People look for a Figma alternative when the seat model stops fitting: a Starter plan capped at one team folder and 3 files, a per-seat price that rises from Professional to Organization to Enterprise, or a browser-first tool that cannot work fully offline. The usual moves are to Penpot, Sketch or Affinity for interface and vector work, or to template tools for marketing graphics.
Short answer: The first three alternatives to Figma in our graphic design software ranking are Penpot, Sketch and Affinity. Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Choose Penpot if you want a Figma-style collaborative editor you can host yourself or inspect in source form. All 11 alternatives below are ranked products from Best Graphic Design Software in 2026, and each says where it differs from Figma.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this site; it never changes what we say
about a product. How that works.
Built for: Product and brand teams designing together who can budget per seat type
Not for: Solo print designers who only need static vector drawing tools
01
Why buyers look past Figma
01
The free plan is small
Figma's plan comparison gives Starter a single team with one folder and 3 files, and 30 days of version history. Professional lifts that to unlimited files and projects. A freelancer or small studio with more than three live projects reaches the paid tier quickly, and viewers can comment without a seat, but anyone who edits needs one.
02
Seats are split and the price climbs by plan
The pricing page sells Full, Dev and Collab seats. Full costs $16 a month on Professional, $55 on Organization and $90 on Enterprise (the last two billed annually). A team that needs the Organization or Enterprise features, such as shared fonts or SCIM seat management, pays several times the Professional rate per editor.
03
Browser first, no full offline mode
Figma's help centre says the product is cloud based and that it has no plans for a fully featured offline mode. If you work on trains, on a locked-down network or want files stored locally on your own machine, that is a limit. Sketch (Mac app, local documents) and Affinity or Inkscape (desktop apps) work differently.
Free Basic plan; Pro, Pro+ and Max tiers billed annually
Photo editor and design maker with AI generation sold on credit tiers
your design work is photo retouching and AI image generation rather than layout systems
#10
03
What each one does differently
1
Penpot
Spain · Free Professional plan; paid tiers and Private Server published; self-host option
Open source under MPL-2.0 and published by Kaleidos in Madrid. The Professional plan is listed at $0 per user, with an Unlimited tier at $7 per editor capped at $175 a month, and you can host it yourself. Free Professional is limited to 8 team members, 10GB storage and 7 days of versions. It is a design and prototyping tool, not a template library.
Switch from Figma if you want a Figma-style collaborative editor you can host yourself or inspect in source form.
Netherlands · Per editor subscription, published; one-off Mac licence; trial offered
Dutch company with Standard at $12, Professional at $24 and Enterprise at $44 per editor per month billed yearly, unlimited free viewers and a 30-day trial. It also sells a Mac-only licence at $120 with one year of updates and no collaboration. The native app runs on Mac only, plus a web app and a view-only iPhone and iPad app.
Switch from Figma if your team is on Macs and you want lower per-editor prices or a keep-forever local licence.
United Kingdom · Free for individuals; organisations go through Canva sales
Desktop vector, pixel and layout app from Serif, now a Canva company, free for individuals on Mac and Windows. It imports PSD, AI, IDML and DWG files. It is a print and illustration tool, not a shared interface design workspace, and its AI tools need a Canva premium plan.
Switch from Figma if your work is illustration, photo and print layout and you want a free desktop app.
Not stated by the vendor · Free download; open source under the GPL
Free and open source vector editor under the GNU General Public License (version 2 or later) with SVG as its main format. It has no company behind a price list and no real-time shared canvas, since the project describes a desktop editor. Version 1.4 can import Affinity Designer files.
Switch from Figma if you need a free vector editor for logos, icons and diagrams and do not need live collaboration.
Germany · Free plan for personal use; Pro, Expert and Max tiers billed monthly or yearly
Berlin-based tool for logos, typography, mockups and print products, with a free plan for personal use only. Pro and Expert include a commercial licence up to 500,000 copies. Usage of AI features runs on monthly tokens that reset and do not roll over. It is not an interface design or prototyping tool.
Switch from Figma if you design logos, merchandise and typographic work rather than app screens.
United States · Subscription per user, published; 7-day free trial
Vector software from Adobe at $22.99 a month on an annual plan billed monthly, with a seven-day free trial and an iPad app. It lists Shape Builder, Repeat for Patterns and generative tools such as Concept to Vector. No permanent free plan, and it is subscription only.
Switch from Figma if your core output is print, brand and illustration vector work that others in your supply chain expect as Illustrator files.
United States · Free Basic plan; per-person paid tiers published; Enterprise from 10 users
Presentation and infographic maker from Easy WebContent in Maryland. Basic is free with 50 slides per project and 500MB, Starter is $12.25 a month per person on annual billing and Business $24.75. PPTX, HTML5 and video export start on Business. It builds documents and visuals, not product interfaces.
Switch from Figma if your Figma use was mostly slide decks, reports and infographics for non-designers.
United States · Free plan; Premium and Firefly Pro billed monthly, published; Teams and Enterprise tiers
Template-based editor with a free plan, Premium at $9.99 a month with a 30-day trial, and Teams with a two-seat minimum. Adobe's pricing page is region specific and shows other currencies elsewhere. Aimed at social posts and quick marketing assets, so it lacks the component and prototyping depth of Figma Design.
Switch from Figma if you need quick on-brand social and marketing graphics and already pay Adobe.
Not stated by the vendor · Free Starter plan; Pro per month or year, published; 14-day trial
Browser template tool with a free Starter plan for one seat and a Pro plan at 10 EUR a month for up to 10 seats, with a 14-day trial. Pro adds the one-click resizer, social scheduling and AI background removal. The vendor site does not state a country. It is a marketing design tool, not a product design tool.
Switch from Figma if you make social and ad graphics for a small team and want a cheap flat team price.
Canada · Free plan with 3 downloads a month; Pro and Team tiers published
Canadian tool from Nosco Media with a free plan limited to 3 downloads a month. Pro is $15 monthly or $10 billed yearly for one user, Team is $30 or $20 for 5 users. Pro and Team add background removal and custom font uploads. It does not offer component libraries or developer handoff.
Switch from Figma if you only make blog and social images and want a flat price for five people.
Not stated by the vendor · Free Basic plan; Pro, Pro+ and Max tiers billed annually
Photo editing and design tool with a free Basic plan and Pro, Pro+ and Max tiers billed annually. The pricing table lists 512MB of cloud storage on Basic against 100GB and 500GB on the higher tiers, and HD export and transparent PNG on paid plans. The vendor site states no country. It centres on photo edits and AI images.
Switch from Figma if your design work is photo retouching and AI image generation rather than layout systems.
Figma stays the right choice for a product team that designs interfaces together in real time and hands specifications to developers. Its paid plans include Dev seats, team libraries, variables and prototyping in the same file, and viewers can comment without a licence. The cost is browser dependence and a seat bill that grows with the plan tier, so check both against the size of your team before moving.
05
What moving off Figma involves
01
Count editors, dev seats and viewers
Figma separates Full, Dev and Collab seats, and viewers can comment for free. Penpot counts editors and members, Sketch counts editors with free viewers. List who edits, who only inspects and who only comments, then price each tool on that split instead of on headcount.
02
Check what carries over
Libraries, variables, auto layout and prototypes are features each tool builds its own way, so expect to rebuild shared components rather than import them. Affinity and Inkscape import other vector formats, but that is vector artwork, not Figma design systems. Pilot one project first.
03
Match licence terms to the work
Kittl's free plan is personal only and its commercial licence covers up to 500,000 copies. Check the licence of any template or asset source before client work. For self-hosting Penpot, plan who runs updates and storage yourself.
06
Questions about replacing Figma
6 answers
What does Figma cost?
The pricing page lists Starter as free. Professional seats cost $16 for Full, $12 for Dev and $3 for Collab per month. Organization Full is $55 and Enterprise Full is $90 per month, billed annually. Prices are in USD.
Is there a free alternative to Figma?
Penpot lists a Professional plan at $0 per user and is open source. Inkscape is free and open source, Affinity is free for individuals, and Fotor, Snappa, Kittl, Visme and VistaCreate have free tiers with limits.
Can I self-host a Figma alternative?
Penpot's pricing page has a Self-host tab and a Private Server plan, and the GitHub repository carries the MPL-2.0 licence. Sketch lists a Private Cloud plan with a choice of hosting location, quoted on request.
Does Figma work offline?
Figma's help centre says it is cloud based and has no plans for a fully featured offline mode. Sketch's Mac-only licence works offline with local documents.
Where is Figma based?
Figma's terms are with Figma, Inc., governed by California law, with disputes in San Francisco courts.
Which alternative suits marketing graphics?
Kittl, VistaCreate, Snappa, Adobe Express and Visme are built around templates for social posts, ads and documents rather than interface design.
—
Sources
Checked 19 October 2026
Figma pricing: Starter free, seat prices per plan, AI credits, viewers comment without seats.
Founder of The Knowledge Engineers and of 2 Steps Ahead, an AI search visibility agency. Editorially responsible for every page on this site; research and drafting are AI-assisted.
Written, edited and fact-checked by Sebastiaan Smits. Last reviewed
19 October 2026. How we review.