Help desk software is bought for the ticket queue and regretted over the price of the channels around it.
We rank on what a full agent seat costs once messaging, voice and a knowledge base are included, how the automation handles volume without insulting customers, and how quickly the conversation history exports.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What help desk software does
Help desk software turns customer messages from email, chat and other channels into tracked tickets, routes them to agents, and reports on how long each one took to resolve.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the help desk tool was built for. The ranking then gives places 1 to 3 to challengers outside the best-known brands, if the category has such vendors, and the incumbents follow. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Zammad is what a help desk looks like when the requirement starts with data residency. It runs on your own servers, the code is open under the AGPL, and the Berlin company behind it sells a supported cloud if you would rather not.
Ticketing, escalation, knowledge base, chat, phone integration and AI summaries and drafting are all there, though in the cloud chat and the knowledge base start at the Professional plan and AI is charged per call. What you give up is the surrounding ecosystem: around 30 integrations rather than hundreds, and less polish than the funded competitors ship every quarter.
What stands out
Open source
Self-hostable
German vendor
Where it costs you
Plain interface
Small integration ecosystem
Right for
A public body or company that must self-host customer data
Wrong for
A team that wants a large app marketplace and a polished agent interface
GermanyFree self-hosted; managed cloud published per agent
Ranked #2 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Help Scout deliberately hides the machinery: customers get replies that look like email, not case numbers, which suits businesses where support is part of the brand. Shared inbox, saved replies, live chat and a simple knowledge base cover most of what a small team needs, and there is a free plan for up to five users.
It is priced per user, and AI answers are an add-on billed per resolution. SLA policies are included, one basic policy on the lower plans, but it is not built for telephone queues or agent pools in the dozens.
What stands out
No ticket numbers
Shared inbox
Free plan
Where it costs you
Phone only through an integration, not a built-in queue
Unlimited SLA policies only on Pro; limited for large agent pools
Right for
A small team doing high-touch email support
Wrong for
A contact centre built around phone queues
United StatesFree plan for up to 5 users; paid per user per month, published
Ranked #3 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Front is the right shape when support, sales and operations answer the same mailbox and need to draft replies together, with internal comments that never reach the customer and assignment that behaves like a shared inbox.
It now adds ticketing with custom statuses, SLA timers with breaches tracked in analytics, and load-balancing rules, so it can run a measured desk, though advanced analytics start at Professional and custom reports at Enterprise. It is still an inbox with ticketing added rather than a queue built for volume.
What stands out
Shared inbox
Internal comments
Collaboration
Where it costs you
An inbox first: a team that thinks in ticket queues will find the specialists more natural
Starter is limited to one channel type and 10 seats; advanced analytics start at Professional
Right for
A team where support, sales and operations share a mailbox
Wrong for
A large support desk that wants a ticket queue first and an inbox second
United StatesPer seat per month, published, $25 to $105 billed annually; 14-day trial only
Ranked #4 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Pulls orders, refunds and subscriptions into the ticket so agents resolve without leaving the desk, which is a large time saving for stores. Ticket-based pricing punishes a bad month, and it is ecommerce-only by design.
What stands out
Ecommerce data
Refunds in-app
Shopify native
Where it costs you
Ticket-based pricing punishes a bad month
Ecommerce only by design
Right for
A store where agents need order context in the ticket
Wrong for
Any business without a storefront
United StatesPer month by ticket volume, published
Ranked #5 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Freshdesk puts ticketing, a knowledge base, a customer portal and automations in every plan, starting at $19 per agent per month billed annually, a price the incumbent charges for the ticket queue alone.
Round-robin routing, multiple SLA policies and up to five branded products begin at Pro, at $55, and there is a 14-day trial in place of a free tier. Reporting and the mobile app trail Zendesk, and the automation builder gets fiddly once you have more than a dozen rules interacting.
What stands out
Knowledge base on every plan
Omnichannel
Automation included
Where it costs you
Reporting and the mobile app trail Zendesk
No free version; round-robin routing and multiple SLA policies need Pro
Right for
A support team that wants capability without the incumbent price
Wrong for
An enterprise needing deep analytics
United StatesPer agent per month, published; 14-day trial only
Help desk for online sellers on Amazon, eBay and their own shop
Ranked #6 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
eDesk solves a specific problem: messages from Amazon, eBay, Walmart and a web shop in one queue, each with the order attached. That is where Gorgias, built around Shopify, is weaker.
Seats are published per user, and the AI agent is charged for each conversation it resolves, so model the volume before switching it on. The entry plan covers one store or marketplace, so a seller on several channels should budget for a higher tier.
What stands out
Marketplace messages
Order data
Multi-marketplace
Where it costs you
Little value outside ecommerce
AI agent is charged per outcome on top of seats
Right for
An online seller handling messages from several marketplaces and a shop
Wrong for
A software company or service business with no orders
United StatesPer user per month, published; AI agent charged per outcome
Ranked #7 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Crisp inverts the pricing model that makes this category expensive: you pay for the workspace, with a block of seats included, not for each person who answers a message. Essentials covers ten people for $95 a month, so a company of fifteen where support is everyone's occasional job adds five agents at $10 each rather than buying fifteen full seats.
The product is strongest where it started, with live chat, a chatbot and a shared inbox, and thinner where the enterprise tools are strong, which is queue management, SLA reporting and workforce planning.
What stands out
Priced per workspace
Chat-first
Cheap
Where it costs you
Email inbox not on the free plan; ticket portal only on Plus
Analytics start at Essentials
Right for
A small company where the whole team answers customers
Wrong for
A support organisation with queues, SLAs and shift reporting
FranceFree plan for 2 seats; paid per workspace per month with seats included, published, low
Help desk available in the cloud or on your own servers
Ranked #8 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Deskpro is one of the few commercial help desks you can still install on your own infrastructure, with a private cloud option between that and shared SaaS. That makes it a candidate wherever procurement asks where the data lives.
The product covers email, chat, voice, forms, approvals and a knowledge base. The price is published per agent, but each tier has a minimum seat count, so a very small team pays for seats it does not use.
What stands out
On-premise option
Public sector
Private cloud option
Where it costs you
Published plans require a minimum number of agents
App ecosystem is far smaller than Zendesk or Freshdesk
Right for
A public body or regulated company that needs on-premise or private hosting
Wrong for
A five-person startup that wants a free tier to start
United StatesCloud per agent per month, published with agent minimums; on-premise quoted
Ranked #9 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Zendesk's advantage is the ecosystem: an app for every adjacent system, a large pool of agents who already know it, and reporting mature enough for a support operation to be managed on. Everything works and nothing surprises.
The cost climbs in steps: Suite Team at €55 per agent billed annually includes messaging and voice, but satisfaction surveys and a second brand need Professional at €115, and Copilot and the workforce engagement bundle are €50 per agent each on top, with automated resolutions beyond the monthly allowance at €1.50 each.
What stands out
Largest app market
Mature reporting
Omnichannel
Where it costs you
Copilot, workforce management and extra AI resolutions are paid add-ons
CSAT surveys and multiple brands need the Professional plan
Right for
A support organisation that values the ecosystem and hiring pool
Wrong for
A five-person team on a budget
United StatesPer agent per month, published; 14-day trial only
Ranked #10 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Intercom owns in-product support: the messenger, product tours and an AI agent that resolves a real share of conversations rather than deflecting them into a queue. For a software company supporting users inside the application, nothing else is as coherent.
Pricing combines seats from $19 to $132 a month on annual billing, $0.99 for each outcome the AI agent delivers and usage charges for SMS, WhatsApp and phone, which makes forecasting the bill genuinely difficult before you have run it for a quarter.
What stands out
In-app messenger
AI agent
Product tours
Where it costs you
Seats plus a per-outcome AI charge plus usage-billed channels
Budgeting is genuinely hard
Right for
A product company that supports users inside the product
Wrong for
A team handling phone and email only
United StatesPer seat per month, published; AI agent charged per outcome
Low seat price for a full desk if you already run Zoho
Ranked #11 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
Zoho Desk offers SLAs, telephony integration, multi-brand help centres and automation at a low seat price, and if the rest of your stack is Zoho the customer context flows through without connectors.
The features are spread over four paid editions: SLAs start at Standard, telephony and multiple departments at Professional, and the multi-brand help centre is Enterprise only. Standing alone it feels less coherent, and the interface conventions take adjusting to. For a company already inside the suite it is close to a default.
What stands out
Low price
Suite integration
Multi-brand on Enterprise
Where it costs you
Feels less coherent outside the Zoho suite
Telephony needs Professional and multi-brand needs Enterprise
Right for
A company already on Zoho that wants a full help desk at a low seat price
Wrong for
A team that wants the most polished interface
IndiaFree plan for 3 users; paid per user per month, published
Ranked #12 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Jira Service Management is the natural pick when the engineers who fix incidents already work in Jira, because requests, changes and issues share one data model. A free plan covers three agents.
Change management and advanced incident and problem management sit in Premium, so a small team pays more than the entry price suggests. Atlassian now sells it inside the Service Collection, which also holds a separate customer service app and Assets.
What stands out
ITIL processes
Change management
Jira integration
Where it costs you
Heavier and less friendly for customer-facing support
Configuration takes time
Right for
Internal IT where developers already live in Jira
Wrong for
A consumer support team
United StatesFree tier; paid per agent per month, published
Ranked #13 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Service Hub exists so that support stops being the department without context. The ticket, the deal, the emails and the marketing history are one record, and for a company already running HubSpot that removes a genuine daily friction.
Judged as ticketing alone, the comparison is less flattering: routing, macros, SLA handling and reporting are all serviceable rather than strong, and the seat price is set by the suite rather than by the category.
What stands out
Shares the CRM record
Free tier
Full customer history
Where it costs you
Ticketing features trail the specialists
Expensive unless you already run HubSpot
Right for
A company already on HubSpot that wants support on the same record
Wrong for
A support team that needs the best ticketing tool available
United StatesFree tier; paid per seat per month, published
Ranked #14 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Service Cloud is the enterprise incumbent, and the reasons are real: omnichannel routing, workforce management, deep customisation and one customer record shared with sales. Organisations running contact centres buy it and stay.
For everyone else the honest picture is that it is a platform rather than a product — the configuration never really ends, an administrator is a standing cost, and the price includes add-ons and consumption limits that are difficult to model before you sign.
What stands out
Enterprise scale
Platform extensibility
Salesforce data model
Where it costs you
Needs a dedicated administrator, permanently
Add-ons and platform limits complicate the price
Right for
A large service organisation already standardised on Salesforce
Wrong for
A support team of five who need to start on Monday
United StatesPer user per month, published: Core $195 to Max $550, billed annually; add-ons priced separately
FreeScout handles conversations from email, WhatsApp, Telegram, Facebook, Slack and live chat in one shared mailbox, with mobile apps, 33 languages and OAuth for Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace.
Modules extend it: AI Integration and S3 Storage are listed as free, while others are one-time lifetime licences for a single instance, paid by card or PayPal and non-refundable. Third-party hosts list plans from about three dollars a month.
What stands out
Open source
Self-hostable
Paid modules
Where it costs you
The project states it is not provided as a common cloud-hosted service, so someone has to install, host and maintain it.
Several modules, including Tags, Saved Replies and Workflows, are paid add-ons bought per instance, and the modules page shows no prices.
Right for
Technical teams wanting a self-hosted shared inbox with unlimited agents and mailboxes
Wrong for
Teams wanting a vendor-run cloud help desk with support
Not stated by the vendorFree self-hosted software under AGPL-3.0; optional add-on modules sold individually as lifetime licences, prices not shown on the modules page
Help desk priced by agent tier with unlimited tickets, cloud or self-hosted
Ranked #16 of 16 in Best Help Desk Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
HelpSpot includes every feature at every tier, along with unlimited tickets, mailboxes and portals. Its AI features for categorisation, translation and writing assistance carry no extra API charge.
US cloud runs on dedicated AWS in US-East, EU cloud sits in Frankfurt, and self-hosting needs one CPU core, 2-4 GB RAM and 50 GB SSD on Linux or Windows Server. A 90-day refund guarantee and free onboarding are offered, plus a 15% non-profit discount.
What stands out
Self-hostable
Per-agent tier
Proprietary
Where it costs you
The smallest published tier covers three agents, so a one-person desk pays for three seats.
Billing is a single annual subscription, and trial data is deleted if you do not subscribe after 21 days.
Right for
Small support teams wanting predictable annual pricing with unlimited tickets, mailboxes and portals
Wrong for
One-person desks and buyers who need monthly rather than annual billing
United StatesAnnual subscription by agent tier, published; 21-day trial only; cloud or self-hosted at the same price
Help desk software turns customer messages from email, chat and other channels into tracked tickets, routes them to agents, and reports on how long each one took to resolve. Rather than compare features, settle the following points one after another.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Every help desk tool here states what it costs on its own site, so the whole list can be compared without a call: Zammad, Help Scout, Front, Gorgias, Freshdesk, eDesk, Crisp, Deskpro, Zendesk, Intercom, Zoho Desk, Jira Service Management, HubSpot Service Hub, Salesforce Service Cloud, FreeScout, HelpSpot.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 16 vendors are established in 5 countries across 4 regions (North America 12, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Open source here means Zammad, FreeScout. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Shared inbox or ticketing system: it is a culture decision
Help Scout, Front and Crisp keep conversations looking like conversations, which suits a team that wants customers to feel they are emailing a person.
Zendesk, Freshdesk, Zoho Desk and Jira Service Management make everything a ticket with a status and an SLA, which suits a team that has to prove response times. Neither is better; they produce different customer experiences and different internal habits.
Decide whether you need to prove SLAs to anyone. If not, a shared inbox is lighter.
Check what the customer sees in a reply: a person, or a ticket number.
Ask how an escalation works and who owns a conversation at each step.
Per agent, per workspace, per ticket, per resolution
This page has four different meters and they favour very different businesses. Zendesk, Freshdesk, Zoho and Help Scout charge per agent or user, Crisp per workspace, Gorgias by ticket volume, and Intercom bills its AI agent per outcome on top of seats, as Help Scout does per resolution for its AI answers.
A seasonal business with volume spikes and a steady business with a large team will find opposite products cheap.
Model your busiest month, not your average one.
If AI deflection is priced per resolution, model what happens when it works well.
Check the cost of a part-time or occasional agent.
Channels you actually support, not the ones on the list
Every product claims every channel. What matters is whether the one your customers use is a real integration or a forwarding trick.
Gorgias is built around ecommerce channels and Crisp around live chat on the site; the generalists cover more and go less deep. Support quality is decided by the channel that carries most of your volume.
Rank your channels by volume, then test the top one properly.
Check whether social and messaging channels sync both ways or only receive.
Ask what happens to a conversation that moves from chat to email.
The knowledge base decides how much you have to answer
The cheapest ticket is the one a customer answers themselves, and the knowledge base is what makes that possible.
Ask whether articles can be suggested inside the reply editor, whether they are searchable by customers before contact, and whether the AI deflection everyone now sells is drawing on your articles or guessing. Freshdesk includes this at the low end, as does Zammad self-hosted or from its Professional cloud plan.
Check whether agents can turn a good reply into an article in one step.
Test the customer-facing search with a real question.
If AI answers are offered, ask what it does when it does not know.
What goes wrong most often when buying help desk software
Buying ticketing for a five-person team that would be happier in a shared inbox.
Pricing on average volume when the business is seasonal.
Counting channels rather than testing the one that carries the volume.
Launching without a knowledge base and then measuring agents on response time.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best help desk in 2026?
Zammad takes first place among the 16 we reviewed. For an organisation that must keep customer correspondence on its own infrastructure, this is the mature open source option with a real company behind the hosted version.
The interface is plain and the ecosystem of integrations is a fraction of the commercial products.
Which help desk tools publish their pricing?
16 out of 16 state a price model on their own site:
Zammad: Free self-hosted; managed cloud published per agent.
Help Scout: Free plan for up to 5 users; paid per user per month, published.
Front: Per seat per month, published, $25 to $105 billed annually; 14-day trial only.
Gorgias: Per month by ticket volume, published.
Freshdesk: Per agent per month, published; 14-day trial only.
eDesk: Per user per month, published; AI agent charged per outcome.
Crisp: Free plan for 2 seats; paid per workspace per month with seats included, published, low.
Deskpro: Cloud per agent per month, published with agent minimums; on-premise quoted.
Zendesk: Per agent per month, published; 14-day trial only.
Intercom: Per seat per month, published; AI agent charged per outcome.
Zoho Desk: Free plan for 3 users; paid per user per month, published.
Jira Service Management: Free tier; paid per agent per month, published.
HubSpot Service Hub: Free tier; paid per seat per month, published.
Salesforce Service Cloud: Per user per month, published: Core $195 to Max $550, billed annually; add-ons priced separately.
FreeScout: Free self-hosted software under AGPL-3.0; optional add-on modules sold individually as lifetime licences, prices not shown on the modules page.
HelpSpot: Annual subscription by agent tier, published; 21-day trial only; cloud or self-hosted at the same price.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free help desk tool?
Zammad, Help Scout, Crisp, Zoho Desk, Jira Service Management, HubSpot Service Hub, FreeScout offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these help desk vendors established?
Across 5 countries (North America 12, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1):
Zammad: Germany.
Help Scout: United States.
Front: United States.
Gorgias: United States.
Freshdesk: United States.
eDesk: United States.
Crisp: France.
Deskpro: United States.
Zendesk: United States.
Intercom: United States.
Zoho Desk: India.
Jira Service Management: United States.
HubSpot Service Hub: United States.
Salesforce Service Cloud: United States.
FreeScout: Not stated by the vendor.
HelpSpot: United States.
Which help desk tools are open source?
Zammad, FreeScout.
Which help desk tools can you host yourself?
Zammad, Deskpro, FreeScout, HelpSpot. The remaining 12 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of Zammad?
Help Scout and Front are the next two on this page. Help Scout is for a small team doing high-touch email support; Front is for a team where support, sales and operations share a mailbox.
Who should not buy Zammad?
A team that wants a large app marketplace and a polished agent interface. Plain interface.
If a help desk product of yours deserves a place among these 16, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.