Newsletter tools are sold by list size, by add-on or by a share of reader payments, and the entry price rarely matches the invoice once paid subscriptions, a custom domain and a few thousand readers are added.
This guide ranks twelve newsletter platforms on what the first ninety days cost, the real price at scale, how your list leaves, and who controls the tool.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What newsletter platforms do
A newsletter platform lets you write, send and archive recurring email to a subscriber list, and often adds a website, paid subscriptions, analytics and tools for growing the audience.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each newsletter platform is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Free plan for small lists; Essentials, Standard and Premium priced by contacts, published
Yes
A non-specialist who needs to send a decent newsletter tomorrow
A store where every euro of send cost has to earn its keep
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Self-funded newsletter tool that bills per active subscriber plus add-ons
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Newsletter Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Buttondown answers the exit test well: the company states that your data is yours and can be exported or deleted at any time, and it says it will never put an AI chatbot in front of a human for support.
The first ninety days are cheap, because 100 subscribers cost nothing and the editor, custom sending domain and hosted archive are in the base price. The real price appears when you add tagging, analytics, paid subscriptions and automations, each billed monthly.
What stands out
Self-funded
Add-on pricing
Markdown editor
Where it costs you
Each capability beyond the basic editor is a separate monthly add-on
Sending more than one email a day to the whole list is outside the published prices
Right for
Writers who want to pay only for the features they switch on
Wrong for
Teams wanting every feature included in one flat price
United StatesPer active subscriber with priced add-ons, published; nothing for the first 100
Publishing platform from a non-profit with a hosted option and downloadable code
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Newsletter Platforms in 2026.
Open sourcePublished pricingAsia-Pacific
Ghost answers the exit test better than any hosted-only rival, because the code is MIT licensed and member import and export are listed on the plans, so a publication can leave Ghost(Pro) for its own server.
The first ninety days are cheap on the entry tier, but paid subscriptions start on Publisher, with no Ghost transaction fee on top of the processor. Check the member slider at your list size, because the price follows it.
What stands out
Non-profit
Open source
Members and paid tiers
Where it costs you
Not a general site builder
Marketing pages beyond the basics need a developer
Right for
A publication with paid subscriptions
Wrong for
A company website with services, cases and forms
SingaporeHosted tiers priced by member count, published; code is open source
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Newsletter Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Kit is built on the assumption that the email is the product, not the advertisement for it. That shows in the free tier, in the commerce features that let you sell a course or a subscription without leaving, and in templates that look like plain text on purpose because plain text converts for this audience.
It also shows in what is missing: catalogue-aware segmentation, deep ecommerce reporting and the design tooling a brand team expects.
What stands out
Creator focus
Paid newsletters
Visual automations
Where it costs you
Reporting is thin by ecommerce standards
Templates are deliberately plain
Right for
A writer, creator or coach selling directly to a list
Wrong for
An online shop that needs product-level segmentation
United StatesFree tier up to 10,000 subscribers; paid tiers priced by list size, published
Link-collecting newsletter tool that charges by list size only
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Newsletter Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Curated works the way a link roundup works: you collect articles with a bookmarklet or a private email address, import the best into the next issue and add your intro. Pricing follows list size only, and the free tier up to 1,500 subscribers carries every feature.
There are no per-seat charges, so a team of contributors costs nothing extra. Invoices are possible, but the vendor sets a minimum commitment for them. Choose it only if the digest is the product.
What stands out
Link curation
No seat charges
Archive site
Where it costs you
It is built for link roundups, with no long-form essay workflow or community features
A card must be added before the first issue is sent, though nothing is charged below 1,501 subscribers
Right for
Editors who collect links weekly and add short commentary
Wrong for
Writers who publish long essays or want paid tiers
United StatesFree up to 1,500 subscribers, then tiers by list size, published
Newsletter tool with websites and paid subscriptions on a low entry tier
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Newsletter Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The proposition is straightforward: roughly ninety per cent of what the incumbents do, from 12 dollars a month, in a cleaner interface. A website, landing pages and signup forms are included rather than upsold.
Three caveats worth knowing before you migrate: the free plan now stops at 250 subscribers, new accounts go through manual approval, which can take a day or two, and the automation builder handles sequences well but runs out at genuinely complex conditional branching.
What stands out
Websites included
Paid subscriptions
MCP server
Where it costs you
Manual account approval delays new senders
Automation logic runs out at genuinely complex branching
Right for
A growing list that needs the fundamentals at a low entry price
Wrong for
A team that needs multi-branch lifecycle automation
LithuaniaFree plan for 250 subscribers; Comfort and Power priced by list size, published
Growth-oriented newsletter platform with a referral network and ad tools
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Newsletter Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Beehiiv packs a website, polls, automations and its recommendation network into one subscription, and the Lite tier charges no take rate on paid subscriptions. The first ninety days run on the entry tier, but its limits of 2,500 subscribers, one seat and 30 days of analytics push active publishers to Lite quickly.
The price then follows list size across a published slider, with Pro adding ten seats and unlimited analytics history, and SSO and dedicated IPs are Enterprise only.
What stands out
Growth tools
Ad network
Paid subscriptions
Where it costs you
The entry tier allows one seat, one publication and 30 days of analytics history
Removing beehiiv branding requires the Pro tier
Right for
Newsletters that grow through referrals and sponsor deals
Wrong for
Authors who want a cheap flat price at a large list
United StatesFree tier to 2,500 subscribers; Lite and Pro priced by list size, published
Low-cost email tool from AppSumo with a one-off lifetime plan
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Newsletter Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
SendFox is the most literal answer to the real-price test, because its lifetime option is a single payment with a fixed pool of 300,000 sends and 5,000 contacts.
The catch is the arithmetic: mailing 5,000 contacts once uses 5,000 sends, so a weekly newsletter drains the pool in about a year. The free tier allows 1,000 contacts and 3,000 sends a month. Pro refreshes sends monthly, adds Stripe-based paid newsletters and scales to 250,000 contacts.
What stands out
Lifetime deal
Part of AppSumo
Simple editor
Where it costs you
The lifetime plan counts every contact on every send against a fixed total
White-label sending, paid newsletters and the full HTML editor need the monthly Pro plan
Right for
Occasional senders who like a one-off payment
Wrong for
Weekly senders to a list of several thousand
United StatesFree tier for 1,000 contacts; one-time lifetime plan or monthly Pro, published
Design-led email tool priced by subscriber count with checkout bundled in
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Newsletter Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Flodesk charges by subscriber count rather than by send, with Free, Lite, Pro and Everything plans. Lite adds unlimited sends and analytics but allows one workflow as a limited-time bonus, so automations really begin at Pro, where seats rise to two.
Everything adds integrated checkout, sales pages and subscriptions. The vendor lists CSV data exports on every plan it compares, which covers exit. The price moves in steps as the list grows, so check the slider at your size.
What stands out
Design-first
Checkout built in
Seat limits
Where it costs you
Lite is capped at 25,000 subscribers and one seat
Checkout, subscriptions and payment plans exist only in the top plan
Right for
Brands that care how their emails look and sell products
Wrong for
Publishers who need a website and paid newsletter tiers
Not stated by the vendorFree tier; Lite, Pro and Everything priced by subscribers, published
Writer network that takes a share of paid subscription revenue
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Newsletter Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Substack removes setup entirely: you start publishing and choose which posts are free and which are paid. The cost is a revenue share rather than a licence, since writers keep 90% minus credit card fees.
The vendor says you own your content and subscriber list, which answers the exit test, but the hosted site and reader network stay behind. At 1,000 paying readers on a modest monthly price the share is small; at tens of thousands it becomes the largest line in your accounts.
What stands out
Revenue share
Built-in audience
Hosted only
Where it costs you
The platform keeps a tenth of paid subscription revenue, on top of card fees
The reader network and domain belong to Substack, not to you
Right for
Writers who want paid readers without running any tools
Wrong for
Publishers who want their own site or flat pricing
United StatesShare of paid subscription revenue, published
Membership platform where newsletters are one perk among many
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Newsletter Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Patreon is free to start and charges only once you earn: 10% of income, plus processing, currency conversion and payout fees and taxes where they apply. Newsletters sit alongside video, audio and podcast hosting, with exportable email lists and member analytics.
That helps the exit test, but the platform handles payments, chargebacks and tax collection itself, so it also holds the relationship with the payer. A newsletter-only publisher gets features it never uses.
What stands out
Memberships
Percentage fee
Podcasts and video
Where it costs you
Patreon keeps 10% of income plus payment processing and payout fees
Content is organised around membership tiers, not an open public list
Right for
Creators who already sell memberships and want email included
Wrong for
Writers who need a public archive and a plain mailing list
United StatesPercentage of creator income plus processing fees, published; free to start
AI agent that drafts launch posts, newsletters and social copy for approval
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Newsletter Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Paragraph has moved from a publishing tool toward an agent that drafts changelog entries, thought pieces and newsletters, then waits for your approval. The free tier gives two launch campaigns, a hosted blog and newsletter, and 2,500 newsletter emails a month.
Launch raises that to 25,000 emails and adds the domain and website; Team reaches 100,000 emails and ten members. Check whether you are buying drafting help or a sending platform, because the pricing assumes the former.
What stands out
AI agent
Approval step
Campaign-based
Where it costs you
The product is now priced and sold around campaign output, not list size
A custom domain and your own website are not on the free tier
Right for
Product teams who want launch posts drafted for approval
Wrong for
Solo writers who only need a low-cost mailing list
United StatesFree tier plus Launch and Team plans, published
Marketing suite owned by Intuit with contact-based plans and send caps
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Newsletter Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Mailchimp remains the easiest platform to hand to someone who has never sent a campaign, and with 300 or more integrations whatever else you run probably connects.
The problem is the pricing model: you pay per contact whether or not they read anything, the free plan stops at 250 contacts with no automation flows, and the cheapest tiers remove features you will want within a month. It is a reasonable default for a business whose list is small and whose priority is getting a decent newsletter out.
What stands out
Intuit-owned
Contact-based plans
Send limits
Where it costs you
Per-contact pricing bills you for subscribers who never open
The cheapest tiers strip out things you will want
Right for
A non-specialist who needs to send a decent newsletter tomorrow
Wrong for
A store where every euro of send cost has to earn its keep
United StatesFree plan for small lists; Essentials, Standard and Premium priced by contacts, published
A newsletter platform lets you write, send and archive recurring email to a subscriber list, and often adds a website, paid subscriptions, analytics and tools for growing the audience. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
12 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 0 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Buttondown, Ghost, Kit, Curated, MailerLite, Beehiiv, SendFox, Flodesk, Substack, Patreon, Paragraph, Mailchimp.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 4 countries across 4 regions (North America 9, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
1 of these are open source: Ghost. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
How newsletter platforms meter the bill: list size, add-ons or revenue
Newsletter tools charge for four different things, and the cheapest headline depends on which one you grow. Kit, Flodesk and beehiiv price by subscribers on a slider. Buttondown counts active subscribers and bills extra for each capability such as automations or analytics. Substack and Patreon charge nothing upfront and take a share of what readers pay.
Ghost prices by member count on its hosted tiers, while SendFox sells a one-off lifetime plan with a fixed pool of sends. A twelve-month plan should therefore be worked out at your expected list size and your expected paid conversion, not at the first month. A cheap plan at 500 subscribers can be the dearest plan at 20,000.
Price your plan at the list size you expect in twelve months.
List every add-on or tier you need for segmentation, analytics and automations.
Ask which charges are per subscriber, per send and per paid reader.
Paid subscriptions: the platform fee that never appears on the pricing page
If you plan to charge readers, the cut taken from each payment matters more than the monthly plan. Substack states that writers keep 90% of revenue minus card fees, and Patreon takes 10% of income plus processing, currency and payout fees.
Ghost lists 0% transaction fees from Ghost itself on paid tiers, though payment processor fees still apply, and beehiiv lists a 0% take rate on its Lite tier. Buttondown sells paid subscriptions as a monthly add-on. The flat-fee tools look dearer in month one and cheaper once paying readers pass a few hundred. Work out revenue at your target price and see which platform keeps the larger share.
Model paid revenue at your price and subtract each platform share.
Check whether the payment processor is separate and which fees it adds.
Confirm which plan tier unlocks paid subscriptions at all.
Who owns the list: exports, domains and leaving a hosted newsletter
A newsletter is only as portable as its subscriber file. Ghost publishes its code under the MIT licence and lists member export on its plans, so a site can move between its hosted service and your own server. Buttondown says your data is yours and can be exported at any time.
Substack says creators own their subscriber list, though the reader network stays behind when you go. Flodesk lists CSV data exports among its plan features. Test the exit before you commit: export a real list, check the file contains subscription dates and paid status, and confirm that your sending domain is your own so a move does not reset your reputation.
Run a real export on day one and open the file.
Check that the file keeps paid status and signup dates.
Use your own domain for sending and for the archive.
Free tiers: the list size where each one ends
Entry tiers stop at very different points, and the point where you outgrow one decides when the invoice starts. Buttondown is free for the first 100 subscribers, MailerLite for 250, and Mailchimp suggests its Free plan for businesses under 250 contacts. SendFox allows 1,000 contacts and Curated 1,500, beehiiv 2,500, and Kit carries up to 10,000.
The limits are not only list size: beehiiv Free allows one seat and 30 days of analytics, and MailerLite Free caps emails at 2,500 a month. A big free ceiling only helps if the features you need, such as automation or a custom domain, are included at that tier.
Compare the free ceiling with your list at month twelve.
Check seats, send caps and analytics history on the free tier.
Find out which features are missing there, such as domain or automations.
What goes wrong most often when buying newsletter platforms
Comparing monthly prices at an empty list instead of the list size you plan to reach within the year.
Choosing a platform that takes a revenue share, then discovering at several thousand paying readers that a flat fee would have been far cheaper.
Buying a marketing suite such as Mailchimp for a newsletter and paying for send caps, contact tiers and features that a newsletter never uses.
Never testing an export, then finding out at the moment of leaving that paid status or signup dates do not come out in the file.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What are the best newsletter platforms in 2026?
Buttondown leads our ranking of 12. A company that says it is profitable, self-funded and fully remote since 2017, which puts it first on independence. The meter counts active subscribers only, and the first 100 cost nothing.
Segmentation, analytics, paid subscriptions and automations are each a separate monthly add-on, so a newsletter that wants all four pays for each, and sending more than one email a day to the whole list needs a separate conversation.
Which newsletter platforms publish their pricing?
12 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Buttondown: Per active subscriber with priced add-ons, published; nothing for the first 100.
Ghost: Hosted tiers priced by member count, published; code is open source.
Kit: Free tier up to 10,000 subscribers; paid tiers priced by list size, published.
Curated: Free up to 1,500 subscribers, then tiers by list size, published.
MailerLite: Free plan for 250 subscribers; Comfort and Power priced by list size, published.
Beehiiv: Free tier to 2,500 subscribers; Lite and Pro priced by list size, published.
SendFox: Free tier for 1,000 contacts; one-time lifetime plan or monthly Pro, published.
Flodesk: Free tier; Lite, Pro and Everything priced by subscribers, published.
Substack: Share of paid subscription revenue, published.
Patreon: Percentage of creator income plus processing fees, published; free to start.
Paragraph: Free tier plus Launch and Team plans, published.
Mailchimp: Free plan for small lists; Essentials, Standard and Premium priced by contacts, published.
The other 0 quote per organisation.
Is there a free newsletter platform?
Kit, Curated, MailerLite, Beehiiv, SendFox, Flodesk, Paragraph, Mailchimp offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these newsletter platform vendors established?
In 4 countries across 4 regions: North America 9, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1.
Buttondown: United States.
Ghost: Singapore.
Kit: United States.
Curated: United States.
MailerLite: Lithuania.
Beehiiv: United States.
SendFox: United States.
Flodesk: Not stated by the vendor.
Substack: United States.
Patreon: United States.
Paragraph: United States.
Mailchimp: United States.
Which newsletter platforms are open source?
Ghost.
What should you use instead of Buttondown?
Ghost and Kit are the next two on this page. Ghost is for a publication with paid subscriptions; Kit is for a writer, creator or coach selling directly to a list.
Who should not buy Buttondown?
Teams wanting every feature included in one flat price. Each capability beyond the basic editor is a separate monthly add-on.
If your newsletter platforms product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.