Coding practice platforms give you problems to solve, exercises to run and feedback on the result, rather than lectures to watch.
This guide ranks thirteen of them on the hours a first quarter demands, what a serious learner pays over a year, whether you can leave with your progress, and whether a small independent body runs the site.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What coding practice platforms do
A coding practice platform is a website where learners write code against prepared problems, run it in a browser or locally, and receive automated or human feedback on correctness.
Each coding practice platform was put through the same five questions, in sequence: how hard is setup, what does it really cost, how does data come back out, can you leave, and who is it for. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Mentored practice in 85 languages from a UK not-for-profit
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Coding Practice Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Exercism offers 85 language tracks, and mentoring by people is part of the offer rather than an upgrade. Three trustees are named, Katrina Owen, Jeremy Walker and Erik Schierboom, with a tiny core team and volunteer contributors doing the daily work.
Funding arrives through PayPal, GitHub Sponsors and card gifts. An Exercism Insiders link exists but shows no price. Because the model rests on donations, a company cannot sign up for a service level.
What stands out
85 language tracks
Volunteer mentoring
UK not-for-profit
Where it costs you
Monthly donations are well under the stated sustainability target, so long-term funding is not settled.
No licence appears on the exercism/exercism repository pages read, so reuse rights are unclear.
Right for
Learners who want unpaid human feedback on small exercises in an uncommon language
Wrong for
Buyers who need an invoice, contract or guaranteed support
United KingdomFree to use; gifts from community, philanthropists and foundations pay for it
Donor-supported charity with an open codebase and self-paced curriculum
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Coding Practice Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The repository freeCodeCamp/freeCodeCamp carries a BSD-3-Clause licence, and its README says the codebase and curriculum are open source and run by a donor-supported nonprofit. The about page says paid staff exist alongside thousands of active contributors, and names no board.
Because funding is described as donations, there is nothing to purchase and no plan to compare. The trade-off is that guidance and support depend on charity income rather than a contract.
What stands out
BSD-3-Clause code
Donor-funded charity
Self-paced curriculum
Where it costs you
The country rests on US tax references on the about page, because no registration country is written out.
The pages read describe a self-paced curriculum and mention no contest or ranking format.
Right for
Self-taught beginners who want a structured path with no subscription
Wrong for
Competitors looking for timed and ranked algorithm contests today
United StatesFree to use; funded by donations, with no paid plan described
Backend courses with exercises and a Socratic AI mentor
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Coding Practice Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Courses teach Python, Go, TypeScript, JavaScript and SQL, with topics such as Linux, Docker, Kubernetes and cryptography. Paths run for Backend, DevOps and Data Analyst, billed as taking students from beginner to job-ready.
The AI mentor, Boots, guides by questions instead of handing over answers. Terms are governed by United States and Utah law. A 2-minute coding demo replaces a trial, so the real test of fit comes after the yearly payment, though the 30-day refund softens that.
What stands out
Python and Go
AI mentor Boots
Backend and DevOps paths
Where it costs you
The monthly toggle exists but its price is not shown, so only the yearly figure can be checked.
After the first chapters, access drops to read-only until a membership is bought.
Right for
Career changers committed to a backend path who will pay yearly
Wrong for
Casual learners who only want occasional puzzles without paying yearly
United StatesPublished yearly membership; first chapters open, read-only mode afterwards; 30-day refund
Maths-flavoured programming problems, with 1007 archived puzzles to solve
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Coding Practice Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The archive table lists problems 1 to 1007 with a solved-by count for each, which shows at a glance how hard a puzzle has proved for other members. Tracking progress needs an account with cookies enabled.
Members are spread across 220 locations, according to the about page. Bonus problem content and member statistics fall under standard copyright, unlike the archive. The site names no company behind it, which limits what a buyer can verify.
What stands out
1007 problems
CC BY-NC-SA content
Mathematics focus
Where it costs you
Archive and Recent content may not be used commercially under the stated licence.
No operator, founder or country is given, so ownership cannot be checked.
Right for
Mathematically inclined programmers who enjoy puzzles with a single numeric answer
Wrong for
Teams wanting interview-style exercises, mentoring or a named operator
Not stated by the vendorFree registration; progress tracking needs an account
Yearly December puzzle event, one puzzle a day, any language
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Coding Practice Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Puzzles can be solved in any programming language, so a team can compete while each person uses a different one. Private leaderboards let you compete with people in your area, and a read-only view of one can be shared.
The author claims no ownership or copyright over your solution. Optional AoC++ support is offered, but the page lists no price or contents. The name is a registered trademark in the United States, though no country of establishment appears.
What stands out
Annual event
Private leaderboards
Any language
Where it costs you
The event runs once a year, with puzzles unlocking from December 1 and ending mid-December.
Puzzle text and personal inputs may not be placed in public code repositories.
Right for
Developers who want a shared seasonal challenge with colleagues or friends
Wrong for
People who need steady practice through the whole year
Not stated by the vendorFree to use; optional AoC++ support with no price shown
Real-world front-end projects at five difficulty levels, any stack
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Coding Practice Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Monthly Pro includes 5 Figma design files and 2 premium challenges a month, while the yearly plan lifts both to unlimited. No free trial is mentioned, yet a fair-use refund applies within 14 days of the first subscription.
A For teams tab exists on the Pro page, though its details were not readable. The monthly limits mean a heavy user is pushed toward the yearly plan to avoid hitting caps.
What stands out
120+ projects
AI code reviews
Figma design files
Where it costs you
Pro prices are not displayed, so cost cannot be compared before signing up.
The about, privacy and legal pages returned errors, so no company name or address was found.
Right for
Front-end learners who want portfolio projects built from supplied designs
Wrong for
Anyone practising algorithms, data structures or contest problems
Not stated by the vendorFree core platform; Pro billed monthly or yearly, amounts not shown on the page
Short coding exercises called kata in 55+ languages
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Coding Practice Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Red adds enhanced statistics, an ad-free experience, peer progress comparison, beta features and a profile badge. The subscription page mentions neither a trial nor a basic tier, so what a non-paying user sees there is not documented in the pages read.
The about page says Codewars is a collective effort by its users. Footer text reads 2026 Andela and Built on Qualified.io, a coding assessment platform for organisations.
What stands out
Kata exercises
55+ languages
Red subscription
Where it costs you
The currency behind the dollar prices is not named on the subscription page.
No operating company is named, and the terms page was unreadable.
Right for
Developers who like quick daily exercises ranked by difficulty in many languages
Wrong for
Buyers who must confirm the legal entity before signing up
Not stated by the vendorOptional Red subscription published for monthly, semi-annual and annual billing
Practice problems and contests at global, national and college level
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Coding Practice Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
Practice problems are sorted by difficulty, with 30+ languages and technologies listed. Courses and roadmaps cover Python, Java, C, C++, data structures, React, SQL and machine learning, and an online compiler runs code in the browser.
An AI Mentor gives explanations and debugging help. The footer address is in Bengaluru, though the page does not label it as the registered office, and jurisdiction under the terms sits in Mumbai.
What stands out
Weekly contests
AI Mentor
Pro certificates
Where it costs you
The pricing page returned an error, so the Pro price rests on the home page alone.
Terms allow price changes without notice and note that GST and VAT may apply.
Right for
Students who want weekly contests plus structured courses at one site
Wrong for
Buyers who need one clear legal entity on the invoice
IndiaFree plan with limited content; Pro plan published per year
Over 10,000 tiny problems with hints in eight languages
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Coding Practice Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The home page lists C#, C++, Java, JavaScript, PHP, Python, Ruby and Swift. The about page describes three phases: memorising syntax, solving problems and making things. A Beginner Tutorials section is listed.
The home page describes no challenge limits and shows no prices, which means the free sign-up looks open, though what the site may charge for later cannot be shown from the pages read.
What stands out
Eight languages
XP and levels
Beginner tutorials
Where it costs you
The pricing page returned empty content, so any paid tier could not be read.
Edabit's own about page gives no operator, location or owner.
Right for
Beginners who want bite-sized problems with a game-like progress system
Wrong for
Teams that need advanced topics, contests or a named supplier
Not stated by the vendorFree sign-up through Google, GitHub, Facebook or email; paid terms not readable
Scheduled algorithm and heuristic contests with English and Japanese interfaces
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Coding Practice Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Verdicts shown include CE, TLE, WA and AC, and memory limits are usually 256MB. Sign-up and sign-in are required to join even the practice contest, which includes a sample problem and tutorial.
A Hall of Fame and AtCoder Datasets for AI training and evaluation data are listed. The footer links Terms of Use, a Privacy Policy and an Information Protection Policy, and points to atcoder.co.jp without naming a country.
What stands out
ABC and ARC contests
Heuristic contests
English and Japanese
Where it costs you
The pages read do not say whether participation is free or paid.
A notice announces a sale of user submissions to AI companies, with updated terms and privacy policy.
Right for
Competitive programmers wanting regular rated contests in English or Japanese
Wrong for
Anyone unwilling to have submitted code offered to AI companies
Not stated by the vendorNot stated on the pages read; sign-in required to take part
Thousands of archive problems from a firm selling coding screening
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Coding Practice Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The only call to action on the main site is Book a demo, aimed at recruiting. Separate sections address companies, problem solvers and universities, and the archive says you can just register and start solving.
Country comes from the Swedish office address near Stockholm, since no legal entity name is given. The footer of the archive links Contact, System Status, Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.
What stands out
Problem archive
University ranklists
Recruiting product
Where it costs you
No prices, subscription plans or free-use terms are listed on the pages read.
The terms of service were not readable, and no licence statement appears.
Right for
University students and contest hobbyists who want a large archive and ranklists
Wrong for
Individuals looking for lessons, mentoring or a published personal plan
SwedenRegistration opens the problem archive; employer plans sold through demo bookings
Subscription courses in a browser with Basic, Plus and Pro tiers
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Coding Practice Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Learners write and run code in a browser with live feedback. The home page names Python, Java, JavaScript, C++, C# and Go, with Bash, Kotlin, PHP, R, Ruby, SQL and Swift in the footer.
Certification preparation covers AWS, Microsoft, CompTIA and ISC2. The office address is in New York, though incorporation country is not stated. Annual billing lowers Plus and Pro, so monthly payers pay roughly double.
What stands out
Browser code runner
Certification paths
Skillsoft label
Where it costs you
Code challenges sit in the Pro tier, so lower tiers offer lessons more than practice.
No team price is listed, and trial length is not stated.
Right for
Beginners who want guided lessons and certificate preparation more than puzzles
Wrong for
Learners who mainly want a large bank of standalone problems
United StatesFree Basic tier with limited courses; Plus and Pro billed monthly or annually, with trials
Crowd challenges and hackathons tied to a talent marketplace
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Coding Practice Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The home page offers talent profiles, a Hire Talent Now option and links to Get a Quote or Talk to an expert for enterprise work. Filters include Open for Review and Copilot Opportunities.
Because platform prices are not shown and it is unclear whether using it costs anything, a learner cannot plan a budget from the pages read. It sits last here because practice is a side effect of its marketplace.
What stands out
Hackathons
Leaderboard prizes
Enterprise talent
Where it costs you
The challenges page showed only filters and a loading message, with no entry fee or prize readable.
The owning company is not named, and the about and terms pages returned errors.
Right for
Experienced developers who want prize-linked challenges and visibility to hirers
Wrong for
Beginners looking for graded exercises or an explained price
Not stated by the vendorPlatform prices not shown; enterprise services sold through quote requests
A coding practice platform is a website where learners write code against prepared problems, run it in a browser or locally, and receive automated or human feedback on correctness. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
The split is 10 published against 3 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Exercism, freeCodeCamp, Boot.dev, Project Euler, Advent of Code, Frontend Mentor, Codewars, CodeChef, Edabit, Codecademy.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 5 countries: Elsewhere 7, North America 3, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1.
Coding practice platforms price very differently: Exercism and freeCodeCamp run on donations, Boot.dev and Codecademy sell memberships
Start with who pays for the site, because that decides how long it is likely to stay in its current form. Exercism and freeCodeCamp are donor-funded and describe no paid plan, which keeps your cost at zero but gives you no contract. Boot.dev charges EUR 299 a year after the first chapters, and Codecademy lists Basic as always free with Plus at EUR 14.99 a month billed annually.
Codewars Red costs $40 a year and CodeChef Pro $124 a year, though CodeChef's own pricing page returned an error. Frontend Mentor and Edabit show no readable prices at all. Add up a twelve month figure for each shortlisted site before you compare features.
Write down the yearly cost of each site on your shortlist, using annual billing where offered
Check whether a monthly toggle shows a price, as Boot.dev's does not
Look for a stated refund window, such as the 30 days Boot.dev gives
Choose between exercise banks like Edabit and Codewars and project-led sites like Frontend Mentor
Platforms split into those handing you isolated problems and those handing you something to build. Edabit lists over 10,000 tiny problems in eight languages, and Codewars offers kata in 55+ languages, so both suit short daily sessions. Frontend Mentor gives 120+ projects at five difficulty levels, and Boot.dev wraps exercises in backend paths.
Exercism sits between them with 85 language tracks and mentoring. If your goal is a portfolio, isolated puzzles will not produce one. If your goal is fluency in a language syntax, a project may hide the repetition you need. Pick the format first, then the site, because switching later costs the streak and history you have built up on the first platform.
Decide whether you want a portfolio piece or repetition on small problems
Count the languages offered and confirm yours is among them
Test one exercise before paying, since several sites allow that
Contest sites such as AtCoder, CodeChef, Kattis and Advent of Code reward timing, not teaching
Contest platforms measure speed and correctness against a clock, and they teach little unless you already know the basics. AtCoder schedules ABC, ARC and AGC rounds and shows verdicts like WA and TLE. CodeChef runs weekly contests, and Kattis keeps a problem archive with ranklists by university and country.
Advent of Code is a December event with one puzzle a day and private leaderboards only. Project Euler is closer to maths than contests, with 1007 archived problems. Expect little explanation after a failed submission, so pair contest practice with a teaching site that walks through the reasoning behind each answer. Seasonal events leave long gaps, which matters if you want steady daily work.
Check the contest calendar against your available evenings
Read what the site tells you after a wrong answer
Note which events pause for most of the year, as Advent of Code does
Check reuse terms and data policy before submitting code to any coding practice platform
Your solutions are the main thing you leave behind, so read what the site may do with them. AtCoder announces a sale of user submissions to AI companies under updated terms. Advent of Code says the puzzles are free to use but not free to copy, and asks that puzzle text and inputs stay out of public repositories, while claiming no copyright over your solution.
Project Euler licenses its archive CC BY-NC-SA 4.0, which bars commercial reuse. freeCodeCamp's repository is BSD-3-Clause. Codewars and Topcoder did not name an owner on the pages read, and Codewars' terms page returned an error. Read the terms page before you submit work you care about.
Open the terms page and confirm it loads before you register
Search the page for statements on AI training or data sale
Check whether published puzzle text may sit in your public repository
What goes wrong most often when buying coding practice platforms
Treating a contest site like AtCoder or Kattis as a teaching site, then wondering why failed submissions come with no explanation.
Paying for a yearly membership before running the demo or first chapters that Boot.dev and Codecademy let you try.
Counting Advent of Code as year-round practice when puzzles run only for the days around December.
Assuming a site with a prominent name has a named owner, when Topcoder, Edabit and Project Euler name none on their pages.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What are the best coding practice platforms in 2026?
Exercism takes first place among the 13 we reviewed. Exercism says it is registered in the UK as a not-for-profit and lives on gifts from its community, philanthropists and foundations.
Practice covers 85 languages and the human mentoring costs nothing. The weakness is money: donations of $10,276 a month sit against a $25,000 target, and there is no pricing page, so nobody can buy a service guarantee.
Which coding practice platforms publish their pricing?
10 out of 13 state a price model on their own site:
Exercism: Free to use; gifts from community, philanthropists and foundations pay for it.
freeCodeCamp: Free to use; funded by donations, with no paid plan described.
Boot.dev: Published yearly membership; first chapters open, read-only mode afterwards; 30-day refund.
Project Euler: Free registration; progress tracking needs an account.
Advent of Code: Free to use; optional AoC++ support with no price shown.
Frontend Mentor: Free core platform; Pro billed monthly or yearly, amounts not shown on the page.
Codewars: Optional Red subscription published for monthly, semi-annual and annual billing.
CodeChef: Free plan with limited content; Pro plan published per year.
Edabit: Free sign-up through Google, GitHub, Facebook or email; paid terms not readable.
Codecademy: Free Basic tier with limited courses; Plus and Pro billed monthly or annually, with trials.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free coding practice platform?
Exercism, freeCodeCamp, Project Euler, Advent of Code, Frontend Mentor, CodeChef, Edabit, Codecademy have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these coding practice platform vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 7, North America 3, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1:
Exercism: United Kingdom.
freeCodeCamp: United States.
Boot.dev: United States.
Project Euler: Not stated by the vendor.
Advent of Code: Not stated by the vendor.
Frontend Mentor: Not stated by the vendor.
Codewars: Not stated by the vendor.
CodeChef: India.
Edabit: Not stated by the vendor.
AtCoder: Not stated by the vendor.
Kattis: Sweden.
Codecademy: United States.
TopCoder: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Exercism?
freeCodeCamp and Boot.dev are the next two on this page. freeCodeCamp is for Self-taught beginners who want a structured path with no subscription; Boot.dev is for Career changers committed to a backend path who will pay yearly.
Who should not buy Exercism?
Buyers who need an invoice, contract or guaranteed support. Monthly donations are well under the stated sustainability target, so long-term funding is not settled..
Do you make a coding practice platforms product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.