WordPress backup plugins copy a site's files and database to a place that survives a hacked or broken server, then restore them on demand.
This guide ranks by independence of the vendor first, then by ninety-day setup effort, the real yearly bill once storage is added, how easily a copy can leave, and fit for agencies or single sites.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What wordpress backup plugins software does
A WordPress backup plugin copies a site's files and database on a schedule to remote storage, then restores or migrates them later after failed updates, hacks or host problems.
Our order comes from five tests, taken in turn: effort to set up, what you really pay, what happens to your data on the way out, how locked in you are, and the intended customer. A separate rule reserves the first three places for challengers and moves the household names to place 4 and below. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Backup plugin sold as a yearly subscription covering unlimited sites
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best WordPress Backup Plugins in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Prices are listed in euros without VAT: the WordPress edition costs more in its first year and less on renewal, and a bundle pairs it with Admin Tools Pro for WordPress.
Every plan is a one-year subscription with an unlimited sites and domains licence, so agencies do not count installations. The weak points are practical: the page mentions neither a trial nor a free version, and no country is given for the seller.
What stands out
Unlimited-site licence
Renewal discount
WordPress and Joomla
Where it costs you
The subscribe page mentions no trial period, so a purchase is the only way to test the paid version.
The page states no country for the seller, which leaves the contracting party unclear.
Right for
Agencies running many client sites who want one licence price regardless of site count
Wrong for
Buyers who need a trial before paying for anything
Not stated by the vendorPublished yearly subscriptions in euros, excluding VAT; lower renewal rates; WordPress bundle available
Free WordPress backup plugin with paid tiers by domain count
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best WordPress Backup Plugins in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The smallest paid plan covers two domains and the largest has no domain cap, with licence transfer limited to three days on the entry plan and unlimited above it. Lifetime prices exist for each tier, which suits owners who dislike renewals.
Where it falls short is documentation of the free edition: the page lists no price or domain limit for it, and the footer names a Canadian company without an address.
What stands out
Lifetime option
Domain-count tiers
Canadian company
Where it costs you
The pricing page states no limits for the free plugin, so what the paid tiers add is hard to judge from the page.
The footer gives a registration country but no street address or governing law.
Right for
Small site owners and freelancers wanting a free start with a lifetime option
Wrong for
Buyers who need a documented comparison of free and paid editions
CanadaFree plugin on WordPress.org; published yearly or lifetime tiers by number of domains
Backup plugin with restore windows that depend on plan and storage
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best WordPress Backup Plugins in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Three yearly plans split by site count and restore window: thirty days for two sites, one hundred and twenty for ten, and 365 for unlimited sites. That longest window works only with Amazon S3, Wasabi or Backblaze B2, so a separate storage bill follows.
Real-time backups come with the top plan. A thirty-day trial is open without a card, but the page lists yearly prices only, even though it mentions a one-time payment option.
What stands out
Real-time backups
Restore windows
30-day trial
Where it costs you
The longest restore window depends on three named storage providers, so the headline figure needs extra storage spending.
Crossed-out list prices appear beside every plan, so the discount cannot be separated from the normal price.
Right for
Agencies wanting long restore history and a month to test it first
Wrong for
Buyers who want storage bundled into the plan price
Not stated by the vendorPublished yearly tiers by site count, with a one-time option; 30-day trial, no card needed
Backup and migration service with yearly and lifetime plans by domain
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best WordPress Backup Plugins in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Plans step from two domains to ten, fifty and unlimited, at a yearly price or a once-only lifetime price. The cheapest plan allows licence transfer for three days only, while higher plans allow it without limit, which matters for agencies moving sites between clients.
The FAQ refers to a trial without terms, and the privacy policy lists a Bangalore address for the data controller but no country.
What stands out
Lifetime pricing
Domain tiers
Backup and migration
Where it costs you
A trial appears in the FAQ with no published terms, so its length and limits are unknown.
The cheapest plan restricts licence transfer to three days, which limits moving a licence between client sites.
Right for
Freelancers and small agencies wanting lifetime pricing with a free entry route
Wrong for
Buyers who want a trial with written terms on the page
Not stated by the vendorPublished yearly or lifetime plans by domain count; free plugin listing; trial mentioned without terms
Per-site monitoring and backup plan with priced add-ons
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best WordPress Backup Plugins in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Pricing is a single per-site monthly rate, pro-rated when billed monthly. Daily, weekly and monthly backups come with it, stored encrypted and incrementally for fifty days on EU-based infrastructure.
Hourly backups and a security add-on are billed per site, and a security audit is a separate one-off. The trial lasts fourteen days with full access, and the page shows no one-off licence.
What stands out
Per-site billing
EU-based storage
Unlimited team members
Where it costs you
Hourly backups are a separate per-site add-on, so frequent backups raise the monthly bill with every site.
No site limit is stated, which leaves the cost to scale with the number of connected sites.
Right for
Agencies that want daily backups and a clear per-site monthly price
Wrong for
Owners of a single site wanting a one-off licence
Not stated by the vendorOne plan billed per site per month, published; add-ons per site; 14-day trial only
Backup plugin with three yearly plans that share one feature list
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best WordPress Backup Plugins in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
All three plans list product updates, premium support, premium storage options, data encryption, migration and a restore app, which removes any feature comparison between them.
Domain allowance is the only difference, at two, five and twenty. Sale prices run to a stated date, with higher regular prices beside them. Cancellation takes effect at the end of the billing cycle, and refunds run for fourteen days.
What stands out
Domain-count plans
Encryption
Restore app
Where it costs you
The shown prices are sale prices with an end date, so the regular price is what renewal planning should use.
With nothing to try first, evaluation relies on the 14-day refund window.
Right for
Owners of a handful of sites wanting one feature set at every tier
Wrong for
Anyone who needs to test the plugin before buying it
FranceThree published yearly plans split by domain count; refund window of 14 days
Plugin tiers priced by cloud space, plus server licences
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best WordPress Backup Plugins in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The plugin is sold in four yearly plans mixing sites and cloud space: one site with ten gigabytes, one with Pro functionality, five sites with twenty-five, and all sites with one hundred.
More storage is charged per gigabyte at falling rates. For servers, a Softaculous licence makes Backuply cost nothing extra, while standalone use is charged per server. The page states a free tier but no trial.
What stands out
Cloud space tiers
Server licence
Softaculous product
Where it costs you
Large backup sets add a second charge, because extra cloud space has its own per-gigabyte price.
No trial is listed, and the free tier has no stated price or limits on the page.
Right for
Hosting providers and site owners already using Softaculous on their servers
Wrong for
Buyers wanting one flat price that includes all storage
Not stated by the vendorFree tier exists; published yearly plugin plans by sites and cloud space; separate server licences
Free plugin with one gigabyte of cloud, plus premium tiers
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best WordPress Backup Plugins in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The free edition bundles scheduled backups, folder include and exclude rules, site-to-site migration, staging sites and one gigabyte of BackupBliss storage.
Larger cloud space is sold monthly, from ten to two hundred gigabytes, and a premium licence covers two sites. Renewal costs are not shown, and the premium price appears with a missing decimal point, so check the checkout price before relying on the page.
What stands out
Staging included
Cloud storage tiers
Malta company
Where it costs you
Cloud prices are marked as first year with no renewal figures, so the long-run storage cost is unknown.
The premium licence price renders as a four-digit number without a decimal point, so the true amount is unclear.
Right for
Small sites wanting a free start with staging and a little cloud space
Wrong for
Buyers who need renewal prices before they commit
MaltaFree plugin with limited cloud storage; premium licence and monthly storage add-ons published
Licence tiers by site count with separate yearly cloud storage
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best WordPress Backup Plugins in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Four licence tiers cover two, five, twenty and one hundred sites, with unlimited backups and migrations in each. The entry tier allows one cloud destination and the next tier unlimited ones.
Hosted storage is separate and billed yearly in six sizes. The page mentions introductory pricing with renewals at full price, shows a sixty per cent offer without the discounted amounts, and offers a 14-day money-back guarantee instead of a trial.
What stands out
Site-count licences
Storage sold separately
Cloud destinations
Where it costs you
The licence billing period is not stated and discounted amounts are not shown, so the true price needs confirmation.
Hosted storage is a second yearly purchase, and renewals are at full price after the introductory offer.
Right for
Agencies wanting a tiered site licence with cloud storage as an option
Wrong for
Buyers who need a price they can budget from the page alone
Not stated by the vendorPublished licence tiers by site count; cloud storage sold separately by the year; 14-day refund window
WPMU DEV backup product with fifty-day retention and site-based plans
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best WordPress Backup Plugins in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Annual plans step from one site to three and ten, then an unlimited tier that also lists unlimited backup storage. Retention is fifty days and third-party destinations are not capped.
Two storage claims clash on the page, 5GB on the lower plans and up to 50GB in the header. The Alabama-based owner offers a thirty-day money-back guarantee but no trial, and it lists no trial.
What stands out
50-day retention
Unlimited destinations
WPMU DEV
Where it costs you
The page gives 5GB on the lower plans yet advertises up to 50GB in its header, so actual storage is unclear.
The unlimited-site tier costs less per year than the ten-site tier, which makes the plan ladder confusing.
Right for
Agencies already buying WPMU DEV tools who want one supplier
Wrong for
Buyers who need one clear storage figure per plan
United StatesPublished annual plans by site count; 30-day money-back guarantee
Multi-site dashboard whose core, including monthly backup, costs nothing
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best WordPress Backup Plugins in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Core features are free for unlimited websites and include a monthly cloud backup. Anything beyond that is an add-on billed per website per month: Backups, Vulnerability Protection and several monitoring and report options.
Bundles each cover up to one hundred websites, and an all-in-one package is billed monthly. The pricing page shows no owner, parent company or country, and gives no storage number for the free backup.
What stands out
Site dashboard
Monthly cloud backup
Per-site add-ons
Where it costs you
The core backup runs monthly only, so anything more frequent needs the paid per-site Backups add-on.
No storage figure is given for the cloud backup, so retention depth cannot be checked.
Right for
Agencies wanting a free dashboard for many sites with basic monthly backup
Wrong for
Sites needing frequent backups without paying a fee per site
Not stated by the vendorFree core for unlimited websites with monthly cloud backup; premium add-ons published per site per month
Real-time backup billed by storage size, with one-click restore
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best WordPress Backup Plugins in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Pro offers 50GB and Complete 1TB, each with real-time backups and one-click restore. Pricing can be monthly, yearly or every two years. Storage is the limit: when it fills, older backups are removed and retention may shrink with site size.
Refunds cover fourteen days on yearly plans and seven on monthly ones. The base Jetpack plan carries no backup features, so the cheapest backup route starts at Pro.
What stands out
Real-time backups
Storage-sized plans
One-click restore
Where it costs you
Full storage deletes older backups and may shorten retention, so a large site can lose history unexpectedly.
The base plan excludes backups and no trial is listed, so the backup cost starts at the Pro plan.
Right for
Single sites needing real-time backups and one-click restore without extra storage
Wrong for
Sites on a tight budget or with very large media libraries
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly, yearly and two-year plans in euros, sized by storage; refunds within 7 or 14 days
Free migration and cloning tool from the BlogVault operator
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best WordPress Backup Plugins in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
The homepage lists one-click migration to a new host, cloning for development and backup, sites up to 200GB, multisite and serialised data without add-ons, and support for more than 5,000 hosts.
The site copy sits on the vendor's servers during the transfer and is then erased. Nothing there describes schedules or retention. The cost is stated as free, and the contract entity is in Bangalore.
What stands out
Migration first
Sites up to 200 GB
Cloning for development
Where it costs you
The copy is erased after migration, so it cannot serve as a retained backup history.
The homepage names no schedule, retention period or restore point feature.
Right for
Anyone moving a large site to a new host in one step
Wrong for
Owners needing scheduled backups with retained restore points
IndiaFree of charge according to the homepage; no paid tier named
A WordPress backup plugin copies a site's files and database on a schedule to remote storage, then restores or migrates them later after failed updates, hacks or host problems. These are the questions that actually differ between vendors, in the order we would ask them.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Every wordpress backup plugins tool here states what it costs on its own site, so the whole list can be compared without a call: Akeeba Backup, WPvivid, WP Time Capsule, BlogVault, WP Umbrella, BackWPup, Backuply, Backup Migration, Duplicator, Snapshot, ManageWP, Jetpack Backup, Migrate Guru.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
4 regions are represented (Elsewhere 8, North America 2, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
WordPress backup plugins: what the price counts
Start by finding the unit each vendor bills on, since it decides the cost at your size. Akeeba Backup sells an unlimited-sites licence, WPvivid and BlogVault price by domain count, BackWPup splits plans at two, five and twenty domains, and WP Umbrella bills every site every month.
Backuply adds a charge for cloud space, while Jetpack Backup sizes plans by storage and Duplicator sells hosted storage as a second purchase. A freelancer with three sites and an agency with sixty pay very different totals under these models. Count your sites, the size of your uploads folder and how many restore points you want before you ask for prices, then compare the yearly total instead of the headline rate.
Count sites and uploads size before comparing plans
Check whether storage is bundled or billed apart
Ask what renewal costs after the first year
Restore points: how far back you can actually go
A backup is only useful if the version you need still exists, and retention is where plans differ. WP Time Capsule ties its 365-day window to the unlimited plan and to Amazon S3, Wasabi or Backblaze B2, with thirty days on the entry plan. WP Umbrella keeps backups for fifty days, and so does Snapshot. Jetpack Backup deletes older backups when storage is full and may shorten retention.
ManageWP includes a monthly cloud backup in its core, which is a long gap if a site changes daily. Decide how old a problem could be before you notice it, then match that to the window, the frequency and the storage you must pay for. A cheap plan with a short window can cost more once a late-noticed hack arrives.
Compare the restore window on the plan you would buy
Check what happens to old backups when storage fills
Match backup frequency to how often the site changes
Storage and transfers: where the copies live
Backups held on the same server as the site disappear with it, so check where each product sends copies. Duplicator allows one cloud destination on its entry tier and unlimited ones from the second tier, while Snapshot lists unlimited third-party destinations. BackWPup lists premium storage options on every plan, and Backup Migration gives its free plugin one gigabyte of its own cloud, with paid sizes sold monthly.
Backuply charges for extra space per gigabyte and WP Umbrella places its backups on infrastructure it says is in the EU. Migrate Guru works differently: it holds the copy only during a move. Write down where your copies should go and who pays for that space, because a plan that stores nothing off the server leaves you exposed.
Confirm at least one destination away from the web host
Read how extra storage is priced per gigabyte
Test a restore to a clean site before trusting the plan
Free routes and trials: testing before you pay
Several products let you try before buying, but the routes differ in value. WPvivid, BlogVault and Backup Migration list free plugins, ManageWP offers a free core, and WP Time Capsule gives a thirty-day trial without a card. WP Umbrella offers fourteen days. Akeeba Backup, BackWPup and Snapshot mention neither, so you rely on a refund window, fourteen days for BackWPup and thirty for Snapshot.
Pages sometimes leave limits unstated: BlogVault mentions a trial without terms and WPvivid gives its free plugin no stated limits. Use the free route on a staging copy, restore it, and only then pay for the plan that matched your result. Keep the receipt date, since refund windows start at purchase.
Run the free route or trial on a staging copy
Note the refund window where no trial exists
Ask in writing what a free edition leaves out
What goes wrong most often when buying wordpress backup plugins software
Buying a lifetime licence from WPvivid or BlogVault before testing a restore, then finding the restore fails on your host.
Treating Migrate Guru as a backup schedule when its homepage describes a one-step move that erases the copy afterwards.
Relying on ManageWP's monthly core backup for a shop or membership site that changes every day.
Reading a single plan price on Duplicator or Snapshot without checking storage, billing period and what renewals cost.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best wordpress backup plugins in 2026?
First of 13 on this page is Akeeba Backup. Akeeba sells its backup product for WordPress and Joomla, and every subscription on its page covers an unlimited number of sites and domains.
That makes the cost of adding client number thirty the same as client number three. Renewals drop after the first year, and a bundle adds Admin Tools Pro. The subscribe page names no trial and no country, so a buyer must test on the vendor's terms.
Which wordpress backup plugins tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Akeeba Backup: Published yearly subscriptions in euros, excluding VAT; lower renewal rates; WordPress bundle available.
WPvivid: Free plugin on WordPress.org; published yearly or lifetime tiers by number of domains.
WP Time Capsule: Published yearly tiers by site count, with a one-time option; 30-day trial, no card needed.
BlogVault: Published yearly or lifetime plans by domain count; free plugin listing; trial mentioned without terms.
WP Umbrella: One plan billed per site per month, published; add-ons per site; 14-day trial only.
BackWPup: Three published yearly plans split by domain count; refund window of 14 days.
Backuply: Free tier exists; published yearly plugin plans by sites and cloud space; separate server licences.
Backup Migration: Free plugin with limited cloud storage; premium licence and monthly storage add-ons published.
Duplicator: Published licence tiers by site count; cloud storage sold separately by the year; 14-day refund window.
Snapshot: Published annual plans by site count; 30-day money-back guarantee.
ManageWP: Free core for unlimited websites with monthly cloud backup; premium add-ons published per site per month.
Jetpack Backup: Published monthly, yearly and two-year plans in euros, sized by storage; refunds within 7 or 14 days.
Migrate Guru: Free of charge according to the homepage; no paid tier named.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free wordpress backup plugins tool?
WPvivid, Backuply, Backup Migration, ManageWP, Migrate Guru come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these wordpress backup plugins vendors established?
In 6 countries across 4 regions: Elsewhere 8, North America 2, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1.
Akeeba Backup: Not stated by the vendor.
WPvivid: Canada.
WP Time Capsule: Not stated by the vendor.
BlogVault: Not stated by the vendor.
WP Umbrella: Not stated by the vendor.
BackWPup: France.
Backuply: Not stated by the vendor.
Backup Migration: Malta.
Duplicator: Not stated by the vendor.
Snapshot: United States.
ManageWP: Not stated by the vendor.
Jetpack Backup: Not stated by the vendor.
Migrate Guru: India.
What should you use instead of Akeeba Backup?
The next in line are WPvivid, aimed at small site owners and freelancers wanting a free start with a lifetime option, and WP Time Capsule, aimed at Agencies wanting long restore history and a month to test it first.
Who should not buy Akeeba Backup?
Buyers who need a trial before paying for anything. The subscribe page mentions no trial period, so a purchase is the only way to test the paid version..
Makers of wordpress backup plugins products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.