Tax preparation software ranges from free filing apps to licensed packages for firms, and the headline price rarely survives the state return, the extra forms and the volume a practice really files.
This guide ranks twelve products on first-season setup, the price once needed features are added, how data leaves, whether you can run it alone, and who it suits.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What tax preparation software does
Tax preparation software calculates income tax returns from entered or imported data, supplies the official forms, checks for errors and e-files the return with the tax authority, either for individuals or for preparers serving clients.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each tax preparation tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Online filing from a stated price; office fees set locally
—
Filers who want an in-person preparer plus a cheap online fallback
Preparers or firms looking for software to run their own practice
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Desktop preparer software with all states and e-filing included
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Tax Preparation Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Drake lists Pro, 1040 and Pay-Per-Return packages. The Pay-Per-Return package includes ten individual returns, with further individual returns at a listed per-return fee and business returns at a higher one.
The 1040 package covers individual returns only, while Pro covers business forms as well. Discounted prices run to 30 November. Expect to compare returns-per-package against your own volume before buying.
What stands out
Desktop
All states included
Pay-per-return
Where it costs you
Packages are sized in returns and users, so a firm that grows past its bundle pays per additional return.
The site lists no consumer product, so an individual filing only their own return has no suitable plan.
Right for
Small US preparer firms that want published prices and every state included
Wrong for
Individuals filing only their own return, or anyone outside the US
United StatesPublished package prices from pay-per-return to unlimited; trial offered
Canadian T1, T2 and T3 preparer software sold as module suites
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Tax Preparation Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The Complete Tax Suite 2026 is priced for one user, with tiers for three or more and for ten or more users and a listed price per additional user. Forms covered include T1, T2, T3, T4, T4A, T5 and T5013, with a Québec TP1 module.
Integrations named on the site include Xero, Caseware, Docusign and Microsoft 365 Outlook. A free trial is offered, so test it on last year's files first.
What stands out
Canada only
Module suites
EFILE
Where it costs you
It prepares Canadian returns only, so a practice with United States clients needs a second package.
The suite price rises in steps by user count, with a separate listed price for each extra user.
Right for
Canadian accounting practices that prepare personal and corporate returns
Wrong for
Households filing alone or practices with United States clients
CanadaPublished suite prices by user count; free trial offered
Consumer filing with a free federal tier and published prices
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Tax Preparation Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The Free tier lists W-2 and unemployment income, current students and the child tax credit. Deluxe adds home ownership, dependent care and health savings accounts. Premier adds stock and crypto sales, a home sale and rental income.
Self-Employed covers contract and freelance income. Xpert Assist is an add-on, and the state return is always extra. The page states that expert tax filing starts at a listed price.
What stands out
Self-filing
Free federal tier
State extra
Where it costs you
The free tier covers W-2 and unemployment income, students and the child tax credit, and little beyond that.
State returns are charged in addition to every federal tier, including the free one.
Right for
Self-filers with a simple return who want a free federal start
Wrong for
Filers who want a flat all-in price including the state return
Not stated by the vendorFree federal tier; paid tiers priced per return, state filing extra
Browser-based preparer software sold per return and per user
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Tax Preparation Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Forms listed include 1040, 1040-NR, 1040-SS, 709, 1065, 1120-S, 1120, 1041, 990 and 706, with all available state programs, part-year and nonresident returns and selected city programs.
Form 114 FinCEN e-file and Schedule K-1 export are listed. Portals, Workflow and E-Sign come as a discounted bundle. The licence is per user, and the volume discounts only apply to returns purchased upfront.
What stands out
Browser-based
Per-return pricing
Preparer tool
Where it costs you
Every return carries its own fee on top of the user licence, so cost follows volume closely.
It is aimed at preparers who file for clients and offers no do-it-yourself path.
Right for
Preparers with uneven volume who want browser access without installs
Wrong for
Households filing their own return, or firms wanting a flat annual fee
United StatesPublished per-user and per-return prices; trial offered
Free federal and state filing that requires a Cash App account
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Tax Preparation Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The page states there is no charge for federal or state filing, even for self-employed and side-gig income. You need to download Cash App to log in, then file from a phone or at cash.app/taxes.
It lists accurate calculation and maximum refund guarantees, with exclusions. Security claims named are 128-bit or higher encryption, phone verification and authenticator-app two-factor sign-in.
What stands out
Free filing
Phone or browser
Account required
Where it costs you
Signing in requires the Cash App mobile app and a phone number, so the service is a feature of a payments app.
No live tax expert or preparer is offered on the page, so a complex situation is handled alone.
Right for
Self-filers who want no fee for federal and state and already use Cash App
Wrong for
People who want a human preparer or who avoid payment apps
United StatesFree for federal and state returns; Cash App account required
Government-run electronic IRS forms for self-preparers, federal only
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Tax Preparation Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The page says the program gives electronic IRS forms, asks no interview questions, performs basic calculations and has limited error checking. It prepares the current-year federal return only, and some forms, statements and attachments are not supported.
Desktop or laptop use is recommended. Acceptance or rejection arrives after 24 to 48 hours. Seasonal status at our check: closed until January 2027.
What stands out
Government-run
Any income
Federal only
Where it costs you
No state return can be prepared, so a second tool is needed wherever a state tax applies.
The service needs a 10-digit US mobile number for account creation, which excludes some filers abroad.
Right for
Confident filers with higher income who only need a federal return
Wrong for
First-time filers who want questions, guidance or a state return
United StatesFree federal e-file at any income; no state return
Intuit consumer filing from a free edition up to expert-filed returns
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Tax Preparation Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Options on the page are Free Edition, Do It Yourself Deluxe and Premium, Expert Assist Basic, Deluxe and Premium, and Expert Full Service.
Do It Yourself is shown as a range and Expert Assist as a higher range, each with state additional. Desktop software is sold separately. Free Edition has stated limits: investment sales are not covered and 1099-K handling is restricted.
What stands out
Intuit
Expert help tiers
Desktop and online
Where it costs you
The page says your product can change mid-return and require an upgrade, so the starting price may not hold.
State returns cost extra on paid products, and paying from the refund adds a fee.
Right for
Filers who want guided software and may want an expert to step in
Wrong for
Filers who need a fixed all-in price known before they start
United StatesPriced per product tier, ranges published; state return extra
Forms-based Intuit preparer software with optional cloud hosting
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Tax Preparation Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
ProSeries offers Professional and Basic products, with forms-style screens, one-click access to calculation details, 1,000 or more diagnostics, Fixed Asset Manager, Quick Employer Forms and the Intuit Link client portal. Intuit Sign is included. The page states that switching saves an average of 32 minutes per complex return, a vendor claim we did not test.
What stands out
Forms-based entry
Hosting option
Intuit
Where it costs you
An annual licence fee is required before buying returns individually, which raises the cost for low-volume practices.
The trial cannot e-file, print or (when hosted) save data, so a real return cannot be tested end to end.
Right for
Small preparer firms that like forms-based entry and want Intuit hosting
Wrong for
Households filing alone or firms wanting cloud-first software
United StatesPay-per-return or bundles; price on organisation quote; trial offered
Intuit software for complex returns with 25,000 diagnostics
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Tax Preparation Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The pay-per-return plan gives full access with filing as needed, an annual licence, unlimited client tax advisory reports, digital signatures and KBA for all tax clients, and single-user access.
A custom plan sells bundles of individual or business returns, or unlimited returns. Specialist features listed include oil and gas depletion calculations, automated K-1 delivery and downloads from 275 or more financial institutions.
What stands out
Complex returns
Intuit
Hosting available
Where it costs you
Hosting is a separate priced add-on, so remote access raises the annual cost.
The desktop trial does not e-file or print, which limits what you can verify before buying.
Right for
Mid-size firms with complex multi-state returns and several preparers
Wrong for
Solo preparers wanting the lowest entry cost or a household filer
United StatesAnnual licence plus per-return or bundle pricing; trial offered
Thomson Reuters preparer software with custom, volume-based pricing
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Tax Preparation Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The page names federal, state and local tax programs, including multistate returns, plus pre-submission automated diagnostics and a state allocation grid for Schedule C or K-1 income.
Electronic filing runs through CS Connect. The vendor states that automation features add no extra cost. A webinar claims a 29 percent shorter turnaround on average, which we did not test.
What stands out
Custom pricing
Multi-form
Firm suite
Where it costs you
No price is shown, so cost can only be compared after a sales conversation.
Pricing depends on users, returns and jurisdictions, so a growing firm sees its bill change at renewal.
Right for
Larger firms already using other Thomson Reuters CS Professional Suite products
Wrong for
Small firms wanting a visible price or households filing alone
Marketplace where a matched US tax professional files for you
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Tax Preparation Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The page presents tax filing handled by a Pro for back taxes, extensions and prior years, plus Tax Advisory, Tax Outsourcing and API Integrations for firms. It cites more than 7,200 US-based CPAs and EAs, over 100 firm partnerships and more than 100,000 returns prepared. Security claims are SOC 2-compliant controls and two-factor authentication.
What stands out
Human preparer
CPAs and EAs
Firm API
Where it costs you
The home page shows no price, so the fee is unknown until you start a request.
It is a service where a professional does the work, so you do not control the software.
Right for
People with back taxes, extensions or prior years who want a professional
Wrong for
Filers who want to prepare their own return in software
United StatesPriced per engagement; no price on the home page
Office-based tax preparer network with an online filing option
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Tax Preparation Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The home page offers filing with a tax pro, at Walmart, by drop-off or online yourself, plus extensions, amendments, a refund recheck, tax resolution and identity theft protection.
A free refund review is offered. The early refund advance is a loan from First Century Bank secured by the refund, and fees and terms apply. We could not view a full online price table.
What stands out
Local offices
Online option
Franchise network
Where it costs you
Most offices are independently run franchises, so what you pay and who prepares your return depends on the location.
The online route is a small part of the site, which centres on offices and refund-linked products.
Right for
Filers who want an in-person preparer plus a cheap online fallback
Wrong for
Preparers or firms looking for software to run their own practice
United StatesOnline filing from a stated price; office fees set locally
Tax preparation software calculates income tax returns from entered or imported data, supplies the official forms, checks for errors and e-files the return with the tax authority, either for individuals or for preparers serving clients. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
7 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 5 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Drake Tax, TaxCycle, TaxAct, Drake Tax Online, Cash App Taxes, IRS Free File Fillable Forms, TurboTax.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 3 countries across 2 regions (North America 10, Elsewhere 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Tax preparation software for yourself versus for clients
Tax preparation software splits into two markets that share a name. Consumer products such as TurboTax, TaxAct and Cash App Taxes guide one person through a return and price by tier. Preparer products such as Drake Tax, Lacerte and UltraTax CS are licensed to people who file for others and price by users, returns and states.
A product from one side rarely works on the other, so decide which you are before comparing prices. Several tools here also sit between the two, such as Taxfyle, where a professional does the filing for you. We describe products only and give no tax advice, and nearly every product here supports United States returns.
Is the buyer an individual or someone who files for others?
Does the licence cover the number of returns you expect?
Which country's returns does the product file?
What a free tier covers and where it stops
Free is common in this market but it is a boundary, not a price. TaxAct's free tier lists W-2 and unemployment income, students and the child tax credit, and charges separately for the state return. TurboTax warns that a return begun in its Free Edition can require an upgrade, for example when investment sales appear.
Cash App Taxes states no charge for federal and state returns but needs the Cash App. IRS Free File Fillable Forms is free at any income yet prepares a federal return only and asks you to do some of the arithmetic. Read the list of covered situations before the price.
Does the free version include your income types and forms?
Is the state return free, extra or unsupported?
Does using it require another account or an app?
Practice pricing: licences, returns and hosting
Professional packages rarely have one price. Drake Tax sells packages sized by returns and users, with a per-return fee beyond them. Lacerte and ProSeries require an annual licence before returns are bought one by one, and hosting is an add-on.
Drake Tax Online charges per user and per return, with discounts for returns bought upfront. UltraTax CS shows no price and quotes by users, returns and jurisdictions. Compare these on your actual return count, then add hosting, portal and e-signature costs. Retail prices can also step up on a fixed date, as Drake's do on 1 December.
What is the cost for your expected return count, all modules included?
Is hosting or remote access included or separate?
What happens to unused returns at year end?
Getting your data out and testing before filing
A tax package holds client files for years, so test how data leaves and whether you can try it before buying. Lacerte and ProSeries offer trials, but the desktop trial will not e-file or print and the hosted trial does not save information, so it cannot prove a real filing.
Drake Tax and TaxCycle both offer free trials. UltraTax CS shows no trial on its page. Ask each vendor whether prior-year files convert into the new product, and whether returns can be exported if you leave. Conversion help is a stated feature for some vendors and absent from others' pages.
Can you run last year's files through the trial?
Is there a stated conversion path from your current software?
Can client files be exported in a standard format?
What goes wrong most often when buying tax preparation software
Comparing a consumer tier price with a preparer licence price, which charge for different things.
Assuming a free federal return also includes the state return, when most tiers charge for state separately.
Buying a package sized for current returns without checking what each extra return costs.
Testing only the interface in a trial that cannot e-file, and discovering filing problems in season.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best tax preparation software in 2026?
Drake Tax leads our ranking of 12. Drake Software, LLC, a Taxwell company, publishes its prices and states that e-filing carries no extra fee and that all state programs are included.
Packages run from ten returns to unlimited multi-user, and retail prices rise on 1 December. It is built for people who prepare returns for others, and it handles United States returns only.
Which tax preparation tools publish their pricing?
7 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Drake Tax: Published package prices from pay-per-return to unlimited; trial offered.
TaxCycle: Published suite prices by user count; free trial offered.
TaxAct: Free federal tier; paid tiers priced per return, state filing extra.
Drake Tax Online: Published per-user and per-return prices; trial offered.
Cash App Taxes: Free for federal and state returns; Cash App account required.
IRS Free File Fillable Forms: Free federal e-file at any income; no state return.
TurboTax: Priced per product tier, ranges published; state return extra.
The other 5 quote per organisation.
Is there a free tax preparation tool?
TaxAct, Cash App Taxes, IRS Free File Fillable Forms offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these tax preparation software vendors established?
In 3 countries across 2 regions: North America 10, Elsewhere 2.
Drake Tax: United States.
TaxCycle: Canada.
TaxAct: Not stated by the vendor.
Drake Tax Online: United States.
Cash App Taxes: United States.
IRS Free File Fillable Forms: United States.
TurboTax: United States.
ProSeries Tax: United States.
Lacerte: United States.
UltraTax CS: Not stated by the vendor.
Taxfyle: United States.
Jackson Hewitt: United States.
What should you use instead of Drake Tax?
TaxCycle and TaxAct are the next two on this page. TaxCycle is for Canadian accounting practices that prepare personal and corporate returns; TaxAct is for Self-filers with a simple return who want a free federal start.
Who should not buy Drake Tax?
Individuals filing only their own return, or anyone outside the US. Packages are sized in returns and users, so a firm that grows past its bundle pays per additional return..
If your tax preparation software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.