Mind mapping tools look alike until the free tier fills up.
This guide ranks twelve of them on what happens after ninety days: how many maps the free plan holds, whether a paid plan renews itself, which platforms the files open on, and whether a map can leave as an ordinary file. Smaller single-product vendors rank above portfolio suites.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What mind mapping software does
Mind mapping software lets users lay out ideas as branching diagrams around a central topic, then link, annotate, restructure and share those maps for planning, note-taking and brainstorming.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each mind mapping tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Annual licence per user; one-time purchase option; 30-day trial
—
Organisations already standardised on Windows desktop tools and Microsoft Teams
Individuals wanting a free or low-cost mapper
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Single-purpose mind mapper from Timisoara with offline desktop apps
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Mind Mapping Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Mindomo is built and sold by Expert Software Application SRL, a Romanian company with a single flagship product. Three diagrams are free, with unlimited collaborators on them.
Premium includes the desktop app, and data is hosted in Germany with daily backups to a second data centre. Because plans do not auto-renew, you must renew by hand, and a lapsed plan is your own risk to manage.
What stands out
Offline desktop apps
Free tier
Prepaid, no auto-renew
Where it costs you
The free tier holds three diagrams, and AI map generation is limited to a single credit.
Paid plans have no trial; refunds within 14 days need a detailed reason.
Right for
Individuals and small teams wanting desktop apps that keep working offline, on prepaid terms
Apple-only mind mapper from a Vienna company, free to start
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Mind Mapping Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
IdeasOnCanvas GmbH lists a Vienna address on its imprint and builds software as its stated business. The free tier keeps import and export, which matters for exit.
Plus is priced monthly or yearly in US dollars and includes Apple Intelligence features, collaboration and Apple Watch support. A legacy MindNode Classic app for Mac and iOS comes with any subscription, so older files stay openable.
What stands out
Apple platforms only
Free app
Subscription via App Store
Where it costs you
It is available only on Apple devices, so mixed-platform teams cannot use it.
Collaboration and outlining sit behind the Plus subscription, and the trial length is not stated.
Right for
Mac and iPhone users who want a tidy personal mapper with a usable free app
Wrong for
Teams that include Windows or Android users
AustriaFree app; Plus subscription monthly or yearly, published
Browser-based collaborative diagrams from a small UK company
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Mind Mapping Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
CoggleIt Limited is registered in England and Wales. The Awesome plan is a flat monthly charge for unlimited private diagrams, while Organisation is billed per member.
Mind maps and flowcharts share the same editor, which suits mixed documentation. The homepage mentions version history, but the pages I read do not describe export formats, so test exit before committing a library of maps.
What stands out
Browser-based
Free tier
Per-member pricing
Where it costs you
The free tier limits you to three private diagrams, and public diagrams are open to others.
The pricing page lists no trial, and hosting location is not stated.
Right for
Small teams wanting a plain browser mapper with shared editing and low monthly cost
Wrong for
Users who need desktop software or offline editing
United KingdomFree tier; per month per plan or per member, published
Fast browser mapper with a three-map free tier and flat plans
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Mind Mapping Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The site shows Mindmup Ltd as trademark owner and Mindmup, Inc. in the copyright line, and names no country, so jurisdiction is unclear. Personal and Team plans unlock unlimited maps, with real-time collaboration on Team.
AI credits are listed per plan but marked soon. The SSO requirement on the Organization plan means you cannot use that tier without Google or Microsoft accounts.
What stands out
Browser-based
Free tier
SSO on top plan
Where it costs you
Starter caps you at three maps and marks presentations with a watermark.
The desktop app is listed as coming soon, so offline use is not available.
Right for
Individuals and school teams wanting a simple browser mapper on flat plans
Wrong for
Buyers needing an offline app or a stated company location
Not stated by the vendorFree tier; per month per plan, billed annually, published
Free-form note and connection mapper from the makers of Scrivener
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Mind Mapping Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Literature & Latte states its headquarters are in Cornwall, UK and that it was founded in 2006. The store sells a standard licence and an educational licence for each of macOS and Windows, each described as a download product.
The current releases listed are 1.5.4 for macOS 10.15 or later and 1.4.2 for 64-bit Windows 10 or later. A licence on one platform does not cover the other.
What stands out
Desktop only
Licence per platform
30-day trial
Where it costs you
It has no browser version, so it cannot be used from a shared or locked-down machine.
The pages do not describe real-time collaboration, so group mapping is outside its scope.
Right for
Writers and researchers who want a free-form canvas rather than a branching tree
Open source desktop mapper with scripting, no commercial vendor
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Mind Mapping Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The GitHub repository describes Freeplane as free and open source software for mind mapping, knowledge management and project management, under GPL-2.0. The documentation lists conditional node styles, LaTeX, formulas and a scripting reference.
Its AI integration chapters cover chat workflows and a Model Context Protocol server. Because nothing hosted is sold, exit is simple, but the scripting depth means a learning curve for ordinary users.
What stands out
Open source
GPL-2.0
Scripting
Where it costs you
No vendor is listed, so there is no support contract or sales contact.
The pages I read describe no hosted sharing service for teams.
Right for
Technical users who want scripting and permanent control over their own map files
Wrong for
Teams needing a hosted, shared editing service
Not stated by the vendorFree open source software under GPL-2.0
Cross-platform mapper sold as a single purchase per platform
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Mind Mapping Software in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestElsewhere
SimpleApps sells a free edition with limited functionality, a Pro edition and a trial edition. The free edition is available on iPad, iPhone and Android with no ads and no registration.
The Pro edition covers Mac, Windows, iPad, iPhone and Android. Maps can be shared as PDF files, and features include free-form and auto layouts and over fifteen style sheets. Prices sit on a separate page that I did not see.
What stands out
Single purchase
Cross-platform
No subscriptions
Where it costs you
Each platform is bought separately, so a user on Mac and Android pays twice.
The pages I read show no real-time collaboration and no company country.
Right for
Individuals who dislike subscriptions and use several devices
Wrong for
Teams needing shared editing or a named jurisdiction
Not stated by the vendorSingle purchase per platform; 30-day trial edition
Mapper on desktop and mobile with credit-metered AI tools
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Mind Mapping Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The free plan caps online maps at ten, keeps three days of version history and gives 50 AI credits. Pro adds advanced features; Premium adds collaboration, cloud storage and 500 monthly credits.
A seven-day Premium trial exists but only on yearly billing. The about page claims over 100 million users, a figure I cannot check. Refunds apply to yearly web purchases within seven days only.
What stands out
Desktop and mobile
Free tier
AI credits
Where it costs you
Free and Pro plans lack the text-to-map and summarising functions that Premium has.
AI credits run out monthly, so heavy use raises the plan you need.
Right for
Individuals who want a desktop and mobile mapper with optional AI generation
Wrong for
Anyone needing collaboration without paying for the top plan
Not stated by the vendorFree tier; monthly or yearly plans, published
Mind maps, whiteboards and task boards in one subscription
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Mind Mapping Software in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestEurope
OpenGenius was established in 2006 and is headquartered at Tec Marina in Wales. Ayoa launched in 2019 and describes itself as neuroinclusive, with support for dyslexia, ADHD and autism.
Ultimate is billed per user per month, with a three-year option marketed as three years for the price of two. Exports go to documents, PDFs and images. Educator discounts require booking a demo.
What stands out
Mind maps and tasks
Annual or 3-year billing
Neuroinclusive design
Where it costs you
The free plan is personal use only and limits you to ten maps.
Prices were not visible on the pricing page I read.
Right for
Neurodivergent users and small teams combining mapping with simple task tracking
Wrong for
Buyers who only want a plain mapper
United KingdomUltimate per user per month, annual or three-year billing; 7-day trial
Online mapper with AI generation, from the MeisterLabs portfolio
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Mind Mapping Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
MeisterLabs GmbH is shown in a German imprint, signed by its managing director. Personal, Pro and Business cost progressively more per user, with Pro adding unlimited attachments and Google Workspace integration.
Presentation mode, outline mode and exports to PDF, Word and PowerPoint appear on the homepage. No trial is mentioned, and regional pricing means the checkout figure can differ from the page.
What stands out
Hosted in Germany
Free tier
AI map generation
Where it costs you
The free plan allows only three maps, and Personal caps attachments at two per map.
SAML SSO on Business is arranged through sales rather than self-serve.
Right for
Teams already using MeisterTask that want shared maps with admin controls
Wrong for
Individuals needing more than three maps for no cost
Creative boards for moodboards that can also host mind maps
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Mind Mapping Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The pricing page lists a free tier, a per-person plan billed annually or monthly, and a team plan for a block of ten people. Paid plans remove the item and upload limits.
Mind-mapping appears under Productivity in the navigation next to whiteboarding and note-taking. Download links exist for mobile, iPad, desktop and a web clipper. The site gives a support email but no postal address.
What stands out
Visual boards
Free tier
Team plan flat rate
Where it costs you
The free plan stops at 100 items and ten uploads, which a large map exceeds.
The company country and mind map specific features are not stated on the pages I read.
Right for
Designers and writers who mix mind maps with images and moodboards
Wrong for
Buyers who need dedicated mind map structure and outlining
Not stated by the vendorFree tier; per person per month, published
Corel-owned business mapper with desktop, web and Teams editions
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Mind Mapping Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Mindjet MindManager joined Corel in August 2016, and the page lists MindManager.com at a Dublin, California address. Editions include Windows and Mac desktop, web, Teams, Chromebook, and a MindManager Go viewing app.
Prices are per user or per licence and shown with VAT. Student and educator pricing is listed separately. Because the vendor is a large corporation, support and roadmap decisions are made inside a bigger portfolio.
What stands out
Desktop and web
Owned by Corel
30-day trial
Where it costs you
No free plan exists, only a 30-day trial.
Prices were not visible on the page, and Enterprise terms require talking to sales.
Right for
Organisations already standardised on Windows desktop tools and Microsoft Teams
Wrong for
Individuals wanting a free or low-cost mapper
United StatesAnnual licence per user; one-time purchase option; 30-day trial
Mind mapping software lets users lay out ideas as branching diagrams around a central topic, then link, annotate, restructure and share those maps for planning, note-taking and brainstorming. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
8 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 4 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Mindomo, MindNode, Coggle, MindMup, Freeplane, Xmind, MindMeister, Milanote.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 6 countries across 3 regions (Europe 6, Elsewhere 5, North America 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
1 of these are open source: Freeplane. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
The free tier is a map counter, not a trial
Almost every mapper here gives away a plan, and almost every one counts maps. Mindomo, Coggle and MindMup each stop at three, MindMeister at three, Ayoa at ten, Xmind at ten online maps, and Milanote counts items instead, at one hundred. A student can live inside those walls; a consultant with a map per client cannot.
Coggle adds a twist: the free tier is unlimited for public diagrams, so the limit is really on privacy. MindNode and Freeplane work differently, because the first is a free app with paid extras and the second has no plan to hit. Count the maps you made last quarter before you trust a free plan.
Count how many separate maps you created in the last ninety days.
Check whether the cap is on maps, items or private diagrams.
Open the free plan's export menu before you build anything large.
Where the file lives when the subscription stops
Subscription mappers keep your thinking in their database, so a lapsed plan is a hostage situation. Freeplane stores maps as files you control, under the GPL-2.0 licence. SimpleMind sells a single purchase per platform with no subscription, and Scapple sells a licence per platform.
Mindomo is unusual in the other direction: plans are prepaid and do not auto-renew, so you find out about expiry by email, not by invoice. MindNode keeps import and export in its free app, which helps exit. For Ayoa, Xmind and MindManager the pages I read describe plan limits, not export terms, so ask before committing.
Ask what formats a lapsed free account can still export.
Find out whether renewal is automatic or by hand.
Keep a local copy of every map you cannot afford to lose.
Platform lock decides more teams than features do
Mind maps are often made on whichever device is closest, so platform coverage matters more than a feature list. MindNode runs only on Apple devices. Scapple exists for macOS and Windows but not for browsers or phones. Coggle, MindMeister and MindMup are browser tools, and Mindomo adds desktop apps for Windows, macOS and Linux that work offline.
Xmind covers Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS and Android, with one subscription for up to five computers and five mobile devices. SimpleMind charges per platform, so owning it on three platforms means three purchases. A team with one Linux laptop or one Android phone has already ruled out some of these.
List every operating system your team actually uses, including phones.
Test the browser version on the slowest machine you own.
Check whether offline editing is included in the plan you would buy.
Pay for the mapper or pay for the suite
Some products here are mapping and nothing else; others are a mapper bolted to a larger toolset. Ayoa combines maps, whiteboards and task boards in one subscription. MindMeister belongs to MeisterLabs, which also makes MeisterTask. Milanote is a creative board that includes mind mapping, and MindManager sits inside Corel.
Mindomo, Coggle and MindNode make one thing. The extra tools are useful if you would otherwise buy them, and dead weight if you would not, since the per-user price pays for everything. Teams that only need to capture thinking before it moves into a task tracker should price the cheapest plan that exports cleanly.
Write down which extra tools you would genuinely stop paying for elsewhere.
Compare per-user prices against a mapper plus your existing task tracker.
Ask who owns the product and whether it shares a roadmap with others.
What goes wrong most often when buying mind mapping software
Choosing a mapper on its template gallery, when the real question is how many maps the free plan holds before Mindomo, MindMeister or Xmind ask for payment.
Buying a per-platform product such as SimpleMind or Scapple on one device and finding out later the licence does not cover the phone or the other operating system.
Assuming a plan renews itself, when Mindomo sells prepaid plans that expire unless someone renews them by hand.
Paying for Ayoa or MindManager for task and whiteboard features nobody opens, when the team only needed a map that exports.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best mind mapping software in 2026?
Mindomo leads our ranking of 12. A company that makes this one product, with its own desktop apps for Windows, macOS and Linux so maps stay editable when the connection drops. Plans are prepaid and do not renew by themselves, which removes the surprise invoice.
The free tier stops at three diagrams, and paid plans give no trial, only a 14-day refund window that requires a written reason. The published price list does not say which figure is monthly and which yearly.
Which mind mapping tools publish their pricing?
8 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Mindomo: Free tier; per month per plan, published.
MindNode: Free app; Plus subscription monthly or yearly, published.
Coggle: Free tier; per month per plan or per member, published.
MindMup: Free tier; per month per plan, billed annually, published.
Freeplane: Free open source software under GPL-2.0.
Xmind: Free tier; monthly or yearly plans, published.
MindMeister: Free tier; per user per month, published.
Milanote: Free tier; per person per month, published.
The other 4 quote per organisation.
Is there a free mind mapping tool?
Mindomo, MindNode, Coggle, MindMup, Freeplane, SimpleMind, Xmind, Ayoa, MindMeister, Milanote offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these mind mapping software vendors established?
In 6 countries across 3 regions: Europe 6, Elsewhere 5, North America 1.
Mindomo: Romania.
MindNode: Austria.
Coggle: United Kingdom.
MindMup: Not stated by the vendor.
Scapple: United Kingdom.
Freeplane: Not stated by the vendor.
SimpleMind: Not stated by the vendor.
Xmind: Not stated by the vendor.
Ayoa: United Kingdom.
MindMeister: Germany.
Milanote: Not stated by the vendor.
MindManager: United States.
Which mind mapping tools are open source?
Freeplane.
What should you use instead of Mindomo?
MindNode and Coggle are the next two on this page. MindNode is for Mac and iPhone users who want a tidy personal mapper with a usable free app; Coggle is for small teams wanting a plain browser mapper with shared editing and low monthly cost.
Who should not buy Mindomo?
Anyone who needs a trial of paid features first. The free tier holds three diagrams, and AI map generation is limited to a single credit..
If your mind mapping software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.