What stands out
Fairly Trained
Background music
Text to SFX
Where it costs you
Tracks cannot be released directly on streaming platforms
The site shows no country of establishment and no readable price list
Right for
Video makers and podcasters who need licensed background tracks with a rights trail
Wrong for
Musicians who want to release generated songs on streaming services
Not stated by the vendorPay per track or subscribe for download minutes; no price list found on the site
Customisable royalty-free tracks, with unlimited downloads on the entry plan
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best AI Music Generators in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Soundraw shows the lowest monthly figure for a commercial plan among the prices we could read, from 5.83 euro on Creator, with an annual and monthly toggle. Creator has no download cap but gives MP3 only.
Editors needing stems or WAV step up to Artist Pro, capped at twenty downloads a month, or to Artist Unlimited. Past nine employees the self-serve route ends and Enterprise is negotiated, so a growing agency should price that step in advance.
What stands out
Unlimited downloads
Stems on higher plans
Enterprise from 10 staff
Where it costs you
Companies of ten or more employees must contact sales for a licence
WAV and stems start at the Artist Pro plan
Right for
Solo creators and small teams under ten staff putting music under video
Wrong for
Companies with ten or more employees wanting self-serve checkout
Not stated by the vendorSubscription plans published, annual or monthly; enterprise on contact
Berlin audio engine with remixer, mastering and distribution under one account
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best AI Music Generators in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Loudly scores on independence and setup: one German company, a start without a credit card and several models behind one login. The price test is where we stop. Download caps, commercial scope and API costs have to be read inside the account.
Exit rests on the licence agreement, which lives apart from the terms of use. Read both before building a channel on its tracks, and ask what happens to licences when a subscription ends.
What stands out
Berlin GmbH
Remixer
Rights-cleared
Where it costs you
Plan prices and download limits could not be read without JavaScript
Licence terms sit in a separate agreement that must be read next to the terms of use
Right for
European creators wanting generation, remixing and distribution from one German company
Wrong for
Buyers who must compare exact prices before opening an account
GermanyStart without a card; paid plans cannot be read without JavaScript
Plan ladder that separates personal use, monetised channels and client work
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best AI Music Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Mubert publishes the clearest usage matrix in this list, marking monetised channels, digital ads, client work and sub-licensing for each plan. Setup is short, with text, image and mood prompts plus a 12,000-track staff library.
The real price climbs with the use case: Creator at roughly a third of Pro stays non-commercial, Pro unlocks monetisation, and Business is needed for freelance work. Tracks leave as WAV and MP3, but distribution to music services is excluded everywhere.
What stands out
Commercial from Pro
No streaming release
Track editor
Where it costs you
No plan permits release on streaming services or Content ID registration
Client and agency work needs Business, the most expensive tier
Right for
Streamers and agencies that need clearly tiered usage rights for ads and apps
Wrong for
Artists planning to release generated tracks on Spotify or Apple Music
United StatesFree tier with watermark; paid plans published, annual or monthly
Template-based generator selling download allowances per user and month
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best AI Music Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Soundful is metered by downloads, not generations, which changes the real price. Generating is unlimited on every plan, yet a free account may keep only one MP3 a month.
Plus and Pro raise that to 100 and 400 downloads and add WAV and stems, so a channel posting daily fits Plus and a producer working in stems fits Pro. Check the figures twice, because the FAQ names other caps than the plan cards. Business tiers are sold per user.
What stands out
Download caps
Stem packs
Style templates
Where it costs you
The FAQ quotes different download caps than the plan cards
A fair-use policy can interrupt generation or downloads
Right for
Producers who work from style templates and need stem packs every month
Wrong for
Anyone planning commercial releases on the free personal licence
United StatesFree tier; paid plans per user and month, published
Singapore-run credit system covering songs, covers, rap and text to speech
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best AI Music Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
Tad AI is cheap to trial: 21 free credits cover up to two songs. The real price follows credits, since songs, covers and text to speech draw on one pool, and concurrent generations rise from one to six with the plan.
Pro adds premium voice models and lyrics enhancement. Exit is thin on detail: the plan grid mentions a commercial licence download, but the wording was not on the pages we read.
What stands out
Credits
AI covers
Stem splitter
Where it costs you
The free tier stops at 21 credits and two songs
One credit pool is shared between music, covers and text to speech
Right for
Casual creators who want songs, covers and voice-over from a single allowance
Wrong for
Teams that need a detailed licence text before choosing a plan
SingaporeFree tier; credit plans published, monthly or yearly
ACE-Step wins on independence and exit, since nothing is rented: code and weights sit under Apache 2.0 and training instructions let you adapt the model. The cost is setup, an installation session and a graphics card, with the README listing a 4090 at 1.74 seconds per minute of audio.
No vendor stands behind the output or answers licence questions, so legal review of any generated music falls to you, and nothing here suits a team that wants a login.
What stands out
Open source
Self-hosted
GPU required
Where it costs you
It needs a capable GPU and a command-line installation
The repository lists no support plan and no company address
Right for
Technical teams that want to run, fine-tune and archive their own music model
Wrong for
Marketers who need a browser tool with a licence document
Not stated by the vendorFree to download, Apache 2.0 open source; self-host on your own hardware
Song generator built around custom voice slots that grow with each plan
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best AI Music Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Musicfy makes the voice the unit of purchase. Starter gives 150 songs a month without voice targeting, Professional 400 with 100 voice-targeted, Studio 1,000 with 300. The real price depends on how many targeted songs you make, and commercial use needs Professional or above.
The annual prices shown are marked as a limited summer sale, so confirm the standard rate. Upload limits grow from 25 MB to 150 MB, which matters when training voices from long recordings.
What stands out
Custom voices
Voice targeting
Commercial from Professional
Where it costs you
The terms are dated September 2023 and name no contracting company
Voice-targeted songs count against a smaller monthly allowance
Right for
Vocalists and producers who want generated songs in custom voice models
Wrong for
Buyers needing a named legal entity and current terms on file
Not stated by the vendorFree start; paid plans published, monthly or yearly
Eleven Music billed per minute of audio inside one platform plan
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best AI Music Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Text to speech costs one credit per character on the V2 multilingual models, with cheaper rates on Flash and Turbo models through the API. Annual billing equals ten months of the monthly price.
Starter adds the commercial licence and instant cloning, Creator adds professional cloning, Scale adds three seats, and Business adds ten seats and low-latency speech. Enterprise adds DPA, SLAs, HIPAA BAAs and SSO.
What stands out
Music v2
Credits per minute
API
Where it costs you
One credit pool pays for every product, so dubbing or music generation reduces what remains for narration.
Cancelling or downgrading forfeits unused credits at the end of the cycle.
Right for
Producers wanting many languages and cloning from one account, from creator to business
Wrong for
Teams needing predictable cost when mixing dubbing, music and narration
United StatesFree tier; credit plans published, music commercial use from Starter
Song generator with vocals, a browser studio and plan-based ownership rules
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best AI Music Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Suno is the mainstream pick for full songs, so test it for licence reasons, not sound. The free plan cannot download or monetise. Pro starts commercial rights at 20 downloads a month, which a weekly release schedule can exhaust.
Premier raises that to 60 and adds Studio and advanced stem splitting. Included credits do not carry over, though purchased top-ups do not expire while you subscribe. Copyright protection depends on your country.
What stands out
Vocals
Suno Studio
Credits
Where it costs you
Songs made on the free plan belong to Suno and carry no commercial rights
The help page warns that fully AI-made music may not qualify for copyright
Right for
Songwriters wanting full songs with vocals and room to iterate on credits
Wrong for
Teams needing a ruling on the copyright status of their output
United StatesFree tier; Pro and Premier plans published, monthly or yearly
An AI music generator composes audio from prompts, styles or MIDI input and exports tracks or stems under a licence that states what the buyer may do commercially with them. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
9 of the 11 tools here publish what they cost; the other 2 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: AIVA, Soundraw, Mubert, Soundful, Tad AI, ACE-Step, Musicfy, ElevenLabs, Suno.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 11 vendors are established in 5 countries across 4 regions (North America 4, Elsewhere 4, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
1 of these are open source: ACE-Step. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Licence scope decides AI music purchases more than sound quality
Generated music carries three separate questions: who owns it, where it may be used and whether it may be released as a song. AIVA answers ownership by plan, with copyright held by AIVA on the free and Standard plans and by you on Pro. Beatoven.ai gives a licence and stays the owner, and bars direct release on Spotify.
Mubert excludes streaming-service release and Content ID registration on every plan. Suno says free-plan songs belong to Suno and warns that fully AI-made music may not be protected by copyright in some regions. A cheap monthly price means little if the plan forbids the channel you publish on, so read the licence page before the feature list.
Write down every channel you publish on and match it to the plan.
Ask whether the plan grants ownership or only a licence.
Keep the licence text or certificate with each downloaded track.
Credits, downloads or unlimited: how generators meter usage
Vendors meter different things, so price lists cannot be compared directly. Suno counts credits per month and a separate number of song downloads. ElevenLabs bills Eleven Music at 900 credits per minute from the pool it shares with speech. Soundful allows unlimited generation but caps downloads, with one MP3 a month on its free plan.
Soundraw's Creator plan has unlimited downloads and Tad AI sells credit bundles shared across songs, covers and text to speech. Estimate how many finished tracks you need each month, then check whether generations, downloads or minutes run out first, and whether unused credits roll over. Suno credits do not carry over, which suits steady use better than bursts.
Count finished tracks per month, not experiments.
Check whether unused credits roll over.
Find out what a top-up costs when the allowance runs out.
Hosted service or local model: how independent can you stay
Almost every product here is a hosted subscription, so access ends when payment stops. Loudly GmbH in Berlin and AIVA in Luxembourg are European companies with a named registered office, while ACE-Step is the only entry you can run yourself, under Apache 2.0, on a graphics card with as little as 8 GB of VRAM according to its README.
The price of that independence is installation work and no vendor to answer licence questions. Hosted tools give faster starts and written licences. Decide whether a licence document or the ability to keep running without a vendor matters more to your project, and archive downloaded files either way, because a vendor can change plan limits or retire a model at short notice.
Check what happens to licences when you cancel.
Test a local model on your own hardware before committing.
Archive every downloaded track with its licence record.
Stems, WAV and MIDI: what leaves with the track
Exit quality differs by plan inside the same product. AIVA exports MP3 and MIDI on every plan and WAV only on Pro. Soundraw gives MP3 on Creator and Artist Starter, with WAV and stems from Artist Pro. Mubert offers WAV and MP3 from the Creator plan and the full track editor from Pro.
Soundful adds WAV and stem packs on its paid tiers, and Suno adds stem separation on Pro and Premier. If a human editor or mixer will touch the result, stems and MIDI save more time than a better prompt. Ask which plan unlocks them before the first month ends, since several tiers hide them behind the second or third price.
Confirm which plan unlocks WAV, stems or MIDI.
Open one exported file in your editing program during the trial.
Ask whether exports stay available after you cancel.
What goes wrong most often when buying AI music generators software
Buying a monthly plan before checking whether the channel you publish on, such as Spotify, is excluded by the licence.
Assuming that paying for a subscription means you hold the copyright, when Beatoven.ai and Mubert grant licences and AIVA grants ownership only on Pro.
Comparing credit counts across Suno, Tad AI and ElevenLabs as if one credit meant the same amount of music.
Treating the free tier as a trial of the paid product, when Suno and Soundful limit downloads and commercial use there.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best AI music generators in 2026?
AIVA leads our ranking of 11. Aiva Technologies SARL, based in Luxembourg, generates songs in more than 250 styles, accepts an audio or MIDI influence and downloads MP3 and MIDI.
Copyright is settled by plan: AIVA keeps it on the free and Standard plans, and only Pro hands it to you. Free output needs a credit line, is non-commercial and stops at three downloads a month.
Which AI music generators tools publish their pricing?
9 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
AIVA: Free tier; Standard and Pro plans published, billed yearly or monthly.
Soundraw: Subscription plans published, annual or monthly; enterprise on contact.
Mubert: Free tier with watermark; paid plans published, annual or monthly.
Soundful: Free tier; paid plans per user and month, published.
Tad AI: Free tier; credit plans published, monthly or yearly.
ACE-Step: Free to download, Apache 2.0 open source; self-host on your own hardware.
Musicfy: Free start; paid plans published, monthly or yearly.
ElevenLabs: Free tier; credit plans published, music commercial use from Starter.
Suno: Free tier; Pro and Premier plans published, monthly or yearly.
The other 2 quote per organisation.
Is there a free AI music generators tool?
AIVA, Mubert, Soundful, Tad AI, ACE-Step, Musicfy, ElevenLabs, Suno offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these AI music generators vendors established?
In 5 countries across 4 regions: North America 4, Elsewhere 4, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1.
AIVA: Luxembourg.
Beatoven.ai: Not stated by the vendor.
Soundraw: Not stated by the vendor.
Loudly: Germany.
Mubert: United States.
Soundful: United States.
Tad AI: Singapore.
ACE-Step: Not stated by the vendor.
Musicfy: Not stated by the vendor.
ElevenLabs: United States.
Suno: United States.
Which AI music generators tools are open source?
ACE-Step.
Which AI music generators tools can you host yourself?
ACE-Step. The other 10 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of AIVA?
Beatoven.ai and Soundraw are the next two on this page. Beatoven.ai is for Video makers and podcasters who need licensed background tracks with a rights trail; Soundraw is for Solo creators and small teams under ten staff putting music under video.
Who should not buy AIVA?
Buyers who need unlimited downloads, since Pro stops at 300 a month. Copyright stays with AIVA on both lower plans, so only Pro suits commercial releases.
If your AI music generators product belongs among these 11, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.