Financial data APIs deliver stock prices, company fundamentals and exchange feeds to code instead of to a terminal screen.
This ranking of twelve vendors weighs the first ninety days of integration, the bill once real-time or fundamentals are added, how data can be pulled out again, and whether each product fits a hobbyist, a startup or a trading desk.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What financial data apis software does
A financial data API returns market prices, fundamentals and exchange quotes over HTTP or websocket, metered by requests, credits or bandwidth, so applications can read market data without a terminal.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the financial data apis tool was built for. The ranking then gives places 1 to 3 to challengers outside the best-known brands, if the category has such vendors, and the incumbents follow. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Starter tier at no charge, Power and Business plans billed monthly or yearly at listed prices; business licence listed separately; fundamentals sold as an add-on through sales
—
Solo developers and small firms wanting published tiers up to internal commercial use
Teams needing balance sheet data priced before they contact anyone
Published price ladder from a starter key to a business licence
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Financial Data APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The Starter plan allows 1,000 requests a day and 500 unique symbols a month, which suits a prototype or a nightly job. Power lifts that to 100,000 requests a day and 40 GB of bandwidth, and lists 15+ years of fundamental history.
A Business plan covers internal commercial use. Fundamentals come as a separate add-on whose price is given only on request, so the quoted ladder understates what a fundamentals-heavy build costs.
What stands out
Business licence tier
30+ years of prices
Fundamentals add-on
Where it costs you
The fundamental data add-on has no published price and is arranged with sales.
The Business plan shows no separate limits, so its allowance must be confirmed before launch.
Right for
Solo developers and small firms wanting published tiers up to internal commercial use
Wrong for
Teams needing balance sheet data priced before they contact anyone
Not stated by the vendorStarter tier at no charge, Power and Business plans billed monthly or yearly at listed prices; business licence listed separately; fundamentals sold as an add-on through sales
Credit-metered market data with a trial built into the entry plan
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Financial Data APIs in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
Credits rather than raw requests set the meter, and the entry plan gives 8 credits a minute. The trial is offered only under that entry plan, not on upper tiers.
Paid plans run monthly with a yearly option labelled as a 17% saving. Because two sets of figures appear on one page, a buyer should confirm the exact charge at checkout.
What stands out
Credit-based metering
Singapore company
Per-minute allowances
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows figures in its structured data that differ from the visible ones.
Venture and Enterprise tiers carry no prices, so large-volume cost needs a conversation.
Right for
Developers who want per-minute credit allowances and a trial before paying
Wrong for
Buyers who need a firm quote for the largest tiers from the page
SingaporePublished monthly prices with a yearly discount; entry plan at no charge; higher tiers shown without prices
Euro-priced end-of-day, intraday and fundamentals bundles for individuals
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Financial Data APIs in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The personal range is easy to map to a job: end-of-day history, intraday on top, fundamentals alone, or everything in one package. Billing runs month by month with no long commitment, and keys are issued within seconds of subscribing.
The trade-off is that the cheapest plans cover a single data type, and anything resembling an SLA or custom volume is a sales conversation instead of a listed price.
What stands out
Euro pricing
Fundamentals feed plan
Monthly rolling terms
Where it costs you
Personal plans are split by data type, so a buyer needing prices and fundamentals must pick the dearer package.
Business terms, SLAs and custom volumes are handled through sales rather than a price list.
Right for
Individual analysts who want a single euro price per data type
Wrong for
Companies needing service levels or large volumes without talking to sales
FrancePublished monthly and yearly prices in euros, a sandbox at no charge, separate business plans, one-month minimum
Four published tiers where coverage widens as call allowances grow
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Financial Data APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Each step up changes both volume and coverage: 300 calls a minute at Starter, 750 at Premium with 30+ years of history, and 3,000 at Ultimate. Annual billing lowers every paid price.
Two limits apply at once, calls and a trailing 30-day bandwidth cap that runs from 500 MB on the basic tier to 150 GB on Ultimate, so bulk pulls may stall before the call allowance is used.
What stands out
Statements and transcripts
Call-per-minute tiers
Bandwidth caps
Where it costs you
Real-time data is absent from the basic tier, which is end-of-day only.
Global coverage and transcripts sit only on the dearest published tier.
Right for
Developers wanting company financials and bulk delivery on a published ladder
Wrong for
Anyone needing global markets or transcripts on a modest budget
Not stated by the vendorFour tiers with listed monthly and annual rates, a free basic tier, and trailing bandwidth caps
Five plans measured in requests per second rather than monthly quotas
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Financial Data APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Throughput is the only lever visible: 10 requests a second at Standard, 30 at Premium and Professional, 50 at Enterprise. The free plan switches to a daily count, so moving from it to paid changes the unit of measure.
Yearly billing is cheaper than monthly by the stated 30%. A buyer should ask what Professional adds over Premium, since the published rate limit is identical.
What stands out
Per-second rate limits
Yearly billing discount
Five-tier ladder
Where it costs you
Premium and Professional list the same rate limit, which leaves the price gap unexplained on that page.
The free plan is capped per day while paid plans are capped per second, making them hard to compare.
Right for
Buyers who think in throughput and want yearly billing at a lower rate
Wrong for
Teams needing data coverage differences spelled out for each tier
Not stated by the vendorFree daily allowance, then four paid plans with listed rates and a stated yearly discount
Ten unnamed premium tiers sorted purely by requests per minute
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Financial Data APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
A buyer picks a request rate and nothing else: 75, 150, 300, 600 or 1200 a minute. The first set runs from roughly fifty to two hundred and fifty a month, the second from about five hundred to twenty-five hundred.
Premium support is included, and no daily caps are listed for paid plans. The page mentions annual plans with two months off but shows no annual price, so only monthly figures are confirmed.
What stands out
Requests-per-minute tiers
Premium support
Daily-capped free tier
Where it costs you
The page never explains why identical request limits appear at two different price levels.
The free tier of 25 requests a day is too small for anything beyond a test.
Right for
Developers who only need a higher request rate and premium support
Wrong for
Buyers who want plan names or feature lists to compare
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly prices for ten tiers named only by their request limit; free tier capped per day
Usage-billed exchange data with live feeds and historical depth
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Financial Data APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Billing by volume suits teams that pull large historical sets once and little afterwards. Standard adds live data for a flat monthly fee without licence charges.
External distribution and a dedicated account manager arrive only at Plus, which is on an annual contract. The cost model rewards disciplined querying, since a careless backfill is billed per gigabyte, and credits for a first trial run out within six months.
What stands out
Pay per gigabyte
Futures history
Live data on Standard
Where it costs you
Plus and Unlimited require an annual contract and a conversation with sales.
Signup credits expire after six months and each team can claim only one set.
Right for
Quant developers who need futures history billed by volume rather than by plan
Wrong for
Hobbyists wanting a small recurring fee for casual use
Not stated by the vendorPublished pay-as-you-go rates per gigabyte, a monthly Standard plan, annual-contract tiers sold through sales
Personal and business licences separated by display and redistribution rights
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Financial Data APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The licence is the product decision. A personal seat cannot be shown to customers, so anything customer-facing needs the Startup or Enterprise licence.
Startup billing moves through three stages, so a launch budget becomes a forecast covering the first year and beyond. Support moves from chat to ticketing at Startup, and Enterprise adds an account manager and an SLA on custom feeds.
What stands out
Display rights licence
Trial on two plans
Step-up business pricing
Where it costs you
The Startup price rises in two steps, so the launch quote understates the steady cost.
The plans are described as non-customisable, which limits tailoring the data scope.
Right for
Startups that must display market data to customers under a clear licence
Wrong for
Hobbyists who want a plan cheaper than the personal tier
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly price for individuals, business plan listed as a starting figure that rises, trial offered, enterprise custom
Request-metered stock data with overage rates published per request
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Financial Data APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Quotas are monthly: 10,000 on Basic, 100,000 on Professional and 500,000 on Business, with overage priced per additional request, for example 0.003996 per request on Basic. That makes a runaway script costly but predictable.
The free tier is small enough to serve only as a connectivity test. Corporate details come indirectly, because the terms link leads to an imprint that does not name the product.
What stands out
Monthly request quotas
Overage rates published
APILayer imprint
Where it costs you
The free tier allows only 100 requests a month, which a modest test script can use up quickly.
The ownership entity comes from a redirect target that does not name the product.
Right for
Small apps that need a predictable monthly request quota and known overage costs
Wrong for
Teams needing high per-minute speeds or detailed feature lists per plan
AustriaFree tier with a small monthly allowance; paid rates listed monthly or yearly, overage rates per request
US stock and options data bundled with a free delayed tier
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Financial Data APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The free plan gives IEX data, 7+ years of history and 30 websocket symbols, with the websocket delayed by 15 minutes. The jump to the single paid plan removes the call ceiling and symbol limit and brings every US exchange plus real-time OPRA options.
The page headline mentions a higher call figure that conflicts with the plan table, so rely on the table. The gap between the two plans is the whole decision.
What stands out
Free plan with IEX data
Real-time US options
Websocket streaming
Where it costs you
Free-plan options quotes are indicative, not real-time.
Only two plans are shown, so there is no mid-priced step between the free plan and the paid one.
Right for
Trading-bot developers wanting US equities and options with an affordable upgrade path
Wrong for
Buyers needing non-US markets or several mid-priced tiers
Not stated by the vendorFree market data plan plus one published monthly paid plan with unlimited calls and real-time options
Polygon.io's successor, selling stock data and partner datasets individually
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Financial Data APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Datasets are sold separately, so the bill is a sum: $199 for the stocks plan, $29 for ratios, $49 for order imbalances, and $99 for each partner feed such as Benzinga news.
The stocks plan lists no call limits and carries a 20% annual saving. The pricing page shows individual-use plans only. The vendor reached under the Polygon.io name now redirects to massive.com.
What stands out
Formerly Polygon.io
Per-dataset pricing
Partner news datasets
Where it costs you
The pricing page offers no trial, so evaluation means paying for a month.
Each partner dataset adds its own monthly fee, which multiplies cost for a broad build.
Right for
Individual traders who want real-time US stock data and pay per dataset
Wrong for
Buyers who want to test the service before paying anything
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly prices per dataset, with a 20% annual saving on the stocks plan
Brokerage plans that include API access alongside trading commissions
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Financial Data APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Cost depends on trading volume more than on data. Stock commissions fall from $0.35 on Lite to nothing on Pro and Pro Plus, and the monthly fee rises accordingly, so an active trader may find a paid plan cheaper than Lite.
The Lite offer includes two months of Pro for new customers. Because the page lists no data-only plan or API allowance, a research or analytics buyer should look elsewhere in this ranking.
What stands out
Brokerage account
API on all plans
Commission-based tiers
Where it costs you
The price model is commissions plus a monthly fee, so a data-only buyer pays for a brokerage they do not need.
Data coverage and limits for the API are not described on the pricing page.
Right for
Retail traders who want an API attached to a brokerage account
Wrong for
Data-only buyers who have no intention of trading through the vendor
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plan prices for three brokerage tiers, with per-trade commissions that fall as the plan rises
A financial data API returns market prices, fundamentals and exchange quotes over HTTP or websocket, metered by requests, credits or bandwidth, so applications can read market data without a terminal. These are the questions that actually differ between vendors, in the order we would ask them.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Only 11 of the 12 print a price; 1 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Twelve Data, EOD Historical Data, Financial Modeling Prep, FinancialData.net, Alpha Vantage, Databento, Intrinio, Marketstack, Alpaca Market Data, Massive, Tradier.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
The vendors on this page are based in 4 countries (Elsewhere 9, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.
Reading daily and per-minute limits across Financial Data APIs before you code
The free tiers in this market are measured in different units, so a headline allowance tells you little. Alpha Vantage stops at 25 requests a day, FMP Basic allows 250 calls a day, FinancialData.net gives 300 requests a day and Tiingo Starter gives 1,000 a day. Twelve Data counts credits, with 8 a minute on Basic, and Marketstack allows 100 requests a month.
Paid tiers switch units again: FMP counts calls per minute, FinancialData.net counts requests per second, Tiingo counts per hour and per day. Convert every limit to requests per day for your own polling plan, then add a margin, because one dashboard refresh may use dozens of calls. A prototype that fits one vendor's free allowance can break on another's.
Convert each vendor limit into requests per day for your workload
Check whether the unit is credits, calls or requests
Test the free tier with your real polling schedule
Personal versus business licences at Intrinio, Tiingo and Massive
Many buyers pick a plan by price and learn later that the licence forbids their use. Intrinio's Individual plan is for personal use with one seat and no redistribution or display rights, and the Startup plan adds business-wide display rights. Tiingo lists a separate Business plan for internal commercial use. Massive's Stocks Advanced plan is described as for individual use.
If your app shows prices to customers, a personal plan is the wrong purchase however attractive its price looks. Read the licence terms next to the plan table, write down who may see the data, and ask the vendor in writing when your case sits between the two descriptions. A sensible order is licence first, then limits, then price, because a cheap plan you may not lawfully use is worth nothing to the business.
Confirm whether customers or only staff will see the data
Read the redistribution and display wording on each plan
Ask in writing when your use sits between two plans
Pricing real-time and options feeds on Alpaca Market Data and Databento
Delayed data and live data are priced very differently, and the jump is where budgets break. Alpaca's free plan streams a websocket with a 15-minute delay and shows options as indicative, while Algo Trader Plus adds real-time OPRA options and unlimited calls. Financial Modeling Prep adds real-time data at its Starter tier, not on Basic.
Databento charges by the gigabyte, and its Standard plan includes live data with no licence fees, while Plus and Unlimited add licence fees on annual contracts. Write down whether you truly need live quotes or whether end-of-day bars will do, because that single decision usually moves the cost by a full tier. Also test the stream under market-open load before launch, since a free allowance of 30 websocket symbols can feel generous in a demo and tight in a real watchlist.
Decide whether live quotes or end-of-day bars are required
Compare the delay on any streaming allowance offered
Check licence fees that apply once usage is external
Budgeting fundamentals, history and add-ons on EOD Historical Data and Tiingo
Fundamentals are the item most often missing from the first quote. EOD Historical Data sells its Equity analyst plan for the fundamentals feed and keeps end-of-day and intraday in other plans. Tiingo sells a fundamentals add-on separately, priced through sales. Financial Modeling Prep keeps earnings call transcripts and 13F data for Ultimate, and Massive prices partner datasets from Benzinga, TMX and ETF Global at a monthly fee each.
List every dataset your model reads, such as statements, estimates, news or filings, then price the full set across at least three vendors. The pages checked here do not describe export formats, so ask before you depend on any one source. Financial Modeling Prep lists bulk and batch delivery on Ultimate, which is the only bulk route confirmed in the research behind this ranking.
List every dataset the model reads before comparing prices
Ask whether fundamentals are inside or beside the base plan
Ask each vendor how data can be downloaded in bulk
What goes wrong most often when buying financial data apis software
Choosing a plan from the free-tier headline without converting its daily, monthly or per-minute unit to your own request volume.
Buying a personal-use plan for a product that shows quotes to customers, then discovering that display rights belong to a pricier licence.
Assuming one price covers prices, fundamentals and real-time quotes when vendors here split them into separate plans or add-ons.
Trusting a price page without checking the invoice, since Twelve Data's visible and structured figures differ and Alpha Vantage lists two prices for the same limits.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best financial data apis in 2026?
Tiingo leads our ranking of 12. Tiingo opens this ranking because a developer can read every step of the ladder: a free starter tier, a Power plan, and a Business plan for internal commercial use at a low monthly figure.
The vendor states no country and no ownership, and the fundamentals data costs extra through sales, so a model that needs balance sheets cannot be priced from the page alone.
Which financial data apis tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Twelve Data: Published monthly prices with a yearly discount; entry plan at no charge; higher tiers shown without prices.
EOD Historical Data: Published monthly and yearly prices in euros, a sandbox at no charge, separate business plans, one-month minimum.
Financial Modeling Prep: Four tiers with listed monthly and annual rates, a free basic tier, and trailing bandwidth caps.
FinancialData.net: Free daily allowance, then four paid plans with listed rates and a stated yearly discount.
Alpha Vantage: Published monthly prices for ten tiers named only by their request limit; free tier capped per day.
Databento: Published pay-as-you-go rates per gigabyte, a monthly Standard plan, annual-contract tiers sold through sales.
Intrinio: Published monthly price for individuals, business plan listed as a starting figure that rises, trial offered, enterprise custom.
Marketstack: Free tier with a small monthly allowance; paid rates listed monthly or yearly, overage rates per request.
Alpaca Market Data: Free market data plan plus one published monthly paid plan with unlimited calls and real-time options.
Massive: Published monthly prices per dataset, with a 20% annual saving on the stocks plan.
Tradier: Published monthly plan prices for three brokerage tiers, with per-trade commissions that fall as the plan rises.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free financial data apis tool?
FinancialData.net, Alpha Vantage, Marketstack, Alpaca Market Data have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these financial data apis vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 4 countries and 3 regions, Elsewhere 9, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1:
Tiingo: Not stated by the vendor.
Twelve Data: Singapore.
EOD Historical Data: France.
Financial Modeling Prep: Not stated by the vendor.
FinancialData.net: Not stated by the vendor.
Alpha Vantage: Not stated by the vendor.
Databento: Not stated by the vendor.
Intrinio: Not stated by the vendor.
Marketstack: Austria.
Alpaca Market Data: Not stated by the vendor.
Massive: Not stated by the vendor.
Tradier: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Tiingo?
Second is Twelve Data, which suits Developers who want per-minute credit allowances and a trial before paying. Third is EOD Historical Data, which suits Individual analysts who want a single euro price per data type.
Who should not buy Tiingo?
Teams needing balance sheet data priced before they contact anyone. The fundamental data add-on has no published price and is arranged with sales..
Makers of financial data apis products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.