Best Crypto Tax Software in 2026

Crypto tax software imports transactions from exchanges and wallets, matches them into gains and income, and produces reports for a tax return or an accountant.

Products differ on how they meter volume, whether the report is bought per year or subscribed, and where help comes from. This guide ranks twelve on setup effort, real price, exit and independence.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. How that works.

In short

What crypto tax software does

Crypto tax software imports exchange and wallet transactions, calculates gains, losses and income under chosen cost-basis methods, and produces the reports a taxpayer or accountant files or keeps.

01

The top three

12 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether you can leave, and who each crypto tax tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests: Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.

12tools reviewed
10publish a price
7have a free tier
7countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

12 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1DivlySwedenFree portfolio tracking; one-off payment per tax year, publishedYesIndividuals who want a one-off yearly report and no recurring subscriptionCompanies that need a self-service report for the books
#2BlockpitAustriaFree portfolio tracking; one-time purchase per tax year by band, publishedYesEuropean investors wanting a per-year purchase with a published band priceInvestors who want one flat annual price whatever their volume
#3WaltioFranceFree tier for tracking; annual plans by transaction count, publishedYesRetail investors in France or nearby who want annual plans and a free trackerInvestors with many thousands of transactions on a tight budget
#4RecapUnited KingdomAnnual subscription, published; 30-day money-back guarantee—UK taxpayers and their accountants who want UK-specific reports and sharingInvestors outside the UK needing local forms and rules
#5CoinTrackingGermanyFree portfolio view; annual plans by transaction count, published; 14-day money-back guaranteeYesActive traders who want a long-established German vendor and clear volume tiersOccasional holders with only a handful of transactions
#6CoinpandaNot stated by the vendorFree plan for tracking; annual plans by transaction limit, publishedYesInvestors who want to test full imports before paying a yearly planAnyone who expects to download, review and then claim a refund
#7CoinLedgerUnited StatesFree portfolio tracking; one-time purchase per tax report, publishedYesUS filers who want to push results into consumer tax softwareNon-US filers who need itemised local forms and filing
#8Awaken TaxNot stated by the vendorFree plan without exports; annual plans by transaction limit, publishedYesActive DeFi and NFT users who want preview before payingBuyers who need a stated country, refund policy or trial terms
#9TokenTaxNot stated by the vendorPer tax year by tier, published; no refunds per the terms—Heavy traders who also want accountants to prepare the filingCautious first-time buyers who want a refund window
#10ZenLedgerUnited StatesAnnual plans by transaction limit, published; unlimited tier priced separately—US taxpayers who want an accountant to review the same accountBuyers outside the US needing local filing rules
#11CryptioFranceQuoted per organisation; modules chosen with a consultation—Crypto-native finance teams reconciling on-chain activity ahead of audits and reviewsIndividuals preparing a simple personal tax return at home
#12BitwaveNot stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; three configurations—Companies that must post crypto activity into an ERP systemIndividual investors who need a quick personal gains report

Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.

04

The 12 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Divly · 2. Blockpit · 3. Waltio · 4. Recap · 5. CoinTracking · 6. Coinpanda · 7. CoinLedger · 8. Awaken Tax · 9. TokenTax · 10. ZenLedger · 11. Cryptio · 12. Bitwave

#1 Divly

Stockholm tax reports bought per year, with tracking before any payment

Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Crypto Tax Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingEurope

Divly answers the exit question simply: nothing renews. You import wallets and exchanges, check the numbers before paying, then buy a report for each year you need. The tier follows the count of transactions in that year only.

Essential covers the calculation, Peace of Mind adds an expert review of your transactions, and Full Service adds a dedicated expert and video calls. Check country coverage first, because the page does not list it.

What stands out
  • Pay per year
  • No subscription
  • Expert tiers
Where it costs you
  • Companies can buy only the Full Service package, the dearest tier on the page
  • The pricing page names no countries for the country-specific tax report
Right for

Individuals who want a one-off yearly report and no recurring subscription

Wrong for

Companies that need a self-service report for the books

SwedenFree portfolio tracking; one-off payment per tax year, published

#2 Blockpit

Linz-founded tax calculator priced per tax year by transaction band

Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Crypto Tax Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingEurope

Blockpit charges by how many transactions you made in the selected tax year, not by portfolio value, which keeps a small year cheap even if the history is long.

Each report is a separate purchase with PDF and CSV output, and the optional Plus subscription adds daily synchronisation and tax simulation after a 14-day trial. Hourly expert work is sold alongside, starting with a 15-minute first call. The jurisdiction count is the vendor's own claim, so test your country first.

What stands out
  • Per tax year
  • PDF and CSV export
  • Expert service
Where it costs you
  • Expert preparation is billed per hour and can exceed the software price
  • The company has absorbed several rivals, so product and plan changes may follow
Right for

European investors wanting a per-year purchase with a published band price

Wrong for

Investors who want one flat annual price whatever their volume

AustriaFree portfolio tracking; one-time purchase per tax year by band, published

#3 Waltio

French single-product tax tool with annual plans and a tracking tier

Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Crypto Tax Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingEurope

Waltio asks for no credit card to start and lets you track unlimited exchanges and wallets on the free tier, so the first ninety days cost little more than import time. Tax outputs begin with Lite.

The step-by-step filing guide arrives on Starter, and the tiers rise with transaction count up to an unlimited plan. Plans are annual per year of use. The company is a French SAS and says its tax rules reach over 40 countries, so verify yours.

What stands out
  • Annual plans
  • Tax certificate
  • 40+ countries
Where it costs you
  • The cheapest paid plan covers only 50 transactions
  • Country coverage is claimed on the About page but not itemised on the pricing page
Right for

Retail investors in France or nearby who want annual plans and a free tracker

Wrong for

Investors with many thousands of transactions on a tight budget

FranceFree tier for tracking; annual plans by transaction count, published

#4 Recap

UK-built tax software with annual plans and accountant sharing

Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Crypto Tax Software in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

Recap is the one product here that names a single tax system as its home ground. Plans are annual, include reports for historic years, and let accountants see the account.

Basic suits up to 5,000 transactions, Pro removes the cap and adds CSV exports, and Company adds a balance sheet, chargeable gains, matching rules and custom accounting year ends. The vendor lists UK reports; ask support before using it for another country.

What stands out
  • UK tax rules
  • Accountant sharing
  • Annual plans
Where it costs you
  • Basic is capped at 5,000 transactions and CSV exports need Pro
  • The product is shaped around UK tax rules, so other countries gain less
Right for

UK taxpayers and their accountants who want UK-specific reports and sharing

Wrong for

Investors outside the UK needing local forms and rules

United KingdomAnnual subscription, published; 30-day money-back guarantee

#5 CoinTracking

Munich-area veteran since 2012 with tiers by transaction volume

Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Crypto Tax Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingEurope

CoinTracking lets you import for seven days with no card before any tax report is unlocked, which makes the setup test cheap but keeps the report itself behind payment.

Tiers run from 200 transactions to unlimited, with a 14-day money-back guarantee and cancellation at any time. A corporate plan gives three accounts for accountants managing clients. Pro stops at 3,500 transactions, so count yours before choosing.

What stands out
  • Since 2012
  • Tiered by volume
  • Corporate plan
Where it costs you
  • Tax reports are locked behind paid plans, free use shows the portfolio only
  • The cheapest paid plan covers just 200 transactions
Right for

Active traders who want a long-established German vendor and clear volume tiers

Wrong for

Occasional holders with only a handful of transactions

GermanyFree portfolio view; annual plans by transaction count, published; 14-day money-back guarantee

#6 Coinpanda

Annual plans by transaction limit, with a permanent no-cost tracking plan

Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Crypto Tax Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Coinpanda separates analysis from payment: the free plan imports from supported exchanges and wallets and tracks the portfolio, and you pay when ready to download. Four annual plans run up to 20,000 transactions, and beyond that you pay a small amount per extra hundred.

The vendor says it supports every country that allows FIFO, LIFO or average cost, plus specific support for eight named countries. Read the refund terms before your first download.

What stands out
  • Annual plans
  • Accountant suite
  • 60+ countries
Where it costs you
  • Refunds are not possible once a tax form or CSV file has been downloaded
  • The site does not state the country of establishment
Right for

Investors who want to test full imports before paying a yearly plan

Wrong for

Anyone who expects to download, review and then claim a refund

Not stated by the vendorFree plan for tracking; annual plans by transaction limit, published

#7 CoinLedger

US-focused report seller with free tracking and tax-software imports

Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Crypto Tax Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

CoinLedger is among the more straightforward purchases here: import for nothing, pay for the report once, and re-run it as often as needed. Each report is bought per tax year, which suits someone filing a single year, though a multi-year catch-up means several purchases.

The calculation methods include FIFO, LIFO, HIFO and adjusted cost. Hand the audit-trail report to a preparer, and expect to confirm foreign coverage with support.

What stands out
  • US forms
  • TurboTax import
  • Per-report price
Where it costs you
  • Beyond 3,000 transactions you buy extra transactions inside the app
  • US filing tools dominate the feature list, international reports are not itemised
Right for

US filers who want to push results into consumer tax software

Wrong for

Non-US filers who need itemised local forms and filing

United StatesFree portfolio tracking; one-time purchase per tax report, published

#8 Awaken Tax

Annual plans from a no-export starter to a three-thousand-dollar service

Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Crypto Tax Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Awaken prices by transactions in the current tax year, with unlimited wallets on every plan and past-year reports included on paid ones. The free tier is a preview: portfolio tracking and a capital gains view, but no exports.

Dolphin and Whale each split into three sizes, so the price you pay depends on the exact limit. The pricing page names no refund policy or trial, so ask before you buy a larger tier.

What stands out
  • Annual plans
  • DeFi and NFTs
  • Full service
Where it costs you
  • The free Minnow plan cannot export tax reports
  • The cheapest paid plan covers just 300 transactions
Right for

Active DeFi and NFT users who want preview before paying

Wrong for

Buyers who need a stated country, refund policy or trial terms

Not stated by the vendorFree plan without exports; annual plans by transaction limit, published

#9 TokenTax

Software plus an accounting firm, from a basic plan to full filing

Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Crypto Tax Software in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

TokenTax pairs the software with human preparers: you can add full filing, a 30-minute consultation or multi-year discounts. The Basic tier covers 100 transactions, Premium 5,000, Pro 20,000 and VIP adds expert consultations and review of tax authority enquiries.

Payment can be by card or crypto. No refunds is the sharpest term, so test your imports on a small tier before committing to a larger one, and check country coverage with support.

What stands out
  • Per tax year
  • CPA filing add-on
  • No refunds
Where it costs you
  • Its terms state it does not offer refunds
  • The high-volume tiers cost far more than the Basic and Premium plans
Right for

Heavy traders who also want accountants to prepare the filing

Wrong for

Cautious first-time buyers who want a refund window

Not stated by the vendorPer tax year by tier, published; no refunds per the terms

#10 ZenLedger

US crypto tax tool with tax-pro access and optional return filing

Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Crypto Tax Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

ZenLedger keeps the software cheap and the professional help separate. The Silver, Gold and Platinum plans differ mainly by transaction limit, and all include audit reports, tax-pro access and HIFO, FIFO and LIFO.

Filing through the partner april costs a flat rate, and the tax-pro prepared plan is priced per year or per two years. Plan limits and the refund contradiction are the two things to settle before buying.

What stands out
  • Tax-pro access
  • TurboTax import
  • Return filing
Where it costs you
  • The pricing page states two different refund windows, 14 days and one year
  • Unlimited transactions cost extra on top of the largest plan
Right for

US taxpayers who want an accountant to review the same account

Wrong for

Buyers outside the US needing local filing rules

United StatesAnnual plans by transaction limit, published; unlimited tier priced separately

#11 Cryptio

Business crypto accounting and reconciliation with quoted pricing

Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Crypto Tax Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestEurope

Cryptio is priced by what you configure: choose reconciliation, accounting or audit, then talk to sales. Its enterprise plans offer a customised proof of concept, and payment can be by card, wire or crypto.

The vendor lists over 5,000 tokens and nine layer-one and layer-two chains. Treat it as accounting infrastructure with tax as one output. Ask for the export format and the exit terms during the consultation.

What stands out
  • Business back office
  • SOC audited
  • NetSuite
Where it costs you
  • Pricing appears only after a consultation, so costs cannot be compared up front
  • Aimed at finance teams, so an individual filer has no use for it
Right for

Crypto-native finance teams reconciling on-chain activity ahead of audits and reviews

Wrong for

Individuals preparing a simple personal tax return at home

FranceQuoted per organisation; modules chosen with a consultation

#12 Bitwave

Enterprise digital-asset accounting, tax and ERP sync, quoted per organisation

Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Crypto Tax Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

Bitwave suits a finance team that already runs an ERP and must book on-chain activity into it. The pricing page lists the same capabilities across all three configurations and routes every enquiry to sales.

Ask for the price in writing. Its terms refer to export rules of the United States, but the site states no country of establishment. Confirm that detail, and the export format, before signing.

What stands out
  • Enterprise
  • ERP sync
  • SOC reports
Where it costs you
  • No price is published, every configuration ends in a sales conversation
  • The product is built for finance teams, not for personal tax returns
Right for

Companies that must post crypto activity into an ERP system

Wrong for

Individual investors who need a quick personal gains report

Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; three configurations
06

How to choose crypto tax software

Crypto tax software imports exchange and wallet transactions, calculates gains, losses and income under chosen cost-basis methods, and produces the reports a taxpayer or accountant files or keeps. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.

  1. 01

    Decide whether you need a published price

    10 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 2 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Divly, Blockpit, Waltio, Recap, CoinTracking, Coinpanda, CoinLedger, Awaken Tax, TokenTax, ZenLedger.

  2. 02

    Decide how much the jurisdiction matters

    These 12 vendors are established in 7 countries across 3 regions (Europe 6, Elsewhere 4, North America 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.

Per year, per subscription or per quote: how crypto tax tools charge

Almost every consumer product in this market meters by transactions, but they differ on what repeats. Divly and Blockpit sell a report for a chosen tax year, with no renewal. CoinLedger also sells each report once. Waltio, Recap, CoinTracking and Coinpanda sell annual plans. Cryptio and Bitwave sell to companies and quote after a conversation.

The cheap tier looks small until you count transactions: Waltio's Lite covers 50, Awaken's Fish 300 and CoinTracking's Starter 200. Work out your count for each year you need before comparing any two prices, then check whether past years are included, because a catch-up of several years can change which model is cheaper. The business products sit outside this comparison, since their price is set in a sales conversation rather than by a transaction band.

  • Count your transactions per tax year, not your total history.
  • Ask whether past-year reports are included or bought again.
  • Check what happens if you pass a plan's transaction limit.

Free tiers that preview and free tiers that export

Several vendors let you import for nothing, but what you can do afterwards differs. Divly allows tracking up to 25,000 transactions. Coinpanda's permanent plan imports and reviews everything and charges only at download. CoinTracking shows the portfolio only, and Awaken's Minnow plan shows gains but cannot export a tax report. Blockpit and CoinLedger track for nothing and charge for the report.

None of these should be read as a reason to rank a product: the useful test is whether the preview uses your real data, so import a full year and inspect the gains before paying. Check, too, how each plan counts transactions, because Divly and Awaken both count only the year being reported. Coinpanda adds a catch, since refunds stop after a tax form or CSV is downloaded.

  • Import a full real year before paying anything.
  • Read the refund terms before you download a report.
  • Check which exports the free tier blocks.

Human help: Blockpit, TokenTax and ZenLedger sell more than software

Crypto positions are rarely clean, so many vendors sell people next to the product. Blockpit offers a free 15-minute call, a 30-minute expert check and hourly preparation. TokenTax presents itself as an accounting firm and adds full filing, with a terms line that it does not offer refunds. ZenLedger lets your own tax professional into the account at no cost and sells prepared plans separately.

Divly adds an expert review and a full-service tier. Describing these products is not tax advice: the point is to price the human layer separately, because it can exceed the software several times over. A cheap calculator and a costly preparer are two purchases, and the second is where the budget usually goes.

  • Ask whether expert work is hourly, flat or part of a plan.
  • Confirm who signs the return and who is responsible for errors.
  • Get refund and revision terms for the expert layer in writing.

Coverage and exit: which countries, and how data leaves

Country support is where marketing and pages diverge. Recap is built around UK rules. CoinLedger leans on IRS Form 8949 and US tax software imports. ZenLedger's filing runs through a US partner. Blockpit claims over 100 jurisdictions and Waltio over 40, though Waltio's pricing page lists none. Coinpanda names eight countries beyond a general method list.

Exit differs too: Blockpit states PDF and CSV export, Recap puts CSV exports on Pro, and ZenLedger says you can access the report afterwards. Ask for a sample file before the first purchase, and keep a copy of each year's report as you go, since plan terms and vendor ownership can change over time.

  • Find your country on the vendor's own page, not a comparison site.
  • Request a sample export before paying for the full year, not afterwards.
  • Confirm how long reports stay accessible after a plan ends.

What goes wrong most often when buying crypto tax software

  • Comparing the lowest tier of each product without counting how many transactions you made in each year you must file.
  • Treating a free tier as a finished report when it may block the export, as Awaken's Minnow plan does.
  • Choosing a US-built tool for a non-US return because it imports well, then finding its forms and filing partners are American.
  • Downloading the tax forms before checking the result, which at Coinpanda ends refund eligibility.
07

Frequently asked questions

6 answers
What is the best crypto tax software in 2026?

Divly leads our ranking of 12. Divly sells a report per tax year with no subscription, so you pay only for the years you declare and can import everything first. Tracking up to 25,000 transactions sits on the free tier.

Businesses can buy only the Full Service package, and the pricing page does not list the countries behind its country-specific report, so confirm yours before paying.

Which crypto tax tools publish their pricing?

10 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:

  • Divly: Free portfolio tracking; one-off payment per tax year, published.
  • Blockpit: Free portfolio tracking; one-time purchase per tax year by band, published.
  • Waltio: Free tier for tracking; annual plans by transaction count, published.
  • Recap: Annual subscription, published; 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • CoinTracking: Free portfolio view; annual plans by transaction count, published; 14-day money-back guarantee.
  • Coinpanda: Free plan for tracking; annual plans by transaction limit, published.
  • CoinLedger: Free portfolio tracking; one-time purchase per tax report, published.
  • Awaken Tax: Free plan without exports; annual plans by transaction limit, published.
  • TokenTax: Per tax year by tier, published; no refunds per the terms.
  • ZenLedger: Annual plans by transaction limit, published; unlimited tier priced separately.

The other 2 quote per organisation.

Is there a free crypto tax tool?

Divly, Blockpit, Waltio, CoinTracking, Coinpanda, CoinLedger, Awaken Tax offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.

Where are these crypto tax software vendors established?

In 7 countries across 3 regions: Europe 6, Elsewhere 4, North America 2.

  • Divly: Sweden.
  • Blockpit: Austria.
  • Waltio: France.
  • Recap: United Kingdom.
  • CoinTracking: Germany.
  • Coinpanda: Not stated by the vendor.
  • CoinLedger: United States.
  • Awaken Tax: Not stated by the vendor.
  • TokenTax: Not stated by the vendor.
  • ZenLedger: United States.
  • Cryptio: France.
  • Bitwave: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Divly?

Blockpit and Waltio are the next two on this page. Blockpit is for European investors wanting a per-year purchase with a published band price; Waltio is for Retail investors in France or nearby who want annual plans and a free tracker.

Who should not buy Divly?

Companies that need a self-service report for the books. Companies can buy only the Full Service package, the dearest tier on the page.

—

Tools reviewed

12 products
—

Alternatives pages in the same area

All alternatives
—

More People & Finance software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

If your crypto tax software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.

Suggest a product →