UML modeling tools draw and maintain class, sequence, state and component diagrams, and some also generate code from them.
This guide ranks eleven options, from desktop CASE tools to text engines, on first-ninety-day effort, real price once editions are chosen, how models leave the tool, independence from a vendor, and fit for software teams.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What UML modeling tools software does
UML modeling tools let software and systems teams draw, check and share standard diagrams, and several can generate source code or rebuild models from existing code.
Each UML modeling tool was put through the same five questions, in sequence: how hard is setup, what does it really cost, how does data come back out, can you leave, and who is it for. Challengers hold places 1 to 3 wherever the category has them. Established brands begin at place 4. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Individually copyrighted CASE tool covering UML, SysML, ERD and 110+ diagrams
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best UML Modeling Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Version 15.55 is current, and the vendor describes the product as a smart CASE tool with 110+ diagrams across UML, SysML, ERD, BPMN, ArchiMate, flowcharts and user stories. Four editions exist, with a 30-day trial and no permanent free version.
A licence covers the current build, older ones and anything released within a year of purchase. Setup, Portable and Viewer downloads exist, plus a Server add-on for cooperation tools. Prices exclude VAT.
What stands out
Four editions
30-day trial
Server add-on
Where it costs you
The pages we read show no unit prices, so a budget needs the order form.
A licence covers versions released within one year of purchase; an expired update licence renews at half the regular price.
Right for
Architects who want UML, ERD and BPMN in one desktop tool bought from an individual
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a version to keep using without paying
Not stated by the vendorFour editions, Standard to Ultimate; the order form takes EUR or USD with VAT extra; 30-day trial only
Team-built UML and SysML modelling environment with desktop and web editions
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best UML Modeling Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Three editions are listed: Papyrus-Desktop, Papyrus-Classic, an Eclipse-based desktop build, and Papyrus-Web, a cloud version built on Sirius-Web. Standards named on the page run from UML 2.5 and SysML 1.6 to fUML 1.3, ALF 1.0.1, MARTE 1.1, PSCS 1.1, PSSM 1.0 and ISO/IEC 42010.
The page links to Eclipse Foundation resources, and the Foundation describes itself as a non-profit corporation based in Brussels, though Papyrus is not stated to belong to it.
What stands out
UML 2.5
SysML 1.6
Web edition
Where it costs you
The project page states no licence name, so legal review has nothing to quote.
No support terms or service levels appear on the page, leaving upkeep to the project team.
Right for
Model-based engineering teams needing UML 2.5 and SysML 1.6 without a licence invoice
Wrong for
Buyers who need a vendor contract and support terms
Not stated by the vendorThe project page lists no price and no licence name; Desktop, Classic and Web editions
Product family running from UML to SysML and system safety analysis
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best UML Modeling Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Astah Professional is described as a total software design tool with UML, ERD, flowchart and DFD, while Astah System Safety adds SysML, GSN and STPA/STAMP.
Astah UML, Astah SysML, a Viewer and the SysMLv2 Modeler and Editor complete the line, and free plugins extend them. A fully functional trial and a student licence are offered. Change Vision, Inc. appears in the copyright line, with no parent company or country given.
What stands out
Product family
Student licence
SysML v2
Where it costs you
The buy and professional pages returned 404, so no edition, price or billing basis could be confirmed.
Six named products make it unclear which edition covers a given UML task without asking the vendor.
Right for
Engineering teams that start from UML and may later add SysML or safety analysis
Wrong for
Buyers who must compare published prices before any contact
Not stated by the vendorPrices and billing basis could not be read; fully functional trials, plus a student licence
Text-to-diagram engine run as a JAR, a hosted server or in-browser
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best UML Modeling Tools in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Latest version listed is v1.2026.9. Diagram types go beyond UML to JSON, YAML, WBS, MindMap and Ditaa. It runs as a command-line JAR, on the hosted server at plantuml.com, in an online editor, and through an official GitHub extension for Chrome and Firefox that renders without a server.
Layout alternatives to Graphviz are Smetana, VizJs and ELK. Nothing is billed, and no paid support option is mentioned.
What stands out
Text diagrams
Multiple licences
Graphviz layout
Where it costs you
Team setups are assembled by hand, since no Docker image, server package or IDE plugin is offered.
Graphviz is the default layout engine, so most installs depend on another program being present.
Right for
Developers keeping UML sources as text in version control, rendered on demand
Wrong for
Analysts who want to draw diagrams with the mouse
Not stated by the vendorOpen source with no paid tiers or paid support listed; funded by donations only
Modelling suite with desktop and browser editions and AI diagram generation
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best UML Modeling Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Floating licence prices on the shop page run across Enterprise, Professional, Standard and Modeler editions. A 30% discount and a 10% volume discount appear without edition detail. A trial is offered, and accredited educational institutions can obtain free or discounted licences.
Beyond the desktop product there are VP Online, VPasCode, Notes and QueryBase, with cloud collaboration and exports to Confluence and Jira. No self-hosted variant is mentioned on the home page.
What stands out
Four editions
IDE plugins
Academic programme
Where it costs you
The shop page does not say whether prices are one-off or per user per year, and names no seat limits.
Discounts of 30 percent and a volume rate are mentioned without naming the editions they cover.
Right for
Organisations that want UML, BPMN and ArchiMate with IDE plug-ins under one licence
Wrong for
Buyers who must know the billing basis before shortlisting
Not stated by the vendorFloating licences published in four editions on the shop page, billing basis unstated; trial and academic licences
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best UML Modeling Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The product page lists requirements, block definition and parametric SysML diagrams alongside UML 2.5, plus BPMN and UML-style views of XML Schema and SQL tables.
Integration with Microsoft Visual Studio and Eclipse is named, and an Enterprise Edition carries that integration. A free, fully functional 30-day trial is offered. Altova holds the copyright for 2005 to 2026, with no registered seat or country on the page.
What stands out
14 UML diagrams
Code generation
Visual Studio
Where it costs you
The editions and buy pages returned 404, so no price or edition list could be checked.
Code generation is documented for four languages only, so teams on other languages need to test first.
Right for
Development teams on Visual Studio or Eclipse wanting code generation and reverse engineering
Wrong for
Teams on languages outside Java, C++, C# and Visual Basic
Not stated by the vendorEditions and prices absent from the product page, whose buy pages returned errors; 30-day trial
Individually copyrighted UML toolbox generating C++, Java, IDL, PHP, Python and MySQL
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best UML Modeling Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The home page describes a free UML tool box and says that since release 7.0 it is again free software. The legal page confirms releases since 7.0 are free of use and that some plug-outs fall under the GNU General Public License v2 or later.
Supported generation targets are C++, Java, IDL, PHP, Python and MySQL, on Windows, Linux and macOS X. Copyright belongs to Bruno Pagès for 2004-2021.
What stands out
Free software
Six code targets
Windows, Linux, macOS
Where it costs you
The copyright line covers 2004 to 2021 only, so recent maintenance is not evidenced on the site.
A single named individual holds the copyright, and no company, address or support route is given.
Right for
Individual developers who want free UML modelling with code generation for six targets
Wrong for
Organisations that require a vendor contract or support level
Not stated by the vendorFree of use since release 7.0, with no price or commercial edition shown; some plug-outs under GPL v2 or later
General diagram editor with automatic layout and UML class diagrams
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best UML Modeling Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The yEd Software License Agreement v1.2 is under German law and allows commercial use, one installed copy and one backup copy, with no redistribution. Windows, Unix/Linux and macOS are supported with a Java runtime, and release 3.25.1 is current.
Output goes to PNG, JPG, SVG, PDF and SWF, and Excel or XML can be imported. The yFiles library underneath is sold separately, with a trial but no published figures.
What stands out
Auto layout
Class diagrams
Java runtime
Where it costs you
UML is limited to class diagrams on the product page, with no other UML diagram types named.
The licence allows one installed copy and bars use in an automated process.
Right for
Anyone needing quick, laid-out class and flow diagrams at no licence cost
Wrong for
Teams modelling full UML behaviour with code generation
GermanyFree for commercial use under a one-copy licence; paid yFiles products listed apart, without prices
ArchiMate 3.2 modelling toolkit as a Java desktop application
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best UML Modeling Tools in 2026.
Open sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The repository carries the MIT licence, and the site says all development work and support is done for free, asking only for donations through PayPal or Patreon.
It is a desktop application in Java with portable and installer versions on Windows. Because the pages describe an ArchiMate toolkit and list no UML notation, treat it as a companion for architecture views rather than as a UML modeller.
What stands out
ArchiMate 3.2
MIT licence
Eclipse RCP
Where it costs you
The site names ArchiMate 3.2 and no UML diagram types, so it cannot replace a UML tool.
No company or country is named, only two individual developers in the copyright notice.
Right for
Enterprise architects drawing ArchiMate models alongside a separate UML tool
Wrong for
Software teams wanting class, sequence or state diagrams
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under MIT; development and support given freely, donations via PayPal or Patreon
JavaScript library that renders flowcharts and sequence diagrams from text
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best UML Modeling Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The GitHub repository mermaid-js/mermaid is MIT licensed, created by Knut Sveidqvist. Version 13 is described as DOM-free and plugin-based, with a flowchart-only bundle of about 100 kB min+gzip, roughly 50 times faster than version 12.
Version 12.3.0 shows in the navigation. The Live Editor at mermaid.live creates diagrams in the browser, and an integrations list covers other applications. Funding comes through sponsor links.
What stands out
MIT licence
Live Editor
DOM-free v13
Where it costs you
The site names flowcharts and sequence diagrams, not a full UML diagram list.
No price or support offer is stated, only maintainer sponsor links.
Right for
Web developers embedding sequence and flow diagrams in docs through a library
Wrong for
Modellers who need every UML diagram type and a canvas
Not stated by the vendorMIT-licensed library with no price stated; maintainers take sponsorship through links
Visual workspace with a capped free canvas and architecture diagram product
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best UML Modeling Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Four plans exist. Free forever has a 45-shape cap and no private links. Pro lifts the cap, adds one connected data source refreshed daily and unlocks exports. Business adds unlimited sources, roles, an audit log and priority support.
Enterprise is custom on annual terms, with SAML SSO, SCIM, SLAs and data residency. Six products are listed, among them Workspace, Blueprint and Compass, and 12 connectors including Jira and GitHub.
What stands out
Four plans
12 connectors
Regional storage
Where it costs you
The free plan caps diagrams at 45 shapes and withholds PNG, JPEG, PDF and SVG export.
Pro and Business show no price on the page, so costs need a currency choice and a quote.
Right for
Mixed teams who want diagrams, whiteboards and connected data in one browser workspace
Wrong for
Modellers who need a dedicated UML toolset with code generation
Not stated by the vendorFree forever plan, then Pro and Business with prices hidden, and Enterprise on custom annual terms
UML modeling tools let software and systems teams draw, check and share standard diagrams, and several can generate source code or rebuild models from existing code. Work through these questions in order; they separate the products better than a feature matrix does.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
6 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 5 publish a pricing model you can read today: Visual Paradigm, BOUML, yEd, Archi, Creately.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
2 regions are represented (Elsewhere 10, Europe 1). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
03
Decide if open source matters
Source code is available for PlantUML, Archi. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
UML modeling tools: drawn models against text engines like PlantUML and Mermaid
The first choice is whether diagrams are drawn or written. Software Ideas Modeler, Visual Paradigm and UModel give a canvas, while PlantUML turns text into class and sequence diagrams and Mermaid renders flowcharts and sequence diagrams inside web pages. Text sources diff cleanly in Git, but PlantUML depends on Graphviz by default and lists no Docker image or IDE plugin on its download page.
Mermaid names fewer UML diagram types than the others. A canvas suits analysts who sketch with stakeholders. Text suits developers who keep documentation beside code. Many teams end up using one of each, which is a fair outcome, so decide who edits the diagrams, and where the files will live, before comparing features one by one.
Decide whether analysts or developers will edit the diagrams
Check PlantUML's Graphviz dependency on the machines that render
Count which UML diagram types Mermaid actually names
Price pages in this market hide more than they show. Visual Paradigm lists four floating licences on its shop page without saying if they are one-off or yearly, and mentions discounts with no editions attached. Software Ideas Modeler shows no unit prices on the pages we read, bills in EUR or USD with VAT extra, and covers updates for one year before an expired licence renews at half price.
UModel and Astah returned errors on their buy pages. Ask every vendor to state billing basis, seat limits and update window in writing, then compare every quote on the same three-year horizon, including the renewal cost once the first update window has closed.
Ask whether a listed licence price is one-off or yearly
Find out how long updates stay included after purchase
Request edition prices in writing where buy pages fail to load
Standards coverage in Papyrus, UModel and Astah: UML, SysML and ArchiMate
Standards support differs more than logos suggest. Papyrus lists UML 2.5, SysML 1.6, fUML, ALF and MARTE, and UModel names all 14 UML 2.5 diagram types plus SysML and BPMN. Astah sells separate UML, SysML and System Safety products, and a SysMLv2 Modeler and Editor. Archi covers ArchiMate 3.2 only, and yEd names UML class diagrams among other diagram types, so neither can serve as the main UML tool.
Write down the diagram types your project needs, including any SysML requirement and any ArchiMate views for the architecture team, and test those exact diagrams during the trial instead of trusting a feature list, because a notation named on a home page can still be thin in practice.
List the UML and SysML diagram types you will really draw
Confirm which Astah product contains those diagrams
Keep Archi or yEd as companions, not replacements
Leaving a UML modeling tool: BOUML, yEd and the long-term upkeep question
Exit planning matters because UML models outlive tools. BOUML has been free software since release 7.0 and generates six targets, yet its copyright line stops at 2021, so confirm how recent the releases are. yEd exports PNG, JPG, SVG, PDF and SWF, but those are pictures, and its licence bars use in an automated process.
PlantUML keeps the source as text, which is the easiest to move. Papyrus names no support terms. Before committing, export a sample model, reopen it elsewhere, and note who maintains the tool, since several entries here rest on one named person or a small project team, and a tool with no visible support route can stall your delivery on the day something breaks.
Export a sample model and reopen it in another tool
Check the date of the latest release before adopting BOUML
Note whether a named company stands behind support
What goes wrong most often when buying UML modeling tools software
Teams pick Visual Paradigm or UModel from a feature list and only then learn that the shop or buy pages leave the billing basis and editions unclear.
Developers adopt PlantUML for a team and discover late that the download page lists no Docker image or IDE plugin, and that Graphviz must be installed.
Architects expect Archi or yEd to model a full UML system, although their sites name ArchiMate or only class diagrams among other types.
Buyers treat a free UML tool as free of risk, yet BOUML's copyright stops at 2021 and Papyrus states no licence or support terms.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best UML modeling tools in 2026?
First of 11 on this page is Software Ideas Modeler. The copyright line names one person, Dusan Rodina, and no company, so buying means dealing with an individual author rather than a suite vendor.
The tool spans UML, SysML, ERD, BPMN and ArchiMate, with 110+ diagram types, and Setup, Portable, Server and Viewer downloads. Unit prices were not visible on the pages we read, and updates stop after a year unless renewed.
Which UML modeling tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Visual Paradigm: Floating licences published in four editions on the shop page, billing basis unstated; trial and academic licences.
BOUML: Free of use since release 7.0, with no price or commercial edition shown; some plug-outs under GPL v2 or later.
yEd: Free for commercial use under a one-copy licence; paid yFiles products listed apart, without prices.
Archi: Open source under MIT; development and support given freely, donations via PayPal or Patreon.
Creately: Free forever plan, then Pro and Business with prices hidden, and Enterprise on custom annual terms.
The remaining 6 sell by quote.
Is there a free UML modeling tool?
BOUML, yEd, Creately have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these UML modeling tool vendors established?
In 2 countries across 2 regions: Elsewhere 10, Europe 1.
Software Ideas Modeler: Not stated by the vendor.
Papyrus: Not stated by the vendor.
Astah: Not stated by the vendor.
PlantUML: Not stated by the vendor.
Visual Paradigm: Not stated by the vendor.
UModel: Not stated by the vendor.
BOUML: Not stated by the vendor.
yEd: Germany.
Archi: Not stated by the vendor.
Mermaid: Not stated by the vendor.
Creately: Not stated by the vendor.
Which UML modeling tools are open source?
PlantUML, Archi.
Which UML modeling tools can you host yourself?
PlantUML. The remaining 10 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of Software Ideas Modeler?
Papyrus and Astah are the next two on this page. Papyrus is for Model-based engineering teams needing UML 2.5 and SysML 1.6 without a licence invoice; Astah is for Engineering teams that start from UML and may later add SysML or safety analysis.
Who should not buy Software Ideas Modeler?
Anyone who needs a version to keep using without paying. The pages we read show no unit prices, so a budget needs the order form..
We rank 11 UML modeling tools products on this page. If we missed one, its maker can write to us about its purpose and customers. We pick what gets added; the terms of a listing are set out under software advice.