PDF generation APIs turn HTML, stored templates or uploaded documents into finished files on request, which suits invoices, reports and certificates produced by software.
This guide ranks smaller operators first and tests four things: how a document counts against quota, who maintains the templates, whether limits block realistic files, and what leaving would involve.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What PDF generation apis software does
A PDF generation API accepts HTML, a stored template or a document over HTTP and returns a PDF, billing by document, credit or browser time instead of by seat.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every PDF generation apis tool here. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Document-metered API with a free tier and published rate limits
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best PDF Generation APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
PDFBolt earns first place on independence and on how much it tells you before purchase. Every tier lists monthly documents, requests per minute, concurrent requests, templates and team seats, and the free plan has 50 documents a month.
Extra documents are billed only if you switch overage on, at a rate that falls with the tier. The catch is the 5 MB document unit, which makes oversized output cost more than the headline count suggests.
What stands out
Rate limits per minute
Opt-in overage
5 MB document unit
Where it costs you
Each 5 MB of generated output counts as another document on paid plans, so heavy reports use quota faster.
The free plan allows one template, one team member and one concurrent request, which suits testing only.
Right for
Developers who want predictable per-minute limits and one named operator behind the API
Wrong for
Buyers who want unlimited templates on the cheapest paid tier
PolandFree plan plus three published monthly tiers; overage billing is opt-in
Credit-priced PDF generation with a long ladder of published tiers
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best PDF Generation APIs in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
PDFShift is the second pick because its tier ladder is the longest published here, running from a free allowance to a one-million-credit plan with custom terms beyond that.
Overage per extra credit falls as the tier rises, and paying yearly buys ten months for twelve. The limits to read are the credit rule of one per 5 MB and the monthly reset, which together reward steady volume and punish spiky usage.
What stands out
Credits per 5 MB
Annual: ten for twelve
Timeouts up to 15 minutes
Where it costs you
Credits expire at month end, so months with uneven volume waste part of the quota.
Free-plan files are capped at 15 MB and 30 seconds, which rules out long reports during testing.
Right for
Teams expecting volume to grow who want one tier ladder up to millions
Wrong for
Teams that need leftover quota carried into the next month
FrancePublished credit tiers from a free monthly allowance to a million credits; annual billing covers ten months
MIT-licensed Docker API that converts web pages and office files to PDF
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best PDF Generation APIs in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Gotenberg is third because no vendor stands between you and the code: the MIT licence means you can run it, fork it and leave. It bundles Chromium for web pages and LibreOffice for office files, and can validate output against PDF/A, PDF/UA and Factur-X.
The price of that freedom is operations work, since nine container images across five architectures still need someone to deploy, monitor and update them.
What stands out
Docker images
Chromium plus LibreOffice
PDF/A and PDF/UA validation
Where it costs you
Without a managed service, uptime, scaling and patching fall to your own team.
The site lists no paid support plan, only a sponsorship link.
Right for
Engineering teams that already run containers and want conversion costs measured in servers
Wrong for
Teams wanting a hosted endpoint and an invoice from a vendor
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under the MIT licence; the site shows no vendor plans, only a sponsorship link
Credit-metered conversion with a WordPress plugin on every plan
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best PDF Generation APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
html2pdf.app suits small, steady workloads. Every plan includes all customisation options and the WordPress plugin, so there is no feature ladder to climb, only credits and parallel conversions, which run from one on the free plan to a hundred on the largest.
That simplicity helps budgeting, but the free plan's 1 MB cap and the absence of any stated country limit how far a cautious buyer can verify before paying.
What stands out
WordPress PDF plugin
Parallel conversions
Credits per 5 MB
Where it costs you
Free-plan PDFs stop at 1 MB, so realistic documents need a paid plan.
Monthly credits are reset on the first of the month, so leftovers are lost.
Right for
WordPress site owners and small apps converting modest volumes on a low monthly budget
Wrong for
Teams that need to know the vendor's country before signing
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly or yearly credit plans with a small free allowance
Template-based PDFs with monthly document quotas priced in euros
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best PDF Generation APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
PDFMonkey sits mid-table because the pricing is clear but the vendor is not. The five tiers run in euros from a small free allowance to 60,000 documents, with yearly billing about a tenth cheaper, and the 30-day trial carries 300 documents.
Templates are unlimited even on the free tier. What it does not settle is registration: the terms are hosted externally and no country of incorporation appears.
What stands out
Euro pricing
Document retention
30-day trial
Where it costs you
Branded templates need the trial or a paid plan, as the free tier rejects outside assets.
Free-tier documents are kept for one day, which forces you to store output yourself.
The terms are hosted externally and name no country of registration.
Right for
Teams that bill in euros and want a trial before committing to a tier
Wrong for
Buyers who need a confirmed company registration country
Not stated by the vendorPublished euro tiers with a small free allowance and a 30-day trial; yearly billing saves a tenth
Template designer API where each action carries its own credit cost
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best PDF Generation APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
CraftMyPDF is for buyers who want more than generation from one credit pool. Separate rates for PDFs, watermark operations and e-signature requests let you mix actions, and the largest plan reaches 150,000 documents.
The cost is complexity: a signature request spends ten times what a plain PDF does, quotas reset monthly, and priority support arrives only from the Professional plan up.
What stands out
E-signature requests
Watermark operations
Team features from Professional
Where it costs you
BYOS and PDF password protection start at the Professional tier, well above the entry price.
Terms and privacy pages could not be read, so the legal owner is unconfirmed.
Right for
Teams mixing generation with watermarks or signature requests under one credit balance
Wrong for
Buyers who need group features on a low-priced plan
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly tiers with a free allowance; credits differ by action
HTML and CSS to PDF through Prince, with accessibility tagging
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best PDF Generation APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
DocRaptor is the hosted route to the Prince engine, with accessibility tagging aimed at WCAG 2.0, Section 508 and ISO 14289, HTML forms turned into PDF forms, and CSS headers and footers.
Pricing follows document count rather than size. That favours long documents and penalises many short ones, and the entry-level plans are small, so volume buyers climb quickly toward the higher tiers.
What stands out
Prince engine
Accessible PDF tagging
Hosted unbranded URLs
Where it costs you
Hosting generated PDFs is a metered extra and is not included in the free plan.
Paid plans bill overage per document, so bursts of small documents raise the bill.
Right for
Teams needing accessibility-tagged PDFs from print-style CSS and HTML forms
Wrong for
Teams that want a flat price however many documents they send
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly document tiers with a free allowance; hosting is metered separately and the top tier is on request
Render credits shared across images, videos and per-page PDFs
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best PDF Generation APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Templated is built for teams whose output is mostly images and video with some PDFs, since all three draw on one credit balance. Plans rise from 1,000 to 25,000 credits with higher rate limits, template caps and seat counts. For PDF-only buyers the per-page credit is the weakness, because a ten-page document costs ten credits.
What stands out
Credit per PDF page
Image and video renders
Template caps per plan
Where it costs you
A multi-page PDF burns one credit per page, so long documents drain the allowance quickly.
The entry plan limits you to 15 templates and 2 team members.
Right for
Marketing and product teams producing images and short PDFs from the same templates
Wrong for
Teams producing long multi-page reports in large volumes
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly and annual plans; a 50-credit trial needs no card
Licensed HTML and CSS formatter sold per user, server or site
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best PDF Generation APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Prince is an engine rather than a service, and the licence model shows it. Desktop, per-server, academic and commercial site licences are priced separately, with support contracts and volume discounts on top, and the site licence covers any number of servers in your cluster or cloud.
That suits steady in-house use. It is a poor fit for small teams, since the per-server licence listed runs to four figures.
What stands out
Per-server licence
Language packages
Prince as a Service
Where it costs you
Every listed licence carries a fee, and no trial is described on the purchase page.
Cloud API access comes only through DocRaptor or EuroPDF, with no price shown.
Right for
Organisations that want a formatter inside their own cluster and can budget a licence
Wrong for
Developers wanting a pay-as-you-go endpoint to test this week
Not stated by the vendorPublished licence fees by seat or server, one-time or annual; OEM terms quoted deal by deal
Hosted headless browsers where PDF is one API among several
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best PDF Generation APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Browserless suits teams that need a headless browser for several jobs and treat PDFs as one of them. Plans are measured in units with a concurrency ceiling that runs from 2 browsers on the free tier to 100 on Scale.
Because a unit is 30 seconds of connection time, forecasting a pure invoice workload is harder than with per-document vendors, and captcha solves cost ten units each.
What stands out
Browser-time units
Concurrent browsers
Screenshot and download APIs
Where it costs you
Pricing counts browser time in units, so sluggish pages cost more than quick ones.
Enterprise pricing is available only by contacting sales.
Right for
Teams that already automate browsers and want PDF output from the same fleet
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a flat, per-document price for simple invoices
Not stated by the vendorPublished unit-based plans with a free tier; each unit covers thirty seconds of browser time
PDF fill and generation bundled with workflows and e-signature packets
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best PDF Generation APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Anvil is last because it is a document workflow platform with generation inside it. Templates, workflow submissions and signing packets all sit under one account, and usage above included credits is metered per action.
Plans start with five seats and AI-tagged pages, and the production rate limit of 40 requests per second arrives only with Product Pack, so a team after plain PDF output pays for more than it uses.
What stands out
Etch e-signatures
Workflow submissions
Metered API calls
Where it costs you
API use requires a card on file, and each PDF fill or generation is metered.
The entry pack centres on AI-tagged pages, which plain generation buyers may not need.
Right for
Product teams combining PDF filling with signing and intake workflows in one platform
Wrong for
Buyers who only need a cheap high-volume rendering endpoint
Not stated by the vendorPublished pack prices and metered usage; the free plan covers dashboard and share-link use only
A PDF generation API accepts HTML, a stored template or a document over HTTP and returns a PDF, billing by document, credit or browser time instead of by seat. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Check who publishes a price
Only 10 of the 11 print a price; 1 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: PDFBolt, PDFShift, html2pdf.app, PDFMonkey, CraftMyPDF, DocRaptor, Templated, Prince, Browserless, Anvil.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
The vendors on this page are based in 3 countries (Elsewhere 9, Europe 2). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Source code is available for Gotenberg. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
How a PDF generation API counts one document
The headline quota hides the real unit. PDFBolt, PDFShift and html2pdf.app all treat each 5 MB of output as one document or credit, so a single image-heavy report can use several. Templated charges one credit for every PDF page, which makes a ten-page statement cost ten.
DocRaptor counts documents and states that size adds no surcharge, while Browserless counts 30-second slices of browser time, so a slow page costs more than a quick one. Before comparing prices, take your largest typical file, work out its cost under each rule, and multiply by your monthly volume. The cheapest tier on paper often loses once page count and file weight enter the sum.
Convert your biggest real document into each vendor's unit
Check whether pages, megabytes or seconds are billed
Ask what happens when quota runs out
Template-driven versus HTML-driven PDF generation
Two designs compete here. PDFMonkey, CraftMyPDF and Templated store a template and fill it with data, so a designer can change layout without touching your code. PDFShift, PDFBolt and DocRaptor take the markup itself, which suits teams that already render documents in HTML and CSS. The stored-template route adds limits of its own: the free tier of CraftMyPDF allows 3 templates, Templated's entry plan 15, and PDFMonkey's free tier blocks external images, fonts, CSS and JavaScript.
Decide who edits layouts after launch, because that person shapes every later cost and constraint. If developers do, markup conversion keeps the design in your repository; if non-developers do, a template editor earns its template caps, and you should budget for the plan that raises them.
Name the person who will edit layouts in a year
Count templates you need against plan caps
Check what the free tier blocks, such as external fonts
Running Gotenberg or licensing Prince yourself
A hosted API is not the only route. Gotenberg is MIT-licensed and ships as Docker images, converting web pages through Chromium and office files through LibreOffice, so volume costs servers instead of credits. Prince sits at the other end: YesLogic sells desktop, per-server and commercial site licences, and its home page lists packages for Python, Node.js, Java, .NET, PHP and Rails.
DocRaptor and EuroPDF sell the same engine as a service. In-house running removes per-document metering and quota resets, but adds deployment, patching and monitoring, and Prince adds a licence fee on top. It pays off when volume is steady, files are large enough to make metering painful, and an operations team already exists to own the service.
Estimate server hours against monthly credit spend
Confirm who patches and monitors the containers
Read the licence terms for your commercial use
Testing a PDF generation API before committing
Free allowances differ enough to change what you can test. PDFShift gives 50 credits a month but caps files at 15 MB and timeouts at 30 seconds. PDFMonkey's free tier keeps documents for one day and blocks external assets, though its 30-day trial adds 300 documents. DocRaptor offers unlimited watermarked test documents on every account, and Templated offers 50 credits without a card.
Anvil's free plan covers dashboard use but needs a card for metered API calls. Use these allowances for a real workload, not a hello-world page: send your longest document, your heaviest images and a burst of parallel requests, then record time, size and cost per file so the paid tier can be chosen from measurements rather than from the marketing page.
Send your longest, heaviest real document through each trial
Fire a burst of parallel requests and note any throttling
Record cost per file from the usage dashboard
What goes wrong most often when buying PDF generation apis software
Comparing document counts across vendors without checking whether one document means 5 MB, one page or 30 seconds of browser time.
Choosing a stored-template product when the layout is already written in HTML and CSS, then paying template caps for no benefit.
Judging a free allowance by its quota alone, when file size, timeout, retention or blocked external assets can stop a realistic test.
Treating self-hosting as free because the licence costs nothing, then forgetting the deployment, patching and monitoring hours it adds.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best PDF generation apis in 2026?
PDFBolt takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. PDFBolt is run by Michal Szymanowski PDFBolt, a business entity registered in Poland, which makes it the smallest operator in this list.
The pricing page publishes documents, requests per minute and concurrency for every tier, so capacity can be planned in advance. Overage stays off until you enable it, and each 5 MB of output counts as a further document, which large reports can reach.
Which PDF generation apis tools publish their pricing?
10 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
PDFBolt: Free plan plus three published monthly tiers; overage billing is opt-in.
PDFShift: Published credit tiers from a free monthly allowance to a million credits; annual billing covers ten months.
html2pdf.app: Published monthly or yearly credit plans with a small free allowance.
PDFMonkey: Published euro tiers with a small free allowance and a 30-day trial; yearly billing saves a tenth.
CraftMyPDF: Published monthly tiers with a free allowance; credits differ by action.
DocRaptor: Published monthly document tiers with a free allowance; hosting is metered separately and the top tier is on request.
Templated: Published monthly and annual plans; a 50-credit trial needs no card.
Prince: Published licence fees by seat or server, one-time or annual; OEM terms quoted deal by deal.
Browserless: Published unit-based plans with a free tier; each unit covers thirty seconds of browser time.
Anvil: Published pack prices and metered usage; the free plan covers dashboard and share-link use only.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free PDF generation apis tool?
PDFBolt, PDFMonkey, DocRaptor, Browserless, Anvil have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these PDF generation apis vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 3 countries and 2 regions, Elsewhere 9, Europe 2:
PDFBolt: Poland.
PDFShift: France.
Gotenberg: Not stated by the vendor.
html2pdf.app: Not stated by the vendor.
PDFMonkey: Not stated by the vendor.
CraftMyPDF: Not stated by the vendor.
DocRaptor: Not stated by the vendor.
Templated: Not stated by the vendor.
Prince: Not stated by the vendor.
Browserless: Not stated by the vendor.
Anvil: Not stated by the vendor.
Which PDF generation apis tools are open source?
Gotenberg.
What should you use instead of PDFBolt?
The next in line are PDFShift, aimed at teams expecting volume to grow who want one tier ladder up to millions, and Gotenberg, aimed at Engineering teams that already run containers and want conversion costs measured in servers.
Who should not buy PDFBolt?
Buyers who want unlimited templates on the cheapest paid tier. Each 5 MB of generated output counts as another document on paid plans, so heavy reports use quota faster..
If a PDF generation apis product of yours deserves a place among these 11, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.