FontBase vs RightFont
FontBase costs $3 a month for its paid Awesome tier, while RightFont asks $59 once for a single device. Operating system support is not listed on the pages we checked for either app, so the real split is the payment model. FontBase gives away its core manager and charges for auto-activation, team members and sync, whereas RightFont sells one licence with a year of updates and no subscription. Neither vendor states an owner or a country. Choose by how you prefer to pay and which design apps you work in.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
you want a manager that costs nothing to start and you may only pay later for sync or team seats. You are comfortable keeping synced collections in your own Dropbox or Google Drive.
you would rather pay one fixed amount than a subscription, and you work across Figma, Sketch, Affinity or Office apps. You also value a stated 30-day money-back guarantee and email support.
FontBase and RightFont side by side
| FontBase | RightFont | |
|---|---|---|
| Our font management software rank | #1 of 13 | #3 of 13 |
| Established in | Not stated by the vendor | Not stated by the vendor |
| List price, 7 November 2026 | Core app free; Awesome $3 per month, yearly at 20% off (no figure shown), or one-time Forever | One-time $59 per device, or $250.75 volume licence (15% off $295), with a year of updates |
| Free tier | Yes | — |
| Open source | — | — |
| Self-hostable | — | — |
| Built for | Solo designers wanting a no-cost library manager before deciding whether to pay for sync | Design teams on a single-purchase budget who work in Figma, Sketch or Adobe |
| Not for | Agencies that need a named owner, country and hosting detail up front | Buyers who need to know the company's owner or country |
Both are reviewed in full in our font management software ranking: FontBase and RightFont.
Where they differ
FontBase 2 · RightFont 2 · open 2- 01
Plugins and the apps they reach
RightFont names a long integration list on its site: Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Sketch, Figma, Affinity, Keynote, Pages, and Word, Excel and PowerPoint. Its auto-activation spots missing fonts in supported design apps and offers to switch them on, and one click changes the font on selected text or layers. FontBase names auto-activation of missing fonts in Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign documents, and places that feature in the paid Awesome tier. For anyone working outside Adobe, RightFont shows more.
Edge: RightFont
- 02
Keeping a library in step across computers
FontBase offers sync of collections between computers through the user's own Dropbox or Google Drive, as part of the paid Awesome subscription. It relies on storage the buyer already holds. RightFont's pages we read describe local folders and team libraries in one workspace, yet they do not describe a cloud sync feature or say which storage it would use. On the evidence we saw, FontBase answers the multi-computer question more directly, though only behind its paid tier, and RightFont may well offer something similar elsewhere.
Edge: FontBase
- 03
Where the fonts come from
Both apps reach Google Fonts. FontBase's free version includes collections, watched folders, which show fonts without moving them, and Google Fonts access. RightFont manages local folders, team libraries and Google Fonts in a single workspace and previews fonts without installing them. The shared team library is the difference: RightFont lists it on its main page, whereas FontBase lists team members as an Awesome add-on. Each covers the basics, so we call it level on sources alone.
Depends on the buyer
- 04
What it costs to get started
FontBase has a free core app, and Awesome costs $3 per month in USD, with a yearly rate shown as 20% off but no figure and a one-time Forever payment covering future updates. RightFont lists a Single License at $59 once for one device and a Volume License at $250.75, shown as 15% off $295. Its prices carry only a dollar sign. FontBase has the lower entry point because the core app costs nothing and the paid tier is optional.
Edge: FontBase
- 05
Trial, refund and what happens after year one
RightFont includes one year of updates, round-the-clock email support and a 30-day refund promise with both plans, and gives education buyers 30% off. Its Try for free button leads to a download page without stating trial length or limits. Nothing on the pages we read covers the period after the first year. FontBase mentions no trial of Awesome, though its core app is free to use anyway. The stated refund promise makes RightFont the safer purchase for a cautious buyer.
Edge: RightFont
- 06
Seats, devices and who stands behind it
FontBase's personal Awesome use covers up to two personal computers at once, and work or organisations need one subscription per user or a multi-seat account through sales. RightFont's Single License covers one device and its Volume License several. On ownership, neither is clear. FontBase names no owner, parent company or hosting model, and RightFont's footer credits only the RightFont Team in 2026, with no country or owner stated. A buyer wanting corporate detail gets little from either vendor.
Depends on the buyer
When neither fits
If you need a named owner, country and hosting model before you buy, neither site gives them in the pages we read. MainType and FontExplorer X Pro are two other managers to weigh, particularly for larger libraries or teams.
FontBase or RightFont: questions
3 answersIs FontBase really free for everyday use?
The core app is described on the vendor's home page as free, and it includes collections, watched folders and Google Fonts access.
The paid Awesome tier adds auto-activation, team members and sync. Work use needs a subscription per user, or a multi-seat account arranged through sales.
Does RightFont require a subscription after the first year?
No, the pricing page states a one-time purchase with no subscription required. Each licence includes one year of updates and support. Nothing we read explains the terms after that first year ends.
Which one suits a team working in Figma and Sketch?
RightFont names Figma and Sketch among its integrations, and it lists team libraries beside local folders and Google Fonts. FontBase lists team members only as part of its paid Awesome tier. The FontBase pages we read do not name Figma or Sketch.
Sources
Checked 7 November 2026- FontBase home page: free core app, watched folders, Google Fonts, Photoshop/Illustrator/InDesign auto-activation, Dropbox or Google Drive sync.
- FontBase pricing: $3 monthly rate, 20% yearly discount, Forever payment, two-computer personal limit, no trial mentioned.
- RightFont pricing: $59 single and $250.75 volume prices, year of updates, 30-day refund, 30% education discount.
- RightFont home page: named integrations, team libraries, auto-activation, Try for free button, footer credit to the RightFont Team.