Managed WordPress hosting hands server upkeep, caching, backups and updates to a provider, so the real differences sit in what each plan counts and what leaves the bill alone.
This guide puts smaller independent hosts first, then weighs migration effort, the price once traffic or site numbers grow, how a site can leave, and fit.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What managed wordpress hosting software does
Managed WordPress hosting is a service in which the provider runs the server stack for WordPress, covering caching, backups, patches and staging, and bills by site, visit, install or resource.
Each managed wordpress hosting tool was put through the same five questions, in sequence: how hard is setup, what does it really cost, how does data come back out, can you leave, and who is it for. Challengers hold places 1 to 3 wherever the category has them. Established brands begin at place 4. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Finnish WordPress host with tiers counted in storage and HTTP requests
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Seravo includes a staging environment, an SSL certificate and one domain with renewal and DNS even in its entry tier. Each step up adds storage, staging slots and an HTTP request allowance, ending at 3,000,000 requests on Corporate.
That makes budgeting simple for one or two sites. The weak spot is scale: past Corporate the plan is custom, and nothing on the page mentions a trial or money-back period.
What stands out
Request-based tiers
Staging per plan
Multisite on Corporate
Where it costs you
Shops need the third tier, and networks of sites the fourth, before those features are enabled.
Request ceilings rise tier by tier, so a busy site is pushed upward by traffic rather than by size.
Right for
Small business sites wanting a fixed monthly tier with staging included
Wrong for
Agencies hosting dozens of unrelated client sites on one plan
FinlandPublished euro monthly tiers by storage, staging and requests; custom enterprise tier; certificate and one domain included
Per-site pricing, with data-centre locations spread across many cities
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
With Templ every website is its own subscription, so a portfolio of ten sites means ten line items rather than one bundle. Annual billing carries a one-month-free label, and unlimited migrations are included in each tier.
The Large plan lists 4 CPU cores, 8GB RAM and 50GB of SSD. Because the location list is long and prices vary by place, pick the data centre first and then read the price.
What stands out
Per-site tiers
Many data centres
Unlimited migrations
Where it costs you
The smallest tier shares one CPU core, which limits what a busy shop can expect from it.
Prices may differ by hosting location, so the headline figure is not always the final one.
Right for
Freelancers paying site by site and choosing a data-centre city
Wrong for
Teams wanting one flat price across a large site portfolio
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly per-website tiers, lower when billed yearly; custom plan on contact
CPU-based hosting whose agency plan covers any number of sites
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Convesio is the plan to read if you host many client sites and dislike per-site caps. The Agency tier shows a cost per site of ten to fifteen dollars and adds priority Slack support, while Express suits a smaller estate on managed CPUs.
Staging is included for each live site. Its uptime guarantee is the highest figure stated by any host here, but a guarantee is not a trial, and none is offered.
What stands out
CPU-priced Express plan
Any-number Agency plan
Daily security scans
Where it costs you
Extra dedicated CPUs are billed as an add-on, so heavy traffic raises the invoice step by step.
The pricing page offers neither a trial nor a money-back window to test performance before paying.
Right for
Agencies wanting an unlimited site count under one monthly plan
Wrong for
Single-site owners who would rather pay a flat visit-based price
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly entry rate per CPU bundle; agency plan from a higher rate; no charge until deployed
Three tiers sized by site count, storage, RAM and CPU cores
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
WPX avoids the visit meter: every tier carries unlimited visitors and is capped instead by storage, bandwidth, RAM and cores. Professional offers 40 GB of storage, 400 GB of bandwidth, 15 GB of RAM and two cores for up to fifteen sites.
Prepaying for several years lowers the monthly rate further, which ties cash up in one vendor. The opening discount code is advertised, so compare the renewal rate, not the opening one.
What stands out
Unlimited visitors
Sites per tier
30-day guarantee
Where it costs you
The ladder stops at fifteen sites, so larger client portfolios have no listed tier.
Resources are small on Starter, with 0.5 of a CPU core and 3GB of RAM.
Right for
Freelancers running a handful of sites who dislike visit counting
Wrong for
Agencies with more than fifteen sites under one plan
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly tiers with lower annual and multi-year rates; 30-day money-back guarantee
Five price tiers with CDN, firewall and daily backups in every plan
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Rocket.net bundles items that other hosts sell separately: an enterprise CDN, a firewall, malware protection, a free WP Umbrella and a free WP Rocket licence. Its solution pages name AI, agency, blog, enterprise, reseller and WooCommerce hosting.
That breadth suits agencies. The price ladder runs from the starter tier to the highest list rate, yet only the starter tier was clearly described, which makes comparison harder than it should be.
What stands out
Enterprise CDN included
WAF and malware protection
Agency and reseller options
Where it costs you
A very low first-month price hides the list rate that applies from the second month.
Limits for the higher tiers were not readable, so sizing a big site needs a question to sales.
Right for
Shops and agencies wanting CDN and firewall without separate add-ons
Wrong for
Buyers who need every plan limit written down before signing
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly tiers, cheaper billed yearly; introductory first month; 30-day money-back guarantee
Platform for several CMSs with specialist-led migration and its own CDN
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Servebolt fits an organisation whose estate is not only WordPress, since one supplier covers WooCommerce, Drupal, Laravel, Magento 2, PrestaShop, Craft CMS and TYPO3.
It offers a free speed check named Test my site, and a migration run by specialists instead of a plugin. The Security page claims GDPR compliance. The drawback is opacity: plans follow workload and traffic, and a buyer cannot read a price before talking to sales.
What stands out
Multi-CMS platform
Specialist-led migration
Own CDN and shield
Where it costs you
Plan prices could not be read on the pricing page, so budgeting starts with a sales call.
Plans follow workload and traffic across several products, not a simple per-site count.
Right for
Teams running WordPress next to Drupal, Magento or TYPO3 sites
Wrong for
Solo site owners who want a price visible up front
Not stated by the vendorPlans sized by workload, traffic and performance needs; sales contact for prices
Server-management layer for WordPress on your own or managed servers
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
GridPane is the odd entry here because it is software for running WordPress on servers rather than a hosting package. The Core plan costs nothing for up to 25 sites, and the server bill goes to Vultr or to PeakFreq, whose managed servers start low per month.
That is cheap for those who can administer a server. A non-technical owner would be buying a control panel, not a service, and should look at the managed hosts above.
What stands out
Free Core plan
Bring your own server
Redis and 7G firewall
Where it costs you
Server choice, sizing and patching stay with you unless you pay for a managed PeakFreq server.
A line about monthly visitors mentions a low price without saying which plan it belongs to.
Right for
Technical agencies hosting many sites on servers they already rent
Wrong for
Owners wanting someone else to answer for the whole stack
Not stated by the vendorFree Core plan for up to 25 sites; managed servers billed separately by the month
Site-count tiers with stated visit, storage and bandwidth caps
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Pantheon is easiest to read when you count client sites: one, ten or thirty, with a custom plan beyond that. Visits, storage and bandwidth rise at each step, from 25,000 visits and 10GB on Starter to 400,000 visits and 50GB on Agency.
Extra sites are priced at a fixed monthly amount. A 60-day money-back guarantee replaces a trial, and the annual discount should be checked against the monthly rate.
What stands out
Site-count tiers
Per-site add-ons
60-day guarantee
Where it costs you
The two-months-free claim does not match the annual prices shown, which sit close to twelve months.
Starter covers one site and 25,000 visits, so growth quickly means the next tier.
Right for
Freelancers and small agencies with ten to thirty client sites
Wrong for
Single-site owners who need generous visit allowances at entry level
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly or yearly tiers by site count; custom plan via sales; 60-day money-back window
Per-site tiers measured in visits or bandwidth, plus multi-site WP plans
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
On this page Kinsta stands out for the most granular entry ladder: six single-site steps from 35,000 visits up to 750,000, each with its storage and CDN bandwidth, plus five multi-site plans.
The price per site falls as plans grow, but only if the sites share a plan. Its trial is one month on three plans. Above that, the agency and enterprise rows leave limits unstated.
What stands out
Visit-based limits
Multi-site WP plans
First-month trial
Where it costs you
Visits and bandwidth are the meter, so a successful campaign can force a bigger plan.
Agency and Enterprise pages state no visit, storage or bandwidth limits to compare against.
Right for
Single revenue-making sites that want a trial month and visible tiers
Wrong for
Agencies needing limits spelled out for the top two tiers
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly and annual prices per site; agency and enterprise tiers start higher; first-month trial on entry plans
Install-count tiers built on Automattic's WP Cloud platform
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Pressable ties its price to installs: 1, 5, 20 or 100 on the four Signature plans listed, with storage from 20GB to 325GB. It sits mid-table because the platform belongs to Automattic, a larger group than the independent hosts above.
Billing is per year with a monthly figure shown beside it. Above Signature 8 there is a premium route starting at ten vCPUs per site, handled by talking to sales.
What stands out
WP Cloud platform
Install-count tiers
Premium plans via sales
Where it costs you
Installs, visits and storage move together, so you cannot buy only the dimension you need.
Premium plans are available only through the sales team.
Right for
Agencies who count client installs and want an Automattic-built cloud platform
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a free trial before committing to a year
Not stated by the vendorPublished yearly-billed Signature tiers by installs and visits; premium plans through sales; 30-day money-back guarantee
Entry-priced WordPress hosting with a 60-day guarantee and free migrations
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Flywheel is ranked below the hosts whose tiers could be read because its own pages disagree about the entry price and its pricing address returned an error.
What it does promise is concrete: a 60-day guarantee, migrations at no charge, SSL, demo sites and malware cleanup with the plans. Treat any figure as provisional and ask for a written quote naming the plan, the visit allowance and the renewal rate.
What stands out
60-day guarantee
Demo sites included
Malware cleanup included
Where it costs you
The homepage gives two different starting prices without explaining the gap.
The pricing page was not reachable, so tiers and limits cannot be compared.
Right for
Small sites that value free migration and a long guarantee window
Wrong for
Anyone who needs plan limits in writing before choosing
Not stated by the vendorPlans advertised from a starting rate; 60-day guarantee; tier details not readable on the homepage
Entry and business plans with phone support and a stated uptime SLA
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
WP Engine splits its range into an entry plan and a business plan that is roughly fourteen times the price shown for annual billing. The jump buys isolated resources, phone as well as chat support, managed site migrations and a written 99.99% uptime SLA.
The entry plan lists chat support. Without a visible trial, the first payment is the test, and the configurator is where the real quote appears.
What stands out
Business-tier SLA
Phone support
Plan configurator
Where it costs you
Shown prices assume annual billing, so the monthly-billed figure may be higher.
Limits sit behind a configurator, which makes side-by-side comparison slower.
Right for
Businesses wanting phone support and an uptime SLA on one plan
Wrong for
Buyers who want to test hosting before paying anything
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly prices shown for annual billing; plan configurator for custom sizing
Enterprise content platform with response-time and uptime commitments
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
WordPress VIP belongs at the far end of this list because the buyer is purchasing service levels, not a hosting plan. The page defines tiers by ticket response times and uptime figures, and says plans are built around the business with no hidden costs.
Whether that is true cannot be checked without a quote, since no price appears. It is a poor starting point for anyone outside enterprise procurement.
What stands out
Enterprise platform
Tiered SLAs
Quoted plans
Where it costs you
No price is shown anywhere, so even a rough budget needs a sales conversation.
The first tier promises only a 24-hour reply to non-urgent tickets.
Right for
Large publishers and enterprises buying written support terms and uptime commitments
Wrong for
Small businesses that want to compare monthly hosting prices
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation through a request-pricing form
Hosted WordPress with a free entry plan and tiered hosting products
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Managed WordPress Hosting in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
WordPress.com is a hosted service with a free tier rather than a pure hosting company, and it also lists agency, enterprise and migration products. For this category that makes it a gateway: start free, upgrade to managed hosting, or be routed to WordPress VIP.
The vendor is named as Automattic Inc. Since individual plan prices were not reliably readable, we make no claim about what a paid plan costs or includes.
What stands out
Free entry plan
Agency hosting
Migration service
Where it costs you
No plan prices or limits could be read in our check, so cost comparison is manual.
The hosting range overlaps with Pressable and WordPress VIP, which belong to the same company.
Right for
Starters who want a free site now and paid hosting later
Wrong for
Buyers who want a price list before opening an account
Not stated by the vendorFree plan available; paid tiers billed monthly or yearly; agency and enterprise hosting listed
Managed WordPress hosting is a service in which the provider runs the server stack for WordPress, covering caching, backups, patches and staging, and bills by site, visit, install or resource. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Prices are public at 11 products (Seravo, Templ, Convesio, WPX, Rocket.net, GridPane, Pantheon, Kinsta, Pressable, WP Engine, WordPress.com) and on request at the remaining 3, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
2 regions are represented (Elsewhere 13, Europe 1). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
Managed WordPress hosting: which meter the plan counts
Before comparing speed claims, find the unit each host bills on, since it decides who pays more as you grow. Kinsta caps single plans by monthly visits or bandwidth, Pantheon by site count with visit ceilings, and Pressable by installs. Seravo counts HTTP requests, Convesio counts CPUs, and WPX gives unlimited visitors but limits storage, RAM and cores.
Templ bills every website as its own subscription. A news site with spiky traffic suffers on visit meters, while an agency with many small sites fares better on Pantheon or Convesio. Write down your sites, monthly visits, storage and busiest day, then ask each host which limit you would hit first and what the next step costs.
List sites, monthly visits and storage before asking for prices
Ask which limit you hit first and the price of the next step
Check whether visits are counted per month or per peak day
Uptime SLAs, guarantees and trials: what WP Engine and others promise
Hosting pages mix three different promises, and they are easy to confuse. A service level is a written uptime commitment: WP Engine states 99.99% on its business plan, WordPress VIP states 99.95% and 99.99% across two tiers, and Convesio claims 99.999% in all plans. A money-back guarantee is a refund window: 60 days at Pantheon and Flywheel, 30 days at Pressable, WPX and Rocket.net.
A trial is a period of use before paying, and only Kinsta shows one, a first month on three entry plans. Several hosts list neither. Read what a breach of the uptime figure earns you, because the page rarely says, and ask whether refund windows cover annual prepayments.
Separate the SLA, the refund window and the trial in every quote
Ask what compensation follows an uptime breach
Confirm the refund window applies to annual prepayment
Agency hosting: Pantheon, Convesio and Pressable for many client sites
An agency does not buy one site, it buys a portfolio, and the three hosts sell that differently. Pantheon steps from one to ten to thirty sites and lists extra sites at a monthly fee each. Convesio's Agency plan has no site ceiling and shows a cost per site, with priority Slack support. Pressable sells Signature plans by installs, from one to one hundred, billed yearly.
GridPane offers up to 25 sites on a free Core plan if you rent the servers yourself. Compare the cost of your actual client count, including the next client you expect to sign. Ask how staging is counted, because Convesio includes one staging copy per live site and other hosts may count it as an install.
Price the host for your real client count plus one expected client
Ask whether staging copies count towards the site limit
Check which tier unlocks priority support for agencies
Moving in and out: migrations and platforms beyond WordPress
Migration is the cheapest test of a host, because the work happens before you pay for a year. Templ lists unlimited free migrations in every plan, Rocket.net and Flywheel list free migrations, WP Engine includes managed migrations on its business tier, and Servebolt runs a specialist-led migration with audit, staging and testing.
Servebolt also supports Drupal, Magento 2 and TYPO3 next to WordPress, which matters if one supplier should cover a mixed estate. GridPane is different: you move sites onto servers you control. None of the pages we read describe how a site leaves, so ask each host for a full backup you can restore elsewhere and try the restore on a spare server before committing.
Ask each host for a downloadable backup before signing
Try one full restore elsewhere before the first renewal
Check migration help is included at your plan level
What goes wrong most often when buying managed wordpress hosting software
Comparing a monthly figure from WPX with the annual-billed figure WP Engine shows makes the second look cheaper than it will be on a monthly contract.
Treating a refund window as a trial leaves you paying first, so a plan from Pantheon or Pressable should be tested with a small site before the whole portfolio moves.
Trusting a homepage starting price, as with Flywheel's two different figures, instead of asking for the tier, visit allowance and renewal rate in writing.
Choosing GridPane or Servebolt for convenience when the team lacks the skills to run servers or a CMS beyond WordPress, then ending up responsible for the stack.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best managed wordpress hosting in 2026?
Seravo leads our ranking of 14. Seravo gives a Tampere street address and prices four tiers in euros by storage, staging environments and monthly HTTP requests, starting at 10 GB and 150,000 requests.
WooCommerce switches on at the third tier and multisite for ten sites at the fourth, so shops and networks must climb. The page lists no trial, and the top tier is custom-quoted, so large sites need a conversation.
Which managed wordpress hosting tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Seravo: Published euro monthly tiers by storage, staging and requests; custom enterprise tier; certificate and one domain included.
Templ: Published monthly per-website tiers, lower when billed yearly; custom plan on contact.
Convesio: Published monthly entry rate per CPU bundle; agency plan from a higher rate; no charge until deployed.
WPX: Published monthly tiers with lower annual and multi-year rates; 30-day money-back guarantee.
Rocket.net: Published monthly tiers, cheaper billed yearly; introductory first month; 30-day money-back guarantee.
GridPane: Free Core plan for up to 25 sites; managed servers billed separately by the month.
Pantheon: Published monthly or yearly tiers by site count; custom plan via sales; 60-day money-back window.
Kinsta: Published monthly and annual prices per site; agency and enterprise tiers start higher; first-month trial on entry plans.
Pressable: Published yearly-billed Signature tiers by installs and visits; premium plans through sales; 30-day money-back guarantee.
WP Engine: Published monthly prices shown for annual billing; plan configurator for custom sizing.
WordPress.com: Free plan available; paid tiers billed monthly or yearly; agency and enterprise hosting listed.
The remaining 3 sell by quote.
Is there a free managed wordpress hosting tool?
GridPane, WordPress.com come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these managed wordpress hosting vendors established?
Across 2 countries (Elsewhere 13, Europe 1):
Seravo: Finland.
Templ: Not stated by the vendor.
Convesio: Not stated by the vendor.
WPX: Not stated by the vendor.
Rocket.net: Not stated by the vendor.
Servebolt: Not stated by the vendor.
GridPane: Not stated by the vendor.
Pantheon: Not stated by the vendor.
Kinsta: Not stated by the vendor.
Pressable: Not stated by the vendor.
Flywheel: Not stated by the vendor.
WP Engine: Not stated by the vendor.
WordPress VIP: Not stated by the vendor.
WordPress.com: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Seravo?
Second is Templ, which suits Freelancers paying site by site and choosing a data-centre city. Third is Convesio, which suits Agencies wanting an unlimited site count under one monthly plan.
Who should not buy Seravo?
Agencies hosting dozens of unrelated client sites on one plan. Shops need the third tier, and networks of sites the fourth, before those features are enabled..
Vendors who think their managed wordpress hosting product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.