Help authoring tools turn one body of written content into online help, PDF manuals and documentation portals.
We rank thirteen of them by how long writers take to become productive, how licences grow once reviewers and translators join, what leaves when you quit, and whether one company stands behind the product. Priced suites and open-source engines share this single list.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What help authoring tools software does
Help authoring software lets writers create topics once, reuse them across manuals and portals, manage reviews and translations, and publish to web, PDF and in-product help formats.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the help authoring tool was built for. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Documentation site tool with two published plans and a full trial
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Help Authoring Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Growth bundles five contributors and a documentation site with no cap on projects, readers or topics, which suits a large audience and a small writing team. Professional sits above it at a higher listed price.
Basic and Full training and Standard and Advanced branding are priced separately, so a first-year budget needs those lines added. The trial opens every platform feature, and content moves into a paid account if you continue.
What stands out
Contributor-based plans
Unlimited readers
Add-on training
Where it costs you
The pricing text does not make clear whether the listed figures are per month or per year.
Training and branding come as paid add-on services outside the plan price.
Right for
Small documentation teams that want a price on the page before any call
Wrong for
Buyers who need a stated country before signing
Not stated by the vendorTwo published plans in USD before tax, toggled monthly or annual; trial on both
Component authoring system sold per author, with Swedish company details
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Help Authoring Tools in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Pricing starts with the CCMS, licensed per author, with 10 GB of storage per author on Business and limited REST API rates. Enterprise lifts the author count to eight, removes caps on contributors and languages, starts storage at 500 GB and adds guaranteed service levels.
AI translation runs on prepaid tokens that do not expire, in three sizes. Nexus Portal and Nexus Answers are priced by request volume and answer count, so delivery adds a second invoice line.
What stands out
Per-author licensing
Prepaid AI translation tokens
Portal add-ons
Where it costs you
The Business tier stops at two authors, two languages and ten contributors or reviewers.
Enterprise has no trial, so its limits can only be judged after contacting sales.
Right for
Companies translating structured product content that can commit to an annual licence
Wrong for
Small teams wanting a help site without a yearly commitment
SwedenAnnual per-author subscription with a published entry price; Enterprise quoted; Business trial
Content platform with three packages, formerly sold as easyDITA
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Help Authoring Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The three packages are cumulative, so the cheapest route buys only the authoring system and delivery features cost more.
Portal adds a self-service website with one production site and one non-production site; further sites can be bought, and Portal Configuration Services cover design, development and launch support at a price that is not shown. The easyDITA domain forwards to this site, which tells former easyDITA users where their product went.
What stands out
CCMS to portal ladder
Delivery API
Former easyDITA
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows no amounts, currency or billing basis for any package.
Evaluation starts with a demo request, because no trial is mentioned.
Right for
Teams that want authoring, delivery API and portal from one supplier
Wrong for
Anyone who must see a price before booking a call
United StatesThree packages, nothing priced on the page; a demo request is the only route
Authoring suite sold as desktop licence or per-user online plans
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Help Authoring Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Flare Online comes in three bands. Individual covers one or two authors with 20 GB of storage, Team covers three to five with 250 GB and onboarding included, and Business covers six or more with 500 GB and onboarding for an extra fee.
Reviewer seats rise from one to five per author up the ladder. The homepage describes browser-based SME review, role-based permissions and one delivery hub for print, PDF, web, apps and portals.
What stands out
Desktop and online
Reviewer seats
Governed templates
Where it costs you
Flare Online tier prices appear only as Contact Sales.
Trial length and terms are not stated on the pricing page.
Right for
Writers who want a desktop tool first and a cloud option later
Wrong for
Teams needing the full price of every tier in advance
Not stated by the vendorDesktop licence priced per author per year on the page; online plans quoted; trials offered
XML and DITA editor sold as perpetual licence or annual subscription
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Help Authoring Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The Enterprise business licence is offered two ways: perpetual with a support and maintenance pack of one or two years, or a twelve-month subscription billed annually. Business licences go to legal entities for commercial use, while Academic and Individual options sit in separate shop sections.
The tool serves both developers and content authors, so a writer-only team may carry features it never opens. Support renewals are the recurring cost after a perpetual purchase.
What stands out
DITA editing
Perpetual option
XSLT and XQuery
Where it costs you
The perpetual price covers only one or two years of support and maintenance.
The pages read describe an editor, so publishing and hosting sit outside this purchase.
Right for
Technical authors who already work in DITA or XML and want fixed prices
Wrong for
Teams looking for a ready-made reader-facing help site
Not stated by the vendorPublished business licence prices in EUR, perpetual with support pack or subscription
Product documentation with plans that charge editors but not readers
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Help Authoring Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Storage is the quiet limit here. Growing includes 10 GB plus 2 GB per member and Scaling includes 20 GB plus 10 GB per member, so headcount raises both the invoice and the space. Reader numbers never move the price.
A 14-day trial needs no credit card, and early-stage companies can claim half off any plan for two years. Enterprise is custom-priced. Reusable content sits on Scaling rather than the base plan.
What stands out
Reader-free pricing
Startup discount
Version links
Where it costs you
Version links, reusable content and review tools sit on the higher tier.
Storage is capped per plan and grows only as team members are added.
Right for
Product teams publishing customer docs to many readers from few editors
Wrong for
Buyers who need a named country on the page
Not stated by the vendorMonthly plans listed from a base tier upward; Enterprise quoted; 14-day trial, no card
Documentation hosting with plans sized by builds, domains and redirects
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Help Authoring Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Plan differences are mechanical. Basic gives two concurrent builds, a shared domain and 50 redirects, Advanced gives four builds, five custom domains and 250 redirects, and Pro gives six builds, fifteen custom domains and 500 redirects with extra single sign-on providers.
Billing is monthly with annual plans available, payable by invoice or purchase order. The 30-day trial does not charge automatically. Enterprise adds dedicated builders and advanced audit tracking.
What stands out
Concurrent builds
Custom domains
SAML on Enterprise
Where it costs you
Response times stretch to three business days on the cheapest Business plan.
SAML sign-on and a support SLA are reserved for the Enterprise tier.
Right for
Projects that already keep their content in files and need hosting
Wrong for
Writers looking for an editor with review workflows
Not stated by the vendorCommunity hosting free for open-source projects; Business tiers published monthly; 30-day trial
Block-editor docs with a Free plan and per-site pricing
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Help Authoring Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Both paid tiers carry a 14-day trial. Essential includes AI credits worth $20 plus 2,000 credits, and Ultimate includes $100 worth plus 10,000 credits, an AI Assistant chat sidebar and AI insights.
Sync with GitHub or GitLab lets engineers keep content in a repository while others use the editor. The cost driver is the site count: a company with five products pays the site fee five times before any user is added.
What stands out
Per-site billing
Git sync
Generated MCP server
Where it costs you
Every additional published site adds its own monthly charge.
Custom domains are available on paid plans only.
Right for
Developer-led teams publishing one or two public documentation sites with Git
Wrong for
Companies running many separate documentation sites on a tight budget
Not stated by the vendorFree plan for individuals; paid tiers charge per site plus per user; 14-day trial
Knowledge base platform priced by configuration through custom quotes
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Help Authoring Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The quote logic is visible in the FAQ: team accounts, workspaces, languages, sign-on and security requirements, the privacy of the knowledge base and AI Premium Suite usage all feed in.
A multilingual company with private and public spaces therefore makes a different purchase from a single-language public site. The AI Premium Suite bundles screen capture, step-by-step guides, interactive demos and video recording, each priced apart from the base.
What stands out
Configuration quotes
AI add-ons
Workspaces
Where it costs you
No price can be read from the site, because every figure depends on a quote.
AI chatbot and capture features are charged separately from the base configuration.
Right for
Support teams that can wait for a quote built around their set-up
Wrong for
Teams that want to compare monthly prices today
Not stated by the vendorQuoted around each configuration; AI features sold as separate add-ons
Open-source publishing engine for DITA content under Apache terms
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Help Authoring Tools in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
The homepage offers release 4.4.1 for download and a plugin section for extending output. Supported specification versions run from 1.0 to 1.3, and Release 3.0 added Markdown plus the alternative authoring formats proposed for Lightweight DITA.
The licence is Apache 2.0, and the tagline says open source, free as a bird, with no price anywhere. Governance sits apart from OASIS, so the standard body and the toolkit are different organisations.
What stands out
Apache 2.0
DITA 1.0 to 1.3
Plugin downloads
Where it costs you
It is an engine, so writers need a separate editor and review setup.
The pages read show no commercial support option, only the open-source project.
Right for
Teams with DITA content and an engineer to run the build
Wrong for
Writers wanting a click-through authoring workspace of their own
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under the Apache License 2.0; the homepage shows no price
Documentation generator reading reStructuredText or MyST Markdown, installed yourself
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Help Authoring Tools in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Installation routes include PyPI, Conda, operating-system package managers, Docker and source, and everything runs on your own machines rather than as a cloud service. Extensions and themes change how output looks and works, and API documentation can be generated from docstrings.
The licence file in the official repository states two-clause BSD for all project code. Since the page quotes no price and no vendor, the cost is the time your team spends configuring builds.
What stands out
BSD licence
LaTeX and ePub output
Docstring API docs
Where it costs you
There is no hosted editor or review workflow, only files and a build command.
Community support means no vendor-backed service level.
Right for
Engineering teams writing documentation as files next to their code
Wrong for
Non-technical writers who need a visual editor or approvals
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under a two-clause BSD licence; installed yourself, no price on the page
Documentation generated from comments in source code, cross-platform
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Help Authoring Tools in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Version 1.18.0 was released on 13 August 2026. Doxygen supports Markdown alongside its own commands, and it draws class hierarchy and collaboration diagrams from the source it reads. The supported-language list also covers Objective-C, Fortran, VHDL, IDL and Lex.
Word output goes through RTF and PDF output goes through LaTeX. The repository licence file is the GNU General Public License, version 2, from June 1991, which is the term to check against your own policy.
What stands out
GPL version 2
Source comment parsing
Class diagrams
Where it costs you
The homepage describes code documentation, not end-user manuals or help systems.
Its GPL version 2 licence may matter to organisations with strict licence policies.
Right for
Developers documenting C++ or mixed-language code from existing source comments
Wrong for
Technical writers producing task-based user guides or help
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under GPL version 2, offered at no charge on the homepage
MDX-based static site builder for documentation and content sites
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Help Authoring Tools in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Pages are MDX, Markdown with embedded React components, compiled into plain static HTML. The homepage shows a Deploys by Netlify badge and testimonials about GitHub Pages, though it names no required host.
The MIT licence file in the official repository credits Facebook, Inc. and affiliates, and the current footer reads Meta Platforms, Inc. No price appears anywhere. What you spend is engineering time on theme, build and deployment.
What stands out
MIT licence
MDX and React
Static output
Where it costs you
Meta Platforms, Inc. is named as the maintainer, so a large corporation stands behind it.
Content lives as MDX files, which writers without Git habits will find awkward.
Right for
Front-end-comfortable teams that want a docs site they fully control
Wrong for
Documentation departments needing reviewer roles and translation tracking
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under the MIT licence; output is static, so any static host serves it
Help authoring software lets writers create topics once, reuse them across manuals and portals, manage reviews and translations, and publish to web, PDF and in-product help formats. Compare on the following points, in this order, before you compare features.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Only 5 of the 13 print a price; 8 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: ClickHelp, Paligo, Oxygen XML Editor, Read the Docs, GitBook.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
The 13 companies behind this list are established in 3 countries, by region Elsewhere 11, North America 1, Europe 1. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Open source here means DITA Open Toolkit, Sphinx, Doxygen, Docusaurus. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Help authoring tools: single-source suites or plain documentation sites
The first split in this market is between products that manage reusable content and products that only publish pages. Paligo, Heretto and MadCap Flare sit on the first side: MadCap describes componentized authoring and governed reusable templates, and Paligo sells a component content system per author.
Docusaurus, Sphinx and Doxygen sit on the second side, because they turn files or code comments into sites, and DITA Open Toolkit is purely a publishing engine. Archbee, GitBook and Document360 are hosted editors in between. Pick the side before you compare prices, since a team needing topic reuse across five manuals will be disappointed by a static site builder, and a developer team will find a component suite heavy.
Decide whether one topic must appear in several manuals
Check whether the product edits content or only publishes it
List who writes, who reviews and who only reads
Licence units in help authoring: authors, contributors, sites and builds
Each vendor counts something different, so the same team gets very different bills. Paligo licenses per author with a ceiling on contributors, ClickHelp sells contributor seats with unlimited readers, and Archbee charges team members while readers cost nothing. GitBook bills per published site plus a per-user fee, Read the Docs sizes plans by concurrent builds, domains and redirects, and Oxygen XML Editor sells perpetual or subscription licences to legal entities.
MadCap lists Flare Desktop per author per year and Flare Online by author band. Count your writers, occasional reviewers, public sites and monthly builds, then ask every vendor for a year-one total built from exactly those numbers, because a starting price rarely survives that exercise.
Count authors separately from reviewers and occasional contributors
Ask whether extra sites or domains carry their own charge
Request a written year-one total, not a starting price
Formats and exit: what leaves with you when you change tools
A documentation system holds years of work, so ask early what comes out. DITA Open Toolkit reads DITA 1.0 to 1.3 plus Markdown from Release 3.0, and Oxygen XML Editor edits DITA and plain XML, which keeps content in open structures. Sphinx and Docusaurus keep content as text files you already own, under BSD and MIT licences.
Doxygen emits HTML, LaTeX-based PDF, RTF-based Word and XML. Hosted products such as Document360, GitBook and Archbee need a direct question, because the pages read describe features and prices rather than export routes. Perpetual licences on Oxygen need support renewals to stay current. Test an export before signing, using a real project and not the sample.
Export a real project and open the result elsewhere
Ask whether the export is included in the plan
Check whether content is stored in open file formats
Reviewers, translators and AI add-ons: costs beyond the author count
The surprises in this category come from people who do not write. Paligo caps Business at ten contributors or reviewers and two languages, and sells AI translation as prepaid tokens in three sizes. MadCap gives each Flare Online tier a set number of SME reviewer seats per author.
Document360 lists languages and reviewers among the six factors in its quote and charges separately for its AI chatbot, while GitBook includes AI credits that differ between Essential and Ultimate. Heretto and Paligo both add delivery layers, a portal and an API, that appear as further lines. Model the review round of one real release, with named reviewers and target languages, before comparing totals.
Count reviewers and translators per release, not per year
Ask which AI features use credits or tokens
Confirm the language limit of the plan you are pricing
What goes wrong most often when buying help authoring tools software
Buying a static site builder like Docusaurus or Sphinx for a team of writers who have never used Git.
Comparing a per-author suite price with a per-site hosted price as if both covered the same work.
Treating Doxygen as a user-manual tool when its homepage describes documentation drawn from source comments.
Skipping a trial export, then finding that reviewers, translations or a portal were never in the quoted licence.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best help authoring tools in 2026?
First of 13 on this page is ClickHelp. ClickHelp puts two plans on its pricing page, and Growth covers five contributors with unlimited projects, topics and reader accounts, so a small writing team can plan a year without a sales call.
Training and branding are sold as separate services. The trial opens every platform feature. The page leaves the billing period unclear, and the footer names ClickHelp AM LLC without a country.
Which help authoring tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
ClickHelp: Two published plans in USD before tax, toggled monthly or annual; trial on both.
Paligo: Annual per-author subscription with a published entry price; Enterprise quoted; Business trial.
Oxygen XML Editor: Published business licence prices in EUR, perpetual with support pack or subscription.
Read the Docs: Community hosting free for open-source projects; Business tiers published monthly; 30-day trial.
GitBook: Free plan for individuals; paid tiers charge per site plus per user; 14-day trial.
The other 8 quote per organisation.
Is there a free help authoring tool?
GitBook offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these help authoring tool vendors established?
Across 3 countries (Elsewhere 11, North America 1, Europe 1):
ClickHelp: Not stated by the vendor.
Paligo: Sweden.
Heretto: United States.
MadCap Flare: Not stated by the vendor.
Oxygen XML Editor: Not stated by the vendor.
Archbee: Not stated by the vendor.
Read the Docs: Not stated by the vendor.
GitBook: Not stated by the vendor.
Document360: Not stated by the vendor.
DITA Open Toolkit: Not stated by the vendor.
Sphinx: Not stated by the vendor.
Doxygen: Not stated by the vendor.
Docusaurus: Not stated by the vendor.
Which help authoring tools are open source?
DITA Open Toolkit, Sphinx, Doxygen, Docusaurus.
What should you use instead of ClickHelp?
Look at Paligo (made for companies translating structured product content that can commit to an annual licence) and Heretto (made for teams that want authoring, delivery API and portal from one supplier), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy ClickHelp?
Buyers who need a stated country before signing. The pricing text does not make clear whether the listed figures are per month or per year..
If a help authoring tools product of yours deserves a place among these 13, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.