JavaScript frameworks give web teams a structure for building interfaces: components, routing and, in many cases, server rendering.
This ranking puts small, independent projects first and asks four things: how much setup the first ninety days need, which rendering modes the vendor documents, who maintains the code, and what licence and funding sit behind it.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What javascript frameworks software does
A JavaScript framework supplies components, state handling and often routing and rendering, so developers assemble browser applications from reusable parts rather than manipulating the page directly.
Every javascript frameworks tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Three-kilobyte React-style library with a thin virtual DOM layer
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best JavaScript Frameworks in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Preact's pitch is size: 3kB, a virtual DOM layer the homepage calls the thinnest possible, and a React-like API so familiar component code carries over. It also runs directly in the browser without transpilation, which suits a page that adds one widget.
Funding comes from sponsors and a donation link rather than any product, so there is nothing to buy and no support contract to point at. Routing, data loading and server rendering are absent from the pages read.
What stands out
3kB footprint
React-style API
No-transpile browser use
Where it costs you
The homepage describes only browser rendering, so server rendering and static generation are unconfirmed.
No legal entity or country is named, and the site's about page returned a 404.
Right for
Teams that want React-style components with the smallest possible runtime download
Wrong for
Projects needing a documented server rendering story out of the box
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under MIT; sponsor funding link, no paid plan shown
Compiled custom-element components using expression bindings instead of virtual DOM
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best JavaScript Frameworks in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
The homepage lists three technical points: tags are compiled to pure JavaScript before browsers run them, expression bindings stand in for a virtual DOM, and the resulting custom elements work in modern browsers without polyfills.
Server rendering of custom tags is mentioned for isomorphic applications. The riot/riot repository carries the MIT licence. What the pages never show is a company, a price or a paid service, so any risk assessment rests on one named copyright holder.
What stands out
Custom elements
No virtual DOM
Server-renderable tags
Where it costs you
It describes itself as a UI library, so application structure beyond components is left to you.
Open Collective donations are the only funding route the homepage shows.
Right for
Developers who prefer custom elements and plain compiled JavaScript over a virtual DOM
Wrong for
Buyers who need a vendor entity, support contract or stated country
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under MIT; donations through Open Collective, nothing to buy
Resumable framework that skips hydration so pages load instantly interactive
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best JavaScript Frameworks in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
The distinctive claim is resumability: Qwik says it skips hydration, so a page is interactive at once while the Optimizer loads JavaScript lazily. The writing style stays familiar, with JSX, functional components and reactivity.
Docs, tutorials and a sandbox are offered without charge, though no prices or paid plans appear. The repository sits under the QwikDev organisation with an MIT licence. The homepage frames Qwik for the edge but gives no further detail on hosting targets.
What stands out
Resumability
No hydration step
Lazy JavaScript loading
Where it costs you
Resumability changes how code is loaded, so habits from hydration-based frameworks may not transfer.
Only a team and a sponsor are named, with no legal entity or country.
Right for
Content-heavy sites where first-load interactivity matters more than ecosystem familiarity
Wrong for
Teams wanting stated support terms or a named company behind the code
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under MIT; no prices or paid plans stated
Convention-led framework built on the Glimmer rendering engine
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best JavaScript Frameworks in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Ember presents itself as productive and battle-tested, with the pieces of a modern web application included rather than chosen one by one. Templates are compiled for the Glimmer rendering engine.
The licence is MIT in the emberjs repository, and the homepage states it is open source and always will be. The copyright line names Tilde Inc., yet the page stops short of calling Tilde the maintainer, so ownership questions stay open for anyone running procurement checks.
What stands out
Convention-based
Glimmer engine
MIT licence
Where it costs you
Server rendering is not described by name on the homepage, so that support is unconfirmed.
The Tilde Inc. footer is not tied to maintenance, so the steward is unclear from the pages read.
Right for
Long-lived web applications where one bundled set of conventions suits the team
Wrong for
Small widgets or pages where a lightweight library would do
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under MIT; the homepage promises it stays that way
Angular meta-framework on Vite with file-based routing and API routes
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best JavaScript Frameworks in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Analog is described as the fullstack Angular meta-framework, powered by Vite and Nitro according to its repository. Routes come from files, API routes sit alongside, and a loader runs on the server and ships only the response to the client.
SSR and SSG are listed features. Funding is by partners and sponsors, with Zerops as partner and Nx and CodeRabbit as sponsors. The copyright line starts in 2022, so the project is recent and sponsor continuity deserves a check.
What stands out
Angular meta-framework
Vite and Nitro
SSR and SSG
Where it costs you
It serves only Angular projects, so it narrows rather than widens framework choice.
The copyright line names Analog alone, with no company or country behind it.
Right for
Angular teams wanting file-based routing and server rendering without leaving the Angular model
Wrong for
Teams not committed to Angular as their component model
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under MIT; partners and sponsors, no paid tiers shown
Compiler-based UI framework for concise HTML, CSS and JavaScript components
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best JavaScript Frameworks in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Svelte's homepage frames it as a compiler that lets you write breathtakingly concise components. The repository owner is sveltejs, and the footer says the software is released under the MIT licence.
The project credits Svelte contributors, a mix of full-time and part-time maintainers, rather than a company. Sponsors include n8n GmbH and Kenoxa GmbH, shown as sponsors rather than maintainers. Svelte itself covers components; SvelteKit documents the routing and rendering modes.
What stands out
Compiler approach
Concise components
Sponsor-funded
Where it costs you
Only contributors are credited, split into full-time and part-time maintainers, with no single organisation named.
Funding mixes Vercel backing with donations, so continuity depends on sponsors.
Right for
Developers who want small component files and a compile step doing the heavy lifting
Wrong for
Buyers wanting one accountable company behind the framework
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under MIT; sponsor and donor funding only
Svelte application framework with per-route rendering and deployment adapters
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best JavaScript Frameworks in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
The SvelteKit introduction lists its features in one place: routing, offline support, page preloading and image optimisation on top of Vite. Configurable rendering means different parts of an app can use SSR, client rendering or prerendering.
Adapters in the docs navigation cover Node servers, Bun, static site generation, Cloudflare, Cloudflare Workers, Netlify and Vercel, plus custom ones. The repository describes it as web development, streamlined, and carries the MIT licence. No price is mentioned.
What stands out
Per-route rendering
Deployment adapters
Built on Vite
Where it costs you
Deployment depends on picking the right adapter, so each target is a separate configuration choice.
The introduction names no maintaining company or country.
Right for
Teams wanting one codebase that mixes server, browser and prerendered pages across hosts
Wrong for
Projects that only need a small embeddable component library
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under MIT; no price or paid plan stated
Full-stack Vue framework with rendering chosen page by page
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best JavaScript Frameworks in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Nuxt's homepage ties its pitch to Vue and to production-ready web apps. The distinctive point is control: you decide rendering up to the page level, picking from server-side rendering, client-side rendering and static-site generation.
Extension happens through more than 200 modules. The nuxt/nuxt repository states the MIT licence, whereas the homepage itself states none. A Team page is linked but was not read, so the people and entity behind the project remain unconfirmed.
What stands out
Vue full-stack
Per-page rendering
200+ modules
Where it costs you
It ties you to Vue, so it is no help to teams on other component models.
The homepage does not name the company behind it.
Right for
Vue teams that need a per-page choice between server, client and static output
Wrong for
Teams already standardised on React, Angular or Svelte components
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under MIT; no prices or paid products shown on the homepage
Toolchain that compiles components into standards-based Web Components
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best JavaScript Frameworks in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Stencil is described in its repository as a toolchain for scalable, enterprise-ready component systems built on TypeScript and Web Component standards. The site lists unit testing, code generation, source maps, a hot-reloading dev server and documentation generated from JSDoc comments.
Ownership is stated as a project by Ionic, with no legal entity or country. The homepage mentions an asynchronous rendering pipeline and links to static site generation documentation, yet says little more about server rendering.
What stands out
Web Components
TypeScript and JSX
Runs with any framework
Where it costs you
Paid terms are unclear, since an Enterprise page and an announcement link carry no details on the homepage.
Rendering modes are not detailed on the homepage, which only links to static site generation docs.
Right for
Teams building a component library that must work across several front-end frameworks
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a full application framework rather than a component toolchain
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under MIT; Enterprise page linked, no prices shown
Component library whose own docs advise starting inside a framework
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best JavaScript Frameworks in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
On its own pages, React is a UI library: apps are made of components that are JavaScript functions returning markup. The start-a-project page tells readers to begin with a framework, and says those frameworks support client-side rendering, single-page apps and static-site generation, with server rendering available per route in full-stack ones.
The repository states the MIT licence. No price, plan or maintaining company appears in the pages read, so the framework you pick decides your real dependencies.
What stands out
Component model
MIT licence
Framework recommended
Where it costs you
Its docs recommend a framework for new apps, so React alone leaves routing and rendering to other packages.
Build tooling is a separate choice among Vite, Parcel and RSbuild.
Right for
Teams that already know components and will pair React with a chosen framework
Wrong for
Buyers wanting routing, rendering and data fetching bundled in one product
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under MIT; no price or paid plan stated
Full framework with dependency injection, routing, forms and hydration guides
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best JavaScript Frameworks in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
The SSR guide is where Angular is most specific: server rendering gives faster loads than client rendering and hands crawlers fully rendered HTML, while prerendering is faster still for pages identical for all users.
Cached HTTP data is serialised into the initial HTML, and a separate hydration guide follows. Licensing is split, MIT-style for code and CC BY 4.0 for documentation. The footer credits Google, so direction appears to rest with one large sponsor.
What stands out
Dependency injection
Signals state
SSR and prerendering
Where it costs you
The footer credits Google, so the roadmap rests with a large company rather than an independent team.
Forms, routing and dependency injection arrive together, which adds concepts to learn up front.
Right for
Larger teams wanting one first-party set of modules and server rendering guides
Wrong for
Small sites needing a minimal runtime or very quick onboarding
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under an MIT-style licence; no paid plan stated
React framework maintained by Vercel with Server Components by default
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best JavaScript Frameworks in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Next.js splits work between server and browser. Per its docs, layouts and pages are Server Components by default, letting you fetch data and stream it to the client, while Client Components prerender HTML and hydrate interactivity and, on later navigations, render entirely on the client.
The site shows 16.4.5 as the latest stable release and offers a Learn course and create-next-app. It names Vercel as maintainer; no price for the framework is given.
What stands out
React framework
Server Components
Maintained by Vercel
Where it costs you
A single company maintains it, so direction follows that company's choices.
Server Components by default change where code runs, which needs care when mixing in Client Components.
Right for
React teams wanting routing, caching and server streaming decided by the framework
Wrong for
Teams avoiding a company-maintained roadmap or any React dependency
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under MIT; no price for the framework itself stated
Declarative UI library with a Vite-based full-stack starter called SolidStart
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best JavaScript Frameworks in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
The checkable record for SolidJS is short. The repository calls it a declarative, efficient and flexible JavaScript library for user interfaces, under the MIT licence and the solidjs organisation.
SolidStart v2 is documented as building a full-stack app on Solid v1 and Vite v8 or later, usable with Solid Router v1 or TanStack Solid Router v1. The docs mention route pre-rendering only in a sidebar link and name no company, price or licence, so little supports a firmer judgement.
What stands out
Declarative library
SolidStart
Solid Router
Where it costs you
Rendering modes are not described on the SolidStart page, apart from a link to route pre-rendering.
The homepage text could not be read, so claims beyond the repository are unverified.
Right for
Developers evaluating a declarative UI library with a Vite-based full-stack option
Wrong for
Buyers who need documented rendering modes or a named maintainer
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under MIT; no price shown in the pages read
A JavaScript framework supplies components, state handling and often routing and rendering, so developers assemble browser applications from reusable parts rather than manipulating the page directly. These are the questions that actually differ between vendors, in the order we would ask them.
01
Check who publishes a price
None of these javascript frameworks tools publishes a price. Each one quotes per organisation, so budget for at least one sales call per shortlisted vendor.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 1 countries: Elsewhere 13.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Open source here means Preact, Riot.js, Qwik, Ember.js, Analog, Svelte, SvelteKit, Nuxt, Stencil, React, Angular, Next.js, SolidJS. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
JavaScript frameworks versus libraries: React, Preact and Riot.js stop at components
Some entries here cover less than the word framework suggests. React describes itself as a UI library and tells new projects to start with a framework; Preact and Riot.js likewise present as component libraries, and Svelte handles components while SvelteKit adds routing and rendering modes. The entries that list routing or server features of their own are Next.js, Nuxt, Angular and Analog.
Before comparing, write down which layers you need: components, router, data loading, rendering mode and build tool. Then mark which entry supplies each layer and which you must add from elsewhere, because the hidden extra choice often costs more engineering time than the library itself. A project that only needs a widget on one page can use a small library; an application with many routes should not.
List the layers you need before reading any feature table
Mark which layer each candidate leaves to a separate package
Note the build tool each option expects, such as Vite
Rendering modes in JavaScript frameworks: what Nuxt, SvelteKit and Angular actually document
Rendering is the part of this market where documentation differs most. Nuxt lets you decide up to page level between server, client and static output. SvelteKit describes server rendering, browser rendering and prerendering, and says different parts of one app can use different modes. Angular has a guide for server rendering, a guide for prerendering and a separate hydration guide.
Next.js defaults to Server Components, and Qwik says it skips hydration altogether. Preact, Stencil, Ember.js and SolidJS pages do not describe modes in detail, so a search-visible site should confirm its mode in documentation before the choice is made. A missing description is not proof of a missing feature, but it is a reason to read further and to run a small test build on the hosting you intend to use.
Name the rendering mode your pages must use at launch
Find that mode in the vendor documentation, not a blog post
Test whether one page can differ from another
Who maintains your JavaScript framework: Next.js, Angular, Svelte and the sponsor-funded rest
Almost every entry here is MIT licensed, so the licence rarely separates them; the stewardship does. Next.js says it is maintained by Vercel and the Angular footer credits Google. Stencil is a project by Ionic. Svelte lists contributors and sponsors, with Vercel among its backers, while Preact, Riot.js and Analog rely on sponsors or donations, and Riot.js names an individual copyright holder.
No page in this set states a country. Ask what happens if a sponsor withdraws, and whether your team could carry a fork. For a short-lived marketing site the answer matters less than for an application you expect to maintain for years. Write the answer down next to the shortlist so that the decision can be revisited when a sponsor, owner or release policy changes.
Record who maintains each candidate and how it is funded
Estimate whether your team could maintain a fork
Check the licence in the repository, not only the homepage
Matching Stencil, Analog and Nuxt to the skills your team already has
Several options only make sense for a specific team. React describes itself as a UI library, so a React team still has to choose a framework on top. Analog is a meta-framework for Angular alone, and Nuxt is built for Vue. Stencil compiles Web Components that can be used in Angular, React, Vue or no framework, which makes it a sensible choice for a shared component library rather than a whole application.
Hiring and training costs usually exceed any technical difference between these tools, so shortlist by the language and component model your developers already use before comparing features. Ask one developer to build the same small page in two candidates and compare the hours, not the opinions.
Count developers who know Vue, Angular or React
Decide whether you need an application or a shared component set
Price the training time for each shortlisted option
What goes wrong most often when buying javascript frameworks software
Picking React and assuming routing, rendering and data fetching come with it, when its own docs recommend adding a framework.
Treating hydration as a given and missing that Qwik skips it while Next.js defaults to Server Components.
Reading Preact's 3kB size as a full server rendering answer, when its homepage describes browser rendering only.
Trusting a homepage licence line without opening the repository, since Nuxt, Riot.js and Preact state MIT only there.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best javascript frameworks in 2026?
Preact takes first place among the 13 we reviewed. Preact is the smallest entry here: the homepage calls it a 3kB alternative to React with the same modern API, kept in a preactjs GitHub organisation under the MIT licence.
Sponsors named include the Chrome Frameworks Fund, Trivago and Deno, and no company or country is stated. The homepage describes rendering in the browser only, so server rendering needs checking elsewhere before you commit.
Which javascript frameworks tools publish their pricing?
0 out of 13 state a price model on their own site:
None of them publish a price.
The other 13 quote per organisation.
Is there a free javascript frameworks tool?
No, every product on this page is paid.
Where are these javascript frameworks vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 1 countries and 1 regions, Elsewhere 13:
Preact: Not stated by the vendor.
Riot.js: Not stated by the vendor.
Qwik: Not stated by the vendor.
Ember.js: Not stated by the vendor.
Analog: Not stated by the vendor.
Svelte: Not stated by the vendor.
SvelteKit: Not stated by the vendor.
Nuxt: Not stated by the vendor.
Stencil: Not stated by the vendor.
React: Not stated by the vendor.
Angular: Not stated by the vendor.
Next.js: Not stated by the vendor.
SolidJS: Not stated by the vendor.
Which javascript frameworks tools are open source?
Second is Riot.js, which suits Developers who prefer custom elements and plain compiled JavaScript over a virtual DOM. Third is Qwik, which suits Content-heavy sites where first-load interactivity matters more than ecosystem familiarity.
Who should not buy Preact?
Projects needing a documented server rendering story out of the box. The homepage describes only browser rendering, so server rendering and static generation are unconfirmed..
Sell javascript frameworks and missing from the ranking? Send us a line on what the product does and who buys it. Whether it is added is our decision, though commercial arrangements can also affect it, and the terms of a listing sit on the software advice page.