Staffing agencies buy a recruiting database, a billing engine, or both, and the two are priced very differently.
This guide ranks twelve products on what ninety days cost in setup hours, what the invoice becomes once automation and AI are added, whether data leaves cleanly, and how many outside parties stand between you and the vendor.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What staffing agency software does
Staffing agency software manages candidates, clients and job orders for firms that place workers, and in some products extends to timesheets, payroll and invoicing for temporary and contract placements.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each staffing agency tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Staffing agencies wanting recruiting and payroll in one platform
Recruiting firms that need only an ATS and CRM
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Recruiting CRM and ATS with a self-serve trial and posted rates
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Staffing Agency Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Crelate suits direct-hire and search firms that live in the CRM side of the business. Business Plus and above add automation, sequences and the full API, so the sticker price of the entry plans understates a mature desk.
The cap of 15 GB storage and 60 API requests a minute on Business matters only if you integrate heavily. Payroll must come from another system.
What stands out
Self-serve trial
Per-user plans
API limits by plan
Where it costs you
Essentials is capped at two users and 20,000 contacts, so a growing desk moves to Business quickly.
Premium resume parsing, storage and API requests are limited per plan, which a high-volume agency can hit.
The product is an ATS and CRM; the pricing page lists no payroll or billing module.
Right for
Small and mid-size search and staffing firms that want a trial before a demo
Wrong for
Agencies that need payroll and billing in the same system
United StatesPer user per month, published for two plans; larger plans quoted; free trial
Recruitment ATS and CRM with timesheets, priced per user monthly
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Staffing Agency Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Recruit CRM sells three tiers of per-user plans, billed monthly or annually with a stated saving up to 17 per cent on annual terms. Each seat brings a monthly credit allowance pooled across the account, and spending past it is how costs drift upward.
The vendor states the product covers contract staffing with timesheets and invoicing, which narrows the gap with heavier suites for small agencies.
What stands out
Published price
Free trial
Credit metering
Where it costs you
Features such as SMS, bulk texting and phone numbers draw down shared credits, so the bill depends on usage.
SSO, audit logs and the open API sit on the Business plan and above, not the entry plan.
Timesheets are a separate item on the product menu; the pricing page does not say which plan includes them.
Right for
Contract and permanent desks that want one published rate and a trial
Wrong for
Agencies with heavy SMS or enrichment use and no spare budget
Not stated by the vendorPer user per month, published for three plans; free trial; AI work metered in credits
One published per-user plan plus an AI plan priced in a conversation
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Staffing Agency Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Recruiterflow keeps the commercial model plain: a per-user subscription, monthly or annual billing, and no add-ons. The Platform plan includes multichannel sequences, API access and a Chrome extension for bulk sourcing.
What you do not get on that plan is the AI agent set, and the vendor says the AI plan needs a sales conversation, so the real price for an AI-led desk is unpublished.
What stands out
Single published plan
Demo only
Paid migration
Where it costs you
No trial is offered; the page sends visitors to book a demo.
White-glove data migration is a paid extra that typically takes six to eight weeks.
The AI agents, notetaker and BI dashboards sit on the custom-priced AIRA plan, not the posted one.
Right for
Recruiting agencies wanting one posted price and unlimited records
Wrong for
Buyers who need to test the product before talking to anyone
Not stated by the vendorPer user per month, published for one plan; AI plan quoted; demo only
Low per-user recruiting software with a 14-day trial
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Staffing Agency Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Manatal offers monthly and yearly billing, with the vendor charging net of tax except for Singapore residents, where GST applies. It lists offices in Singapore and Bangkok.
Its agency pages target executive search, staffing and recruitment agencies, but the plan comparison is built around jobs and candidates rather than temporary workers, so a temp desk would still need a payroll partner.
What stands out
Published price
14-day trial
Job and candidate caps
Where it costs you
The Professional plan allows up to 15 jobs and 10,000 candidates per account.
Workflow automation begins on the Enterprise plan, and SSO and the open API only on Enterprise Plus.
The pricing page lists no payroll, timesheet or billing function for temporary staffing.
Right for
Permanent recruitment agencies and freelancers watching every monthly cost
Wrong for
Temp agencies that must run timesheets and billing
Not stated by the vendorPer user per month, published for three plans; free trial; custom plan quoted
Recruiting CRM and ATS with AI agents metered in credits
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Staffing Agency Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Loxo's sales model combines seats with a credit allowance, 2,500 per seat per month on Professional, so a team that leans on its agents can exhaust the pool.
The vendor scopes complex migrations as fixed packages before signing and offers free migration to teams of three or more seats on Core. The pricing page states no headquarters or address.
What stands out
AI credits
7-day trial
Annual billing
Where it costs you
Billing is annual and paid up front.
Boosts for extra AI credits have no published price.
The Professional price is not clearly stated on the pricing page and requires a demo.
Right for
Recruiting teams that want AI sourcing and outreach inside the CRM
Wrong for
Buyers who want monthly billing or a fixed total cost
Not stated by the vendorPer user per month, published for one plan; higher plans quoted; 7-day trial
Agency platform sold by team size, on a quoted proposal
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Staffing Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
JobAdder describes headquarters in Sydney, Australia and a global workforce. Each tier adds capability: Essential brings e-signatures, calendar sync and GenAI enhancements, Pro adds database hygiene and marketing automations, a named success manager and a sandbox. Add-ons such as single sign-on and Broadbean job distribution are sold separately and unpriced.
What stands out
Quote-based
Plans by team size
SEEK subsidiary
Where it costs you
API and sandbox are not available on the Lite plan and are free only to Pro customers.
Lite is capped at five users.
JobAdder is a subsidiary member of the SEEK Group, so buying it means depending on a larger parent.
Right for
Agencies in Australia and elsewhere that want plans fitted to headcount
Wrong for
Buyers who want a posted price or a trial
AustraliaQuoted per agency by team size; demo, no trial
Recruitment CRM for UK agencies with contract, temp and permanent desks
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Staffing Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The pricing page says support and data migration are included, while onboarding costs vary with agency size and workflows. Module add-ons start from a per-module fee. The page does not say whether pricing is per user, only that it is shaped around users, workflows and packages. The headquarters is not stated on the pages read.
What stands out
UK agency focus
Quote-based
Module add-ons
Where it costs you
Temporary Workflow is only on the Enterprise tier.
Websites, portals, SMS and time capture are separate paid add-ons.
No trial is mentioned; the route in is a short call or a demo.
Right for
UK agencies with permanent and contract desks wanting a quoted package
Wrong for
Agencies outside the UK or buyers needing a posted price
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per agency by recruiters and modules; demo only
ATS, vendor management and workforce management in one staffing platform
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Staffing Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Ceipal positions itself as a Staffing OS, a single platform where data works across modules. It lists healthcare-specific credentialing and compliance, and invoicing.
Because the vendor shows no price, the true cost can only be learned by asking. The contact page names Ceipal Corp. in Rochester, New York and Ceipal Software Pvt. Ltd. with a registered office in Hyderabad.
What stands out
ATS plus VMS
Demo only
Healthcare module
Where it costs you
The pricing page lists no prices and offers a demo rather than a trial.
The platform bundles VMS and workforce management that a small agency may not need.
The vendor lists both a New York and a Hyderabad entity, so the contracting party needs checking.
Right for
Staffing firms and MSPs that need ATS and vendor management together
Wrong for
Small desks wanting a quick start and a visible price
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; demo only
Recruiting software with a free plan limited to one active job
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Staffing Agency Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The edition ladder is driven by active job count, not by seats, so a desk with many open roles hits limits sooner than one with many users.
Annual billing is stated to save two months, and a 45-day money-back guarantee covers paid editions. The pricing page itself shows no amounts in the version read, so cost has to be confirmed in the plan comparison.
What stands out
Free plan
Active-job tiers
15-day trial
Where it costs you
The free plan includes one active job.
The client portal and video interviews are paid add-ons per licence.
Data migration is priced separately from premium support.
Right for
Small teams already using other Zoho products
Wrong for
Agencies wanting a stand-alone product with payroll and billing
Not stated by the vendorFree plan with one active job; paid editions tiered by active jobs; 15-day trial
The large staffing suite, with two plans priced per user
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Staffing Agency Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The Core plan adds an app marketplace of 300 or more partners, custom fields and workflows, and LinkedIn integrations. AI search, a sales pipeline CRM and a dedicated account manager start on the quoted Pro plan.
Larger agencies' editions and add-ons all link to a quote. That structure rewards committed buyers and punishes anyone comparing prices.
What stands out
Two published plans
Quote-based tiers
Marketplace of partners
Where it costs you
Pro, Max and the middle-office products have no published price.
No free trial is mentioned; the pricing page offers a live demo.
The legal page lists several acquired entities, so the product portfolio is large and the buyer depends on one vendor for it.
Right for
Mid-size and large agencies needing a deep partner ecosystem
Wrong for
Small desks wanting a trial or a posted all-in price
United StatesPer user per month, published for two plans; others quoted; demo, no trial
All-in-one staffing software with payroll, billing and ATS
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Staffing Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The platform lists job management, onboarding, time management, ACA administration and geo check-in with facial recognition and QR clock-in. It lists a Bloomington, Minnesota address. That feature list is aimed at high-volume temporary work, so a permanent-placement boutique would pay for tools it never opens.
What stands out
Payroll and billing
Demo only
Mobile ATS
Where it costs you
The site shows no prices and offers a demo request, not a trial.
Payroll funding runs through a partner, Lone Oak Payroll, so a third party is part of the arrangement.
Leaving means unpicking payroll and billing together with the ATS.
Right for
Temporary staffing agencies running their own payroll and billing
Wrong for
Small search firms wanting a lightweight recruiting CRM
Front and back office staffing platform with payroll and billing
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Staffing Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Avionté lists a mobile app, AI and automation for job creation and pre-screening, and an API with pre-built partner connections such as ADP and Experian. The footer address is in Bloomington, Minnesota. A buyer should ask what the data export includes, since the vendor's pages do not say.
What stands out
Payroll and billing
Demo only
SOC 2 Type II
Where it costs you
The site shows no prices and offers a demo request, not a trial.
The outcome figures it quotes are vendor-reported, not independently checked.
Payroll and billing are part of the platform, which raises the cost of leaving.
Right for
Staffing agencies wanting recruiting and payroll in one platform
Staffing agency software manages candidates, clients and job orders for firms that place workers, and in some products extends to timesheets, payroll and invoicing for temporary and contract placements. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
7 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 5 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Crelate, Recruit CRM, Recruiterflow, Manatal, Loxo, Zoho Recruit, Bullhorn.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 3 countries across 3 regions (Elsewhere 7, North America 4, Asia-Pacific 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Staffing agency software: recruiting database or payroll engine
The first decision is not which product but which job it does. Crelate, Manatal, Recruiterflow and Recruit CRM are recruiting systems: candidates, clients, pipelines and sequences. TempWorks and Avionté add payroll, billing and tax to the same platform, which is what a temporary-worker agency needs and what a permanent-placement boutique never opens.
Mixing the two up is the costliest error here, because a payroll suite is slow to leave and a recruiting CRM cannot run a weekly pay cycle. Write down how many workers you pay, how many fees you invoice, and who does each today before opening a single demo.
List the weekly payroll runs you need handled
Separate placement fees from hourly invoicing
Ask each vendor which side it was built around
Real price of staffing agency software past the first plan
Published rates are only the front door. Bullhorn posts Starter and Core but quotes Pro, Max and every middle-office product. Crelate posts Essentials and Business but quotes the plans that carry automation and the full API.
Recruit CRM and Loxo meter AI work in credits that pool across users, so a team that relies on them pays for usage as well as seats. JobAdder, Firefish, TempWorks and Avionté quote everything. Build the invoice you expect after the modules you need are added, including migration, add-ons and credits, and compare that figure, not the entry rate.
Price the plan that includes your automation
Ask what happens when AI credits run out
Get migration and onboarding costs in writing
Getting candidate data out of staffing agency software
A candidate database is the agency's main asset, and exit terms rarely appear on a pricing page. Recruiterflow says a self-serve Excel or CSV import is free and a paid migration takes six to eight weeks; Loxo scopes complex migrations as fixed packages; Firefish says migration is included.
The pages read for this guide do not describe exporting your data on the way out. Ask every vendor in writing whether a complete export, including notes, attachments, placement history and timesheets, is included in the contract and in what format. For payroll-linked suites, ask separately about tax and pay history, which records often must be kept for years.
Ask for a full export, including notes and attachments
Check whether history survives a plan downgrade
Confirm retention of pay and tax records
Choosing between independent and larger staffing agency software vendors
Independence changes who you depend on. Crelate, Recruit CRM, Recruiterflow and Manatal are single-product companies; JobAdder says it is a subsidiary of the SEEK Group; Bullhorn's legal page lists related entities such as Invenias and Jobscience; Zoho Recruit sits in a wider suite.
A larger vendor offers a partner marketplace and more integrations, with Bullhorn naming over 300 marketplace partners on Core; a smaller one offers a simpler contract and a single point of contact. Decide which you value, then ask who would take over support if the vendor were bought, and whether the price list survives a change of owner.
Find out who owns the vendor today
Count the third parties in your payroll chain
Ask what changes if the vendor is acquired
What goes wrong most often when buying staffing agency software
Choosing a recruiting CRM for a temporary-worker business and discovering later that timesheets, billing and payroll sit elsewhere.
Comparing the posted entry rate of Manatal or Crelate with a quoted price from Bullhorn, Avionté or JobAdder, which are not the same scope.
Ignoring plan caps such as Manatal's fifteen jobs or Crelate's two-user Essentials plan until the desk grows past them.
Signing before asking whether a full export of notes, attachments and placement history is included if you leave.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best staffing agency software in 2026?
Crelate leads our ranking of 12. Crelate is the only suite here that lets you start a trial with your own sample data before anyone calls you, and it posts per-user rates for its first two plans.
Setup is a matter of days, not a services project. The Essentials plan caps out at two users, and API calls, storage and client portal seats all step up by plan, so growth means a plan change. There is no payroll or billing engine.
Which staffing agency tools publish their pricing?
7 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Crelate: Per user per month, published for two plans; larger plans quoted; free trial.
Recruit CRM: Per user per month, published for three plans; free trial; AI work metered in credits.
Recruiterflow: Per user per month, published for one plan; AI plan quoted; demo only.
Manatal: Per user per month, published for three plans; free trial; custom plan quoted.
Loxo: Per user per month, published for one plan; higher plans quoted; 7-day trial.
Zoho Recruit: Free plan with one active job; paid editions tiered by active jobs; 15-day trial.
Bullhorn: Per user per month, published for two plans; others quoted; demo, no trial.
The other 5 quote per organisation.
Is there a free staffing agency tool?
Zoho Recruit offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these staffing agency software vendors established?
In 3 countries across 3 regions: Elsewhere 7, North America 4, Asia-Pacific 1.
Crelate: United States.
Recruit CRM: Not stated by the vendor.
Recruiterflow: Not stated by the vendor.
Manatal: Not stated by the vendor.
Loxo: Not stated by the vendor.
JobAdder: Australia.
Firefish: Not stated by the vendor.
Ceipal: Not stated by the vendor.
Zoho Recruit: Not stated by the vendor.
Bullhorn: United States.
TempWorks: United States.
Avionté: United States.
What should you use instead of Crelate?
Recruit CRM and Recruiterflow are the next two on this page. Recruit CRM is for Contract and permanent desks that want one published rate and a trial; Recruiterflow is for Recruiting agencies wanting one posted price and unlimited records.
Who should not buy Crelate?
Agencies that need payroll and billing in the same system. Essentials is capped at two users and 20,000 contacts, so a growing desk moves to Business quickly..
If your staffing agency software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.