Video editors are sold three ways: free and open source, bought once, or rented with AI credits attached.
This guide ranks twelve of them on what ninety days of ordinary use cost in learning time, what the bill becomes once you need watermark-free 4K export, and whether projects survive a cancelled plan or a change of owner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What video editing software does
Video editing software arranges footage, audio and titles on a timeline, applies cuts, effects and colour changes, and renders the result to a file while leaving the original recordings untouched.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each video editing tool is built for. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Subscription only, per user, published; 7-day trial
—
Teams already on Creative Cloud that exchange projects with After Effects
Buyers who want to own the editor outright
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Open source timeline editor stewarded by a nonprofit, with nothing to buy
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Video Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingEurope
Kdenlive answers the exit question better than any paid editor here: the source is public under GPL-3.0, the trademark sits with a nonprofit, and projects cannot be stranded by a pricing change.
It covers multicam, three-point editing, LUTs, scopes and proxies, which is more than most marketing teams use. The cost is self-reliance. Training, stock media and troubleshooting are yours, and a volunteer roadmap will not bend to your deadline.
What stands out
Open source
Nonprofit steward
Cross-platform
Where it costs you
Developed by a small, mostly volunteer team, so there is no vendor accountable for a delivery date
Help comes from documentation, forums and bug reports rather than a paid support contract
Right for
Teams that want a no-cost editor they can keep indefinitely on any desktop
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a vendor to sign a support agreement
Open source editor from one small company, built on FFmpeg and MLT
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Video Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Shotcut suits people whose footage arrives in awkward formats: it works with hundreds of codecs through FFmpeg and lets one timeline hold different resolutions and frame rates.
Because the licence is GPLv3 and the code is public, a project is never held hostage. What it does not do is guide you. The dockable-panel layout assumes you know what a filter chain is.
What stands out
Open source
Multi-format timeline
Cross-platform
Where it costs you
The site does not state which country the company is based in
Releases arrive roughly every two months, so plug-in and tutorial versions drift apart
Right for
Editors working with mixed camera formats who want a licence cost of nothing
Wrong for
Teams wanting templates, stock media or hosted review links
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source, GPL licensed
Editing, colour, effects and audio in one program, free to start
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Video Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
Resolve answers Independence and Exit unusually well for a polished tool: the free version includes collaboration and HDR grading, and Studio is a single purchase with no renewal. The catch is breadth.
Editing, colour, effects and audio ship together, so a team that only cuts interviews carries the learning cost of all four. Studio adds the AI features and 10-bit, 120fps work, which is where a second purchase decision appears.
What stands out
Free version
One-off Studio licence
Editing and grading
Where it costs you
The free version is limited to 8-bit video and Ultra HD at 60fps
Studio's AI Neural Engine, noise reduction and magic mask are not in the free version
Right for
Teams that want one program for editing and grading, with no subscription
Wrong for
Beginners who just need to trim and caption one clip
AustraliaFree version; Studio edition as a one-off licence, published
Free open source editor from a Texas LLC, funded by donations
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Video Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingNorth America
OpenShot is the simplest of the three open source editors here, and the site backs that with a clear promise: no subscriptions, no watermarks, no project limits.
Funding comes from donations and sponsors, which keeps the licence honest but gives the project a small budget. Pick it for short social clips and training videos. For long interviews or heavy colour work, the listed tools are thinner than Kdenlive or Resolve.
What stands out
Open source
Donation funded
Cross-platform
Where it costs you
Support is limited to email, a community forum and Discord
The feature list on the site is shorter than Kdenlive or Resolve, with no proxy or transcription tools named
Right for
Occasional editors who want a plain multi-track timeline at no cost
Wrong for
Teams needing proxy workflows, transcription or paid support
Three tiers, each payable monthly, yearly or once, starting free
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Video Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Lightworks lets you test the interface before paying, then choose rent or own. That helps on the Real price test: the pay-once route stops the invoice recurring.
The free tier is a trial in practice, because 720p MP4 export cannot serve a client. The jump to 4K needs Create, and professional codecs plus 8K need Pro, so decide the delivery format first and buy the tier that matches it.
What stands out
Free tier
Pay-once option
Windows, Mac, Linux
Where it costs you
The free tier exports MP4 only, at a maximum of 720p
Some features are restricted on Linux
Right for
Editors who may want to pay once instead of renting
Wrong for
Anyone who must deliver 1080p or 4K from a no-cost tier
United KingdomFree tier; paid Create and Pro tiers, monthly, yearly or once
Browser-based editor with credit-metered AI and per-user team billing
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Video Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Kapwing meters three things at once: seats, credits and storage. A Pro seat carries 1,000 credits and 200 GB, and Business carries 4,000 credits and 800 GB, so a heavy subtitling month can cost more than the seat count suggests.
It is quick for captions, dubbing and repurposing short clips, and weaker as an archive of long projects because the work sits in the vendor's workspace and the subscription is the only way to keep it.
What stands out
Browser-based
Credit-metered AI
Per-user billing
Where it costs you
The free plan watermarks exports and caps them at four minutes and 720p
Pro and Business are available only as subscriptions
Right for
Social teams making short captioned clips together in a browser
Wrong for
Teams that must keep projects on local drives
United StatesFree plan; Pro and Business subscriptions per user, published
Veteran Windows timeline editor, newly owned by Boris FX
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Video Editing Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Vegas Pro is the clearest ownership-change case in this list. The same editor moved from MAGIX to Boris FX in March 2026, with sign-in replacing activation keys and plans split into three editions.
The two-computer licence and the 15-day trial with no card are buyer-friendly. The risk is directional: Boris FX has promised to keep supporting every major platform, but its own plans for the editor are not on the pricing page.
What stands out
Newly acquired
Perpetual option
Three editions
Where it costs you
Ownership changed in March 2026, so product direction under the new owner is unproven
The effects bundles sit in the higher editions, which raises the real price
Right for
Editors who already know Vegas and prefer a perpetual licence
Wrong for
Teams that need a guaranteed roadmap from the vendor
United StatesSubscription or perpetual licence; 15-day trial
Consumer-friendly editor sold as annual subscription or perpetual licence
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Video Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Filmora is priced like a consumer product, and the choice is between renting every year or buying one major version. The subscription tiers split on AI credits and cloud storage, one gigabyte on Basic and ten on Advanced, so storage is a real constraint for video.
Perpetual buyers keep what they paid for but forgo later major versions. It suits quick edits more than archive-heavy work.
What stands out
Subscription or perpetual
AI credits
Watermarked free version
Where it costs you
The free version watermarks exports
The perpetual licence covers one major version, Filmora 16, and not later ones
Right for
Small teams wanting an easy editor with a perpetual licence option
Wrong for
Teams wanting a free tier that exports without a watermark
CanadaFree version with watermark; annual subscription or perpetual licence, published
Apple's Mac editor, one-time purchase or inside a creator subscription
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Video Editing Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Final Cut Pro is the purchase-once option for a Mac fleet, which gives it a strong answer on Real price. Its limits are the platform and the ecosystem: macOS 15.6 or later, some features requiring Apple silicon, and premium content reserved for subscribers.
Magnetic Timeline, Magnetic Mask and automatic captions are included. A mixed Windows and Mac team will need a second editor, which undermines the saving.
What stands out
Mac and iPad
One-off licence
Magnetic Timeline
Where it costs you
It runs only on Mac and iPad, never on Windows
Some premium content is limited to Apple Creator Studio subscribers
Right for
Mac-based teams who want to buy an editor once
Wrong for
Teams that mix Windows and Mac workstations
United StatesOne-off purchase for Mac, or Apple Creator Studio subscription, published
Free editor on desktop, web and mobile, with a Pro tier
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Video Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
CapCut spreads one product across four surfaces, so a clip started on a phone can be finished on desktop. The free tier is generous for basic cuts, and the paid line starts where premium assets begin.
The pricing is the weak point for budgeting: the vendor says prices vary by region and device, and they are shown inside the app, so you cannot quote one number to finance before signing up.
What stands out
Free tier
Desktop, web, mobile
Pro subscription
Where it costs you
Premium templates, fonts, music and effects are paywalled
Pro pricing varies by region and device
Right for
Short-form social video made quickly across phone, web and desktop
Wrong for
Teams needing a fixed, published price per seat
SingaporeFree tier; Pro subscription, price varies by region
Browser editor bundled into Microsoft 365, with a free tier
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Video Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
For a Microsoft 365 organisation Clipchamp is nearly free, which explains its place here. The free tier exports 1080p without a watermark; premium unlocks 4K, premium stock and a single brand kit.
The limit is dependence: the premium tier is reached via Microsoft 365 or Copilot licences, so leaving Microsoft means leaving Clipchamp. It is a good simple editor for a company already on the suite and a poor choice for anyone outside it.
What stands out
Free tier
Microsoft 365
Browser-based
Where it costs you
Premium is reached through Microsoft 365 rather than sold separately
The brand kit covers a single brand
Right for
Microsoft 365 users who need simple, watermark-free edits for internal video
Wrong for
Independent buyers avoiding the Microsoft ecosystem
AustraliaFree tier; premium through Microsoft 365 Personal or Family
Subscription-only editor, sold alone or inside Creative Cloud
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Video Editing Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Premiere is the standard in many agencies because the rest of Creative Cloud sits beside it, and that is also the cost. The only way to buy is a subscription, with a seven-day trial, monthly generative credits and per-licence team plans.
For Exit the only route is staying subscribed; there is no one-time purchase of the editor. A small team editing one video a week pays an ongoing price for features beyond its need.
What stands out
Subscription only
Per-user licences
Creative Cloud
Where it costs you
There is no perpetual licence; the page lists subscriptions only
The single-app plan includes 25 generative credits a month
Right for
Teams already on Creative Cloud that exchange projects with After Effects
Wrong for
Buyers who want to own the editor outright
United StatesSubscription only, per user, published; 7-day trial
Video editing software arranges footage, audio and titles on a timeline, applies cuts, effects and colour changes, and renders the result to a file while leaving the original recordings untouched. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
11 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 1 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Kdenlive, Shotcut, DaVinci Resolve, OpenShot, Lightworks, Kapwing, Filmora, Final Cut Pro, CapCut, Clipchamp, Adobe Premiere Pro.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 7 countries across 4 regions (North America 6, Asia-Pacific 3, Europe 2, Elsewhere 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
3 of these are open source: Kdenlive, Shotcut, OpenShot. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Free tiers differ: some watermark, some cap, some cost nothing
The phrase free version covers four different offers here. Kdenlive, Shotcut and OpenShot are open source and carry no export restriction at all; the source is public under GPL licences. DaVinci Resolve's free version is also unrestricted on watermarks but stops at 8-bit video and Ultra HD at 60fps, with 10-bit and 120fps work reserved for Studio.
Lightworks exports MP4 only, at a maximum of 720p. Kapwing watermarks and stops at four minutes and 720p. Filmora's free version also watermarks. Only the first group lets a client receive a usable file for nothing.
Export a three-minute test file from every free tier and send it to a real recipient.
Check resolution, bit depth, frame-rate and duration caps before the demo, not afterwards.
Ask whether the watermark-free tier is the second tier or the top one.
Rent, buy once, or own the source
Licence models split the market. Adobe Premiere Pro is subscription only, and Kapwing's paid plans are subscription only as well, so stopping payment stops access. Clipchamp's premium tier comes only through Microsoft 365. DaVinci Resolve Studio and Final Cut Pro offer a one-time purchase, with Final Cut Pro limited to Mac.
Vegas Pro and Lightworks give a choice of subscription or perpetual licence, and Filmora's perpetual licence covers Filmora 16 only. At the far end, Kdenlive, Shotcut and OpenShot cannot be withdrawn because the code is public. For a team that edits weekly, a perpetual licence usually beats renting after the first year, unless the vendor's later versions matter.
Write down what happens to your projects on the day payment stops.
Find out whether a perpetual licence covers only the current major version.
Count every workstation, because Vegas Pro covers two computers and others cover fewer.
AI credits, media hours and storage are the hidden meters
Several editors here charge for the machine-generated work rather than the editing. Kapwing draws credits for AI work, and a Pro seat carries 1,000 of them. CapCut Pro adds AI tools and about 1TB of cloud storage, while Filmora's tiers differ by AI credits and by one gigabyte against ten of cloud storage.
Adobe Premiere Pro's single-app plan includes 25 generative credits a month. A team that dubs, captions and cleans audio on every upload will run out before it runs out of seats, so price the AI work separately from the seat.
List the AI features you would use weekly and find the credit cost of each.
Compare the storage allowance with the size of one month of raw footage.
Check whether unused credits roll over or expire.
Owners change, so check who holds the editor
An editor outlasts its owner only if the licence or the code does. Vegas Pro passed from MAGIX Software GmbH to Boris FX on 30 March 2026, with Boris FX accounts replacing activation keys. Clipchamp joined Microsoft in September 2021 and now reaches premium users through Microsoft 365.
Kdenlive's trademark sits with KDE e.V., a nonprofit, and Shotcut's with Meltytech, LLC, while the GPL source for both stays public. DaVinci Resolve belongs to a camera maker that sells the software alongside hardware. Ask a vendor who owns the product, how long it has done so, and what the roadmap commits to in writing.
Check the acquisition history of any editor on a shortlist before signing a multi-year plan.
Prefer a perpetual licence or open source code if the vendor was recently sold.
Keep an export of project files in an open interchange format.
What goes wrong most often when buying video editing software
Treating a free version as free to use for client work, when the watermark, resolution or duration cap shows up only at export.
Buying the top tier because an effects bundle looks useful, and then cutting interviews that need only the base edition.
Choosing a browser editor for archive work and discovering that the projects live in the vendor's workspace and stop when the subscription does.
Assuming a perpetual licence includes future versions, when Filmora's covers one major version only.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best video editing software in 2026?
Kdenlive leads our ranking of 12. The code is GPL-3.0 and the trademark is held by KDE e.V., a nonprofit, so nobody can reprice the editor or put it behind a login.
It runs on Linux, Windows, macOS and BSD, with multicam, keyframes, colour scopes and automatic transcription. The price is paid in effort: a small, mostly volunteer team builds it, and help comes from documentation and forums rather than a support contract.
Which video editing tools publish their pricing?
11 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Kdenlive: Free and open source, GPL licensed.
Shotcut: Free and open source, GPL licensed.
DaVinci Resolve: Free version; Studio edition as a one-off licence, published.
OpenShot: Free and open source, GPL licensed.
Lightworks: Free tier; paid Create and Pro tiers, monthly, yearly or once.
Kapwing: Free plan; Pro and Business subscriptions per user, published.
Filmora: Free version with watermark; annual subscription or perpetual licence, published.
Final Cut Pro: One-off purchase for Mac, or Apple Creator Studio subscription, published.
CapCut: Free tier; Pro subscription, price varies by region.
Clipchamp: Free tier; premium through Microsoft 365 Personal or Family.
Adobe Premiere Pro: Subscription only, per user, published; 7-day trial.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free video editing tool?
Kdenlive, Shotcut, DaVinci Resolve, OpenShot, Lightworks, Kapwing, Filmora, CapCut, Clipchamp offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these video editing software vendors established?
In 7 countries across 4 regions: North America 6, Asia-Pacific 3, Europe 2, Elsewhere 1.
Kdenlive: Germany.
Shotcut: Not stated by the vendor.
DaVinci Resolve: Australia.
OpenShot: United States.
Lightworks: United Kingdom.
Kapwing: United States.
Vegas Pro: United States.
Filmora: Canada.
Final Cut Pro: United States.
CapCut: Singapore.
Clipchamp: Australia.
Adobe Premiere Pro: United States.
Which video editing tools are open source?
Kdenlive, Shotcut, OpenShot.
What should you use instead of Kdenlive?
Shotcut and DaVinci Resolve are the next two on this page. Shotcut is for Editors working with mixed camera formats who want a licence cost of nothing; DaVinci Resolve is for teams that want one program for editing and grading, with no subscription.
Who should not buy Kdenlive?
Anyone who needs a vendor to sign a support agreement. Developed by a small, mostly volunteer team, so there is no vendor accountable for a delivery date.
If your video editing software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.