Mapping APIs let a product show maps, find addresses, plan routes and look up places without building a geographic database.
This ranking puts small independent vendors with a printed price ladder first, then asks what the first ninety days cost in engineering time, how units are counted, and what commercial use requires.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What mapping apis software does
A mapping API supplies map tiles, geocoding, routing or place search over HTTP or an SDK, billed by requests, sessions or credits, so developers skip running map infrastructure.
Every mapping apis tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. Challengers hold places 1 to 3 wherever the category has them. Established brands begin at place 4. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Per-request billing with volume discounts, or fixed monthly subscriptions; free calls per SKU; new-customer credit
—
Teams that want a fixed monthly call bundle with a recognised brand
Buyers who prefer an independent vendor with a single product
We list the country the vendor operates from or contracts through. That is not the same as the hosting region, and any difference is spelled out in the entry.
Credit-based map, routing and search plans with stated overage rates
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Mapping APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Stadia Maps counts everything in credits: 200,000 a month on the free plan, 1,000,000 on Starter, 7,500,000 on Standard and 25,000,000 on Professional. Overage falls from 3 cents per 1,000 to 1.5 cents as the plan rises, so the rate rewards commitment.
Standard adds satellite and static basemaps. New accounts try Professional for 14 days without a card, then drop back to the free plan unless they upgrade.
What stands out
Credit plans
Overage rates listed
Commercial use from Starter
Where it costs you
The free plan excludes commercial use, so a launch needs a paid plan from day one.
Usage is counted in credits, so request volume has to be converted before plans can be compared.
Right for
Small teams that want a single published price ladder for basemaps and APIs
Wrong for
Hobby projects that need commercial use without paying anything
United StatesPublished credit plans starting with a free plan; overage rates stated; 14-day trial of the top plan
Swiss map-tile and geocoding cloud with a card-free entry plan
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Mapping APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
MapTiler measures usage in map sessions and API requests. Free gives 5,000 sessions, 100,000 requests and 5 GB, with one API key and five custom styles.
Flex lifts that to 25,000 sessions, 500,000 requests and 10 GB, with 1,000 keys and 1,000 styles, and overuse is billed at month end below a limit you set. Custom plans are prepaid volume contracts, and a trial is available by contacting sales.
What stands out
Map sessions
Spending limit
Prepaid custom contract
Where it costs you
The free plan pauses when quotas are used up, which would take a live map offline.
Beyond Flex the only route is a prepaid contract agreed with sales.
Right for
Teams wanting custom map styles and a hard ceiling on monthly spend
Wrong for
Buyers who need a published price for volumes above Flex
SwitzerlandFree and Flex plans published monthly; custom prepaid contracts through sales; Flex overuse capped by a spending limit
Daily-credit plans covering geocoding, routing and maps from a free start
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Mapping APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Geoapify sells credits per day rather than per month: 3,000 on the free plan at up to 5 requests per second, then 10,000, 25,000, 50,000, 100,000 and 250,000 on API 10 through API 250, and unmetered on Custom.
A yearly billing option exists, but its prices were not visible on the page read. Check which operator signs your contract, since the imprint and the content notice name different companies.
What stands out
Daily credits
Five-per-second free limit
Unmetered custom tier
Where it costs you
Credits reset daily, so a single busy day can exhaust a plan in a month that looks quiet.
The relationship between KEPTAGO LTD and Geoapify GmbH is not explained on the page.
Right for
Developers sizing a product on a daily budget across several location APIs
Wrong for
Companies needing a clear single legal entity behind the service
CyprusPublished daily-credit plans from a free plan up to custom unmetered; yearly toggle shown
Single-file PMTiles basemap you can host on plain cloud storage
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Mapping APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The core idea is a single PMTiles archive on cloud storage, fetched through HTTP range requests, so no tile server runs at all.
The basemap is built from OpenStreetMap and other open data; you can download the full planet or extract an area with the command-line tool. A hosted tiles API behind a CDN exists for those who would rather not store the file, free for noncommercial work.
What stands out
PMTiles file
No tile server
GitHub Sponsors
Where it costs you
Search, routing and geocoding are not part of what the page describes, so other vendors are needed.
Commercial use of the hosted tiles requires becoming a GitHub Sponsor, and the page gives no amount.
Right for
Teams comfortable serving a static file from cloud storage themselves
Wrong for
Buyers who want one vendor for routing, search and tiles
Not stated by the vendorFree for noncommercial hosted tiles; commercial use through GitHub Sponsors; planet file downloadable at no charge
German routing and matrix APIs priced in daily credits
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Mapping APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Prices run from Basic at 5,000 credits a day and 100 requests a minute, through Standard at 15,000 and 400, to Premium at 50,000 and 1,000. Above that sits custom bulk pricing.
The per-minute cap matters as much as the daily credits for a delivery or dispatch tool with bursts. Monthly prices are listed; annual billing has separate pricing that the page read did not show.
What stands out
Routing credits
Per-minute limits
Bulk pricing
Where it costs you
The free plan is non-commercial only and holds just 500 credits a day.
Only daily credit limits are published, with no monthly figures to plan around.
Right for
Teams adding routing to a product that already has its own basemap
Wrong for
Buyers who want tiles, geocoding and routing from one account
GermanyPublished daily-credit plans, a free plan for non-commercial use; bulk pricing above the top plan
Berlin geocoding API with plans sized by daily request count
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Mapping APIs in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The Geocoding API starts with a trial of 2,500 requests a day and no credit card. Paid plans rise from X-Small at 10,000 a day through Small, Medium and Large to Enterprise with higher limits, all quoted in euros.
The terms identify OpenCage GmbH at an address in Berlin and mention no parent. Because limits are daily, bulk geocoding of a large address file must be spread over days.
What stands out
Geocoding only
Daily request caps
Card-free trial
Where it costs you
It is a geocoder only, so a map display needs a second vendor.
Geosearch has no published monthly price or daily limit, and no trial.
Right for
Teams that only need address-to-coordinate lookups at predictable daily volumes
Wrong for
Products that need tiles, directions or other map features
GermanyPublished euro plans by daily request volume; trial without a card; enterprise tier higher
Map views as the billing unit, with separate quotas for each API
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Mapping APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The free Basic plan offers 25,000 map views a month and 5,000 each for static maps, place search, navigation and elevation, with one custom style.
Professional adds 100,000 views and five styles; Enterprise gives 500,000 views and ten styles. Monthly or annual billing is offered, prices exclude VAT, and VAT is added at checkout for EU countries only. A tailor-made tier exists on quote.
What stands out
Map views
Custom styles
Per-API quotas
Where it costs you
The legal notice and terms pages did not load, so the operator is unconfirmed.
Custom styles are capped by plan, at one on Basic and five on Professional.
Right for
Developers who want to style their own maps and budget by map views
Wrong for
Buyers who must see a legal entity and country before signing
Not stated by the vendorPublished euro plans by monthly map views, free Basic tier; annual option; tailor-made on quote
Daily-request geocoding and maps plans in four currencies
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Mapping APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The ladder runs Free at 5,000 requests a day, Maps Lite for 10,000 map views, Developer at 25,000 a day, Startup at 60,000, then Growth Plus at 7.5 million monthly requests and Business Plus at 30 million, with Enterprise custom.
The page also lists prices in euros, rupees and reais, plus annual billing options. Plan limits change unit between daily and monthly, so convert them before comparing.
What stands out
Daily requests
Seven plan steps
Multi-currency
Where it costs you
The contracting company and country are not stated, only a copyright line.
The free tier is capped at 2 requests per second and 60 per minute.
Right for
Developers who want an inexpensive geocoding entry point billed in local currency
Wrong for
Procurement teams that must name the legal entity in a contract
Not stated by the vendorPublished daily-request plans from a free plan; larger plans on monthly volume; enterprise custom
Per-product usage billing with separate free allowances for each API
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Mapping APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Mapbox GL JS is free to 50,000 map loads, then billed per 1,000. Mobile SDKs are free to 25,000 monthly users. Directions-family APIs are free to 100,000 requests, and vector tiles to 200,000 tile requests.
Terms name Mapbox, Inc. with wholly-owned subsidiaries and New York law, but no country of establishment. Expect to add support cost once a project is in production.
What stands out
Per-product metering
Support tiers
Map loads and MAU
Where it costs you
Each product has its own unit and allowance, so a bill can have many separate lines.
Business support costs 10 percent of monthly spend with a monthly minimum.
Right for
Teams building custom mobile and web maps who accept metered billing
Wrong for
Buyers wanting one flat monthly price for the whole map stack
Not stated by the vendorUsage-based per product with free monthly allowances; support tiers priced separately; enterprise through sales
Directions, geocoding, search and tiles APIs behind an account key
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Mapping APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The API list is broad: Directions, Geocoding with batch, Search, Place Search, Search Ahead, Static Map, Tiles, Traffic, Address validation and Geolocation.
Plans come as MapQuestGO pay-as-you-go, monthly tiers for steady volume, and Enterprise service plans for applications above 15,000 transactions a month. A separate Pricing and Plans page is linked, but the plans page itself gives no amounts, so a budget needs a direct answer.
What stands out
Directions and matrices
Batch geocoding
Enterprise above 15,000
Where it costs you
The plans page shows no prices or limits, so cost cannot be estimated up front.
No country is stated, only the owner name in the footer.
Right for
Developers wanting a long list of location APIs behind one key
Wrong for
Teams that need to cost the service before talking to anyone
Not stated by the vendorQuoted: pay-as-you-go, monthly tiers and enterprise named, no amounts on the plans page
Mapping platform whose Base Plan page defers to a sales contact
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Mapping APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
HERE's pricing page for the Base Plan shows a Contact Us button and nothing else: no tiers, quotas or currency. A Get started for free link leads to sign-up, but the page does not explain what it covers or whether it expires.
The About page cites over 50 offices and staff across 52 countries without naming a head office. Treat everything beyond that as unconfirmed and ask in writing.
What stands out
Sales-led pricing
Sign-up button
Global offices
Where it costs you
The Base Plan page shows no plan names, limits or prices.
The sign-up button does not say whether it leads to a trial or a lasting plan.
Right for
Larger organisations that expect to negotiate directly with a vendor
Wrong for
Small teams that need a price before any conversation
Not stated by the vendorQuoted through sales on the Base Plan page; a sign-up button is offered without stated terms
Pay-per-request or fixed monthly call bundles under Google Cloud terms
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Mapping APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Subscriptions are Starter at 50,000 calls, Essentials at 100,000, Pro at 250,000 and a custom Enterprise level. Pay-as-you-go volume discounts begin above 100K monthly requests.
Free usage is a per-SKU monthly count, 10K for Essentials, 5K for Pro and 1K for Enterprise, plus a trial credit for new customers. The Google Cloud Terms of Service form the agreement, and the page read does not name the contracting country.
What stands out
Pay as you go
Call subscriptions
Trial credit
Where it costs you
Free calls are small per SKU, from 10K down to 1K depending on the tier.
Subscriptions bill overage pay as you go, so spikes still add cost.
Right for
Teams that want a fixed monthly call bundle with a recognised brand
Wrong for
Buyers who prefer an independent vendor with a single product
Not stated by the vendorPer-request billing with volume discounts, or fixed monthly subscriptions; free calls per SKU; new-customer credit
A mapping API supplies map tiles, geocoding, routing or place search over HTTP or an SDK, billed by requests, sessions or credits, so developers skip running map infrastructure. These are the questions that actually differ between vendors, in the order we would ask them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Prices are public at 10 products (Stadia Maps, MapTiler, Geoapify, Protomaps, GraphHopper, OpenCage, Jawg Maps, LocationIQ, Mapbox, Google Maps Platform) and on request at the remaining 2, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Look at the contracting entity: these 12 vendors sit in 5 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 7, Europe 4, North America 1. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
Mapping APIs count different things: credits at Stadia Maps, sessions at MapTiler, map views at Jawg Maps
Before comparing price, translate every plan into the unit your product actually produces. Stadia Maps sells credits, MapTiler counts map sessions and API requests, and Jawg Maps bundles several tiles into one map view. Mapbox meters every product separately, with map loads for the web library and monthly active users for mobile.
Geoapify and OpenCage use daily limits, which a busy afternoon can exhaust even in a quiet month. Estimate one typical user session, convert it into each vendor's unit, then multiply by expected traffic and compare the results side by side before you shortlist anyone.
Convert one typical session into each vendor's billing unit
Check whether limits reset daily or monthly
Find any call types that count as several units
Free plans in this market often forbid commercial use, as Stadia Maps and GraphHopper do
A free plan is useful for a prototype and risky for a launch. The Stadia Maps free plan excludes commercial use, so Starter becomes the real entry price for any shop or paid service. GraphHopper's free plan is non-commercial and holds 500 credits a day.
Protomaps hosts tiles free for noncommercial work and asks commercial users to become GitHub Sponsors, while MapTiler's free plan simply stops at its ceiling instead of billing you. Read the terms of the free tier before building on it, and decide in advance whether the product earns money, because that decides which row of the pricing table applies.
Ask whether the free plan permits commercial use
Test what happens when a quota runs out
Price the first paid tier, not the free one
OpenCage, GraphHopper and Protomaps each do one job, while Mapbox and MapQuest Developer list many
Specialists keep bills readable but leave gaps. OpenCage handles geocoding and its Geosearch has no published price, GraphHopper concentrates on routing credits with per-minute rate caps, and Protomaps supplies a basemap file with no search or routing described. Broader offers such as Mapbox and MapQuest Developer bundle directions, matrices, geocoding, tiles and traffic behind one account, which saves integration work but spreads cost over many meters.
Decide which features your product needs on day one and which are optional later. Then count the vendors this implies, because each extra contract adds its own terms, keys, limits and invoices to the workload your team carries after launch, including renewals, monitoring and key rotation.
List which map, search and routing features launch needs
Count the contracts a specialist-only stack would require
Check the rate cap, not only the daily volume
HERE and Google Maps Platform: where the price is behind a sales page
Large-vendor pricing is the hardest to plan. The HERE Base Plan page names no plans, caps or amounts, only a contact button. Google Maps Platform publishes subscription bundles from Starter to Pro and a custom Enterprise level, with extra calls charged by usage and small free counts per SKU.
MapQuest Developer lists three plan types without amounts. None of these pages names a country of establishment, which matters if your contract requires one. Ask each for a written quote at your expected volume, and compare it against Stadia Maps or Geoapify, whose prices are printed in full.
Request a written quote at your projected volume
Ask which agreement governs the contract and its law
Compare the quote with a published ladder
What goes wrong most often when buying mapping apis software
Building a commercial product on a free plan that excludes commercial use, then discovering the paid price at launch.
Comparing a per-month figure at one vendor with a per-day figure at another without converting both to your own traffic.
Forgetting that static and vector requests can count as several tile requests, so allowances run out sooner than expected.
Assuming a sign-up button or Contact Us page means a free option exists, when the page states no terms.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best mapping apis in 2026?
Stadia Maps leads our ranking of 12. Stadia Maps, Inc. is a Delaware corporation based in East Lansing, Michigan, and it prints four plans with credit allowances and an overage rate for each paid one, which makes growth easy to price.
TomTom appears only as a data supplier, not as a parent. The free plan forbids commercial use, so anything that earns money must start on Starter or above.
Which mapping apis tools publish their pricing?
10 out of 12 state a price model on their own site:
Stadia Maps: Published credit plans starting with a free plan; overage rates stated; 14-day trial of the top plan.
MapTiler: Free and Flex plans published monthly; custom prepaid contracts through sales; Flex overuse capped by a spending limit.
Geoapify: Published daily-credit plans from a free plan up to custom unmetered; yearly toggle shown.
Protomaps: Free for noncommercial hosted tiles; commercial use through GitHub Sponsors; planet file downloadable at no charge.
GraphHopper: Published daily-credit plans, a free plan for non-commercial use; bulk pricing above the top plan.
OpenCage: Published euro plans by daily request volume; trial without a card; enterprise tier higher.
Jawg Maps: Published euro plans by monthly map views, free Basic tier; annual option; tailor-made on quote.
LocationIQ: Published daily-request plans from a free plan; larger plans on monthly volume; enterprise custom.
Mapbox: Usage-based per product with free monthly allowances; support tiers priced separately; enterprise through sales.
Google Maps Platform: Per-request billing with volume discounts, or fixed monthly subscriptions; free calls per SKU; new-customer credit.
The other 2 quote per organisation.
Is there a free mapping apis tool?
Stadia Maps, MapTiler, Geoapify, Protomaps, GraphHopper, LocationIQ can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these mapping apis vendors established?
Across 5 countries (Elsewhere 7, Europe 4, North America 1):
Stadia Maps: United States.
MapTiler: Switzerland.
Geoapify: Cyprus.
Protomaps: Not stated by the vendor.
GraphHopper: Germany.
OpenCage: Germany.
Jawg Maps: Not stated by the vendor.
LocationIQ: Not stated by the vendor.
Mapbox: Not stated by the vendor.
MapQuest Developer: Not stated by the vendor.
HERE: Not stated by the vendor.
Google Maps Platform: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Stadia Maps?
Look at MapTiler (made for teams wanting custom map styles and a hard ceiling on monthly spend) and Geoapify (made for Developers sizing a product on a daily budget across several location APIs), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Stadia Maps?
Hobby projects that need commercial use without paying anything. The free plan excludes commercial use, so a launch needs a paid plan from day one..
Missing from this mapping apis ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.