Sentry vs Rollbar

Sentry bundles tracing, replays, uptime checks and metrics around error capture, and prices by seat tier plus event quotas. Rollbar keeps the focus on occurrences and lets every plan add unlimited users and projects. Sentry publishes its paid prices, while Rollbar's paid amounts sit behind a volume selector.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

01

Sentry and Rollbar side by side

SentryRollbar
Our error tracking software rank#11 of 13#7 of 13
Established inUnited StatesNot stated by the vendor
List price, 5 November 2026Developer free (1 user); Team $29/month or $26 annual; Business $89/month or $80 annual; Enterprise customFree ($0, 5,000 occurrences a month); Essentials and Advanced amounts not shown; Enterprise custom
Free tierYesYes
Open source——
Self-hostableYes—
Built forDevelopment teams that want release-linked errors before they want tracesTeams wanting unlimited users and projects with limits counted in occurrences
Not forInfrastructure monitoring or a single-pane operations viewBuyers needing the owner's country stated on its own site

Both are reviewed in full in our error tracking software ranking: Sentry and Rollbar.

02

Where they differ

Sentry 2 · Rollbar 2 · open 0
  1. 01

    Who can join for free

    Sentry's Developer plan is free but limited to 1 user, with 5k errors and a 30-day lookback. Rollbar's free plan lists 5,000 occurrences and 1,000 replays a month, also with 30-day retention. The Rollbar page does not tie its free plan to a user cap in the text we read, so a small team has more room there.

    Edge: Rollbar

  2. 02

    Knowing the paid price

    Sentry shows Team at $29 a month (monthly) or $26 (annual) and Business at $89 or $80, plus event-based usage. Rollbar names Essentials and Advanced, with 90 and 180 days of retention, but shows no amount in the page text. Budgeting is simpler with Sentry.

    Edge: Sentry

  3. 03

    What sits around the errors

    Sentry's plans include spans, logs, metrics, replays, uptime monitors and dashboards, each with its own allowance. Rollbar's plans are built around occurrences, replays and credits, with Advanced adding adaptive alerts, SCIM and the Analyze query API. Sentry covers more of a team's debugging surface in one place.

    Edge: Sentry

  4. 04

    Trial and retention

    Rollbar's 14-day trial gives the Advanced feature set with 200K occurrences, 10K replays and 15K credits, and Advanced keeps data up to 180 days. Sentry's 14-day Business trial needs no card, and its paid plans reach up to 90 days of lookback. Rollbar holds data longer at the top paid tier.

    Edge: Rollbar

03

When neither fits

If you need host-level infrastructure monitoring, neither is the right shape. GlitchTip and Honeybadger are lighter error trackers worth a look.

04

Sentry or Rollbar: questions

3 answers
Does Rollbar publish its paid prices?

Not in the page text we read. Essentials and Advanced are shown only as plan names with credit and retention limits, so you need the volume selector or sales for a number.

Is Sentry free for a team?

The Developer plan is free but for one user. Team, at $29 a month billed monthly, is where unlimited users start.

Where is each company based?

Sentry's terms are with Functional Software, Inc. in San Francisco, USA. Rollbar does not state its country on the pages we read, and its legal pages returned HTTP 404.

—

Sources

Checked 5 November 2026
  • Sentry pricing: Developer limits, Team and Business monthly and annual amounts, 14-day Business trial, 90-day lookback.
  • Sentry terms: Functional Software, Inc. d/b/a Sentry, San Francisco, USA.
  • Rollbar pricing: Free plan occurrences and replays, plan names, retention, 14-day Advanced trial, no paid amounts shown, Advanced features.
—

More comparisons