MoEngage vs CleverTap
The two platforms count and show things differently. MoEngage meters its Growth and Enterprise plans by monthly tracked users, meaning each unique user engaged or monitored in a month, and its plans page prints no figure at all. CleverTap prints a Core price of 85 dollars a month for the lowest active-user band, with a 30-day trial before billing begins. MoEngage names separate data centres in the EU, North America and India. CleverTap keeps three years of data on Core and Pro and ten on Ultimate, while charging extra for items like WhatsApp Direct.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
you serve users in the EU, North America and India and want a named regional data centre for each. You are also happy to talk to a vendor before seeing any price.
you want a printed starting price and a month of trial before the first charge. You also accept that add-ons such as geofencing or warehouse exports will sit on top of it.
MoEngage and CleverTap side by side
| MoEngage | CleverTap | |
|---|---|---|
| Our customer engagement platform rank | #7 of 12 | #5 of 12 |
| Established in | Not stated by the vendor | United States |
| List price, 7 November 2026 | Growth and Enterprise plans, metered by monthly tracked users; no figure on the plans page, demo route only | From 85 dollars a month (Core, lowest active-user band, taxes and add-ons extra, 30-day trial); Pro and Ultimate by demo |
| Free tier | — | — |
| Open source | — | — |
| Self-hostable | — | — |
| Built for | App-first brands with users in several regions needing regional data centres | Growing app companies wanting a priced entry tier and a month to try it |
| Not for | Teams that must compare list prices before speaking to a vendor | Teams needing a fixed total cost across channels and exports |
Both are reviewed in full in our customer engagement platform ranking: MoEngage and CleverTap.
Where they differ
MoEngage 1 · CleverTap 3 · open 2- 01
Tracked users against active users
MoEngage meters both of its plans by Monthly Tracked Users, which it defines as each unique user actively engaged or monitored in a month. A monitored user can count even when quiet. CleverTap states that its Core price scales by monthly active users, and the 85 dollars a month it shows is for the lowest active-user band. Both meters follow audience size, so growth raises either bill, and no page we read sets the two definitions side by side.
Depends on the buyer
- 02
What the plans page lets you see
CleverTap's pricing page lists Core at 85 dollars a month, with taxes applying and add-ons excluded, and shows Get a demo with no price for Pro and Ultimate. MoEngage's plans page compares Growth and Enterprise feature by feature but prints no price on either, routing you to Talk to us and a demo. For a small team that needs a number before any sales meeting, CleverTap gives a concrete entry point, while MoEngage offers only a route to a demo.
Edge: CleverTap
- 03
Sixteen channels or an add-on list
MoEngage says its platform carries 16 or more channels in one product, and and it presents them as part of the plans. CleverTap's comparison table names WhatsApp Direct, Geofencing and PII Encryption as add-ons beyond the Core entry price. CleverTap's channel total is not shown in the pages we read. A team that wants wide channel coverage under one plan has the clearer story at MoEngage, with the trade that a push-only team pays for breadth.
Edge: MoEngage
- 04
Where the data lives and how long
MoEngage's security text lists separate data centres in the EU, North America and India, run on AWS, and its plans page mentions six data centres in total. CleverTap's pricing table lists retention of 3 years on Core and Pro and 10 years on Ultimate, while its data centre regions are unnamed in what we read. If regional residence is your question, MoEngage answers it directly. If retention length is the question, CleverTap states exact years.
Depends on the buyer
- 05
Getting data in and out
CleverTap lists CSV downloads and API access for import and export on its comparison table, and names exports to AWS S3, GCP, Azure, Snowflake and Segment as add-ons. No cost for each appears in what we read. MoEngage's plans page, as we read it, does not describe export routes at all. Teams that feed a warehouse get a concrete list at CleverTap, with the warning that the list sits among paid extras, so budget for them before the trial ends.
Edge: CleverTap
- 06
Who stands behind each vendor
MoEngage says it was founded in 2014 and lists offices in San Francisco, New York, Boston and Bengaluru, but its privacy policy names MoEngage Global Inc. without stating a country of establishment. CleverTap states the United States as its country, and the policy it publishes names WizRocket Inc., a Delaware corporation, alongside CleverTap Private Limited in India and CleverTap Pte. Ltd. in Singapore. CleverTap is the plainer one on corporate structure, since each entity and country is named, while MoEngage leaves that open.
Edge: CleverTap
When neither fits
If you want a fixed total across channels and exports, neither page gives you that. Braze and OneSignal are two other platforms in this category worth pricing before you decide.
MoEngage or CleverTap: questions
3 answersWhich of the two shows a starting price?
CleverTap does. Its pricing page lists Core at 85 dollars a month for the lowest active-user band, with taxes extra and add-ons excluded. MoEngage's plans page shows no price for Growth or Enterprise.
Does MoEngage offer a data centre in the EU?
Its security text lists separate data centres in the EU, North America and India, on AWS. That is a concrete answer for residence questions. Which plan includes which region is not stated there.
What can push a CleverTap bill above the Core price?
The Core figure excludes add-ons, and the comparison table lists WhatsApp Direct, Geofencing, PII Encryption and warehouse exports as extras. Pro and Ultimate show no price and need a demo. Ten-year retention is limited to Ultimate, against three years on Core and Pro.
Sources
Checked 7 November 2026- MoEngage plans and pricing page: plan names, tracked-user metering, absence of prices, 16+ channels and EU, North America and India data centres.
- MoEngage about page: the 2014 founding year and the four office cities.
- MoEngage privacy policy: the MoEngage Global Inc. entity with no stated country.
- CleverTap pricing page: the 85 dollar Core price, 30-day trial, demo-only tiers, add-on list, export targets and retention years.
- CleverTap privacy policy: WizRocket Inc. as a Delaware corporation with India and Singapore entities.