Requirements management software keeps what a product must do in structured, linked, versioned form, so changes can be traced to tests and approvals.
This ranking starts with vendors that show prices and limits, then weighs ninety-day setup effort, extra module costs, exports of links and baselines, and how well each tool fits teams working under audit.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What requirements management software does
Requirements management software records, links and versions product requirements, ties them to tests and risks, and shows who approved each change, so teams can prove what they built.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether you can leave, and who each requirements management tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests: places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
No plans or amounts on the page; no trial mentioned; licensed by PTC
—
Teams in regulated industries buying a full lifecycle suite, not only requirements
Teams wanting to start with visible prices and a trial
The country column shows the vendor's headquarters or contracting entity. Data hosting is a separate matter, and an entry flags it when the two diverge.
Requirements documents with traceability, priced openly per user per year
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Requirements Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Pricing climbs in clear steps. PRO adds core traceability and exports to Word, Excel, PDF and HTML. TEAM brings dashboards, linked projects and integrations with Jira, Azure DevOps, Sparx EA and ReqIF. Enterprise moves to floating licences with unlimited users.
A 14-day TEAM trial is available on request, and the floating licence server can run on-premises or in the cloud. The stated export formats make leaving look manageable, though the page does not describe a full project export.
What stands out
Annual licences
Floating licence server
Word and ReqIF links
Where it costs you
The free plan is capped at one document and 150 objects, so it works as an evaluation rather than a working setup.
Purchases go through the reseller FastSpring, and only annual or short three or six month licences exist.
Right for
Small engineering teams wanting requirements with traceability and a price they can read
Wrong for
Buyers who need month-to-month subscriptions rather than annual licences
CzechiaFree plan with one document; paid tiers published per user per year; floating licences quoted; 14-day trial on request
Requirements and test tracking sold per user per month
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Requirements Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The Requirements plan covers gathering with an approval workflow and change tracking, forward and backward traceability to tests, and templates with collaborative rich-text documents. The second plan adds QMS features and documents, so a team with quality-system duties pays double per seat.
Test sessions, bug tracking and coverage views live in the same tool, and GitHub commits and pull requests can be linked to tasks and bugs. Billing is prorated per user and plans can change at any time.
What stands out
Per-user monthly
Test sessions
GitHub linking
Where it costs you
Real-time editing is limited to five people at once on both plans.
The price carries only a dollar sign, so the page never defines the currency.
Right for
Small product teams wanting requirements, test sessions and bug tracking in one tool
Wrong for
Large groups needing many simultaneous editors in one specification
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-user monthly plans, cheaper billed yearly; 14-day trial only, no card needed
Requirements and systems engineering software from a Cumbria company
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Requirements Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Document Loader imports requirements from existing documents and keeps links back to the source, which helps a team starting from Word files. Concurrent editing relies on individual locking. Over 20 MBSE diagram notations are offered, and baselines, version control and audit trails are named.
Document Publisher produces formal documents integrated with Microsoft Word. Remote access works through Citrix, Microsoft RemoteApp, Unix X11 and web clients, with SaaS as the alternative route.
What stands out
MBSE notations
Word publishing
Citrix access
Where it costs you
The site shows purchase links but no amounts for any edition or for SaaS.
Covering requirements, MBSE and project management in a single tool adds scope that small teams may not use.
Right for
Systems engineering groups wanting requirements and models held in one repository
Wrong for
Teams wanting a lightweight tracker with prices visible upfront
United KingdomDesktop, Pro and Enterprise editions or SaaS subscriptions; amounts not shown; trial through a download link
Requirements management built inside Azure DevOps by a Canadian vendor
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Requirements Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Smart Docs creates requirement documents, while traceability and trace analysis connect items. Review and Baseline manage change, Smart Reports handles reporting, and the Copilot4DevOps assistant with an AI Sync Bridge moves data between tools.
Hosting is not stated separately because the product runs inside Azure DevOps Server, Services and TFS. A trial button exists but gives no length, and the page names no parent company, so ownership questions need to be asked directly.
What stands out
Inside Azure DevOps
Smart Docs
Review and Baseline
Where it costs you
Its value is tied to Azure DevOps and TFS, so teams on other trackers get less from it.
The page lists no plan tiers or amounts, and the trial length is not stated.
Right for
Teams already running Azure DevOps who want requirements documents inside it
Wrong for
Teams whose delivery work lives outside Azure DevOps
CanadaA pricing section is linked but lists no tiers or amounts; trial button offered, length unstated
Plans bundling quality and ALM modules, sized by users and storage
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Requirements Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Starter allows up to four QMS processes or the full ALM module, with Document Control, Risk Management and templates. Essentials, labelled Recommended, has full QMS and ALM modules, single sign-on and the Ask Paul AI assistant.
Professional adds a build-your-own process option, API access, a Service Center module and a sandbox account, with 100 GB of storage. Unlimited projects begin at Essentials. Each plan ends in a demo button and a note about custom plans.
What stands out
QMS plus ALM
Storage-sized tiers
Ask Paul assistant
Where it costs you
Seat counts are small: the largest listed plan includes five users and ten viewers.
Prices and any trial are absent, and every plan points to a demo or a custom plan.
Right for
Regulated product teams wanting requirements, risk and quality processes in one system
Wrong for
Larger teams needing many named users on a listed plan
Not stated by the vendorThree tiers described by user and storage limits; amounts absent, custom plan on contact
AI-native compliance for regulated products, centred on medical devices
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Requirements Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Automated design and development file documentation is the headline function, alongside traceability across requirements, risks, code and tests, including Git tests traced to Jira requirements.
ISO 14971 risk management is named, as are AI agents with humans in the loop and enforcement of the QMS procedures a team defines. Enterprise plans can be single-tenant or on-premises. Investors named are Transformation Capital (Series B, 2025) and Lightspeed Venture Partners (Series A, 2023).
What stands out
Medical devices
ISO 14971 risk
Single-tenant option
Where it costs you
The free plan is aimed at companies below the stated funding threshold, so it lapses as a route once a company raises more.
Paid plans carry neither published prices nor stated limits.
Right for
Medical device start-ups needing traceable requirements, risks and test evidence
Wrong for
Teams in unregulated products wanting a plain requirements editor
Not stated by the vendorFree plan for pre-market companies under a funding threshold; higher plans quoted on contact
Auditable code developed in France and published by Enalean SAS
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Requirements Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Evidence is thin. The vendor pages we could read state that Tuleap is developed in France, that its code is auditable, that Enalean SAS publishes it with a France-based team, and that tuleap.org redirects to tuleap.com.
The pricing page links to Cloud and other pages we did not read, so hosting options and licence terms remain open questions. A buyer should ask for the licence name, the price basis and the requirements feature list in the first call.
What stands out
Auditable code
Enalean SAS
France-based team
Where it costs you
Requirements-specific features could not be confirmed from the vendor pages we read.
The route in is talking to an expert or requesting a demo, with no stated price basis.
Right for
Buyers who value auditable code and a French publisher over a published price list
Wrong for
Teams needing a verified feature list and prices before sales calls
FranceQuoted through an expert call or demo request; no plan names or amounts shown
Cloud-native model-based systems engineering with requirements management included
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Requirements Management Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Functions named are requirements management, modelling and simulation, verification and validation, program management, DoDAF architecture, risk analysis and AI quality analytics. The vendor offers a cloud service and lists an On-Premise Enterprise option in its navigation.
A create-account link exists with no stated trial terms. The company address is in Manassas, VA, though the country is not written out. A requirements-only buyer will find most of this list outside their brief.
What stands out
MBSE
DoDAF
Enterprise on-premise
Where it costs you
Requirements sit among modelling, simulation and DoDAF features, so the scope is wide.
Prices are not shown on the home page and trial terms are not stated.
Right for
Systems engineering programmes that combine requirements with modelling and simulation work
Wrong for
Teams wanting only a plain requirements list and quick pricing
Not stated by the vendorA pricing and licensing page is linked but the home page shows no plans; account sign-up offered, terms unstated
Perforce requirements and ALM with traceability to tests and code
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Requirements Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Requirements go into a central repository with reuse, and traceability extends to tests, test results and source code through an automatic matrix. Impact analysis shows what a change touches.
Review comments arrive in real time and documents export to Word, and a Jira integration is named. The trial lasts 30 days and starts from a Start My Trial link. Hosting, whether cloud or self-hosted, is not stated, so deployment must be asked about.
What stands out
Traceability matrix
Impact analysis
Jira integration
Where it costs you
Pricing and hosting are not stated on the product page.
The page says Perforce ALM while the address and listing say Helix, which needs sorting out during procurement.
Right for
Teams wanting requirements traced to tests and source code in one repository
Wrong for
Buyers who need prices and hosting terms before talking to sales
Not stated by the vendorNo plans or amounts on the product page; 30-day trial of the ALM product
AI-assisted requirements platform with offices in Boston and Amsterdam
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Requirements Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Named functions include AI generation of requirements, test cases and traceability, parallel branch engineering, CI/CD pipeline automation, and AI governance with standards compliance.
Security claims are SOC 2 Type II, TISAX Level 2, encryption in transit and built-in disaster recovery. The tagline is The Product Context Platform. A Start Free Trial button exists without a stated length. Pricing sits on a separate page, so budget work starts with a call.
What stands out
SOC 2 Type II
TISAX Level 2
AI test generation
Where it costs you
No prices or plan details appear on the home page.
Owner and headquarters are not stated, which complicates vendor due diligence.
Right for
Engineering organisations wanting AI-drafted requirements and test cases aligned to industry standards
Wrong for
Buyers wanting plain price lists before contacting the vendor
Not stated by the vendorSeparate pricing and licensing page; trial button offered with unstated length
PTC application lifecycle platform with requirements and risk management
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Requirements Management Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
The module list runs from requirements management and software development through QA and test management, IT operations and DevOps, risk management, and variants and demand management. Industry solutions are listed for medical, automotive, aviation and pharmaceutical sectors.
The product is presented as an integrated ALM platform under the PTC licence. Links to an Installation and Configuration Guide and a System Admin's Guide suggest customer-run installs, though the page never says whether a cloud edition exists.
What stands out
Variant management
Medical and automotive
Risk management
Where it costs you
No pricing model, plans or trial are shown.
Hosting is not stated; only installation guides hint at on-premises use.
Right for
Teams in regulated industries buying a full lifecycle suite, not only requirements
Wrong for
Teams wanting to start with visible prices and a trial
Not stated by the vendorNo plans or amounts on the page; no trial mentioned; licensed by PTC
Requirements management software records, links and versions product requirements, ties them to tests and risks, and shows who approved each change, so teams can prove what they built. Work through these questions in order; they separate the products better than a feature matrix does.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
8 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 3 publish a pricing model you can read today: ReqView, Xebrio, Ketryx.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Jurisdiction is a buying criterion here. The 11 vendors are spread over 5 countries (Elsewhere 7, Europe 3, North America 1), and the home country determines which disclosure rules bind them.
Choosing requirements management software by artefact count
Before comparing vendors, count what you must control: requirement documents, test cases, risks and baselines. A team with one specification can start on the free plan from ReqView, whose limit of one document and 150 objects makes that boundary explicit. A team that also tracks test sessions and bugs may prefer Xebrio, which keeps them in the same tool.
Systems groups that hold models beside text should look at Cradle or Innoslate, where requirements share a repository with diagrams. Write the counts down first, because plan limits in this market are set in documents, objects, users and storage, and each product measures a different one. A vendor whose limit is invisible until the quote arrives deserves extra questions.
List your documents, objects and users before reading any plan page
Check which unit each plan limits: documents, objects, users or storage
Ask what happens to your data when a limit is reached
Why traceability decides requirements management software fit
Traceability is the reason most teams buy a requirements tool, so test it on your own links. Helix RM names an automatic matrix reaching tests, test results and source code. Ketryx traces requirements to risks, code and tests, including Git tests linked to Jira requirements. Ask each vendor to build one real chain from a requirement to a test result, then change the requirement and watch what the tool flags.
Impact analysis only helps if it fires when someone edits; a matrix that must be rebuilt by hand is a report, not control. Also check whether reviewers can comment without a full seat, and whether the matrix stays current once requirements are split, merged or reused in a second project.
Build one live chain from requirement to test result in a trial
Edit the requirement and see what the tool flags as affected
Confirm whether reviewers need a paid seat to comment
Reading pricing for requirements management software honestly
Published prices are the exception here. ReqView and Xebrio show their rates, while Jama Connect and Codebeamer direct buyers to sales or a demo. Orcanos shows plan contents but no amounts, and Ketryx offers a free plan only to pre-market companies under a funding threshold. When the price is hidden, ask for a written quote covering the modules a normal team needs: test management, risk, reporting and integrations.
Ask about annual versus monthly billing too, since ReqView has no monthly subscriptions. Compare cost per active author, not per account, because reviewers and readers often sit on a cheaper licence. Finally, ask whether the trial includes every module you plan to buy, since Xebrio offers a 14-day trial of all features while other vendors give no trial terms at all.
Request a written quote that includes test, risk and reporting modules
Ask whether billing is annual only or can be monthly
Separate the cost of authors from the cost of viewers
Exit paths from requirements management software
Requirements outlive the tool that stored them, so check how they leave. ReqView lists exports to Word, Excel, PDF and HTML, and ReqIF appears among its TEAM integrations. Helix RM exports documents to Word, and Cradle's Document Publisher produces formal documents through Microsoft Word.
Tools that run inside another system, such as Modern Requirements in Azure DevOps, tie your data to that host as well as to the vendor. Ask for a full export of a test project during the trial, including links and baselines, not just text. If the export drops traceability, your history is gone even though the words survived. Plan the exit before signing, while the vendor still wants your business.
Export a trial project with links and baselines intact
Check whether ReqIF or another exchange format is supported
Ask who owns the data if the host platform changes
What goes wrong most often when buying requirements management software
Buying a full lifecycle suite such as Codebeamer when the real need is one controlled specification.
Treating a free plan as a working setup when it caps documents, objects or company funding stage.
Judging a tool on its demo document instead of a real requirement chain linked to test results.
Skipping the export test, then discovering that links and baselines do not leave with the text.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best requirements management software in 2026?
ReqView takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. ReqView is made by Eccam in Czechia and is the only entry here whose site shows a free plan and a full price ladder.
That free plan stops at one document of up to 150 objects with read-only project access. Billing has no monthly option: licences run for a year, or three or six months. Larger groups need a quote for floating licences, which start at three clients.
Which requirements management tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
ReqView: Free plan with one document; paid tiers published per user per year; floating licences quoted; 14-day trial on request.
Xebrio: Published per-user monthly plans, cheaper billed yearly; 14-day trial only, no card needed.
Ketryx: Free plan for pre-market companies under a funding threshold; higher plans quoted on contact.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free requirements management tool?
ReqView, Ketryx offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these requirements management software vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 7, Europe 3, North America 1:
ReqView: Czechia.
Xebrio: Not stated by the vendor.
Cradle: United Kingdom.
Modern Requirements: Canada.
Orcanos: Not stated by the vendor.
Ketryx: Not stated by the vendor.
Tuleap: France.
Innoslate: Not stated by the vendor.
Helix RM: Not stated by the vendor.
Jama Connect: Not stated by the vendor.
Codebeamer: Not stated by the vendor.
Which requirements management tools can you host yourself?
Innoslate, Codebeamer. 9 products offer no self-hosted option.
What should you use instead of ReqView?
Look at Xebrio (made for small product teams wanting requirements, test sessions and bug tracking in one tool) and Cradle (made for Systems engineering groups wanting requirements and models held in one repository), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy ReqView?
Buyers who need month-to-month subscriptions rather than annual licences. The free plan is capped at one document and 150 objects, so it works as an evaluation rather than a working setup..
Do you make a requirements management software product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.