Best Business Bank Accounts in 2026

A business bank account holds the company's money, pays suppliers and staff, and connects to bookkeeping.

This guide ranks twelve accounts, from neobank products to spend platforms, on setup effort, the cost once needed features are added, how easily you can leave, partner-bank dependence and fit.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. How that works.

In short

What business bank accounts software does

A business bank account is a deposit account in a company's name, used to receive customer payments, pay costs and keep business money apart from the owner's personal funds.

01

The top three

12 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether you can leave, and who each business bank accounts tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests: Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.

12tools reviewed
10publish a price
8have a free tier
4countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

12 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1QontoFrancePublished monthly plans in three tiers, billed annually, with a one-month trial; paid add-ons for invoicing—European small companies that want an account priced per month before they open itBusinesses that need US dollar accounts and US-style ACH
#2TideUnited KingdomFree plan with no plan fee; Smart, Pro and Max tiers published monthly or annuallyYesUK sole traders and small limited companies starting on a plan without a feeBusinesses sending many transfers each month on the entry plan
#3FoundNot stated by the vendorFree plan with paid Plus and Pro tiers published monthly or yearlyYesUS freelancers and sole proprietors who want bookkeeping and tax tools inside the accountCompanies with larger balances wanting interest without a paid tier
#4RelayNot stated by the vendorFree Starter plan; Grow and Scale tiers published monthly with a 14-day trialYesSmall teams splitting money across many purposes, such as agencies and contractorsOwners who expect phone support or one-click interest on the entry plan
#5NovoNot stated by the vendorFree business checking with no monthly fee; other features sold separatelyYesUS freelancers and small shops wanting a plain checking account with invoicingBusinesses holding foreign currency or wanting interest on idle cash
#6LiliUnited StatesFree Core plan; Pro, Smart and Premium tiers published monthly with a 30-day trialYesUS freelancers and sole proprietors who want tax savings tools in the accountOwners wanting invoicing and bookkeeping without moving past the entry tier
#7BluevineUnited StatesNo monthly fee on Standard; Plus and Premier tiers raise interest—US small businesses wanting interest on checking and a lender under one loginOwners who want the top interest rate without meeting activity goals
#8MercuryNot stated by the vendorFree account with paid Plus and Pro plans, published monthly or annuallyYesSoftware and online businesses wanting a zero-cost account that adds paid features laterBusinesses needing multi-currency accounts or interest on small balances
#9Starling Bank BusinessUnited KingdomNo monthly fee; charges apply to certain tools and features—UK limited companies and sole traders wanting a bank account without a monthly feeCompanies registered outside the UK needing local accounts
#10Wise BusinessUnited KingdomPublished one-off set-up fee, then per-transfer and conversion fees—Exporters and agencies paying and receiving in several currenciesCompanies wanting overdrafts, credit lines or a plain domestic current account
#11RampUnited StatesFree plan per user; Plus per user per month plus platform fee, published; Enterprise customYesA US company that wants strong automation on a free planA European employer
#12BrexUnited StatesFree tier per user; Premium per user per month, published; Enterprise customYesA venture-backed company with cash on the balance sheetA bootstrapped small business

Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.

04

The 12 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Qonto · 2. Tide · 3. Found · 4. Relay · 5. Novo · 6. Lili · 7. Bluevine · 8. Mercury · 9. Starling Bank Business · 10. Wise Business · 11. Ramp · 12. Brex

#1 Qonto

Euro business account sold in published monthly plans across Europe

Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Business Bank Accounts in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

Qonto answers the cost question openly: three tiers, each with a stated monthly price when billed annually, and a one-month trial. Add-ons such as invoice automation and project tracking carry their own monthly prices, so a business that wants both pays well above the entry plan.

The middle tier adds accountant access and forecasting, which most companies with a bookkeeper will want. Count cards and transfers per tier before choosing, because limits rise with each step.

What stands out
  • Euro accounts
  • Three tiers
  • Eight markets
Where it costs you
  • Cash-flow forecasting and accountant access are not in the lowest tier
  • The higher interest rate on the middle tier applies for two months only
Right for

European small companies that want an account priced per month before they open it

Wrong for

Businesses that need US dollar accounts and US-style ACH

FrancePublished monthly plans in three tiers, billed annually, with a one-month trial; paid add-ons for invoicing

#2 Tide

UK business account with a no-fee plan and three paid tiers

Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Business Bank Accounts in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingEurope

Tide is cheap to start and easy to price: the entry plan has no plan fee, and each paid tier raises limits in a table you can read before signing up. Plan changes are made in the app.

The real price depends on volume. Transfers jump from five to thirty to unlimited across tiers, and the 2.75% card FX fee disappears from the first paid tier. A shop paying overseas suppliers will upgrade early.

What stands out
  • No plan fee
  • UK accounts
  • Tiered limits
Where it costs you
  • Bank transfers are limited to five a month on the plan without a fee
  • International card payments carry a 2.75% FX fee until you move up a tier
Right for

UK sole traders and small limited companies starting on a plan without a fee

Wrong for

Businesses sending many transfers each month on the entry plan

United KingdomFree plan with no plan fee; Smart, Pro and Max tiers published monthly or annually

#3 Found

Business account with bookkeeping and tax tools included in the base plan

Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Business Bank Accounts in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Found fits a one-person business that dislikes juggling a bank and bookkeeping software. The base plan includes expense categorisation, receipt scanning, invoicing and tax estimates, so setup is mostly connecting the account.

Paid tiers add interest and rules, and the top one adds a dedicated account manager. The price you actually pay depends on balance: interest on the middle tier stops at a stated cap. Wires cost a fixed amount each, so frequent senders should count them first.

What stands out
  • Bookkeeping built in
  • Tax estimates
  • Pockets
Where it costs you
  • Interest is paid only on the two paid tiers, capped at a set balance on Plus
  • Domestic wires and paper checks are charged per item
Right for

US freelancers and sole proprietors who want bookkeeping and tax tools inside the account

Wrong for

Companies with larger balances wanting interest without a paid tier

Not stated by the vendorFree plan with paid Plus and Pro tiers published monthly or yearly

#4 Relay

Business accounts with many checking accounts and plans that raise savings interest

Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Business Bank Accounts in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Relay suits a business that wants many accounts and many cards without per-user pricing: every plan allows unlimited users and fifty cards. Setup is an online application, with accounting links to QuickBooks and Xero on the entry plan.

The cost question is the tier. Entry has the lowest savings rate and cash back, while Scale lifts both and removes the fee for same-day ACH. Run your expected balance and card spend through the vendor's calculator before paying.

What stands out
  • Many accounts
  • Savings tiers
  • Unlimited users
Where it costs you
  • The highest savings rate and cash back sit in the paid tiers
  • Customer service is described as available by email
Right for

Small teams splitting money across many purposes, such as agencies and contractors

Wrong for

Owners who expect phone support or one-click interest on the entry plan

Not stated by the vendorFree Starter plan; Grow and Scale tiers published monthly with a 14-day trial

#5 Novo

Checking account with no monthly fee and built-in invoicing

Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Business Bank Accounts in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Novo keeps the proposition narrow: one checking account, no monthly fee, and tools to bill customers. Setup starts with an online application, then you connect Stripe, Square, QuickBooks or Shopify from a list of more than forty integrations.

Reserves split the balance into up to twenty buckets for taxes or payroll. Exit is the thing to check: the account sits with Middlesex Federal Savings, so confirm statement downloads before you rely on it. Loans and a credit card are sold separately.

What stands out
  • No monthly fee
  • Invoicing
  • Reserves
Where it costs you
  • The checking page does not mention savings interest or foreign-currency accounts
  • The higher credit card cash back requires a checking balance of $5,000 or more
Right for

US freelancers and small shops wanting a plain checking account with invoicing

Wrong for

Businesses holding foreign currency or wanting interest on idle cash

Not stated by the vendorFree business checking with no monthly fee; other features sold separately

#6 Lili

Account for US freelancers with a no-fee tier and tax tools in paid tiers

Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Business Bank Accounts in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Lili is built around the self-employed, and the tiers show it: Core covers banking and savings, Pro adds expense and tax organisation, Smart adds invoicing, bookkeeping and tax preparation, and Premium adds priority service with a dedicated specialist.

Setup is online with a 30-day trial on paid tiers. The real price is Smart or Premium, because the headline features are not in Core. Introductory prices run three months, so budget for the full fee afterwards.

What stands out
  • Tax tools
  • Four tiers
  • Freelancers
Where it costs you
  • Tax management starts at the second tier and invoicing software at the third
  • Introductory prices last three months, then the full monthly fee applies
Right for

US freelancers and sole proprietors who want tax savings tools in the account

Wrong for

Owners wanting invoicing and bookkeeping without moving past the entry tier

United StatesFree Core plan; Pro, Smart and Premium tiers published monthly with a 30-day trial

#7 Bluevine

Checking with interest-bearing tiers and lending products from one dashboard

Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Business Bank Accounts in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

Bluevine combines checking, bill pay and accounts payable automation with credit lines up to $250,000 and term loans. Setup is online, and team members get their own logins.

The price you pay in practice is set by the tier: Standard has no monthly fee but its rate needs an activity goal, while Plus and Premier give up to 3.0% APY and discounts on payment fees. Outstanding credit would tie the account to the lender.

What stands out
  • Interest on checking
  • Lending
  • Team logins
Where it costs you
  • The Standard interest rate depends on meeting a monthly activity goal
  • The best rate and fee discounts require the Plus or Premier tiers
Right for

US small businesses wanting interest on checking and a lender under one login

Wrong for

Owners who want the top interest rate without meeting activity goals

United StatesNo monthly fee on Standard; Plus and Premier tiers raise interest

#8 Mercury

Startup-oriented checking with paid plans for invoicing and account management

Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Business Bank Accounts in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Mercury is easy to start and hard to price wrongly: the core account is $0 a month and includes free USD wires, checks and real-time payments. Paid tiers cover narrower needs: ACH debit invoicing, a relationship manager and NetSuite categorisation.

Its Books accounting product is priced separately and currently waived. Treasury needs a large balance. Because accounts are provided through partner banks, confirm which bank holds your money and how statements are exported.

What stands out
  • Startup focus
  • Treasury
  • Partner banks
Where it costs you
  • Treasury is available only above a 250,000 dollar balance
  • Deposits sit with partner banks, so Mercury is not the account holder of record
Right for

Software and online businesses wanting a zero-cost account that adds paid features later

Wrong for

Businesses needing multi-currency accounts or interest on small balances

Not stated by the vendorFree account with paid Plus and Pro plans, published monthly or annually

#9 Starling Bank Business

UK bank account for companies and sole traders with no monthly fee

Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Business Bank Accounts in 2026.

Pricing on requestEurope

Starling is the only UK entry here that is a bank in its own right, registered in England and Wales and regulated by the FCA and PRA. The business account is separate from a sole trader account.

Accounting Essentials and Making Tax Digital tools are included, with invoicing and VAT returns marked as tools where fees may apply. Foreign currency moves between its accounts cost 0.4% plus the exchange rate margin, so heavy overseas payers should compare.

What stands out
  • UK bank
  • No monthly fee
  • Multi-currency
Where it costs you
  • Fees apply to certain tools and features beyond the account itself
  • The proposition is built around UK tax and HMRC tools
Right for

UK limited companies and sole traders wanting a bank account without a monthly fee

Wrong for

Companies registered outside the UK needing local accounts

United KingdomNo monthly fee; charges apply to certain tools and features

#10 Wise Business

Multi-currency account priced per conversion after a one-off set-up fee

Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Business Bank Accounts in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

Wise Business suits companies that move money across borders, because the price is per use rather than monthly: a single set-up fee, then conversion and sending fees from 0.24% that vary by currency.

Account details come in 22 currencies, and receiving domestic payments in several of them has no fee. The costs appear in fixed per-payment charges for USD wires and Swift, and in ATM use. Wise Payments Limited is authorised by the FCA as an e-money institution.

What stands out
  • 22 currencies
  • Per-use fees
  • Cross-border
Where it costs you
  • Receiving USD wire and Swift payments carries a fixed fee per payment
  • ATM withdrawals above 250 pounds a month cost 2.69% of the extra amount
Right for

Exporters and agencies paying and receiving in several currencies

Wrong for

Companies wanting overdrafts, credit lines or a plain domestic current account

United KingdomPublished one-off set-up fee, then per-transfer and conversion fees

#11 Ramp

Corporate card and spend platform with a free plan and a banking tier

Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Business Bank Accounts in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Ramp's Free plan costs nothing per user, and the automation is strong enough that the free label is not a compromise: policy enforcement, receipt matching and sync with QuickBooks Online and Xero all work without a subscription.

Plus, at $15 per user a month plus a platform fee, adds NetSuite, Sage Intacct and more. The constraint is geographic. Ramp requires a US-registered business with $25,000 in a US bank account, so a European company cannot apply, even though local-currency cards are listed for 30+ countries.

What stands out
  • Corporate card
  • Spend control
  • Bill pay
Where it costs you
  • Applicant must be a US-registered business with $25,000 in a US bank account
  • NetSuite, Sage Intacct and local-currency cards sit on paid plans
Right for

A US company that wants strong automation on a free plan

Wrong for

A European employer

United StatesFree plan per user; Plus per user per month plus platform fee, published; Enterprise custom

#12 Brex

Corporate cards and business accounts, now a Capital One subsidiary

Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Business Bank Accounts in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Brex suits a funded company that wants cards, spend controls and a business account on one platform. Essentials is free and Premium is published at $12 per user a month, with multi-entity support and ERP integrations only in Premium and above.

Brex LLC is a wholly owned subsidiary of Capital One, N.A., so check how that ownership fits your own plans. Its history of changing who it serves is the real risk for a small company.

What stands out
  • Corporate cards
  • Capital One owned
  • Multi-entity
Where it costs you
  • Has repeatedly changed who it will serve
  • Small businesses have been dropped before
Right for

A venture-backed company with cash on the balance sheet

Wrong for

A bootstrapped small business

United StatesFree tier per user; Premium per user per month, published; Enterprise custom
06

How to choose business bank accounts software

A business bank account is a deposit account in a company's name, used to receive customer payments, pay costs and keep business money apart from the owner's personal funds. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.

  1. 01

    Decide whether you need a published price

    10 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 2 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Qonto, Tide, Found, Relay, Novo, Lili, Mercury, Wise Business, Ramp, Brex.

  2. 02

    Decide how much the jurisdiction matters

    These 12 vendors are established in 4 countries across 3 regions (North America 4, Europe 4, Elsewhere 4). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.

Who actually holds the money: partner banks and licences

Most accounts on this list are not banks. Mercury, Relay, Novo, Bluevine, Found and Lili each say they are a financial technology company, with deposits held at partner banks such as Choice Financial Group and Column N.A., Thread Bank, Middlesex Federal Savings, Coastal Community Bank, Lead Bank and Sunrise Banks. Tide says it is not a bank and uses ClearBank, while Starling Bank Business is the one entry operated by an authorised bank.

This matters when something goes wrong, because the protection and the statements come from the partner. It also matters at exit: moving a company means closing a relationship with a bank you may never have read about. Read the footer of every vendor page before you apply, and note whose name sits on the deposit agreement.

  • Find the partner bank named in each vendor's footer and read its deposit insurance terms.
  • Ask whether statements and transaction history can be exported in full before closing.
  • Check whether a single partner bank failure would freeze your account.

Plan ladders: what a zero-cost tier leaves out

Nearly every vendor here advertises an account with no monthly fee and then sells the useful part higher up. Lili puts expense and tax management in Pro and invoicing and bookkeeping in Smart. Relay gives the lowest savings rate and cash back on Starter, with Grow and Scale paying more.

Found pays interest only on Plus and Pro, and Mercury keeps ACH debit invoicing and a relationship manager for Plus and Pro. Bluevine's Standard rate depends on a monthly activity goal. The honest comparison is therefore between the tier you will actually use, not the headline. Write down the five features you need, find the cheapest tier containing all of them, and add the intro-price expiry date.

  • List the features you need and map each to the lowest tier containing it.
  • Note when introductory prices end, as Lili's do after three months.
  • Compare the interest rate at your real average balance, not the maximum rate.

Currencies and cross-border payments: where fees appear

A domestic account looks cheap until you pay a supplier abroad. Wise Business charges a set-up fee and then per-conversion fees from 0.24%, and receiving USD wire or Swift payments adds a fixed fee. Tide charges a 2.75% FX fee on international card payments on its entry plan, removed from the first paid tier.

Starling adds a 0.4% fee on top of the exchange rate between its multi-currency accounts. Qonto sells euro accounts across eight European markets and lists cheaper international payments in its top tier. Novo's checking page does not mention foreign currency at all. Tally your last twelve months of foreign payments by currency, then price them at each vendor.

  • Count monthly foreign payments by currency and size.
  • Ask which tier removes the FX fee on card spending abroad.
  • Check whether incoming Swift or wire payments are charged per payment.

Spend platforms or accounts: Brex and Ramp

Brex and Ramp are built around corporate cards and approval flows, with banking attached. Ramp's pricing page lists a Free plan, Plus at a monthly fee per user plus a platform fee based on team size, and a custom Enterprise tier, so the bill grows with headcount. Brex prices Essentials at zero per user, Premium per user, and Enterprise by negotiation.

Brex LLC also states it is a wholly owned subsidiary of Capital One, N.A., which matters for a buyer who wanted an independent vendor. Neither is a natural fit for a one-person business. They make sense when many employees spend and finance needs controls. Compare them against Relay or Bluevine only if several cards and approvals are required.

  • Count how many people will hold a card and need approval rules.
  • Check ownership of the vendor, since Brex is owned by Capital One.
  • Model per-user and platform fees at your headcount for a year.

What goes wrong most often when buying business bank accounts software

  • Choosing on the headline interest rate without checking whether it needs a higher tier or an activity goal.
  • Treating a fintech as a bank and missing that deposits sit with a partner bank.
  • Ignoring foreign-exchange and wire fees until the first overseas invoice arrives.
  • Picking a spend platform such as Brex or Ramp when the business only needs a checking account.
07

Frequently asked questions

6 answers
What is the best business bank accounts in 2026?

Qonto leads our ranking of 12. Qonto prices its account in three published tiers and lists the add-ons separately, so the real cost is easy to work out before opening.

It says it was made in France in 2017 and operates in eight European markets. The lowest tier leaves out cash-flow forecasting and accountant access, which start one tier up, and the interest rate on the middle tier drops after two months.

Which business bank accounts tools publish their pricing?

10 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:

  • Qonto: Published monthly plans in three tiers, billed annually, with a one-month trial; paid add-ons for invoicing.
  • Tide: Free plan with no plan fee; Smart, Pro and Max tiers published monthly or annually.
  • Found: Free plan with paid Plus and Pro tiers published monthly or yearly.
  • Relay: Free Starter plan; Grow and Scale tiers published monthly with a 14-day trial.
  • Novo: Free business checking with no monthly fee; other features sold separately.
  • Lili: Free Core plan; Pro, Smart and Premium tiers published monthly with a 30-day trial.
  • Mercury: Free account with paid Plus and Pro plans, published monthly or annually.
  • Wise Business: Published one-off set-up fee, then per-transfer and conversion fees.
  • Ramp: Free plan per user; Plus per user per month plus platform fee, published; Enterprise custom.
  • Brex: Free tier per user; Premium per user per month, published; Enterprise custom.

The other 2 quote per organisation.

Is there a free business bank accounts tool?

Tide, Found, Relay, Novo, Lili, Mercury, Ramp, Brex offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.

Where are these business bank accounts vendors established?

In 4 countries across 3 regions: North America 4, Europe 4, Elsewhere 4.

  • Qonto: France.
  • Tide: United Kingdom.
  • Found: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Relay: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Novo: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Lili: United States.
  • Bluevine: United States.
  • Mercury: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Starling Bank Business: United Kingdom.
  • Wise Business: United Kingdom.
  • Ramp: United States.
  • Brex: United States.
What should you use instead of Qonto?

Tide and Found are the next two on this page. Tide is for UK sole traders and small limited companies starting on a plan without a fee; Found is for US freelancers and sole proprietors who want bookkeeping and tax tools inside the account.

Who should not buy Qonto?

Businesses that need US dollar accounts and US-style ACH. Cash-flow forecasting and accountant access are not in the lowest tier.

—

Tools reviewed

12 products
—

More People & Finance software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

If your business bank accounts product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.

Suggest a product →