Cloud IDE software moves the editor, terminal and build machine off the laptop, and the real question is who runs that machine and who pays for its idle hours.
This guide ranks thirteen options by independence first, then by how openly each states price, limits and exit, so self-hosted tools sit above metered platform services.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What cloud IDE software does
Cloud IDE software gives you a code editor and terminal in a browser or thin client, while the project builds and runs on a remote machine.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every cloud IDE tool here. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Self-hosted cloud workspaces defined as code, built in Austin
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Cloud IDE Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Community puts no cap on workspaces you host yourself, each environment written as code, so the first ninety days go mostly into your own platform work rather than licence talks.
Premium adds high availability, workspace proxies, external provisioners, multi-org RBAC, OIDC sync, audit logging and quotas, billed annually per user at a price the page leaves out. AI Premium is custom and covers unlimited active Coder Agents plus model connections to Anthropic, OpenAI, Azure and AWS Bedrock.
What stands out
Self-hosted workspaces
Environments as code
Coder Agents
Where it costs you
The Community plan limits you to 5 active Coder Agents and 1 platform integration.
Premium carries the audit logging, quotas and SLA-backed support, yet its per-user price is not on the page.
Right for
Platform teams that want to run their own developer workspaces on servers they control
Wrong for
Individuals wanting a hosted editor with nothing to install
United StatesFree Community plan; Premium billed annually per user with no listed price; AI Premium custom
Client-only dev environments built from devcontainer.json on your own infrastructure
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Cloud IDE Software in 2026.
Open sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Because Devpod is client-only, setup means installing the app or CLI and pointing it at a provider, not standing up a control plane. Environments come from a devcontainer.json file and work with public and private git repositories, so leaving costs little: the definition stays in your repo.
The vendor calls it 100% free with no lock-in. What you give up is anything central: the page mentions no shared admin console, quotas or audit trail.
What stands out
Client-only
devcontainer.json
Any cloud or Kubernetes
Where it costs you
There is no vendor-run workspace service, so compute and its bill come from your own provider.
The page lists no paid plan, which leaves support routes unclear for organisations that need a contract.
Right for
Developers with existing cloud accounts or clusters wanting reproducible environments from their repository
Wrong for
Teams needing a managed service with central admin and billing
Not stated by the vendorOpen source, stated as 100% free; no paid plans listed on the page
VS Code served to a browser from a machine you control
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Cloud IDE Software in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
The project describes itself as VS Code you can run on any machine and open in a browser. The install uses a script from code-server.dev that calls the system package manager where possible, with a dry-run option to preview each step.
The MIT licence means you can leave without a contract or export step. Heavy builds happen on your own server, which suits a single dependable box better than a pool of temporary workspaces.
What stands out
MIT licence
Browser VS Code
Self-hosted Linux
Where it costs you
Team deployment is handled by the coder/coder project, so a shared setup means adding a second tool.
You must supply and maintain the server yourself, and it has to allow WebSockets.
Right for
Solo developers or small groups wanting their own VS Code reachable from any browser
Wrong for
Organisations wanting provisioning, quotas and audit built in
United StatesMIT-licensed open source; install script provided, no plan prices
Kubernetes-hosted workspaces defined with Devfile, using VS Code or JetBrains
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Cloud IDE Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Che keeps every workspace as a pod in your cluster, created from a Git repository or a sample and described in a Devfile. That format is presented as open and as a CNCF project contributed by Red Hat, AWS and JetBrains, which helps exit: the definition is not tied to one product.
Both VS Code and JetBrains IDEs are offered. The practical cost is cluster work, and the page shows no pricing for the hosted route.
What stands out
Kubernetes
Devfile
JetBrains Projector
Where it costs you
A Kubernetes cluster has to exist before a single workspace does, which moves the early effort into operations.
The Red Hat hosted option is mentioned without any price or limits on the page.
Right for
Organisations that already run Kubernetes and want workspaces defined in an open format
Wrong for
Small teams without anyone to operate a Kubernetes cluster
Not stated by the vendorSelf-hosted on your own Kubernetes cluster; a Red Hat hosted option exists, its price not stated
GPU and CPU Studios billed in credits across seat-based plans
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Cloud IDE Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Four plans are listed. Teams costs $140 per user monthly or $119 annually, with 50 monthly or 600 annual credits, 10 seats, 12 concurrent GPUs, 2 TB storage and 96-core CPUs.
Enterprise is custom with unlimited seats, GPUs and storage. Annual billing lowers Pro from $50 to $20 a month, so commitment matters. No trial is named, and the page uses the dollar sign without a currency code.
What stands out
Credit-based Studios
Concurrent GPUs
Seat limits
Where it costs you
Every plan caps credits, seats and concurrent GPUs, so heavy compute can outrun the allowance.
The terms page did not load, so no legal entity or country could be confirmed.
Right for
Individuals and small teams wanting GPU-capable Studios with prices visible up front
Wrong for
Buyers who must confirm the vendor's legal entity before purchase
Not stated by the vendorFree plan with starting credits; Pro monthly or annual; Teams per user; Enterprise by quote
Browser workspaces sold as Core and Pro subscriptions with model credits
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Cloud IDE Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Core includes up to 30 hours of chat, $20 toward more capable models and unlimited workspaces. Pro adds $100 in credits, $100 toward the strongest models, up to 15 collaborators and database rollback of up to 28 days.
Enterprise is priced by contacting sales and lists SSO, SCIM, audit logs and single-tenant or private networking. Disputes fall under California law with San Francisco as venue.
What stands out
Core and Pro
Free Mode limits
Model credits
Where it costs you
Pro costs five times Core, and the step is mainly more collaborators, credits and rollback.
The pricing page lists no trial, and the terms give a California governing law but no country or address.
Right for
Individuals and small groups who want an all-in-one browser workspace with model credits included
Wrong for
Buyers who need a fixed price without bundled model credits
Not stated by the vendorCore and Pro subscriptions published monthly or annually; Enterprise by sales contact
Policy-enforced, ephemeral development environments in the vendor cloud or your VPC
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Cloud IDE Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Environments are ephemeral, so every session starts from the same definition for each developer and each Ona Agent, with policy enforced by the platform. The deployment choice, vendor cloud or customer VPC, is aimed at compliance needs.
Cost is the unknown: the pricing page shows no plans, only a sales contact. The checked imprint address returned a 404, and the header places the product inside OpenAI Platform.
What stands out
Ephemeral environments
Policy enforcement
VPC deployment
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows only Contact sales, so no budget figure exists before a conversation.
The header says Part of OpenAI Platform, which ties the product to a larger owner.
Right for
Organisations needing identical, policy-controlled environments for people and agents inside their own VPC
Wrong for
Buyers who want public prices and an independent vendor
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation through sales contact
Automated dev environments on any infrastructure through Terraform
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Cloud IDE Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Koding leans on Terraform: environments are provisioned on any infrastructure across more than 70 providers, which keeps exit simple if your definitions live in Terraform. You can use it hosted or install it on-prem.
What the page omits matters more: prices, licence, dates and country are all missing, though it also contains no statement of discontinuation. Treat it as a candidate to test, not to standardise on.
What stands out
Terraform
On-prem install
70+ providers
Where it costs you
The page shows no release dates, so how actively it is maintained cannot be told from it.
No licence name or plan prices appear, which leaves the free label unchecked.
Right for
Teams comfortable with Terraform who want environments provisioned onto infrastructure they already pay for
Wrong for
Buyers needing visible release history and a named licence
Not stated by the vendorHosted service or on-prem install; no plan prices shown
Online compiler and editor covering 150+ languages and databases
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Cloud IDE Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
The homepage claims support for more than 150 languages and databases, a spread that few of the other tools here advertise. An AI agent can edit files in your workspace.
Everything else is silent: no company, country, limits, plans or hosting options appear, and the pricing page did not show a verifiable list. That makes it fine for throwaway code and unsuitable as the basis for procurement.
What stands out
150+ languages
AI agent
Quick snippets
Where it costs you
Nothing on the homepage identifies who runs it, so ownership cannot be checked.
The linked pricing page showed no price list that could be verified.
Right for
Anyone who needs to run a snippet in an unusual language or database quickly
Wrong for
Teams wanting shared, repeatable project environments with central control
Not stated by the vendorFree to use per the homepage; plan prices could not be verified
VM-based codespaces opened in a browser or a local IDE
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Cloud IDE Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Machine sizes run from 2 cores to 32 cores with 64 GB RAM and 128 GB storage, reached from a browser or from Visual Studio Code or IntelliJ. A spend limit caps the bill, and the free plan carries a $0 limit.
Students get access through the Student Developer Pack, and open-source maintainers receive monthly usage with no amount stated. Organisations need to switch Codespaces on in settings before anyone can use it.
What stands out
VM-based
Spend limits
Browser or local IDE
Where it costs you
The page says Codespaces cannot be self-hosted, so the compute always sits with GitHub.
Included hours belong to personal accounts; Team and Enterprise plans state none.
Right for
Developers whose repositories already live on GitHub and who want one-click cloud machines
Wrong for
Organisations that must run workspaces on their own servers
Not stated by the vendorPay-as-you-go compute and storage with spend limits; monthly allowance for individual accounts
Managed workstations on Google Cloud VMs billed by the hour
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Cloud IDE Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The pricing page splits the invoice into compute, disk, a management fee per vCPU hour and a control plane fee. One control plane is enough for most cases, and an inactivity time limit stops idle workstations.
The rate table covers European regions such as Belgium, Frankfurt, Netherlands, Paris, Finland, Stockholm, Madrid, Warsaw, Milan, Zurich and London, with other rates quoted for us-central1. Discounts need one- or three-year commitments.
What stands out
Google Cloud VMs
Idle shutdown
Committed discounts
Where it costs you
The $0.20 hourly cluster fee accrues even when no workstation is running.
The workstation runs only on Google Cloud virtual machines, and GPUs add cost on top.
Right for
Organisations already running on Google Cloud that want managed, auto-stopping developer machines
Wrong for
Small teams wanting one flat price per developer
Not stated by the vendorPay-as-you-go on Compute Engine rates plus a per-vCPU fee and an hourly cluster fee
Browser editor tied to Cloud Shell sessions with a weekly quota
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Cloud IDE Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The limits page is blunt about scope. Sessions end after 12 hours, non-interactive sessions end after 40 minutes, and the VM stops after 40 minutes of inactivity.
The 5 GB home disk is persistent, per user and shared across projects, and the page calls that storage free without saying the whole service is. Because essential extensions are preinstalled and custom ones are refused, the editor stays the same for everyone.
What stands out
Weekly quota
12-hour sessions
Preinstalled extensions
Where it costs you
Custom editor extensions are not supported, only a preinstalled set that Google keeps updated.
The 50-hour weekly quota and 12-hour session cap limit all-day use.
Right for
Cloud users who need a quick editor beside a command line for short tasks
Wrong for
Developers needing custom extensions or sessions lasting all day
Not stated by the vendorWeekly hour quota with a 5 GB persistent home disk; compute pricing not stated on the pages read
Browser IDE running on EC2 or any SSH-reachable Linux server
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Cloud IDE Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The product page promises a browser-based place to write, run and debug code. Two hosting routes are named: a managed Amazon EC2 instance, or an existing Linux server reachable over SSH, which gives some independence from the vendor's compute.
Beyond that the page is sparse. No end-of-support date is shown, but pricing sits on another page and no limits or country appear, so confirm terms before relying on it.
What stands out
Browser IDE
EC2 environments
SSH to Linux
Where it costs you
The page states no price and links to a separate pricing section, so cost cannot be judged from it.
Evidence is thin: no limits, licence or country appear on the page read.
Right for
Teams on AWS wanting a browser IDE attached to EC2 or a Linux server
Wrong for
Buyers who need published limits and prices before choosing
Not stated by the vendorPricing not stated on the page; linked to a separate pricing section
Cloud IDE software gives you a code editor and terminal in a browser or thin client, while the project builds and runs on a remote machine. Rather than compare features, settle the following points one after another.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
The split is 5 published against 8 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Coder, Devpod, Lightning AI, Replit, Onecompiler.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Look at the contracting entity: these 13 vendors sit in 2 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 11, North America 2. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
03
Check the open source options
Source code is available for Devpod, code-server. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
Cloud IDE software: who operates the machine
The first decision in cloud IDE software is whether the workspace runs on hardware you control. Coder, code-server and Devpod put the machine in your hands: Coder hosts workspaces on your servers, code-server is MIT licensed and runs on a modest Linux box, and Devpod is a client that targets your own cloud accounts or Kubernetes clusters.
GitHub Codespaces and Replit run the machine for you, and the Codespaces page says plainly that it cannot be self-hosted. Hosted convenience is real, but it fixes where your code runs and who sets the price. Decide this before comparing editors, because every later limit, from session length to the monthly bill, follows from that one choice.
Ask whether the workspace can run on servers you operate
Check the minimum machine each self-hosted tool needs
Confirm who sets the price of the compute underneath
Cloud IDE pricing: hours, credits and idle machines
Cloud IDE bills grow quietly because the meter runs while a machine exists, not while someone types. GitHub Codespaces gives individual accounts 120 core hours a month, then charges per compute hour and per GB stored. Cloud Workstations adds a $0.05 per vCPU hour fee and a $0.20 per hour cluster charge that runs whether or not workstations are in use.
Lightning AI counts credits, and Google Cloud Shell Editor allows 50 weekly hours with a VM that stops after 40 idle minutes. Replit bundles model credits into Core and Pro. Multiply a normal working week by each meter, and check whether idle shutdown is automatic or something you must configure.
Convert each meter into hours for a normal working week
Look for charges that continue when nobody is working
Devfile, devcontainer.json and leaving a cloud IDE
What you can take with you depends on where the environment is defined. Devpod builds from a devcontainer.json in your repository, and Eclipse Che uses the Devfile format, which the project presents as an open standard. Coder defines environments as code, and Koding works with Terraform across more than 70 providers.
Those definitions live in files you own, so moving costs a rewrite of provider settings, not of the environment. Ona describes its environments as identical for every developer and agent, but a vendor-defined policy layer is something to export or recreate. Ask each vendor which file describes the workspace and whether you can run it elsewhere before signing anything.
Find the file that defines the environment and where it lives
Test running that definition on a second provider
Ask what policy settings must be recreated after leaving
Quick editors against team workspaces: Cloud Shell Editor, Onecompiler and AWS Cloud9
Some tools in this market are scratchpads and should be bought as such. Google Cloud Shell Editor ends sessions after 12 hours, refuses custom extensions and ties you to a weekly quota. Onecompiler claims 150+ languages and databases but its homepage names no company, country or plan prices, which makes it hard to approve for company work.
AWS Cloud9 offers a browser IDE on EC2 or an SSH-reachable Linux server, yet the page read states no price or limits. A team workspace needs more: shared definitions, access control and audit logging, which the Coder Premium plan lists and the quick editors never mention, so check the plan tables before you assume parity.
Separate throwaway coding needs from daily team workspaces
Check for a named company and a stated country
Confirm limits on session length and extensions in writing
What goes wrong most often when buying cloud IDE software
Assuming a monthly allowance covers a team: the Codespaces hours belong to personal accounts, while Team and Enterprise plans state none.
Forgetting fixed charges: a Cloud Workstations cluster costs money every hour it exists.
Treating a self-hosted tool as a platform: code-server serves VS Code to a browser, but team deployment belongs to coder/coder.
Approving a tool with no named owner: Onecompiler's homepage shows no company, country or address to put in a contract.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best cloud IDE software in 2026?
Coder takes first place among the 13 we reviewed. Coder Technologies, Inc. of Austin, Texas, makes a platform whose Community plan covers unlimited self-hosted workspaces with environments defined as code.
You own the servers, so nothing here depends on a hosting partner. The catches: Community allows 5 active Coder Agents and community support on GitHub and Discord, and Premium, which adds high availability and audit logging, shows no price.
Which cloud IDE tools publish their pricing?
5 out of 13 state a price model on their own site:
Coder: Free Community plan; Premium billed annually per user with no listed price; AI Premium custom.
Devpod: Open source, stated as 100% free; no paid plans listed on the page.
Lightning AI: Free plan with starting credits; Pro monthly or annual; Teams per user; Enterprise by quote.
Replit: Core and Pro subscriptions published monthly or annually; Enterprise by sales contact.
Onecompiler: Free to use per the homepage; plan prices could not be verified.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free cloud IDE tool?
Coder, Lightning AI, Onecompiler come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these cloud IDE software vendors established?
Across 2 countries (Elsewhere 11, North America 2):
Coder: United States.
Devpod: Not stated by the vendor.
code-server: United States.
Eclipse Che: Not stated by the vendor.
Lightning AI: Not stated by the vendor.
Replit: Not stated by the vendor.
Ona: Not stated by the vendor.
Koding: Not stated by the vendor.
Onecompiler: Not stated by the vendor.
GitHub Codespaces: Not stated by the vendor.
Cloud Workstations: Not stated by the vendor.
Google Cloud Shell Editor: Not stated by the vendor.
AWS Cloud9: Not stated by the vendor.
Which cloud IDE tools are open source?
Devpod, code-server.
Which cloud IDE tools can you host yourself?
Coder, code-server, Eclipse Che, Koding, Onecompiler, GitHub Codespaces. The remaining 7 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of Coder?
The next in line are Devpod, aimed at Developers with existing cloud accounts or clusters wanting reproducible environments from their repository, and code-server, aimed at Solo developers or small groups wanting their own VS Code reachable from any browser.
Who should not buy Coder?
Individuals wanting a hosted editor with nothing to install. The Community plan limits you to 5 active Coder Agents and 1 platform integration..
If a cloud IDE software product of yours deserves a place among these 13, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.