Stock photo sites range from free libraries with a one-page licence to agencies that bill by credits, seats and licence tier.
This guide ranks twelve of them on what the first ninety days cost, what a normal buyer pays once video, music or teammates are added, how easily you leave, and how much you depend on the vendor.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What stock photo sites software does
A stock photo site licenses ready-made photographs, illustrations and often video to buyers, either free under a published licence or against a subscription, credits or a per-image fee.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each stock photo sites tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Licence and subscription pricing; no amounts on the pages checked
—
Newsrooms and brands needing editorial, archive and rights-cleared images
Teams wanting a posted monthly price for routine blog images
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Free photo and video library with a short, plain licence
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Stock Photo Sites in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The licence is one short page: photos and videos may be used and edited, and attribution is optional. That makes the setup test trivial and the exit test painless, since there is no account contract to leave. The price is the absence of guarantees.
The page names forbidden uses, including identifiable people shown in a bad light and resale of unaltered files, but offers no paid cover. Check each file before using it on anything sold, and keep the download page as evidence.
What stands out
Free library
No attribution
Run by Canva Germany
Where it costs you
The licence page lists no paid tier, so there is no indemnity or invoice to hand to a client
Selling unaltered copies and trademark-style use are both barred, which rules out some print and branding work
Right for
Small teams that need blog and social images today without paying or crediting anyone
Wrong for
Agencies that must pass a licence warranty to clients
GermanyFree to use, no paid plan shown on the licence page
Flat monthly fee for unlimited downloads across photos, video and templates
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Stock Photo Sites in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
Plans differ mainly in AI credits, not in downloads: Core, Plus and Ultimate all carry unlimited downloads of the library, subject to a fair use policy that forbids bots and scripts. The licence is attached to each download for one project, and it stays valid for work already published after you cancel.
New projects after cancelling need a new subscription. Core costs half as much on annual billing as on monthly. Refunds are not given for cancelled plans, so test the library with one month before committing for a year.
What stands out
Unlimited downloads
Per-project licence
Beyond photos
Where it costs you
Every download covers one specific project, so repeat use needs a fresh download and a record
Cancelled subscriptions are not refunded and bulk downloading by script is banned
Right for
Studios and marketers who also need video, music and templates, not only photos
Wrong for
Buyers who only want a handful of photos a year
AustraliaPublished subscriptions, monthly or annual, with unlimited downloads under a fair use policy
Contributor-supplied library sold as monthly download packs with unlimited seats
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Stock Photo Sites in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Alamy Open plans give the same features at every size and only change the download count: fifteen, twenty-five or fifty creative images a month under a standard licence. Seats are unlimited, which suits teams, and a one-month rollover softens busy and quiet periods.
The library is supplied by contributors who keep their copyright, and Alamy distinguishes royalty-free from rights-managed licences. Rights-managed files are licensed for a stated purpose on the invoice, so read it before reusing an image.
What stands out
Monthly packs
Unlimited seats
Editorial archive
Where it costs you
Images marked editorial-use only are excluded from the subscription and bought separately
Unused downloads survive for one month only, so quiet months are paid for and lost
Right for
Publishers and agencies sharing one image budget across a whole team
Wrong for
Solo creators who download fewer than fifteen images monthly
United KingdomPublished monthly download packs; unused downloads roll over for one month
Free photo library with an optional single-user paid tier
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Stock Photo Sites in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The free licence is irrevocable and covers commercial use, copying and editing, and credit is appreciated but not required. It does not allow compiling images to replicate a competing service.
Unsplash+ adds unlimited downloads, members-only content, illustrations and legal protection for a monthly or yearly fee, but for a single user only, and content may not sit in a DAM for broad sharing. A launch price is shown that the page says can change without notice, so check the figure on the day of purchase.
What stands out
Free licence
Photographer community
Unsplash+ paid
Where it costs you
Unsplash+ is a single-user licence, so company accounts still count as one seat
The free licence bars selling images without significant modification
Right for
Designers who want editorial-looking photos and may upgrade later for protection
Wrong for
Teams needing one shared licence and a central asset library
CanadaFree licence for the library; Unsplash+ subscription with published prices
Free community library covering photos, vectors, video and music
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Stock Photo Sites in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Pixabay's licence summary allows free use and adaptation without credit but spells out what is off limits: selling content in unchanged form, merchandise featuring recognisable brands, misleading uses and using content in a trademark or business name.
Recognisable people add further limits. Responsibility for third-party consent stays with you. Pixabay describes itself as a community of creators, and the about page names Canva Germany GmbH as operator, so keep a copy of the licence text that applied on the day you downloaded.
What stands out
Free library
Music and video
Canva Germany brand
Where it costs you
Content with recognisable trademarks, logos or brands cannot be used commercially
Users must check third-party rights themselves, since some files carry copyright or privacy limits
Right for
Content creators who also need free music and sound effects
Wrong for
Brands whose legal team requires indemnity on every file
GermanyFree to use; no paid tier mentioned on the pages checked
Video-first subscription library sold per individual or small business seat
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Stock Photo Sites in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Four plans share unlimited downloads of footage, templates and images. Essentials leaves out music and voiceover, Unlimited All Access and Small Business add them, and Business is only available through sales, with organisation-wide coverage, broadcast use and a one million dollar indemnity.
Prices are shown for annual billing. The pricing page we saw does not show an answer on free trials, so confirm that directly. Storyblocks is operated by Footage Firm, Inc. in Arlington, Virginia, according to its privacy policy.
What stands out
Video first
Unlimited downloads
Per-user plans
Where it costs you
Essentials excludes music, sound effects and voiceover
Published plans are for one user, and team coverage needs a sales quote
Right for
Video editors who need footage and music more than still photos
Wrong for
Teams of several people buying on a card
United StatesPublished annual subscriptions per user; Business plan priced by quote
Vector and photo library with credit-required free files and tiered Pro licences
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Stock Photo Sites in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Three Pro tiers separate individual creators, groups of two to six users and organisations of seven or more, with legal guarantees that rise from ten thousand to one million dollars per claim. Free content demands attribution, and the page says that anyone unable to give it must buy Pro.
Subscriptions renew automatically and the 30-day refund applies only if three or fewer Pro files were downloaded. Data-training rights are a separate Enterprise add-on, so check them if you work with AI.
What stands out
Vectors
Tiered licences
Credit required
Where it costs you
The free licence caps print runs at 50 copies and requires credit to the creator
Each download may be used in one design project, so reuse needs another download
Right for
Designers who want vector files and clear licence tiers by team size
Wrong for
Large print or merchandise runs on the cheapest licence
United StatesFree licence with credit; Pro subscription and credit packs with published prices
Image library sold by month, by year or as prepaid download packs
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Stock Photo Sites in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The monthly Unlimited plan is cancelled month to month, while the annual option, priced lower, locks in twelve months and can be paid monthly or upfront. Packs of 3, 10, 30 or 100 downloads are prepaid for a year and refill unless cancelled.
Legal terms identify DepositPhotos Inc. in Delaware as the licensor for all countries, plus an EU entity in Cyprus for European customers. The page says nothing on rollover or a free trial, so ask support before buying.
What stands out
Subscriptions
Download packs
Unlimited AI generation
Where it costs you
Annual plans commit you for twelve months
Prepaid packs expire after one year and refill automatically unless cancelled
Right for
Teams wanting a flat monthly image fee they can cancel at any time
Wrong for
Buyers who want to test the library before paying
United StatesPublished monthly and annual subscriptions; prepaid packs valid for a year
Stock library rebranded as an AI credit platform, with attribution on free use
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Stock Photo Sites in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The pricing page now reads Magnific (formerly Freepik) and lists Premium, Premium Plus and Pro Starter, with credits valid for a year and no monthly reset. Premium and above lift the attribution duty and the daily download limit, though anti-abuse limits remain.
Pro adds a licence for physical merchandise capped at one hundred thousand units per asset. The terms ban AI training on content. Costs per generation vary by model, so estimate your credit use before choosing an annual tier.
What stands out
Rebranded
AI credits
Attribution rule
Where it costs you
Free content requires attribution to the website and creator
Plan pricing centres on AI credits, so a pure stock buyer pays for tools they may not use
Right for
Designers who mix stock graphics with AI image and video generation
Wrong for
Buyers wanting stock downloads priced simply per file
SpainPublished subscriptions billed monthly or annually; free content needs attribution
Getty-owned library sold by subscription or credits with two content tiers
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Stock Photo Sites in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Three subscription tiers on the Dutch site separate everyday content, premium content, and premium plus video, with monthly download options from ten upward and up to 250 unused downloads carried over. Credits never expire if you log in once a year.
Cancelling ends your right to use content, so copies must be deleted, a rule that matters for published work. The legal notice identifies iStockphoto LP in Alberta, Canada. Editorial-only photos cannot be edited, so check each file's label.
What stands out
Credits
Basis and Premium tiers
Getty brand
Where it costs you
Annual plans cannot be cancelled early and cancellation requests must be sent in writing
Premium content costs three times the credits of Basis, and extended licences cost eighteen
Right for
Buyers who want Getty-backed content in small, predictable volumes
Wrong for
Teams who need quick, self-serve cancellation
CanadaPublished subscriptions and credit packs; credits last while you log in yearly
Credit-priced library offering unlimited downloads under a standard licence
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Stock Photo Sites in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The Dutch products page speaks of one plan with all content and unlimited downloads under a standard licence, covering social, web, email and mobile use up to a 500,000 print run. The extended licence removes the print cap and allows merchandise, at sixty credits per image.
AI generation starts at one credit. The footer names Inmagine Lab Pte Ltd, but no country is stated and the pricing page was behind a bot check, so confirm every figure before committing.
What stands out
Credits
Standard and extended licence
AI suite
Where it costs you
The pages we could open show no subscription prices in currency
The standard licence excludes retail products and caps print runs at 500,000
Right for
Buyers who already hold a 123RF account and want credit-based pricing
Wrong for
Anyone needing a stated price and country before buying
Not stated by the vendorCredit costs and a subscription are listed; amounts not shown on pages checked
Premium and editorial archive licensed per use, with enterprise add-ons
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Stock Photo Sites in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Getty's site separates creative royalty-free content, editorial coverage and archive, then adds Premium Access, Custom Content, a digital asset manager and rights clearances. Its privacy policy names Getty Images (Seattle), Inc.
and Getty Images (US), Inc. as US-based affiliates, and the footer links iStock and Unsplash as sister sites. Because pricing pages were not readable, treat the licence as a quote: ask for the usage, term and territory in writing.
What stands out
Editorial archive
Premium Access
Custom content
Where it costs you
No amounts appeared on the pages we could open, so budgeting needs a conversation
Enterprise tools such as Media Manager and Premium Access add products to buy separately
Right for
Newsrooms and brands needing editorial, archive and rights-cleared images
Wrong for
Teams wanting a posted monthly price for routine blog images
United StatesLicence and subscription pricing; no amounts on the pages checked
A stock photo site licenses ready-made photographs, illustrations and often video to buyers, either free under a published licence or against a subscription, credits or a per-image fee. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
10 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 2 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Pexels, Envato Elements, Alamy, Unsplash, Pixabay, Storyblocks, Vecteezy, Depositphotos, Magnific (formerly Freepik), iStock.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 7 countries across 4 regions (North America 6, Europe 4, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Free libraries and paid agencies protect you differently
Pexels, Unsplash and Pixabay charge nothing and mostly need no credit, but their licence pages are a statement of terms, not a guarantee. Pexels bars unaltered resale and endorsement implications, Pixabay bars recognisable brands in commercial use, and Unsplash bars rivals compiling its images.
Paid services add something extra: Vecteezy writes a ten-thousand-dollar guarantee into Pro Standard, Unsplash+ advertises enhanced legal protection, and Storyblocks reserves its one million dollar indemnity for the quoted Business plan. The question to ask is who pays if a model or a brand claims the image. For internal decks the free tier is enough. For client work that is sold on, price the protection as part of the plan.
Read which uses each licence bars, not only what it allows.
Ask whether any indemnity exists, and on which plan.
Keep the licence text and download date for any image used in sold work.
Unlimited, packs or credits: the meter decides the invoice
Envato Elements and Storyblocks sell unlimited downloads, Alamy sells packs of 15, 25 or 50 a month, Depositphotos sells both an unlimited plan and prepaid packs that expire after a year, and iStock mixes subscriptions with credits that last while you log in. The cheapest sticker is not always the cheapest year.
A buyer who needs six images a month wastes an unlimited plan, while a team downloading daily pays heavily for credits. Rollover matters too: Alamy carries over for one month and iStock for up to 250 unused downloads. Count last year's downloads, split them by photo, video and music, then price each meter against that count.
Count last year's downloads by type before comparing prices.
Check what happens to unused downloads at month end.
Ask whether premium or extended licences cost extra credits.
Cancellation terms and licence survival
Stock licences differ most when you stop paying. Envato Elements lets published projects stay covered after you cancel but requires a subscription for new ones and refunds nothing. iStock withdraws the right to use content on cancellation and asks for written cancellation, and its annual plans cannot end early.
Depositphotos cancels the monthly plan at any time but ties the annual one to twelve months. Vecteezy refunds within thirty days only if three or fewer Pro files were downloaded. Agree the exit terms before the first download, because a campaign may run longer than a subscription and the paperwork has to survive staff changes.
Read what happens to published work after you cancel.
Check the minimum term and how a cancellation must be submitted.
Find the refund rule and its download threshold.
Team size, seats and who counts as a user
Seat rules quietly decide cost. Unsplash+ treats a company account as one seat and bars storing content in a shared asset manager, Storyblocks publishes plans for one user and quotes the rest, and Vecteezy sorts licences into one user, two to six, and seven or more.
Alamy goes the other way with unlimited seats on every plan, which suits a newsroom or agency. Magnific adds another variable, AI credits that last a year. Before choosing, write down how many people download, whether files go into a shared library and whether clients receive them, then match that to each vendor's licensing definition.
List who downloads and who receives the files.
Check whether a shared asset library is permitted.
Ask how a second user changes the plan price.
What goes wrong most often when buying stock photo sites software
Treating a free licence as insurance: none of the free libraries offers indemnity, so a claim over a recognisable person or brand is yours.
Comparing sticker prices without the meter: unlimited, pack and credit models cost different amounts at six downloads a month than at sixty.
Ignoring one-project licences: Envato Elements and Vecteezy attach a licence to each download for one project, so reused images need another download.
Skipping the exit terms: iStock ends usage rights on cancellation and annual plans at several vendors cannot be stopped early.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best stock photo sites in 2026?
Pexels leads our ranking of 12. Pexels costs nothing and says in its licence that credit is not required, so the first ninety days cost only search time.
The catch is the missing safety net: nobody indemnifies you, identifiable people may not be shown in a bad light, and unaltered copies may not be sold. Pexels is run by Canva Germany GmbH, a commercial operator whose terms you do not control.
Which stock photo sites tools publish their pricing?
10 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Pexels: Free to use, no paid plan shown on the licence page.
Envato Elements: Published subscriptions, monthly or annual, with unlimited downloads under a fair use policy.
Alamy: Published monthly download packs; unused downloads roll over for one month.
Unsplash: Free licence for the library; Unsplash+ subscription with published prices.
Pixabay: Free to use; no paid tier mentioned on the pages checked.
Storyblocks: Published annual subscriptions per user; Business plan priced by quote.
Vecteezy: Free licence with credit; Pro subscription and credit packs with published prices.
Depositphotos: Published monthly and annual subscriptions; prepaid packs valid for a year.
Magnific (formerly Freepik): Published subscriptions billed monthly or annually; free content needs attribution.
iStock: Published subscriptions and credit packs; credits last while you log in yearly.
The other 2 quote per organisation.
Is there a free stock photo sites tool?
Pexels, Unsplash, Pixabay, Vecteezy offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these stock photo sites vendors established?
In 7 countries across 4 regions: North America 6, Europe 4, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1.
Pexels: Germany.
Envato Elements: Australia.
Alamy: United Kingdom.
Unsplash: Canada.
Pixabay: Germany.
Storyblocks: United States.
Vecteezy: United States.
Depositphotos: United States.
Magnific (formerly Freepik): Spain.
iStock: Canada.
123RF: Not stated by the vendor.
Getty Images: United States.
What should you use instead of Pexels?
Envato Elements and Alamy are the next two on this page. Envato Elements is for Studios and marketers who also need video, music and templates, not only photos; Alamy is for Publishers and agencies sharing one image budget across a whole team.
Who should not buy Pexels?
Agencies that must pass a licence warranty to clients. The licence page lists no paid tier, so there is no indemnity or invoice to hand to a client.
If your stock photo sites product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.