Digital forensics software acquires and examines evidence from disks, phones, memory and cloud accounts so findings stand up in an inquiry or court.
This guide ranks by independence of the vendor first, then set-up effort, what a realistic licence bundle costs, how reports leave the tool, and how well each product matches its evidence type.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What digital forensics software does
Digital forensics software acquires, indexes and analyses data from storage media, mobile devices, memory images and cloud accounts, preserving a documented trail so investigators can report findings reliably.
To rank digital forensics tools we asked, in turn, how much work setup takes, what it truly costs, whether data can be taken back out, whether leaving is possible, and who the product suits. Smaller challengers are placed in the top three wherever the category has them; the well-known brands come after. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Dongle-licensed Windows examiner from Germany that also runs from USB
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Digital Forensics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The page lists disk cloning and imaging, RAID, LVM2 and partition structures, NTFS, APFS and ext2-4 support, deleted-file recovery, file carving and mass hash calculation.
Add-ons come through the X-Tensions API, and F-Response, Excire Forensics and Project Vic hash imports are named. Because licences sit on dongles, spare examiners mean spare hardware, and losing one needs a plan. Amounts live on a linked price list that this page does not reproduce.
What stands out
Dongle licensing
Portable USB run
X-Tensions API
Where it costs you
The page describes no cloud or hosted version, so every examiner works at a Windows machine holding the dongle.
Trial licences go only to law enforcement, government and certain corporations, which leaves private buyers to ask for a price list first.
Right for
Labs wanting a Windows examiner licensed by dongle instead of a yearly subscription
Wrong for
Teams wanting a hosted service or yearly subscription terms
GermanyDongle licence, local or network; price list linked without amounts; trial licences for agencies on request
Downloadable investigation platform from Sleuth Kit Labs for hard drive examinations
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Digital Forensics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Autopsy suits a lab that wants to start without a licence purchase. Add-on modules cover a malware scanner, a Cyber Triage importer, a Law Enforcement Bundle and Video Triage, and a third-party module directory sits on GitHub.
Support is a subscription sold separately, with training and custom module development, none priced on the page. Because it is a download, patching and upgrades fall to your own staff, and mobile acquisition is not described.
What stands out
Add-on modules
Paid support route
Download only
Where it costs you
The page shows no prices for training, support or custom modules, so the real cost of a supported rollout is unknown until you ask.
Only a download is described, so teams wanting a managed or hosted setup must build it themselves.
Right for
Small labs and students needing a no-cost disk examiner with optional paid support
Wrong for
Buyers needing phone extraction or a hosted service
Not stated by the vendorFree to download; training, support subscriptions and custom modules sold, prices not shown
PassMark examiner that searches and indexes drives across several file systems
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Digital Forensics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Hash matching, drive signature analysis and custom case reports sit beside the search tools, and the page names OSFMount, OSFClone, Volatility Workbench and ImageUSB as related utilities.
Reports from other tools can be attached to a case. That makes it a tidy middle path between a no-cost download and a large suite. The risk is commercial: the plan structure is behind a link, so confirm term and renewal before you commit.
What stands out
File indexing
Deleted-file recovery
Trial available
Where it costs you
Only a 2026 subscription graphic is shown, with nothing about plan names or money.
No single country of origin is named, because the page lists an Australian head office and a North American branch.
Right for
Investigators wanting indexing, hash matching and timelines in one tool for mixed operating systems
Wrong for
Teams needing named plans with prices on the page
Not stated by the vendorSubscription pricing linked from the site, no plan names shown; trial offered
Triage platform that scores artifacts as bad, suspicious, good or unknown
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Digital Forensics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The product aims at SOCs, law enforcement, MSSPs and incident response teams. Evidence arrives from DFIR collectors, EDR telemetry or disk images, then each artifact receives a score, and results can flow on to case management and SIEMs.
A PowerShell EDR deployer script is named, and an Autopsy module links the two products from the same company. Check the price of the plan that adds collaboration before choosing it.
What stands out
Artifact scoring
Shared workspace
Autopsy module
Where it costs you
The page shows plan names but no prices or currency, so costs for the Teams and Enterprise plans stay unknown.
Only a one-week evaluation is mentioned, which is short for a team testing it on live incidents.
Right for
Incident response teams needing quick scoring of endpoint evidence from many sources
Wrong for
Labs whose caseload centres on phone or vehicle evidence
Not stated by the vendorThree named plans without prices on the page; one-week evaluation offered
Memory forensics framework run by a non-profit foundation
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Digital Forensics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The Foundation describes itself as independent and funds work through donations, training and a yearly Plugin Contest with cash prizes. Volatility 3 is the current project, and the Software License v1.0 is custom, so legal teams should read it before embedding the code in a product.
No integrations are described. For a lab the use is narrow but clear: add it to a toolkit for memory images, and expect to supply your own reporting and case handling.
What stands out
Memory analysis
Non-profit foundation
Plugin contest
Where it costs you
It addresses memory analysis only, so a case with disks or phones needs other tools next to it.
Training course prices are not listed, so the paid learning route cannot be budgeted from the page.
Right for
Analysts who need a no-cost, scriptable memory framework with a known maintainer
Wrong for
Teams wanting a full case manager with reporting
Not stated by the vendorFree to use; donations and training courses fund the Foundation, with course prices unlisted
Mounts disk images as physical disks, with every tool in one subscription
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Digital Forensics Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Besides Image Mounter, the subscription includes Hibernation Recon, which reconstructs memory from Windows hibernation files, and LevelDB Recon, which analyses LevelDB files.
Prices appear on the page in US dollars excluding tax, which makes it easier to cost than most rivals here. It works within Windows and the page describes no hosted version. Because it focuses on mounting and recovery, expect to pair it with a separate examiner for reporting.
What stands out
Image mounting
BitLocker volumes
Multi-year terms
Where it costs you
The five-year plan includes email support only, so long-term buyers get the thinnest support tier.
No trial is listed, only a feature tour and videos, so testing means committing first.
Right for
Examiners who want a narrow, priced image-mounting toolset rather than a whole suite
Wrong for
Teams wanting an end-to-end case manager with reporting built in
Not stated by the vendorPublished one, three and five-year subscriptions covering every tool and future releases
All-in-one examiner for phones, computers, cloud, drones and cars
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Digital Forensics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
BelkaGPT Hub spreads AI processing across GPU-equipped machines and is described as offline, which matters for labs that keep casework off outside services. The Corporate edition adds remote acquisition and eDiscovery and incident response are mentioned.
A trial is offered, while Belkasoft Triage and Live RAM Capturer are separate no-cost tools. Expect the GPU requirement to add hardware cost if you want the AI features at volume.
What stands out
Forensic and Corporate
Offline AI assistant
Remote acquisition
Where it costs you
The page shows no prices or currency for either edition.
The legal entity and owner are not named, only a Sunnyvale address.
Right for
Mixed teams needing government and corporate editions of one acquisition and analysis tool
Wrong for
Buyers needing posted prices before a sales call
United StatesTwo editions, Forensic and Corporate, with no prices shown; trial via a sign-up link
Password and encryption recovery in five editions, from Standard to Ultimate
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Digital Forensics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Kit Ultimate adds 10 distributed-computing agents, online training and annual or three-year licences, whereas Kit Forensic includes five distributed-decryption agents.
Recovery spans MS Office, PDF, ZIP, RAR and password managers, and Kit Mobile covers file-system extraction and app data decryption, including disabled iPhones. The page shows no hosting model. It complements an examiner rather than replacing one, so budget the licence on top of your main suite.
What stands out
Password recovery
Distributed agents
Memory key extraction
Where it costs you
The 70% success rate is the vendor's own claim and says 'up to', so test with your own file types.
No trial or demo is shown on the page, and no prices, so cost and fit remain unknown.
Right for
Examiners hitting locked files who need a dedicated recovery tool beside a main suite
Wrong for
Teams wanting one tool for acquisition, analysis and reporting
Not stated by the vendorFive editions listed, with annual or three-year licences on Ultimate; no prices shown
E3 Platform vendor founded in 1999, sold through a membership program
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Digital Forensics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Beyond E3, the page lists UAS and Counter-UAS training and the Police Intelligence Engine, which analyses and link-maps case data. The membership model suits people who prefer a recurring fee over a one-off licence, and training is part of the bundle.
The weak points are all documentation: no named tiers, no hosting statement and no integrations. Treat the metadata rate as a starting point and ask for a written quote.
What stands out
E3 Platform
Membership bundle
Police intelligence engine
Where it costs you
The only price hint sits in page metadata, with no tiers or currency named beyond a dollar sign.
The page names no specific integrations, though it says the products integrate with existing tools.
Right for
Individual investigators wanting software, support and training under one recurring fee
Wrong for
Buyers needing documented integrations or a stated hosting model
Not stated by the vendorMembership billed monthly or annually; starting rate cited in page metadata; trial mentioned there
Swedish mobile extraction suite with logical, file system and physical levels
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Digital Forensics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The product family is wide: XRY Pro, Physical, Logical and Cloud, frontline Pro Express, Kiosk, Tablet and Express, plus XAMN Pro and Viewer, and XEC Director and Export.
That breadth helps a lab that wants a defined route from field to analysis, though each piece is a separate decision. Work centres on phones rather than whole-disk casework. Ask for a bundled quote, since the page lists the pieces without a price for any of them.
What stands out
Mobile extraction
XAMN analysis
Kiosk products
Where it costs you
No prices, currency or trial are shown, only a switching offer without details.
The hosting model of XRY Cloud is not described on the page.
Right for
Mobile-focused labs wanting extraction, analysis and frontline kiosks from one Swedish vendor
Wrong for
Teams whose main evidence comes from computer disks
SwedenNo prices shown; sold as separate products and kiosks, with a switching offer mentioned
Self-hosted endpoint collection and fleet hunting driven by VQL queries
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Digital Forensics Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
The community Artifact Exchange supplies shared collection content, and the docs point to a Discord server, a mailing list and GitHub for help. Deployments range from a single-user trial to enterprise setups, and Docker is mentioned.
Because the licence type is not stated in the page text read, legal review should go to the repository's LICENSE file. Expect the ninety-day cost to be staff time spent on server setup and query skills.
What stands out
VQL queries
Fleet hunting
Artifact Exchange
Where it costs you
The docs page shows no commercial support offer, only documentation, training material and forums.
Running your own server is the only described route, so setup effort falls on your team.
Right for
Response teams comfortable running their own server and writing VQL to hunt across endpoints
Wrong for
Buyers wanting vendor support contracts or vendor hosting
Not stated by the vendorNo pricing or commercial support offer shown; community resources only
Single-case tool for mobile, computer, cloud and vehicle evidence
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Digital Forensics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The case-centred design reduces tool switching: analysis, visualisations for stakeholders and file and artifact history tracking sit in one product.
Magnet One links Graykey, Autokey, Review, Automate and Witness through the cloud, which suits labs that will buy the family but adds more vendor dependence. A trial is offered. Because tiers are hidden, ask which licence includes media analysis, since Griffeye Advanced comes with the Premier licence.
What stands out
Multi-source cases
Magnet One ecosystem
Connections view
Where it costs you
The pricing page lists no prices, subscription terms or tier details.
The product page does not say whether AXIOM runs on-site or in the cloud.
Right for
Labs wanting one case file across phones, computers, cloud accounts and vehicles
Wrong for
Buyers wanting posted prices or a stated deployment model
Not stated by the vendorQuoted through sales, with no prices on the pricing page; trial offered
Inseyets suite for locked devices, vehicles, drones and cloud accounts
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Digital Forensics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Genesis surfaces leads, relationships and timelines with insights traceable to their source, and Guardian shares evidence securely with prosecutors. Federal agencies can move Inseyets out of on-premises environments, and enterprise customers keep evidence inside the organisation.
The suite is a multi-product commitment, so a sale involves several named components. It sits last because every route starts with a sales conversation and the page offers no plan structure to compare.
What stands out
Inseyets suite
Genesis AI
Guardian custody
Where it costs you
The page shows no prices and sends visitors to a sales form.
Headquarters, owner and parent company are not named, only 14 offices in 11 countries.
Right for
Government and enterprise teams needing locked-device extraction with custody tracking
Wrong for
Small buyers wanting posted prices or a hosted trial
Not stated by the vendorQuoted via Contact Sales; no prices on the page
Digital forensics software acquires, indexes and analyses data from storage media, mobile devices, memory images and cloud accounts, preserving a documented trail so investigators can report findings reliably. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
10 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 3 publish a pricing model you can read today: Autopsy, Volatility, Arsenal Recon.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
The vendors on this page are based in 4 countries (Elsewhere 10, Europe 2, North America 1). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.
Digital forensics software: match the tool to the evidence source
Start from what you will seize most often. Disk and file-system work suits X-Ways Forensics, Autopsy and OSForensics, which indexes drives, recovers deleted files and builds timelines. Phone work points to MSAB XRY, with its Logical, Full File System, Physical and RAM levels, or to Cellebrite and Magnet AXIOM.
Memory images belong with Volatility, which covers nothing else, so it works beside a main examiner. Arsenal Recon mounts images as physical disks before a separate examiner reads them. A lab handling every type will own two or three products rather than one. List your last twenty cases by evidence type and count how many each candidate could not open without a second tool.
Tally your recent cases by evidence type
Check which source each product names explicitly
Budget for a second tool where coverage has gaps
How licences work: dongles, subscriptions and demo-led sales
Models differ more here than in most software. X-Ways Forensics ties each licence to a dongle, held locally, on the network or brought by you. Arsenal Recon shows one, three and five-year subscriptions that include every tool and future releases. Paraben bundles software, support and training into a monthly or annual membership. Autopsy costs nothing to download, with training and subscription support sold separately.
Cyber Triage lists three named plans, Belkasoft X two editions and Passware five, yet none shows prices. Magnet AXIOM and Cellebrite route you to sales. Ask each vendor what a spare examiner costs, what a lost dongle costs, and whether upgrades cost extra after year one, because a quote for one seat rarely predicts the bill for a growing team.
Ask what a second examiner seat costs in year one
Find out how a lost dongle or lapsed term is handled
Get upgrade terms in writing before signing
Locked and encrypted evidence: Passware, Belkasoft X and Cellebrite
Encryption decides many cases before analysis starts. Passware sells recovery for over 420 file types, claims up to a 70% success rate and extracts keys from live memory images and hibernation files, with Kit Mobile for Android and iOS passcodes. Belkasoft X adds a Brute-Force module for certain iPhones, iPads and Android devices.
Cellebrite describes collecting from locked and encrypted devices inside its Inseyets suite. Arsenal Recon manages BitLocker-protected volumes during image mounting. These are vendor claims, so run each against sample devices and files similar to your own caseload during a trial. Passware shows no trial on its page, so ask for a demonstration with a file you hold lawfully.
Test claims on devices that match your caseload
Ask which models and OS versions are covered
Confirm how success rates are measured
Triage, hunting and case depth: Cyber Triage, Velociraptor and Magnet AXIOM
Not every investigation needs a full examination. Cyber Triage scores artifacts as bad, suspicious, good or unknown, taking evidence from DFIR collectors, EDR telemetry and disk images. Velociraptor collects artifacts across endpoints and hunts fleets with VQL, running on your own server, which suits teams happy to carry setup work.
Magnet AXIOM and Belkasoft X sit at the deep end, assembling mobile, computer and cloud evidence in one case, and Belkasoft X adds an offline AI assistant. A common pattern is a triage tool to decide what deserves a full image, then a case tool for what remains. Check how each product exports findings so they can move between tools.
Decide what needs triage versus full imaging
Check export formats between your tools
Count staff hours for server setup and training
What goes wrong most often when buying digital forensics software
Buying one broad suite and assuming it opens every phone, drive and memory image, when several products here cover one evidence type only.
Comparing licence prices without counting dongles, extra seats, support terms and training, which Autopsy, Paraben and Arsenal Recon all treat differently.
Trusting a headline recovery or extraction claim, such as Passware's up to 70%, instead of testing sample evidence during a trial.
Skipping the question of who maintains the product, since Volatility is run by a foundation while Velociraptor sits with Rapid7 and the others are commercial vendors.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best digital forensics software in 2026?
X-Ways Forensics leads our ranking of 13. X-Ways Forensics is made in Germany by X-Ways Software Technology AG and is licensed through a local dongle, a network dongle or your own dongle, with no subscription described.
It covers imaging, RAID reading, carving, hashing and email extraction on Windows, and can run from a USB stick. The catch is a price list without amounts and no public trial, only trial licences on request for agencies and some corporations.
Which digital forensics tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Autopsy: Free to download; training, support subscriptions and custom modules sold, prices not shown.
Volatility: Free to use; donations and training courses fund the Foundation, with course prices unlisted.
Arsenal Recon: Published one, three and five-year subscriptions covering every tool and future releases.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free digital forensics tool?
Autopsy, Volatility can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these digital forensics software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 4 countries and 3 regions, Elsewhere 10, Europe 2, North America 1:
X-Ways Forensics: Germany.
Autopsy: Not stated by the vendor.
OSForensics: Not stated by the vendor.
Cyber Triage: Not stated by the vendor.
Volatility: Not stated by the vendor.
Arsenal Recon: Not stated by the vendor.
Belkasoft X: United States.
Passware: Not stated by the vendor.
Paraben: Not stated by the vendor.
MSAB XRY: Sweden.
Velociraptor: Not stated by the vendor.
Magnet AXIOM: Not stated by the vendor.
Cellebrite: Not stated by the vendor.
Which digital forensics tools can you host yourself?
Velociraptor. 12 products offer no self-hosted option.
What should you use instead of X-Ways Forensics?
Autopsy and OSForensics are the next two on this page. Autopsy is for small labs and students needing a no-cost disk examiner with optional paid support; OSForensics is for Investigators wanting indexing, hash matching and timelines in one tool for mixed operating systems.
Who should not buy X-Ways Forensics?
Teams wanting a hosted service or yearly subscription terms. The page describes no cloud or hosted version, so every examiner works at a Windows machine holding the dongle..
We rank 13 digital forensics software products on this page. If we missed one, its maker can write to us about its purpose and customers. We pick what gets added; the terms of a listing are set out under software advice.