Graphic design software spans template editors for marketers and vector tools for illustrators, and the advertised price rarely covers the seats, AI credits and storage a team ends up using.
This guide ranks twelve products on what the first ninety days cost, the real price per seat, how files leave, and whether you can run without a partner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What graphic design software does
Graphic design software creates and edits vector artwork, layouts, social graphics and brand assets, either in a browser from templates or in a desktop application with full drawing tools.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each graphic design tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Subscription per user, published; 7-day free trial
—
Professional illustrators and print designers who need full vector tooling and AI add-ons
Occasional designers or small teams avoiding recurring subscription cost
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Penpot is developed by Kaleidos, a company in Madrid that describes itself as having moved from consulting to making this product. The source is licensed under MPL-2.0, and the repository describes it as designed for self-hosting.
The Professional plan costs nothing per user, and paid plans add storage and history. The first ninety days are mostly spent moving Figma habits, since the interface follows CSS ideas such as flex and grid layouts.
What stands out
Open source
Self-host option
Design and code
Where it costs you
The editor is built for interface design, so print layout and illustration depth lag dedicated vector tools.
Self-hosting moves upgrades, backups and security onto your own staff.
Right for
Product teams and agencies that want design files they can host and keep
Wrong for
Print studios needing CMYK separations and advanced illustration tooling
SpainFree Professional plan; paid tiers and Private Server published; self-host option
Desktop vector editor under the GPL with SVG as its native format
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Graphic Design Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Inkscape is a vector editor published as a free download under the GPL, version 2 or later, with SVG as its main file format. It imports EPS, PostScript, JPEG, PNG, BMP and TIFF, and version 1.4 added import of Affinity Designer files.
There is nothing to buy and no vendor that can end a plan. What you pay with is learning time and the absence of cloud sharing, since files are passed around by hand.
What stands out
Open source
Vector
Desktop
Where it costs you
It has no template library or brand kit, so every layout starts from a blank page.
The 1.4 release notes only mention limited CMYK colour palette support, which matters for print.
Right for
Illustrators and technical drawers who need SVG output without any licence cost
Wrong for
Marketing teams needing templates, collaboration and stock assets in one place
Not stated by the vendorFree download; open source under the GPL
Mac-native interface design tool sold per editor or as a one-off licence
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Graphic Design Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Sketch B.V. of Eindhoven sells a Standard tier per editor, billed yearly, with unlimited free viewers, version history and developer hand-off included. A Professional tier adds single sign-on and permission groups, and Enterprise adds SCIM and key management.
Alternatively a Mac-only licence keeps documents on your own disk, which is the cleanest exit in this list. The page states there is no plan to offer an entirely free plan, so budget from day one.
What stands out
Mac native
Per editor
Free viewers
Where it costs you
The editing app runs on macOS only, so Windows designers can only view and comment in a browser.
The Mac-only licence excludes sharing and collaboration, and covers one year of updates.
Right for
Mac-based interface designers who want a one-off licence or a per-editor subscription
Wrong for
Mixed Windows and Mac teams who all edit the files
NetherlandsPer editor subscription, published; one-off Mac licence; trial offered
Berlin template editor for logos, posters and print-on-demand merchandise
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Graphic Design Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Kittl is operated by Kittl Technologies GmbH in Berlin, under German law. The product leans on typography, vector tools, a logo maker, mockups and an AI generator, with team workspaces on the higher plans.
Commercial use needs a paid tier, and the Pro and Expert licence covers up to 500,000 copies, a limit that matters for merchandise sellers. Tokens reset each billing cycle, so heavy generation needs the larger tiers.
What stands out
Logos and merch
Typography
AI tokens
Where it costs you
Free use is personal only, with no commercial rights, so a business must pay from the first project.
Monthly tokens do not roll over and top-ups are limited to the Expert and Max tiers.
Right for
Small brands and sellers designing logos, posters and print-on-demand products
Wrong for
Teams needing multi-page documents, presentations or long-form layout
GermanyFree plan for personal use; Pro, Expert and Max tiers billed monthly or yearly
Small Canadian editor for blog, ad and social images from templates
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Graphic Design Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Snappa belongs to Nosco Media Inc., headquartered in Canada, and states the terms are governed by Ontario law. The pricing page has three plans: a free account, Pro for one user and Team for five users, with larger teams asked to make contact.
The photo and graphic libraries are royalty-free according to the FAQ, and the editor runs in the browser with nothing to install. Its narrow scope keeps the learning curve short.
What stands out
Social graphics
Templates
Simple pricing
Where it costs you
The free plan allows only three downloads a month, so it works as a trial rather than a working tier.
It makes single images, with no multi-page documents, video or vector illustration.
Right for
Bloggers and small marketing teams making a few social and ad images weekly
Wrong for
Agencies needing brand governance, large teams or illustration tools
CanadaFree plan with 3 downloads a month; Pro and Team tiers published
Vector, photo and layout in one app, free for individuals
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Graphic Design Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Affinity combines vector, pixel and layout work inside one .af file, and the vendor page says it is free for individuals on Mac and Windows. It imports PSD, AI, IDML and DWG files with layers kept.
The privacy policy names Serif (Europe) Limited of Nottingham as a Canva company, and Canva as the controller for version 3 and later. Organisations needing single sign-on are sent to Canva Enterprise or Education.
What stands out
Vector and layout
Desktop app
Canva company
Where it costs you
AI tools require a Canva premium plan, so the free offer is not the whole product.
The iPad version is listed as coming soon, so tablet users cannot rely on it yet.
Right for
Freelancers who want desktop vector, photo and layout tools without paying
Wrong for
Companies needing a vendor with no tie to Canva
United KingdomFree for individuals; organisations go through Canva sales
Shared design canvas priced per seat type, with vector drawing
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Graphic Design Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Figma, Inc. publishes list prices in US dollars for three paid tiers, each with Full, Dev and Collab seats, plus an Enterprise tier. The Starter plan is free with unlimited drafts and daily AI credits.
Figma Draw is sold for vector illustration, and paid plans let anyone view and comment without a seat. The first ninety days go into setting up design libraries, and the Organization tier is where centralised admin tools begin.
What stands out
Seat types
Collaboration
AI credits
Where it costs you
Cost depends on the seat mix, with Full seats priced several times higher than Collab seats.
AI usage is metered in credits per plan, so heavy use can need an add-on purchase.
Right for
Product and brand teams designing together who can budget per seat type
Wrong for
Solo print designers who only need static vector drawing tools
Template editor with a one-price Pro plan covering up to ten seats
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Graphic Design Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
VistaCreate lists a free Starter plan for one seat and a Pro plan for up to ten seats, with a 14-day trial. The comparison shows 100K templates on Starter against 200K or more on Pro, and the resizer, social scheduling and AI tools such as background removal sit with Pro.
Pricing is simple, but the footer credits Crello Ltd and gives no jurisdiction, so ask for the contracting entity.
What stands out
Ten seats
Templates
Social scheduling
Where it costs you
Annual Pro billing is charged upfront for the year after the 14-day trial.
The site names Crello Ltd but no country, which complicates a data-location check.
Right for
Small teams producing social and marketing graphics who want one price for ten seats
Wrong for
Buyers who must confirm the vendor's country before signing a contract
Not stated by the vendorFree Starter plan; Pro per month or year, published; 14-day trial
Presentation and infographic editor priced per person with tiers for teams
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Graphic Design Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Visme publishes four tiers: Basic at zero, Starter and Business priced per person with a yearly discount, and a custom Enterprise tier from ten users. Basic allows unlimited projects but a limited template and asset library and downloads as JPG, PNG and PDF.
Business adds PPTX, HTML5, video and GIF downloads, a brand kit and analytics. The company says it is headquartered in Rockville, Maryland, and the legal entity is Easy WebContent, LLC.
What stands out
Infographics
Per person
Brand kit
Where it costs you
Editable PowerPoint download only starts on the Business plan
The free plan restricts templates and design assets
Slides are one product among many, so the editor is broader than a deck needs
Right for
Marketing teams making decks, infographics and reports in one tool
Wrong for
People who only need a plain slide editor
United StatesFree Basic plan; per-person paid tiers published; Enterprise from 10 users
Photo editor and design maker with AI generation sold on credit tiers
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Graphic Design Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Fotor, whose footer names Everimaging, offers a free Basic plan and three annual tiers called Pro, Pro+ and Max. Storage rises from 512MB to 500GB across the tiers, and the project folder limit grows from 100 to 500.
The table also meters AI chats and concurrent generations, which is where a heavy user hits the ceiling. No country is stated on the pages we checked.
What stands out
Photo editing
AI credits
Cloud storage
Where it costs you
The static pricing page shows no amounts, so the real price is visible only after the page renders.
Free exports are normal quality, and HD and transparent PNG need a paid plan.
Right for
Photographers and small shops mixing photo retouching with simple graphic layouts
Wrong for
Teams wanting multi-seat plans, shared brand governance or vector tools
Not stated by the vendorFree Basic plan; Pro, Pro+ and Max tiers billed annually
Adobe template editor for social posts, video and flyers in the browser
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Graphic Design Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Adobe Express runs on the desktop browser and phone. Adobe lists a free plan, a monthly Premium plan with a 30-day trial, Firefly Pro with 4,000 credits, Teams from two seats, and Enterprise through sales.
One-click resize and brand kits sit in Premium. Linked assets need a Photoshop or Illustrator membership, so the real price grows as soon as designers outside Express join the workflow.
What stands out
Adobe account
Brand kits
Firefly credits
Where it costs you
The free plan limits generative AI credits and assets, and brand kits need Premium.
The AI assistant is a beta available only on Premium, on desktop and in English (US).
Right for
Marketing staff already working with Adobe accounts who need quick social graphics
Wrong for
Buyers wanting an independent vendor or published enterprise prices
United StatesFree plan; Premium and Firefly Pro billed monthly, published; Teams and Enterprise tiers
Adobe vector application sold by subscription, with an iPad edition
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Graphic Design Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Illustrator is sold by Adobe Inc. as a single-app subscription, billed annually by month, with a 7-day trial described in the FAQ. Features named on the page include Shape Builder, Repeat for Patterns, Global Edits, Concept to Vector and Generative Shape Fill.
An iPad version comes with the subscription. The larger Creative Cloud Pro bundle adds more apps and credits, but the price jump is large, so check what you actually open.
What stands out
Vector
Subscription
Generative AI
Where it costs you
Access ends when the subscription stops, and generative credits are capped each month.
The page shows the team licence at a higher monthly price than the individual one.
Right for
Professional illustrators and print designers who need full vector tooling and AI add-ons
Wrong for
Occasional designers or small teams avoiding recurring subscription cost
United StatesSubscription per user, published; 7-day free trial
Graphic design software creates and edits vector artwork, layouts, social graphics and brand assets, either in a browser from templates or in a desktop application with full drawing tools. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
12 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 0 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Penpot, Inkscape, Sketch, Kittl, Snappa, Affinity, Figma, VistaCreate, Visme, Fotor, Adobe Express, Adobe Illustrator.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 7 countries across 3 regions (North America 5, Europe 4, Elsewhere 3). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
2 of these are open source: Penpot, Inkscape. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Template editors against drawing tools, and why it matters at purchase
The first decision is which job you are buying for. Template editors such as Snappa, VistaCreate and Kittl turn out single social images, posters and logos quickly, but offer little for real illustration. Drawing tools such as Inkscape and Adobe Illustrator give full vector control and take weeks to learn.
Interface tools such as Penpot, Sketch and Figma sit in between and assume you are designing screens. Buying a drawing tool for a marketing team, or a template editor for an illustrator, accounts for most wasted first quarters in this market. Write down the five file types you produce each month and match each product's scope to that list before you open a pricing page.
List the file types you export monthly and check each product handles them natively
Ask who will produce the work: trained designers or marketing staff using templates
Time one real job in a trial before choosing, not a demo project
Seats, credits and licences: what the invoice becomes
Design software is priced in at least four different units, which makes headline comparison unreliable. Figma charges by seat type, with Full, Dev and Collab seats at different prices. Sketch charges per editor but includes free viewers. VistaCreate sells one price for up to ten seats.
Kittl and Fotor meter AI generation with tokens or credits that reset each cycle, and Adobe Illustrator is sold per user with monthly generative credits. Multiply the realistic number of editors, viewers and heavy AI users, then price each tool at that mix. The cheapest entry plan seldom survives contact with a team of eight, and annual billing locks the guess in for twelve months.
Count editors, viewers and occasional commenters separately before asking for prices
Find out whether AI credits roll over, and what a top-up costs
Check whether commercial use is allowed on the free plan
Exit: can you open the files without the vendor
Design files are the asset, so the exit question is whether they open elsewhere. Inkscape stores SVG, an open format, and can import Affinity Designer files. Penpot is released under MPL-2.0 and can be hosted on your own server. Sketch sells a Mac-only licence that keeps documents on your disk.
Cloud-only editors such as Snappa, Visme and Fotor keep designs inside the service, and Visme limits PowerPoint, HTML5 and video export to higher tiers. Before signing, export a finished project in every format you might need later and open it in another program. A tool that cannot hand over editable files after cancellation is a lock-in, whatever the price. Ask support in writing, because a sales call is not a contract term.
Export one finished project in every offered format and open it elsewhere
Check which export formats are held back for higher tiers
Ask what happens to stored files after a subscription ends
Independence from a platform owner
Several names in this market now belong to larger groups, and the effect shows in contracts and data handling. The Affinity privacy policy names Serif (Europe) Limited as a Canva company, with Canva as the controller for version 3 and later, and Adobe Express and Adobe Illustrator come from Adobe Inc. Independent vendors such as Kaleidos for Penpot, Sketch B.V.
and Kittl Technologies GmbH sell one product and rely on it for income, which usually makes plans simpler and exits cleaner. Neither fact guarantees quality, but both belong in a shortlist discussion, so ask who is the contracting entity and who processes your data, and note the answer in your purchase file for later audits.
Ask which legal entity signs the contract and which processes your data
Check whether AI features depend on a parent company's subscription
Look for a plan or licence that works without any other product
What goes wrong most often when buying graphic design software
Choosing a template editor because the demo looks good, then finding it cannot produce the vector files the printer asked for.
Pricing a team at one seat and discovering that Figma, Sketch and Visme all charge per editor or per person.
Treating a free plan as a working tier when Snappa allows three downloads a month and Kittl restricts free use to personal projects.
Skipping an export test, then learning after cancellation that editable files do not leave the cloud service.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best graphic design software in 2026?
Penpot leads our ranking of 12. Built by Kaleidos of Madrid, which moved from consulting to making this one product, and released under the Mozilla Public Licence 2.0. The Professional plan carries no per-user charge, and you can install Penpot on your own servers.
The drawing tools aim at interface design and developer hand-off rather than print or illustration, so a print studio will miss them. Self-hosting also means you carry upgrades and backups.
Which graphic design tools publish their pricing?
12 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Penpot: Free Professional plan; paid tiers and Private Server published; self-host option.
Inkscape: Free download; open source under the GPL.
Sketch: Per editor subscription, published; one-off Mac licence; trial offered.
Kittl: Free plan for personal use; Pro, Expert and Max tiers billed monthly or yearly.
Snappa: Free plan with 3 downloads a month; Pro and Team tiers published.
Affinity: Free for individuals; organisations go through Canva sales.
Fotor: Free Basic plan; Pro, Pro+ and Max tiers billed annually.
Adobe Express: Free plan; Premium and Firefly Pro billed monthly, published; Teams and Enterprise tiers.
Adobe Illustrator: Subscription per user, published; 7-day free trial.
The other 0 quote per organisation.
Is there a free graphic design tool?
Penpot, Inkscape, Kittl, Snappa, Affinity, Figma, VistaCreate, Visme, Fotor, Adobe Express offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these graphic design software vendors established?
In 7 countries across 3 regions: North America 5, Europe 4, Elsewhere 3.
Penpot: Spain.
Inkscape: Not stated by the vendor.
Sketch: Netherlands.
Kittl: Germany.
Snappa: Canada.
Affinity: United Kingdom.
Figma: United States.
VistaCreate: Not stated by the vendor.
Visme: United States.
Fotor: Not stated by the vendor.
Adobe Express: United States.
Adobe Illustrator: United States.
Which graphic design tools are open source?
Penpot, Inkscape.
Which graphic design tools can you host yourself?
Penpot. The other 11 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Penpot?
Inkscape and Sketch are the next two on this page. Inkscape is for Illustrators and technical drawers who need SVG output without any licence cost; Sketch is for Mac-based interface designers who want a one-off licence or a per-editor subscription.
Who should not buy Penpot?
Print studios needing CMYK separations and advanced illustration tooling. The editor is built for interface design, so print layout and illustration depth lag dedicated vector tools..
If your graphic design software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.