Policy tools are bought to prove that people read the rules, and judged on a demo of a document library.
This guide ranks twelve products on what an auditor will ask: who wrote the text, which version each person signed, how much the extras cost once single sign-on and portals are added, and whether the approval trail leaves with you.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What policy management software does
Policy management software stores an organisation's policies and procedures, routes drafts through review and approval, publishes the current version to staff, and records who acknowledged it and when.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each policy management tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Microsoft 365 organisations that want policy workflow without moving documents
Companies without SharePoint Online or planning to leave Microsoft 365
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Cloud policy software sold in three tiers, with extras priced separately
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Policy Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The pricing page lists features per tier and asks you to request a custom quote, promised within one business day. Training sessions scale with the tier: two, six or twelve one-hour sessions in the first six months.
Reminders, e-signature and import sit in every tier, while testing, automated reporting and document comparison appear only higher up. Price the optional items before you sign, because they decide the final figure.
What stands out
Policy-first
Three tiers
Extras priced apart
Where it costs you
The tier table caps document categories at 1, 2 or 4 depending on the tier, which a large policy library can outgrow.
Multi-language, single sign-on, public portal, forms and the open API are optional items quoted separately from the tier.
Right for
Mid-sized organisations that want policy and procedure control without buying a wider GRC suite
Wrong for
Buyers who need a published price before talking to sales
United StatesThree tiers, quoted per organisation; optional items priced individually
Modular GRC platform with a published starting price per module
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Policy Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The pricing page says most customers are onboarded in a couple of weeks and that a proof of concept is possible during the sale. Plans can be upgraded mid-term but downgraded only at renewal.
Payment is preferably by wire transfer, and non-profits get a stated discount. The Pro suite bundles compliance, risk, policy, audit and case modules, so a buyer who only wants policies should check how modules are priced separately.
What stands out
PolicyOps module
Published price
12-month minimum
Where it costs you
Pro includes a single admin seat, so a policy team with several editors moves to a higher plan.
Single sign-on, custom domain and custom login page are listed only in the quoted Enterprise suite.
Right for
Small and mid-sized teams that want a stated price and a short onboarding
Wrong for
Organisations that need single sign-on without an enterprise contract
United StatesModules published from a monthly figure; annual contract; free trial
Security compliance platform whose policy library comes on every plan
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Policy Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Hicomply's plans page lists Essentials and Professional with annual prices in pounds or dollars, and says expert support is included in every plan.
The policy feature is described as a centralised library with approvals and reminders, plus templates and guided workflows for creating policies. Everything else on the platform is aimed at audit evidence, so the value shrinks if you never certify against a standard.
What stands out
ISMS platform
Published tiers
Policy library
Where it costs you
The product is organised around security frameworks, so general HR or operations policies get little structure.
Only Essentials and Professional are priced publicly; Enterprise is on application after a demo.
Right for
Security teams that need policies mapped to ISO 27001 or SOC 2 controls
Wrong for
Teams wanting a standalone policy library without framework tooling
United KingdomEssentials and Professional published annually; Enterprise on application
Information security policy templates and tracking for community banks
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Policy Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The policies page lists unlimited policies, categories and user accounts, category-specific access roles, a revision and approval log and downloads in Microsoft Word and Adobe PDF for boards and examiners.
An acceptable use policy course can be generated from your policy text. Pricing is by quote request. Because the content library is information security only, other policy families rely on your own writing.
What stands out
Bank-focused
Policy templates
Word and PDF export
Where it costs you
Template language is supplied for information security only; custom categories are tracked but not written for you.
The tooling and examples are written for financial institutions, which limits fit elsewhere.
Right for
Community banks and credit unions writing information security policies for examiners
Wrong for
Non-financial companies needing HR, safety or operational policy content
United StatesQuoted per institution; demo and quote request
Policy and document management inside a financial-sector GRC suite
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Policy Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Quantivate's policy page lists a searchable library, distribution with an in-software viewer and email notices, task reminders and a report builder.
Policies can be mapped to laws, risks, controls, audit findings, vendors and contracts, which pays off if you run the other GRC modules and adds little if you only need a document library. The company states a Nashville, Tennessee headquarters.
What stands out
Attestation portal
Employee testing
Financial sector
Where it costs you
Customers named on the site are banks, credit unions, mortgage and insurance firms, so other sectors get less evidence of fit.
No price or trial is shown; the route is a demo request.
Right for
Financial institutions that need attestation, testing and exception handling in one workflow
Wrong for
Buyers who want to see a price before booking a call
United StatesQuoted per organisation; demo request
Pre-written public safety policies with updates and daily training
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Policy Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The platform page lists pre-written policies, automated updates, centralised policy manuals, compliance reporting, documented acknowledgments and training completion tracking. Daily training bulletins, started in 2003, tie scenarios to policy text.
Offices are listed in Frisco, Texas and Gold River, California. Because the content is the product, switching later means rebuilding the manual elsewhere, and the pages seen do not describe an export of it.
What stands out
Public safety
Written policies
Daily training
Where it costs you
It sells Lexipol-authored policy content for public safety, so it suits agencies adopting that content more than teams writing their own.
The pages seen show no prices; the route is a demo request.
Right for
Police, fire and corrections agencies that want written policies maintained for them
Wrong for
Private companies and teams that author their own policies
Policy module linked to controls inside a framework-driven GRC platform
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Policy Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The policy page describes central version management, collaborative editing, approval coordination with automatic evidence, and the ability to connect policies to controls and frameworks. The site cites over 350 organisations and 160-plus frameworks.
A Seattle address appears in the footer. If you do not run audits against frameworks, the cross-linking is overhead rather than value, and the policy editor itself is not the reason to buy.
What stands out
Controls linkage
LiveSyncs
160+ frameworks
Where it costs you
The policy module is part of a larger GRC platform, so a team that wants only a document lifecycle pays for scope it will not use.
No prices appear on the pages seen; buying starts with a demo or proposal request.
Right for
Compliance teams that must show which control each policy version supports
Wrong for
Teams wanting a plain policy library with acknowledgments only
United StatesProposal or demo request; no prices shown
Policy and procedure module inside a broad risk and safety platform
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Policy Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The solution page lists policy management, issues management for gaps in the policy programme, a central searchable library with role-based access, and attestation with automated reminders linked to each policy.
The company lists offices in Chicago and London. Because policy data lives alongside risk and incident records, reporting across them is the draw, not the policy editor itself. Check how much of the workflow you can change without vendor help.
What stands out
Risk platform
Attestation
Version control
Where it costs you
It is sold as part of a wider risk platform; the policy page offers no standalone figure.
No prices were found on the pages seen; the route is a demo request.
Right for
Risk and compliance teams already running other modules on the same platform
Wrong for
Small teams that only need a document library
United StatesQuoted via demo request; no prices shown
Policy governance with AI-assisted translation, tied to training and attestation
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Policy Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The product page walks through create or import, collaborate and translate, publish and attest, then monitor. Templates are available, and external reviewers can join the approval process.
LRN says it has worked with organisations since 1994 and lists offices in New York City, London, Mumbai and Costa Rica among others, without naming a headquarters. The value rises with the number of languages you operate in.
What stands out
70+ languages
Review reminders
Training linked
Where it costs you
Publishing and attestation connect to Catalyst Reach, so the full lifecycle expects more than one LRN product.
No prices are published; the contact page promises help finding products and pricing.
Right for
Multinational ethics and compliance teams managing localised policies in many languages
Wrong for
Single-country organisations with a short, stable policy set
Not stated by the vendorQuoted via demo; no prices shown
Policy module sold inside ethics and compliance bundles
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Policy Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The policy page names a central policy library, automated workflows and approvals, policy attestations and AI-enhanced summaries, with the aim of connecting policies to training. Bundles are called Essentials, Professional and Enterprise, and the Enterprise bundle lets you pick modules.
The company lists a Chicago address. Expect scope and implementation effort well beyond a document library, because the same contract covers whistleblower, training and disclosure modules.
What stands out
Bundled modules
Attestations
AI summaries
Where it costs you
Every package bundles whistleblower, training and conflict modules, so the policy module cannot be bought alone from the pricing page.
Prices are on request only.
Right for
Ethics and compliance programmes that want policies, training and disclosures together
Wrong for
Buyers who need only a policy repository at a small scale
United StatesBundles quoted on request; policy management included in each
Public safety policy management with accreditation and training suites
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Policy Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The policy page lists AI-powered search, side-by-side colour-coded comparison of versions, review and approval workflows, e-signature tracking and a public-facing open records site.
The trust page states data is hosted in US data centres on AWS GovCloud and that data can be exported at any time. The contact page gives NEOGOV's address in El Segundo, California, so ownership sits with a public-sector software group.
What stands out
Public safety
Annual subscription
Accreditation
Where it costs you
Price depends on agency size, product choice and integrations, and none is published.
The site, case studies and procurement pages target public safety, so non-government fit is thinly evidenced.
Right for
Public safety agencies that need policies, accreditation and training in one place
Wrong for
Commercial companies looking for a general corporate policy tool
Policy app that installs on Microsoft 365 SharePoint Online
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Policy Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The product pages describe drafting with templates in Word Online, version history and audit trails, approval workflows, a policy library and attestation. The site says a dedicated implementation specialist and customer success manager are included.
Contact details list Houston, Texas as headquarters, with a Katy, Texas street address. Ownership by a larger group means roadmap decisions now sit with Ideagen.
What stands out
SharePoint Online
Ideagen-owned
Word Online drafting
Where it costs you
It runs on Microsoft 365 SharePoint Online, so organisations outside that stack cannot use it.
The product name is changing to Ideagen Compliance, and no prices are shown.
Right for
Microsoft 365 organisations that want policy workflow without moving documents
Wrong for
Companies without SharePoint Online or planning to leave Microsoft 365
United StatesQuoted via demo request; no prices shown
Policy management software stores an organisation's policies and procedures, routes drafts through review and approval, publishes the current version to staff, and records who acknowledged it and when. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
2 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 10 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: VComply, Hicomply.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 3 countries across 3 regions (North America 10, Europe 1, Elsewhere 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Pre-written policy content versus a place to store yours
Policy tools split into two groups that buyers treat as one. Lexipol sells the policy text for public safety agencies, with updates you accept when laws change. Tandem supplies forty or more information security policy templates through a questionnaire, and Hicomply offers templates and guided workflows.
ComplianceBridge, Quantivate and Origami Risk mainly give you a lifecycle for documents you write, with approval, versioning and attestation. If your team has a policy writer, content is a cost you are paying for twice. If it does not, a storage tool leaves the hardest work undone. Ask each vendor who writes the first draft, who keeps it current, and what happens to the text if you leave. Put the answers in writing.
Ask who writes and updates the policy text, the vendor or your team.
Check which policy families the templates cover; Tandem's are information security only.
Ask whether vendor-written content stays usable if you cancel.
Tiers, bundles and optional items change the price
Few vendors here publish a full price. VComply lists modules from a monthly figure, but single sign-on and a custom domain sit in its quoted Enterprise suite. Hicomply prints Essentials and Professional prices and leaves Enterprise on application. ComplianceBridge sells Silver, Gold and Platinum and prices multi-language, forms, single sign-on, public portal and the open API individually.
SAI360 sells policy management inside ethics and compliance bundles. Compare what you need on day one against what each quote includes, and write the optional items into the order before signing. A buyer who needs authentication and a public portal can find the cheap tier is the wrong one, and the gap only shows up when the first quote arrives.
List the extras you need on day one and have each quoted in writing.
Ask whether single sign-on is in the plan you are quoted.
Ask what a second admin seat or an extra category costs.
Attestation is evidence only if the record is complete
Every product in this list collects acknowledgments, and the difference is what the record proves. Quantivate adds employee policy testing and exception requests through a self-service portal. LRN routes attestation through Catalyst Reach and links it to training. SAI360 adds AI summaries shown while employees review. PowerDMS records e-signatures and lets reviewers compare versions side by side before signing.
An auditor will ask who read which version, when, and whether they understood it, and a plain list of ticks does not answer the last part. Test one policy end to end during the trial, and make the test hard on purpose: publish it, chase a late reader, record an exception, issue a revised version and see what the report shows for the old one.
Run one policy through publish, reminder, exception and revision before buying.
Check whether the report shows which version each person signed.
Ask whether comprehension testing is included or a separate module.
Where the documents live and how they leave
Policy libraries are small but contractually important, because the approval history is the evidence. ConvergePoint keeps documents in your own Microsoft 365 SharePoint Online tenant, so leaving means the files are already yours, though the workflow data needs its own export. PowerDMS states that data can be exported at any time. Tandem offers downloads in Word and PDF.
Hyperproof can pull documents in through LiveSyncs from cloud services, which keeps a copy elsewhere. Ask for an export of a test policy with its version log and approval trail, not just the final file, because a bare file does not show who approved it. Do this in the trial, not at renewal, when your leverage is gone and the vendor has no reason to help.
Export a test policy with its version history and approvals during the trial.
Ask where documents are stored and which regions the data centres sit in.
Ask whether the export format is included in the contract.
What goes wrong most often when buying policy management software
Buying a GRC suite for a policy library, then using one module of it while paying for the rest.
Treating the tier price as the final price when single sign-on, public portal or multi-language are listed as extras.
Assuming acknowledgment equals understanding, when tools like Quantivate offer testing as a separate feature.
Forgetting the exit: approval trails that cannot leave with the documents leave you without audit evidence.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best policy management software in 2026?
ComplianceBridge leads our ranking of 12. A company that built its product around policies and procedures, with Silver, Gold and Platinum tiers and no prices on the page, only a quote form.
Editing works in Microsoft 365, Google Docs, PDF or an HTML editor. The catch is the optional list: multi-language, forms, single sign-on, public portal and the open API are priced individually, so the tier price is not the real price.
Which policy management tools publish their pricing?
2 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
VComply: Modules published from a monthly figure; annual contract; free trial.
Hicomply: Essentials and Professional published annually; Enterprise on application.
The other 10 quote per organisation.
Is there a free policy management tool?
No. None of the 12 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these policy management software vendors established?
In 3 countries across 3 regions: North America 10, Europe 1, Elsewhere 1.
ComplianceBridge: United States.
VComply: United States.
Hicomply: United Kingdom.
Tandem: United States.
Quantivate: United States.
Lexipol: United States.
Hyperproof: United States.
Origami Risk: United States.
LRN: Not stated by the vendor.
SAI360: United States.
PowerDMS: United States.
ConvergePoint: United States.
What should you use instead of ComplianceBridge?
VComply and Hicomply are the next two on this page. VComply is for small and mid-sized teams that want a stated price and a short onboarding; Hicomply is for Security teams that need policies mapped to ISO 27001 or SOC 2 controls.
Who should not buy ComplianceBridge?
Buyers who need a published price before talking to sales. The tier table caps document categories at 1, 2 or 4 depending on the tier, which a large policy library can outgrow..
If your policy management software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.