Web hosting control panels give a server owner a browser interface for sites, mail, DNS, databases and customer accounts.
This guide ranks panels by how many hours the first quarter takes, how the bill grows with accounts or sites, whether you can leave with your data, and whether a small independent vendor stands behind the product.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What web hosting control panels software does
A web hosting control panel is server software that lets administrators and customers manage domains, websites, email, DNS, databases, certificates and backups through a browser instead of the command line.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether you can leave, and who each web hosting control panels tool is built for. Smaller challengers are placed in the top three wherever the category has them; the well-known brands come after. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Per-server licence by account count, monthly or annual; a price adjustment is announced for December
—
Hosts whose customers already expect cPanel and who accept the per-account cost
Buyers who want an independent vendor or a price fixed for years
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.
BSD-licensed multiserver panel covering web, mail, DNS and databases
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Web Hosting Control Panels in 2026.
Open sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The strongest argument for ISPConfig is that it covers the whole hosting stack under a permissive licence. Websites run on Apache or nginx with PHP-FPM, mail on Postfix and Dovecot with rspamd, and DNS on BIND or PowerDNS with DNSSEC.
A remote SOAP and REST API and the ispc command-line tool come included. The cost sits in operations, because nobody on the page promises to run it for you, and the country is not stated.
What stands out
BSD licence
Multiserver mode
Reseller logins
Where it costs you
The page lists commercial extensions as optional add-ons without saying what they cost.
Supported systems are named as Debian, Ubuntu, AlmaLinux, Rocky Linux and CentOS 8, so other distributions are not covered.
Right for
Hosting providers wanting reseller logins and several service nodes without a licence fee
Wrong for
Buyers who expect a vendor-run service or a phone number
Not stated by the vendorLicence is free to use; commercial extensions sold as optional add-ons
Per-website priced panel with clustering and container isolation on your servers
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Web Hosting Control Panels in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingEurope
Enhance prices the way a hosting business earns: per hosted website, with addon, subdomain and alias domains not billed. The first tier shows a minimum threshold, so a very small estate pays more per site than the headline rate suggests.
Clustering with placement rules, incremental backups with disaster recovery and a WordPress toolkit are named. It runs only on servers you install it on, and the page names no owner behind the company.
What stands out
Per-site pricing
Container isolation
Cluster licence
Where it costs you
The pricing page lists no named plans and no trial, so a buyer cannot test cost or fit from the page alone.
Above 100,000 sites the price is enterprise pricing by contact, so very large estates cannot be budgeted from the site.
Right for
Hosting businesses that want cost to track the number of customer websites
Wrong for
Owners of a few sites who would hit the minimum threshold
United KingdomMetered by hosted website each month in published tiers; invoiced after month end, no long-term contract
Self-hosted panel for PHP, Node.js and Python sites on your own server
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Web Hosting Control Panels in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
The appeal is a small, current stack: multiple PHP versions, Node.js, Python, static sites and reverse proxies, each site in an isolated environment. A UFW firewall interface, IP and bot blocker, two-factor login, Let's Encrypt and automated backups are listed, along with a Cloudflare integration.
The limit is the operating system list, because only Debian and Ubuntu releases are named. The licence terms are linked but were not shown on the page read.
What stands out
Per-site isolation
Debian and Ubuntu
Community Edition
Where it costs you
The Premium and Enterprise support plans are marked Coming soon without prices, so support cannot be bought today.
The feature list on the page read does not mention email or DNS hosting, which a full hosting provider would need.
Right for
Developers hosting several applications on a cheap cloud server, at no licence cost
Wrong for
Providers selling mail and DNS hosting to many customers
Not stated by the vendorCommunity Edition costs nothing; paid support tiers are marked as coming soon
Monthly licence tiers from two accounts up to unlimited accounts
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Web Hosting Control Panels in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The cheapest licence allows two accounts and twenty domains, with installation support included, while the Lite and Standard tiers add free installation and unlimited technical support.
That makes the entry price easy to compare, but the companion products change the comparison: JetBackup, Imunify360 and Acronis each have their own price and trial. Daily billing and multi-server keys are not priced on the page, so larger resellers must ask.
What stands out
Account-based tiers
Prepaid discounts
Backup add-ons
Where it costs you
The three licences list no trial, so a buyer pays before testing.
Backup and malware protection are sold as separate products, which raises the real price above the licence line.
Right for
Small and mid-sized hosts that want a low monthly licence per server
Wrong for
Teams wanting backups and security built into one price
Not stated by the vendorThree published monthly licence tiers in US dollars; bulk discounts through a prepaid balance
Free base panel for RPM-family servers with a paid Pro tier
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Web Hosting Control Panels in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
What stands out is the security angle: the CWP Secure Kernel sandboxes PHP per site, CSF firewall and ModSecurity are included, and AutoSSL handles certificates. Mail runs on Postfix, Dovecot and Roundcube, with MySQL, MariaDB, PostgreSQL and MongoDB available.
The paid tier is cheap, and support is a separate step up, since the plan that includes Linux support costs several times the Pro price. The vendor is not identified beyond a copyright line.
What stands out
RPM-family servers
Secure Kernel
Pro tier
Where it costs you
The base edition's licence type is not named on the page.
Faster security fixes are a Pro feature, so the free edition may wait longer for patches.
Right for
Self-managed servers on AlmaLinux or Rocky Linux needing a budget panel
Wrong for
Debian or Ubuntu users, or buyers who require a named company
Not stated by the vendorBase edition listed at no cost without time limit; Pro tiers published monthly or yearly
Single-licence Linux panel with a CMS installer and SSH chroot
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Web Hosting Control Panels in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The sales page is short on detail but clear on the price structure: one licence, EUR 9 a month for direct buyers, nothing for Keyweb customers.
Listed features are a one-click installer for CMS and shop systems, a spam filter, an SSH chroot environment and a dark mode. No API, clustering or backup feature is named on the page read, and the old keyhelp.de prices address now redirects to the Keyweb page.
What stands out
Single licence
Keyweb servers
SSH chroot
Where it costs you
The page describes one licence only, with no plan names or limits, so scale cannot be judged from it.
The product page belongs to a hosting company, so a buyer cannot tell how independent the developer is.
Right for
Small German-speaking hosting setups wanting one simple licence at a fixed monthly fee
Wrong for
Resellers needing tiers, clustering or a published API
Not stated by the vendorOne paid licence billed monthly in advance; no licence fee for the hosting company's own customers
The pitch is performance tooling around one web server: WordPress Manager with LSCache preinstalled, OpenLiteSpeed or LiteSpeed Enterprise, ModSecurity with optional CSF integration, and one-click Let's Encrypt with renewal.
Backups, restore points and one-click staging-to-production are listed. That focus is also the limit, because the stack assumes the LiteSpeed family. The footer shows only a copyright to CyberPanel, and no trial is mentioned for the paid items.
What stands out
OpenLiteSpeed
WordPress Manager
Self-hosted
Where it costs you
The homepage names no licence type and no prices, so the cost of the paid options is unknown.
The page names no company, owner or country, so accountability for the panel is unclear.
Right for
WordPress-heavy sites that benefit from LiteSpeed caching on a cheap VPS
Wrong for
Organisations that need a named vendor and a price list
Not stated by the vendorFree edition with OpenLiteSpeed; premium add-ons, hosted services and lifetime plans are paid
Dutch server management panel with a free tier and server-count plans
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Web Hosting Control Panels in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Ploi bills by servers rather than accounts, so a business with many small sites on one machine pays little. Basic costs EUR 8 a month and Unlimited EUR 30, with a 10% discount for yearly billing.
The company says it is hosted in Europe. The plan limits are expressed in servers and deployments, which suits developers more than resellers. Nothing on the pages read lists reseller logins.
What stands out
Server-count tiers
Dutch company
Five-day trial
Where it costs you
Server fees are not included in any plan, so a second invoice from the cloud provider is certain.
The Free plan caps deployments at five a month, which blocks frequent releases.
Right for
Agencies running many client sites across several rented cloud servers
Wrong for
Hosts selling shared accounts with mail and DNS
NetherlandsFree tier for one server; paid tiers by server count with a yearly discount, server fees excluded
Docker-style app platform with per-server plans and automatic SSL
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Web Hosting Control Panels in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Easypanel suits an application team more than a hosting provider. The free plan allows three projects, and paid plans lift that. Monitoring covers CPU, memory, disk, network and logs, backups restore with one click, and two-factor login is included.
It can run over 750 services, all open source according to the page. No mail server management is named, so classic shared hosting would need another tool.
What stands out
Per-server plans
Git deployments
Managed databases
Where it costs you
The pages do not state the panel's licence, only that the services it runs are open source.
Paid plans are billed per server, so cost rises with every extra machine.
Right for
Developers deploying containerised apps from GitHub onto one or two servers
Wrong for
Hosts needing reseller accounts, mail and DNS control
Not stated by the vendorFree tier up to three projects; paid plans per server, cheaper when billed yearly; money-back guarantee
Linux server panel with an app store and cloud backup targets
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Web Hosting Control Panels in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The page leans on newer ideas, with an AI Gateway, Skills Hub and centralised model management beside host monitoring and file, database and container management. WordPress integration is listed too.
That mix points at self-managed workloads rather than classic multi-customer hosting, and no reseller feature is named on the page read. Support is commercial through LXware, but plan terms are missing.
What stands out
App store
Cloud backup
FIT2CLOUD
Where it costs you
The Pro and Enterprise editions have no prices on the page, so the cost of upgrading is unknown.
The page does not state the licence of the core panel, so reuse rights cannot be confirmed.
Right for
Teams wanting a container-oriented server dashboard with a large app catalogue
Wrong for
Buyers who must know the price and licence before committing
Not stated by the vendorPro and Enterprise editions exist without listed prices; cost of the core panel not stated
Established panel sold in per-server editions with WordPress tooling
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Web Hosting Control Panels in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Plesk gives a plain entry price per server, with the Web Admin edition capped at 10 domains and the Web Pro edition at 30. The Web Host edition has no domain cap.
WordPress work is covered by WP Toolkit for installing, updating, cloning, staging and backing up sites. A yearly option saves 8%. Ownership by a larger group puts it lower in this ranking than smaller panels.
What stands out
Domain-count editions
WP Toolkit
WebPros family
Where it costs you
The partner minimum differs between the plan card and the FAQ, so the real commitment is unclear.
Payments from Russia-based banks, cards and PayPal accounts are not accepted.
Right for
Agencies and hosts that want a recognised interface and a trial
Wrong for
Buyers wanting an independent vendor outside a larger group
Not stated by the vendorPer-server editions limited by domain count on VPS; partner plans carry a monthly minimum; two-week trial
Long-established panel licensed per server and per account tier
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Web Hosting Control Panels in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
cPanel is the reference most customers know, which is its main selling point. The price per server rises with account count, and the lower tiers cap accounts at 1, 5 and 30, so growth means a tier change.
WP Squared covers ten WordPress sites at a flat fee plus a per-site charge. Because the licence is tied to a static IP, moving servers needs a licence change too. Group ownership and the coming price change put it last here.
What stands out
Account tiers
Static IP licence
WP Squared
Where it costs you
The pricing page announces a licence price adjustment effective 16 December 2026 without giving the new figures.
The trial page is linked but its length and terms are not stated.
Right for
Hosts whose customers already expect cPanel and who accept the per-account cost
Wrong for
Buyers who want an independent vendor or a price fixed for years
Not stated by the vendorPer-server licence by account count, monthly or annual; a price adjustment is announced for December
A web hosting control panel is server software that lets administrators and customers manage domains, websites, email, DNS, databases, certificates and backups through a browser instead of the command line. These are the questions that actually differ between vendors, in the order we would ask them.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Only 7 of the 12 print a price; 5 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: ISPConfig, Enhance, DirectAdmin, CentOS Web Panel, CyberPanel, Ploi, Easypanel.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 3 countries across 2 regions (Elsewhere 10, Europe 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Check the open source options
2 of these are open source: ISPConfig, CyberPanel. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
How cPanel, Plesk and DirectAdmin count what you pay for
Price comparison in this market starts with the unit of billing, because the three best-known panels do not count the same thing. cPanel licenses a server by account tier, from Solo with one account up to Premier with 100. Plesk sells per-server editions on VPS capped by domains, from 10 to unlimited. DirectAdmin counts accounts and domains together, from two accounts upward.
Enhance bills per hosted website, and Ploi and Easypanel bill by server. A host with 40 small customers and one box will pay very differently under each model. Work out your own count of accounts, domains, sites and servers today and in a year, then price each panel against it. Remember that cPanel has announced a price adjustment from 16 December 2026, and that Plesk shows a partner minimum on its plan card.
Count accounts, domains, sites and servers you will run in twelve months
Ask cPanel for the new price after 16 December 2026
Check Plesk's partner minimum with the vendor in writing
Self-hosted panels: the operating system list decides first
A free licence still has to run on something, and the supported systems differ more than buyers expect. CloudPanel lists Debian 11 and 12 and Ubuntu 22.04 and 24.04, with a minimum of 1 core, 2 GB RAM and 10 GB disk. CentOS Web Panel targets AlmaLinux, Rocky Linux, RHEL, CentOS 7, Oracle Linux and CloudLinux. ISPConfig names Debian, Ubuntu, AlmaLinux, Rocky Linux and CentOS 8.
Choose the panel that matches the distribution your team already patches, because a mismatch adds hours that no licence saving repays. ISPConfig names mail and DNS services on its page, whereas CloudPanel's listed features centre on application hosting. Budget the first ninety days in staff hours, including installation, certificates and a restore test, not in licence fees.
Match the panel's supported distributions to your current servers
Confirm mail and DNS are covered if you host customer domains
Time a trial installation and write down the hours
Add-ons that change the real price of a panel
The headline licence is rarely the full bill. DirectAdmin sells JetBackup, Imunify360 and Acronis Backup next to the licence, each with its own price and trial length. CentOS Web Panel puts faster security fixes in CWPpro and Linux support in a pricier CWPpro + Support tier. cPanel lists WP Squared as a separate product with its own monthly fee and per-site charge, and Plesk bundles WP Toolkit for WordPress staging and cloning.
Enhance counts a WordPress toolkit among its features and ModSecurity with OWASP rules. Add the backup tool, malware scanning, WordPress tooling and support plan you would otherwise do without, then compare those totals, not the licence lines. A cheap panel with a missing backup layer is only cheap until the first restore.
List backup, malware and WordPress tools you need in the first year
Price DirectAdmin's companion products beside the licence
Check whether support is included or a higher tier
Leaving a panel: backups and restores on Easypanel, 1Panel and CyberPanel
No vendor in this list describes a full export of customers, mail and DNS, so exit is something you test. Easypanel lists automatic backups with one-click restore, 1Panel lists one-click backup and recovery to multiple cloud storage targets, and CyberPanel lists backups, restore points and staging deploys. Those are restore features inside the same product, which is not the same as moving to another panel.
Run the restore on a fresh server before you rely on it, and keep copies of website files and databases outside the panel's own storage. Where a panel names no company, as with CyberPanel or 1Panel's licence, check the repository and release history before you commit. A small vendor such as Ploi or Enhance may help with migration, but ask in writing.
Restore a backup onto a fresh server before going live
Keep database dumps and site files outside the panel
Ask each vendor how customers move to another panel
What goes wrong most often when buying web hosting control panels software
Pricing a panel by its entry licence and forgetting that cPanel, Plesk and DirectAdmin each meter accounts or domains differently as you grow.
Treating a free panel such as CloudPanel or ISPConfig as costless, when installation, upgrades and incident work fall on your own staff.
Choosing a container app panel such as Easypanel for shared hosting, then finding no mail or reseller tooling named on its pages.
Assuming a backup button is an exit plan, without testing a restore on another server and checking who owns the panel's project.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best web hosting control panels in 2026?
ISPConfig leads our ranking of 12. ISPConfig is open source under the BSD licence and installs on your own Debian, Ubuntu, AlmaLinux, Rocky Linux or CentOS 8 servers, with copyright credited to projektfarm GmbH.
One Management Server steers Service Nodes for web, mail, DNS and databases, and resellers and clients log in separately with limits. The price is your own time for installs and upgrades, and the commercial extensions carry no price on the page.
Which web hosting control panels tools publish their pricing?
7 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
ISPConfig: Licence is free to use; commercial extensions sold as optional add-ons.
Enhance: Metered by hosted website each month in published tiers; invoiced after month end, no long-term contract.
DirectAdmin: Three published monthly licence tiers in US dollars; bulk discounts through a prepaid balance.
CentOS Web Panel: Base edition listed at no cost without time limit; Pro tiers published monthly or yearly.
CyberPanel: Free edition with OpenLiteSpeed; premium add-ons, hosted services and lifetime plans are paid.
Ploi: Free tier for one server; paid tiers by server count with a yearly discount, server fees excluded.
Easypanel: Free tier up to three projects; paid plans per server, cheaper when billed yearly; money-back guarantee.
The remaining 5 sell by quote.
Is there a free web hosting control panels tool?
CyberPanel, Ploi, Easypanel offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these web hosting control panels vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 10, Europe 2:
ISPConfig: Not stated by the vendor.
Enhance: United Kingdom.
CloudPanel: Not stated by the vendor.
DirectAdmin: Not stated by the vendor.
CentOS Web Panel: Not stated by the vendor.
KeyHelp: Not stated by the vendor.
CyberPanel: Not stated by the vendor.
Ploi: Netherlands.
Easypanel: Not stated by the vendor.
1Panel: Not stated by the vendor.
Plesk: Not stated by the vendor.
cPanel: Not stated by the vendor.
Which web hosting control panels tools are open source?
ISPConfig, CyberPanel.
Which web hosting control panels tools can you host yourself?
Enhance, CloudPanel, CyberPanel, Easypanel. 8 products offer no self-hosted option.
What should you use instead of ISPConfig?
The next in line are Enhance, aimed at Hosting businesses that want cost to track the number of customer websites, and CloudPanel, aimed at Developers hosting several applications on a cheap cloud server, at no licence cost.
Who should not buy ISPConfig?
Buyers who expect a vendor-run service or a phone number. The page lists commercial extensions as optional add-ons without saying what they cost..
Vendors who think their web hosting control panels product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.