AI video generators turn a script, a prompt or an image into finished footage.
This guide ranks them for buyers who pay by the month: what a credit really buys, what the plan forbids, how the output leaves the tool, and whether the supplier stands alone or resells other companies' models.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What AI video generators software does
Software that produces video from text, images or documents, using synthetic presenters, generative models or stock footage, billed by minutes or credits and exported as files or links.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each AI video generators tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Social teams that edit, caption and lightly generate video in one browser tool
Buyers needing a stated jurisdiction or published plan figures
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Avatar presenter videos for training, sold in monthly credit tiers
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best AI Video Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Credits are shared across video, dubbing and surveys, so the free allowance of 500 credits covers ten minutes of video or dubbing and is then gone. Starter adds downloads and removes the logo; Pro adds five personal avatars and interactive videos.
The control that training departments usually need, SCORM export and single sign-on, is held back for Enterprise, so budget for a sales conversation if the course must live in an LMS.
What stands out
Avatar presenters
Free plan
Credit tiers
Where it costs you
Free-plan videos carry a Synthesia watermark and downloads start on the paid Starter tier
SCORM export, SAML/SSO and unlimited video minutes sit only on the custom-priced Enterprise plan
Right for
Training and onboarding teams producing scripted presenter videos in many languages
Wrong for
Teams wanting invented cinematic scenes instead of a presenter
United KingdomFree plan; credit-based monthly tiers, published
Avatar video and course builder with SCORM export for trainers
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best AI Video Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The plan table separates minutes on two avatar engines, so read both numbers before comparing with a rival's single allowance. Professional lifts SCORM exports to five a month and allows three editors; only Enterprise removes the limits, adds 4K, SSO and data residency in the EU or US.
Colossyan Inc. is named in the terms with a Delaware address, so confirm contracting entity and hosting region during procurement.
What stands out
Training video
SCORM export
Free plan
Where it costs you
Minutes on the newer NEO2 engine are small on lower tiers: half a minute a month on Starter, ten on Professional
The terms limit even Unlimited plans to four hours of video generation per day
Right for
Learning and development teams turning slides and PDFs into SCORM-ready courses
Wrong for
Marketers wanting cinematic clips rather than presenter videos
United StatesFree Starter plan; one published paid tier, enterprise on request
Turns scripts and long recordings into stock-footage videos, priced per month
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best AI Video Generators in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Pricing counts video minutes, not credits alone: Starter allows 200 minutes a month and Professional 600, with a separate AI credit pool for generated images, video and avatars.
That second pool is where the limits bite, at roughly one minute of generated video on Starter and five on Professional. Team needs at least three users and adds a shared workspace; interactive hosting, quizzes and SCORM are Enterprise features.
What stands out
Script to video
Stock footage
Free trial
Where it costs you
Entry tier includes about one minute of generative video per month on its 100 AI credits
Custom avatars, voice cloning and the Team workspace sit on higher tiers
Right for
Marketers repurposing blog posts and webinars into captioned stock-footage videos
Wrong for
Anyone whose videos must be made of generated scenes
United StatesPublished monthly or annual tiers; free trial on each plan
Avatar videos from text or slides, sold by minutes per month
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best AI Video Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The pricing page prints a per-minute figure for Creator and Team, which is unusual in this market and makes the real price easy to compute. Team lifts the allowance to fifty minutes, adds three editors and three guests, 4K, premium voices and one selfie avatar with a voice clone.
Anything beyond that, such as SSO, brand kits or workspaces, requires an Enterprise contact. Elai Inc. gives a Pittsburgh address in its footer.
What stands out
Avatar videos
Free plan
Minutes per month
Where it costs you
Free plan is limited to one video minute
Creator is capped at fifteen minutes a month in Full HD; 4K starts on Team
Right for
Small teams that want a published cost per finished video minute
Wrong for
Producers needing many hours of video each month
United StatesFree plan with one minute; published minute-based tiers
Generative video studio that also resells other labs' models
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best AI Video Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The credit table is the real price list. Gen-4.5 costs 60 credits per five seconds, Aleph 2.0 costs 140 and Seedance 2.0 Pro 1080p costs 160 per four seconds, so the same plan buys very different amounts depending on the model.
Only Max rolls credits over, and only for one month. Runway AI, Inc. controls the services under its terms and lists offices in New York and several other cities.
What stands out
Generative video
Credit tiers
Multi-model
Where it costs you
Standard yields about 52 seconds of Gen-4.5 video per month
Free credits are a one-time grant, not a monthly allowance
Right for
Creators and studios who iterate on short generative clips with several models
Wrong for
Anyone producing long scripted explainers with a presenter
United StatesFree plan with one-time credits; published credit tiers
Avatar and translation videos with a free tier and per-seat business plan
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best AI Video Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The ladder is clear: Free gives three videos of up to a minute, Creator allows videos up to thirty minutes in 1080p, Pro unlocks 4K, and Business raises the cap to sixty minutes and adds SSO, SCORM and LMS integrations.
Credits still limit generation, and Business seats beyond the first cost extra each month. HeyGen Technology, Inc. states a Los Angeles address, and the commercial-use restriction is stated in its terms.
What stands out
Avatar videos
Free plan
Per-seat teams
Where it costs you
Free-plan output may not be used commercially under the terms
Extra Business seats cost a published per-seat monthly fee
Right for
Marketers and sales teams localising spokesperson videos into many languages
Wrong for
Teams that need to publish free-plan output commercially
United StatesFree plan; published credit tiers; per-seat team add-on
Short generative clips from several models, with a commercial licence higher up
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best AI Video Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Free means packs only, with zero monthly credits. Starter gives 900 credits and two parallel video generations, Creator 3,150 credits with eight in parallel, and Fancy 8,550 credits with unlimited parallelism.
The commercial licence, which matters for any ad or client work, starts at Creator. The model list includes outside models such as Seedance and Wan, so output quality and credit costs vary with the model chosen. Mellis, Inc. is named as the operator.
What stands out
Generative video
Multi-model
Credit tiers
Where it costs you
No commercial licence below the Creator tier
Priority queue and early model access only on Fancy
Right for
Social creators generating short clips from prompts across a model menu
Animated and avatar business videos, priced per user per month
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best AI Video Generators in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Starter shows 10,000 credits per user per month and Professional 20,000, with the Professional tier adding team collaboration, Shutterstock assets and translation into ninety-five languages.
Prices are published, and the annual rate is far below the monthly one, so a trial month is expensive. Contracts run through GoAnimate, Inc., a Delaware corporation, with a San Mateo address in the privacy policy.
What stands out
Animated video
Per-user pricing
Free trial
Where it costs you
Agency and the top tiers are not available monthly
Credits are capped per user each month, at 10,000 on Starter
Right for
Corporate communicators who want branded animated explainers rather than live-action look
Wrong for
Individuals wanting cheap monthly access or cinematic realism
Text to video with a voice library, sold as minute credits
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best AI Video Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The comparison table limits export length to five minutes on Free, fifteen on Standard and forty on Premium, and Standard runs at 1080p against 720p on Free.
Credits are deducted by audio duration, and editing a script reprocesses and recharges it. Voice cloning and custom voices appear from Standard. Terms name Nine Thirty Five LLC as the company but give no country.
What stands out
Text to video
Voice library
Free plan
Where it costs you
Export length is capped at 5 minutes on Free and 15 on Standard
Voice cloning and custom voices are absent from the Free tier
Right for
Solo creators turning scripts into voiced videos with stock media
Wrong for
Teams needing named support or a stated jurisdiction
Not stated by the vendorFree plan; paid tiers by monthly credits
Talking avatars via studio, API or a self-hosted deployment
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best AI Video Generators in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Minutes are rounded up to the next fifteen seconds, so a one minute ten second clip costs one minute fifteen. The self-hosted page promises that data stays in the buyer's network and sells an annual licence plus per-streaming-minute scale pricing, with pricing by quote.
Two entities, De-Identification Ltd. and De-Identification Inc., are named in the privacy policy, and neither is tied to a country there.
What stands out
Avatars
API
Self-hosted option
Where it costs you
Minutes renew monthly and unused minutes expire
Trial and Lite plan videos carry a D-ID watermark
Right for
Teams embedding conversational avatars who need them inside their own infrastructure
Wrong for
Buyers who want a clear published price grid
Not stated by the vendorMonthly minute plans after a trial; self-hosted annual licence
Generative video with its own Ray models and others' inside
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best AI Video Generators in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Plus gives 10,000 credits, Pro 40,000 and Ultra 150,000, with commercial use listed. The cost table shows how thin the credits go: Ray3.2 1080p is 400 credits per five seconds, Veo 3.1 is 140 or 280 credits per second depending on mode, while Ray3.14 drafts are 4 credits per second.
The same page lists Kling, Seedance and Minimax models alongside Luma's own, so you pay for others' models through Luma.
What stands out
Generative video
Credit tiers
Multi-model
Where it costs you
Cost per second varies widely between models
Page lists no tier below Plus for individuals
Right for
Creative teams comparing several generative models under one credit balance
Wrong for
Presenter-style training videos or low-budget bulk output
United StatesPublished credit tiers from Plus upward; team plan on contact
Browser video editor with AI generation, avatars and subtitles
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best AI Video Generators in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The pricing page's own FAQ headings show where the cost sits: AI credits, how many credits a generation uses, limits on subtitles and translations, and how multiple users are charged.
The page lists a model-by-model credit table for images and audio. VEED was founded in March 2018 per its about page and its terms name Veed Limited, with no country given there.
What stands out
Video editor
Free plan
AI credits
Where it costs you
Subtitles and translations have plan limits
AI credits are metered separately from the subscription
Right for
Social teams that edit, caption and lightly generate video in one browser tool
Wrong for
Buyers needing a stated jurisdiction or published plan figures
Not stated by the vendorFree plan to start; paid plans with AI credits
Software that produces video from text, images or documents, using synthetic presenters, generative models or stock footage, billed by minutes or credits and exported as files or links. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
11 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 1 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Synthesia, Colossyan, Pictory, Elai, Runway, HeyGen, Pika, Vyond, Fliki, Luma AI, VEED.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 3 countries across 3 regions (North America 8, Elsewhere 3, Europe 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Credits hide the real price of an AI video generator
Almost every plan in this market sells a credit pool, and the pool means different things per supplier. Runway charges 60 credits for five seconds of Gen-4.5, so its Standard tier yields about 52 seconds a month. Luma AI lists Veo 3.1 at 140 or 280 credits per second, while its own draft mode costs 4.
Pictory's entry tier includes roughly a minute of generated video. Synthesia and Colossyan state allowances in minutes instead, which is easier to price. Before comparing monthly fees, convert each allowance into finished seconds of the footage you will actually make, using the model you actually need, and add a retake margin.
Convert every allowance into finished seconds for your preferred model.
Add a retake margin of at least double for generative clips.
Ask whether credits roll over; Runway's Max tier does so for only one month.
Presenter videos and generated scenes are different products
Synthesia, HeyGen, Colossyan, Elai and D-ID put a synthetic presenter on screen reading your script. Runway, Pika and Luma AI generate invented scenes from a prompt or an image. Buyers confuse them because both are called AI video. A training department wants a presenter in many languages with LMS export, which Colossyan and Synthesia gate behind SCORM features.
A marketing team wants cinematic clips and will find an avatar tool useless. Pictory and Fliki sit in between, assembling stock footage under a voiceover. Decide which output you need before opening a trial, because the free allowance of each type tests very different things.
Write down whether the video needs a person speaking or invented scenes.
Check for SCORM or LMS export if the video is training.
Test the free plan with your real script, not the sample one.
Commercial rights and watermarks decide whether free is usable
The free plan is usually for evaluation only. HeyGen's terms state that output from its free plan may not be sold, sublicensed or used commercially. Pika's free plan lacks a commercial licence entirely, and the licence starts at Creator. Synthesia's free videos carry its watermark and downloading begins on Starter.
D-ID marks videos from the Trial and Lite plans. Vyond offers a free trial but publishes per-user prices high enough that a trial month matters. If a video will appear in an advert, a client deliverable or a public channel, read the licence terms for your tier before building a workflow on it.
Read the commercial licence clause for the exact tier you will buy.
Check whether downloads or logo removal begin on a paid tier.
Keep a screenshot of the terms on the day you subscribe.
Resellers of other labs' models change what you are buying
Several suppliers here are also aggregators. Runway's plans list Kling 3.0 and Seedance next to its own Gen-4.5, Pika's model menu includes Seedance, MiniMax and Wan, and Luma AI's cost table includes Kling, Veo 3.1 and Seedance. That convenience means the quality, cost and rules you get depend on a third party's model, and the menu can change between months.
Specialised suppliers such as Synthesia, Colossyan and Elai are narrower and easier to audit. VEED and Fliki add generation features around an editor. Ask which model produces your output, and whether the price per second changes when the model does.
List which underlying model will generate your footage.
Ask how a model change affects the credit cost per second.
Prefer a supplier that publishes the cost table for every model.
What goes wrong most often when buying AI video generators software
Comparing monthly fees without converting each credit pool into finished seconds of the model you will actually use.
Building a campaign on free-plan output, such as HeyGen's, when the terms forbid commercial use of it.
Buying a generative tool such as Runway, Pika or Luma AI when the job is a scripted presenter video.
Assuming SCORM export, single sign-on or unlimited minutes are on the paid tier when they sit on Enterprise.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best AI video generators in 2026?
Synthesia leads our ranking of 12. An independent, single-purpose supplier built around a presenter on screen reading your script, which suits training and internal explainers.
The basic plan is free and carries a Synthesia watermark, and published paid tiers sit above it. Everything draws on one credit pool. It is not a cinematic generator: if you want invented scenes rather than a talking presenter, look further down.
Which AI video generators tools publish their pricing?
11 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Colossyan: Free Starter plan; one published paid tier, enterprise on request.
Pictory: Published monthly or annual tiers; free trial on each plan.
Elai: Free plan with one minute; published minute-based tiers.
Runway: Free plan with one-time credits; published credit tiers.
HeyGen: Free plan; published credit tiers; per-seat team add-on.
Pika: Free plan with credit packs only; published monthly tiers.
Vyond: Published per-user tiers; free trial.
Fliki: Free plan; paid tiers by monthly credits.
Luma AI: Published credit tiers from Plus upward; team plan on contact.
VEED: Free plan to start; paid plans with AI credits.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free AI video generators tool?
Synthesia, Colossyan, Elai, Runway, HeyGen, Pika, Fliki, VEED offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these AI video generators vendors established?
In 3 countries across 3 regions: North America 8, Elsewhere 3, Europe 1.
Synthesia: United Kingdom.
Colossyan: United States.
Pictory: United States.
Elai: United States.
Runway: United States.
HeyGen: United States.
Pika: United States.
Vyond: United States.
Fliki: Not stated by the vendor.
D-ID: Not stated by the vendor.
Luma AI: United States.
VEED: Not stated by the vendor.
Which AI video generators tools can you host yourself?
D-ID. The other 11 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Synthesia?
Colossyan and Pictory are the next two on this page. Colossyan is for Learning and development teams turning slides and PDFs into SCORM-ready courses; Pictory is for Marketers repurposing blog posts and webinars into captioned stock-footage videos.
Who should not buy Synthesia?
Teams wanting invented cinematic scenes instead of a presenter. Free-plan videos carry a Synthesia watermark and downloads start on the paid Starter tier.
If your AI video generators product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.