People look for a Canva alternative when per-person annual plans multiply across a team, when AI use is metered, or when they need vector control, a design system or a contract outside California law. They move to another template editor, to interface design tools, or to desktop vector software.
Short answer: The first three alternatives to Canva in our graphic design software ranking are VistaCreate, Adobe Express and Visme. Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Choose VistaCreate if you want template-based social graphics for a small team on one shared plan. All 12 alternatives below are ranked products from Best Graphic Design Software in 2026, and each says where it differs from Canva.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this site; it never changes what we say
about a product. How that works.
Pricing: Free plan; Pro and Business per person per year, published; Enterprise quoted
Established in: Australia
Built for: Non-designers and marketing teams producing social, print and web graphics from ready templates
Not for: Illustrators needing precise vector control or a contract outside California law
01
Why buyers look past Canva
01
Every extra person is another plan
Canva lists Pro at EUR 110 a year for one person and Business at EUR 170 a year per person, in euros on its Dutch pricing page at the time of checking. A team of ten on Business is therefore EUR 1,700 a year before any AI add-on, while VistaCreate Pro lists ten seats in one plan.
02
AI use is counted by plan
The Free plan allows up to 20 AI uses and Pro gives 10 times more, with an AI Pass add-on sold on top. Heavy users of image generation meet a ceiling that is measured in uses, not in design hours, and the next step is a higher tier or an extra purchase.
03
Contract terms sit with Canva
The Terms of Use set California law and binding arbitration. Paid plans renew automatically and cancellation takes effect at the end of the billing cycle without refund of fees already paid. Access to designs ends with the subscription unless you export them first.
Free for individuals; organisations go through Canva sales
Vector, photo and layout in one app, free for individuals
you want a free desktop design app and accept a Canva account as the entry point
#6
03
What each one does differently
1
VistaCreate
Not stated by the vendor · Free Starter plan; Pro per month or year, published; 14-day trial
The closest match in shape: a browser template editor with a Starter plan at EUR 0 and one seat, and a Pro plan listed at EUR 10 a month for up to 10 seats. Pro includes unlimited brand kits and 14-day trial. Its Starter plan has 1 brand kit and 10 GB storage, and it has no desktop vector app.
Switch from Canva if you want template-based social graphics for a small team on one shared plan.
United States · Free plan; Premium and Firefly Pro billed monthly, published; Teams and Enterprise tiers
A template editor from Adobe with a free plan (5 GB storage, limited generative AI), Premium at EUR 12.29 a month billed monthly with 250 generative credits, and Teams at EUR 6.72 per licence a month excluding VAT with a 2-seat minimum on an annual term. Photoshop on the web sits in the dearer Firefly Pro plan.
Switch from Canva if your team already pays for Adobe and wants templates next to Creative Cloud files.
United States · Free Basic plan; per-person paid tiers published; Enterprise from 10 users
Aimed at presentations, infographics and reports as well as social graphics. Starter is USD 147 a year per person and Business USD 297, against Canva's EUR 110 and EUR 170. The free Basic plan holds 500 MB and 10 AI credits a month. Enterprise starts at 10 users.
Switch from Canva if your main output is branded decks, reports and infographics with exports to PPTX.
Canada · Free plan with 3 downloads a month; Pro and Team tiers published
A narrow social-graphics editor. Free allows 3 downloads a month; Pro is USD 10 a month billed yearly (USD 15 monthly) for one user, and Team is USD 20 yearly for 5 users. Custom fonts and background removal need Pro. It is built for single images and has far fewer features than Canva.
Switch from Canva if you make a handful of blog and social images a month and want a flat low price.
Germany · Free plan for personal use; Pro, Expert and Max tiers billed monthly or yearly
Leans to typography, logos, print and merchandise graphics. It has a Free plan for personal use only, then Pro, Expert and Max billed monthly or yearly, with commercial licences up to 500,000 copies on Pro and Expert. Prices did not load in our check. Daily AI tokens apply on Expert and Max.
Switch from Canva if you design logos, posters or print-on-demand products and need a commercial licence.
Not stated by the vendor · Free Basic plan; Pro, Pro+ and Max tiers billed annually
A photo editor and AI image generator more than a layout tool. The free Basic plan has 512 MB storage and normal-quality exports; Pro, Pro+ and Max are billed annually and the page showed no amounts. Cloud storage runs from 2 GB on Pro to 500 GB on Max.
Switch from Canva if photo retouching and AI image generation matter more to you than document layout.
United States · Free Starter plan; per-seat paid tiers published; Enterprise billed annually
A tool for interface and product design that also covers slides and whiteboards. Professional is USD 16 a month for a full seat, Organization USD 55 on annual terms. The Starter plan gives 150 AI credits a day. Seats come in full, dev and collaborator types, and it has no print templates library like Canva's.
Switch from Canva if your designers build interfaces and design systems rather than marketing templates.
Spain · Free Professional plan; paid tiers and Private Server published; self-host option
Open source design and prototyping under the MPL-2.0 licence, with a free Professional plan, an Unlimited plan at USD 7 per editor a month capped at USD 175, and a self-host option. It targets product teams and is not a marketing-template library, so social graphics start from a blank canvas.
Switch from Canva if you want open source design files you can host yourself, and your work is interfaces.
Netherlands · Per editor subscription, published; one-off Mac licence; trial offered
Mac-first interface design. Standard is USD 12 per editor a month on yearly billing, Professional USD 24, and a Mac-only licence costs USD 120 per seat with one year of updates. The licence has no collaboration or web access. A 30-day trial needs no card.
Switch from Canva if your designers work on Macs and want a one-off licence for offline interface work.
United States · Subscription per user, published; 7-day free trial
Professional vector drawing, not a template editor. Illustrator costs USD 22.99 a month on an annual plan, USD 37.99 per licence for teams, with a 7-day trial. It includes Adobe Express Premium. Learning it takes far longer than Canva, and non-designers will not finish layouts as quickly.
Switch from Canva if you need precise vector artwork, logos and print files made by trained designers.
Not stated by the vendor · Free download; open source under the GPL
Free and open source vector editor under the GNU GPL (version 2 or later), working in SVG. It has no cost per seat and no cloud accounts, but also no template library, no stock content and no shared brand kit. Everything stays on your machine.
Switch from Canva if you need free vector illustration and have no use for templates or team features.
United Kingdom · Free for individuals; organisations go through Canva sales
Free for individuals and covers vector, pixel and layout in one app, but you sign in with a Canva account to download it, and it exports to Canva. It is a desktop tool with no template library, so it complements Canva more than it replaces it.
Switch from Canva if you want a free desktop design app and accept a Canva account as the entry point.
Canva remains the right choice when many non-designers need on-brand output quickly. Its Pro plan adds premium templates, 5 brand kits and a content planner, Business adds team management and approvals, and Enterprise adds SSO and SCIM on quote. If your people already know the editor and templates, retraining on a narrower tool costs more than the subscription difference.
05
What moving off Canva involves
01
Export designs before the subscription ends
The Terms say you lose access to designs and content after termination unless you export them with the service's functions first. Download PDFs, PNGs and, where you need to edit, check what each new editor can import. Templates built in Canva do not move as live templates.
02
Rebuild the brand kit on the other side
Free Canva holds one brand kit with three colours. Write down your hex codes, fonts and logo files in one place, then set up the same kit in the new tool. Some tools limit brand kits on their free plan, VistaCreate Starter included, with one.
03
Check seats and renewal dates
Canva paid plans renew automatically, and removed seats already paid are not refunded. Cancel on a date that lets the last billing cycle cover your migration, and count the seats of the new vendor before you sign: Snappa Team covers five users, VistaCreate Pro up to ten.
06
Questions about replacing Canva
6 answers
What is the best free alternative to Canva?
VistaCreate Starter and Snappa Free are template editors without cost, with 1 seat and 3 downloads a month respectively.
Penpot Professional is free for interface design, and Inkscape is free vector software. Affinity is free for individuals but needs a Canva account. Limits differ, so test with a real project.
Is there an open source alternative to Canva?
Penpot is open source under MPL-2.0 and can be self-hosted, and Inkscape is open source under the GPL. Neither ships Canva's template library. They suit teams that want control over files, not marketing teams that need ready-made layouts.
Which Canva alternative is cheapest for a team?
VistaCreate Pro lists EUR 10 a month for up to 10 seats and Snappa Team lists USD 20 a month yearly for 5 users.
Canva Business is EUR 170 a year per person. Check the seat caps and whether the cheap plan includes the features you use.
Is there a European alternative to Canva?
Kittl says it was born in Berlin with offices in Berlin and Düsseldorf. VistaCreate states a head office in Limassol, Cyprus and a development office in Kyiv.
Penpot's site carries a copyright notice of Kaleidos Subsidiary SL. Canva itself bills most countries through Canva Pty Ltd in Australia.
What replaces Canva for professional design work?
Adobe Illustrator for vector artwork and Figma or Sketch for interface work. Each needs a trained designer. They do not offer Canva's template library, so a marketing team without a designer will be slower on them.
Can I take my Canva designs with me?
Only as exports. The Terms say access ends after the subscription unless you export first. Plan to download files in the formats you need before cancelling.
—
Sources
Checked 20 October 2026
Canva pricing: Free, Pro, Business and Enterprise prices, AI limits, brand kits, storage.
Canva Terms of Use: California law, arbitration, auto-renewal, no refund, export before termination, contracting entities.
VistaCreate plans: Starter and Pro prices, seats, brand kits, storage, 14-day trial.
VistaCreate about: Limassol head office, Kyiv development office, founded 2016.
Founder of The Knowledge Engineers and of 2 Steps Ahead, an AI search visibility agency. Editorially responsible for every page on this site; research and drafting are AI-assisted.
Written, edited and fact-checked by Sebastiaan Smits. Last reviewed
20 October 2026. How we review.