Screenshot APIs turn a URL into an image that a program can store, embed or compare, so the buyer never runs headless browsers.
This guide ranks independent single-purpose vendors first and tests: capture cost beyond the included quota, page cleaning before the shot, file delivery, and what the vendor states about itself.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What screenshot apis software does
A screenshot API takes a web address in an HTTP request, renders the page in a real browser and returns an image or PDF, billed per capture or request.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether you can leave, and who each screenshot apis tool is built for. Smaller challengers are placed in the top three wherever the category has them; the well-known brands come after. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Metered captures with page cleaning, device sizes and seven language SDKs
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Screenshot APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Plans carry 2,000, 10,000 or 50,000 screenshots a month with limits of 40, 80 or 150 requests a minute, and extra captures cost less on each higher tier. Full-page mode scrolls to trigger lazy-loaded images, and Retina rendering and dark mode are offered.
Selectors can be hidden or clicked before capture. Servers sit with DigitalOcean in the United States and Hetzner in the European Union. Prices exclude VAT.
What stands out
Cookie banner blocking
Seven language SDKs
Per-capture overage
Where it costs you
Annual prices are not shown on the pricing page, only a two-months-free toggle.
The privacy policy names no registered address or country for the operator.
Right for
Developers who need clean captures of consent-heavy pages with predictable overage rates
Wrong for
Buyers who need a named legal entity before signing a contract
Not stated by the vendorThree published monthly tiers with a lower per-extra-capture rate on each step; 100 captures to try, no card
Chrome-based screenshots on AWS Lambda with S3 export on every plan
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Screenshot APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Output comes as PNG, JPEG or WebP, with full-page and mobile captures, a viewport size you set and capture of one element. Ad blocking and cookie banner hiding are listed, along with language and location settings.
Every plan includes full HTTPS endpoints, and client examples cover C#, Go, Java, JavaScript, PHP, Python and Ruby. The large pack of 100,000 captures is the top published step, and beyond it the price is negotiated.
What stands out
AWS Lambda rendering
S3 export on all plans
Single-element capture
Where it costs you
Only basic support comes with the cheapest paid tier, as support level is tied to the plan.
No country or company details appear on the pages read.
Right for
Teams that want screenshots written straight to their own Amazon S3 bucket
Wrong for
Anyone needing a stated country or registered company
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly tiers from a free plan of 100 captures up to a large pack; enterprise on request
Euro-priced screenshot plans with cached repeats and a refund window
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Screenshot APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Plans run from a starter of 100 screenshots a month up to 50,000, and the per-extra rate falls from 0.004 euro to 0.002 euro on the higher tiers.
Capture options cover desktop, tablet and phone devices, full-page, portrait or landscape, zoom, an optimise-for-print setting and conversion to PDF. Code samples are on GitHub. VAT may be added for non-business customers in the EU, depending on their country's tax rules.
What stands out
Euro pricing
Print-optimised capture
14-day cache
Where it costs you
Extra screenshots are counted at the end of each period and rounded down to groups of 1,000.
The operating entity is named but its country is not stated.
Right for
Buyers who want euro pricing, a refund window and no charge for repeats
Wrong for
Teams needing ad or banner blocking listed as a feature
Not stated by the vendorPublished euro tiers with a free starter plan; paid plans carry a 30-day refund guarantee
UK-registered capture service with clean mode, timestamps and many output formats
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Screenshot APIs in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingEurope
Output formats stretch from PNG, JPEG, SVG and AVIF to MP4, WEBM, PDF, Markdown and JSON, billed per successful render. Beyond single shots there is change detection, scheduled captures with an archive and CSV bulk processing through CaptureDeck.
Hosting can be US or EU infrastructure, or on-premise. A 99.99% uptime SLA is claimed. Business customers can apply for a three-month trial, and prices exclude VAT.
What stands out
Urlbox Ltd, England
Cryptographic timestamps
US, EU or on-premise
Where it costs you
Access starts with a seven-day trial on two plans, not a standing monthly quota.
The pricing page names no owner, and the SOC 2 and GDPR claims were not verified.
Right for
Compliance-minded teams that need archived, timestamped captures from a named UK company
Wrong for
Hobby projects that need a standing monthly allowance
United KingdomPublished monthly tiers with seven-day trials on two plans; business base fee plus a per-render rate; enterprise by contract
One API for screenshots, scrolling video, scheduled captures and extraction
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Screenshot APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The two smaller plans cap requests at 20 and 40 a minute. The homepage cites 75+ parameters, 20K+ ad-blocking rules and a 99.9% uptime claim.
Captures can go to S3, GCS or Wasabi, SDKs cover six languages, and Zapier, Make, n8n and a Google Sheets function serve no-code users. Visual regression testing from CI/CD is listed. The yearly toggle promises up to 17% off but shows no amounts.
What stands out
Scrolling video output
Cron-scheduled captures
MCP server listed
Where it costs you
The pricing page lists inconsistent figures for the same tiers.
The trial lasts seven days and covers 100 screenshots in total.
Right for
Teams wanting video, scheduling and bulk capture behind one key
Wrong for
Buyers who need a single unambiguous price list
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly tiers after a 7-day trial; yearly toggle without amounts shown
Pay-as-you-go captures from over 30 browsers, including mobile devices
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Screenshot APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Screens can be rendered at iPhone, iPad, Android and PC sizes, and more than 30 browsers are on offer. API options include POST data, referrer, cookies, scripts and headers, and website credentials can be supplied for pages behind a login.
Automated S3 upload takes one API call. Libraries exist for C#, Perl, PHP, Python, Ruby and Node.js, and wget, curl or fetch work from a command line. The copyright line runs from 2011.
What stands out
30+ browsers
Mobile device captures
S3 upload in one call
Where it costs you
No per-unit prices appear on the homepage, and the pricing page returned an error.
The homepage gives neither plan limits nor rate limits.
Right for
Testers who need captures across many browsers and real mobile screen sizes
Wrong for
Buyers who must compare a price list before signing up
United StatesPay-as-you-go with no monthly subscription; unit prices not shown on the homepage; try-out needs no card
Low-cost captures with 20 resolution presets and many export destinations
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Screenshot APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Capture can be full page or height-limited, with custom width and height, zoom and scale, and device simulation for PC, laptop, tablet and smartphone. A web version and an API are both listed.
The free plan has one dedicated worker and a seven-day full-access trial without a card, while the package tier raises that to ten workers and charges a fraction of a cent per extra shot. Dattoria is listed as a partner, not as owner.
What stands out
20 resolution presets
FTP, S3, Azure, Dropbox
Public URLs only
Where it costs you
Captcha-protected pages and password-protected pages cannot be captured.
The pricing page shows a dollar sign beside a currency selector, so the billed currency is unclear.
Right for
Small projects that need cheap bulk captures sent to FTP or Dropbox
Wrong for
Teams that must capture authenticated or captcha-protected pages
Not stated by the vendorPublished low-cost package beside a 100-screenshot free plan; enterprise by contact
Image-tag screenshots billed per thousand hits, with signed request support
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Screenshot APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Resizing and cropping are set in the address, such as a width of 100 or a crop of 600, and the default capture is 1200 by 1200. PDFs can be converted to an image, including a chosen page.
Access control uses referer checks or signed requests with an expiry time, with keys in a self-serve admin panel. The Good tier costs two dollars per 10,000 hits with a one-dollar minimum; Better costs one dollar per 10,000 with a 20-dollar floor.
What stands out
Embeds with an img tag
Signed requests
PDF page to image
Where it costs you
No rate limits, capture timeouts or uptime commitments are given.
The first response is an animated loading GIF, which can reach users before the real image.
Right for
Site owners who embed link thumbnails with a single image tag
Wrong for
Teams needing documented limits, an SLA or a named company
Not stated by the vendorA free tier of 1,000 impressions a month without sign-up; published per-hit tiers with monthly minimums above that
One API that returns screenshots, PDFs, metadata and insights for any URL
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Screenshot APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The screenshot option is switched on with screenshot=true on a call to the endpoint, and the homepage describes the service as one API for turning any URL into data, powered by real browsers.
It claims over 100 million requests a month and 340+ edge nodes. Enterprise can be hosted where you need it. Business billed annually gets a 10% discount. Dollar prices appear beside a line reading 'Start at €0', so the currency is unclear.
What stands out
Shared request allowance
340+ edge nodes
Metadata and PDF endpoints
Where it costs you
A screenshot is one option among several endpoints, so the allowance is shared with other calls.
Business and Enterprise prices are not published, and no owner or country is named.
Right for
Developers who also want link metadata and PDFs from the same API
Wrong for
Buyers who only want screenshot-specific controls and billing
Not stated by the vendorFree plan of 25 requests a day, one published paid tier billed by request volume, other tiers without a listed price
APILayer's snapshot API with caching, delays, encryption and worker-based tiers
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Screenshot APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Parameters cover PNG, JPEG and GIF output, full-height captures, thumbnail widths, preset or custom viewports, a capture delay, cache time with forced refresh, custom CSS and URL encryption, plus custom User-Agent and Accept-Language headers.
Captures can be exported to AWS S3 or an FTP path. The paid tiers scale workers from 10 to 40 as snapshot allowances rise from 10,000 to 75,000, with yearly billing available.
What stands out
Dedicated workers
Non-commercial free plan
Cache and forced refresh
Where it costs you
The free plan excludes commercial use, so any business test needs a paid plan.
Country and hosting location are not stated, and the owner is only implied by footer links.
Right for
Teams already holding an APILayer account who want one bill
Wrong for
Anyone wanting an independent vendor with a single product
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly tiers by snapshot volume and dedicated workers; free plan limited to non-commercial use
Long-running screenshots-as-a-service product from a New Hampshire company
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Screenshot APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Captures can be thumbnails or at 1:1 resolution, and the whole page height can be taken. The viewport is adjustable, the user agent and default language can be overridden, and custom CSS can be injected before the shot.
A shutter can be triggered from JavaScript, which lets a page signal when it is ready. Logos of Fastly, Heroku, AWS and DigitalOcean are shown as customers, not as integrations, and no price is given.
What stands out
JavaScript shutter control
User agent override
Custom CSS injection
Where it costs you
Plan prices were not visible on the homepage, so the cost stays unknown.
A Test Drive section appears but is not described as a trial.
Right for
Developers who want a long-established service with JavaScript shutter control
Wrong for
Buyers who need prices or integrations visible before starting
United StatesHomepage states no prices or plan terms; a separate plans page was not read
Renders images and PDFs from HTML templates as well as live URLs
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Screenshot APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Inputs are raw HTML and CSS, live URLs or reusable templates, and outputs are images, PDFs or website screenshots. A visual designer takes variables, a social card previewer is included, and Open Graph images generated from page metadata are cached.
The REST API has an OpenAPI specification, with MCP, ChatGPT/Codex and Claude integrations, scoped API keys and storage destinations. Enterprise adds a 99.95% uptime SLA and invoice billing.
What stands out
Template designer
Open Graph image caching
MCP integration
Where it costs you
Yearly prepayment buys billing credit that is nonrefundable.
The homepage names no company, owner, hosting or country.
Right for
Developers generating social cards and Open Graph images from reusable HTML templates
Wrong for
Buyers who only need to photograph existing public pages
Not stated by the vendorFree plan of 50 images a month, then a long published ladder of volume tiers with a per-thousand overage
A screenshot API takes a web address in an HTTP request, renders the page in a real browser and returns an image or PDF, billed per capture or request. What separates these products is rarely a feature. Work through the steps below.
01
Check who publishes a price
Only 10 of the 12 print a price; 2 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: ScreenshotOne, ApiFlash, Screenshot Machine, Urlbox, ScreenshotAPI.net, Pikwy, Thum.io, Microlink, Screenshotlayer, HTML/CSS to Image.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 3 countries: Elsewhere 9, North America 2, Europe 1.
How a screenshot API counts one capture before you buy 10,000
Metering is where this market hides its cost. ScreenshotOne counts screenshots and states a lower extra rate on each tier, from 0.009 dollars down to 0.004. Screenshot Machine does not charge repeated requests, caches results for 14 days and bills extras in groups of 1,000 rounded down. Thum.io counts hits, and Microlink counts any endpoint call, so a PDF or metadata lookup uses the same allowance as a screenshot.
Browshot sells pay-as-you-go with no monthly subscription, while Urlbox bills only successful renders. Estimate your monthly volume including retries and repeated pages, then price it under each rule, because the cheapest headline tier can lose once your traffic repeats the same URLs or fails often.
Count retries and repeated URLs in your monthly volume
Ask whether failed captures are billed
Compare overage rates, not only the entry price
Cleaning pages before the shot: banners, lazy images and logins
A raw capture of a modern page often shows a cookie wall, a chat bubble or half-loaded images. ScreenshotOne scrolls for lazy-loaded images, blocks ads, banners and chat widgets from a 50,000-rule database, and can click or hide selectors first. Urlbox offers clean captures that remove modals and banners.
ApiFlash detects a fully loaded page automatically and hides cookie banners, while Screenshotlayer offers a capture delay instead. Login pages split the field too: Browshot accepts website credentials, whereas Pikwy lists logins and captchas as out of scope. Run your five ugliest target pages through two vendors before choosing, since a rendering gap on your own sites matters more than any feature list.
Test pages with cookie walls and lazy-loaded images
Check whether login-protected pages are supported or excluded
Compare delay options with automatic load detection
Delivery: S3 buckets, FTP paths and the formats each API returns
Most buyers store captures themselves, so export options decide how much glue code you write. ApiFlash lists Amazon S3 export on every plan, and Browshot uploads to S3 in one API call. Screenshotlayer exports to S3 or an FTP path, ScreenshotAPI.net to S3, GCS or Wasabi, and Pikwy to FTP, S3, Azure or Dropbox.
Formats vary too: Screenshot Machine and Pikwy can produce PDF, ScreenshotAPI.net adds scrolling video clips, and Urlbox lists PNG, JPEG, SVG, AVIF, MP4, WEBM, PDF, Markdown and JSON. Thum.io instead serves the image straight from a URL in an img tag. Decide whether you need files in your own storage or only a link, since that choice rules out some vendors at once.
Confirm your storage target is on the export list
List the output formats your product needs, such as WebP or PDF
Decide between stored files and image-tag hot linking
Separating capture APIs from HTML renderers and URL-to-data services
Several names here overlap with products that solve a neighbouring problem. HTML/CSS to Image generates pictures from markup and templates, with screenshots as one input, and caches Open Graph images. Microlink returns metadata, PDFs and insights beside screenshots, and counts them as the same request.
ScreenshotAPI.net adds text and HTML extraction, scheduled captures and regression testing from a CI pipeline, and Urlbox adds change detection and archives. A buyer who only wants a picture of a URL pays for neighbouring features and learns a wider parameter set. Also check who the vendor is: Urlbox and Browshot name a company or location, while ApiFlash, Pikwy and Thum.io state no country. Match the product to the job first, then compare prices.
Decide if you need a picture, a template render or page data
Check what shares your request allowance
Note which vendors name a company and a location
What goes wrong most often when buying screenshot apis software
Pricing 10,000 captures a month from the entry tier alone, when Thum.io, Microlink and ScreenshotOne count hits, requests and screenshots differently.
Testing only your homepage, when the cookie walls and lazy images that spoil captures sit on deeper pages.
Expecting Pikwy to capture pages behind a login, when its own page lists logins and captchas as unsupported.
Choosing HTML/CSS to Image or Microlink for plain screenshots, then paying for features and request counting built for other jobs.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best screenshot apis in 2026?
Our ranking of 12 puts ScreenshotOne first. ScreenshotOne comes first because its pricing page states what a buyer needs: three monthly tiers, request-per-minute caps and a lower overage rate on each step up.
It blocks ads, cookie banners and chat widgets, and runs script and style injection before the shot. The operator is named only as the product, with no registered address, so a contract would need the vendor to supply one.
Which screenshot apis tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
ScreenshotOne: Three published monthly tiers with a lower per-extra-capture rate on each step; 100 captures to try, no card.
ApiFlash: Published monthly tiers from a free plan of 100 captures up to a large pack; enterprise on request.
Screenshot Machine: Published euro tiers with a free starter plan; paid plans carry a 30-day refund guarantee.
Urlbox: Published monthly tiers with seven-day trials on two plans; business base fee plus a per-render rate; enterprise by contract.
ScreenshotAPI.net: Published monthly tiers after a 7-day trial; yearly toggle without amounts shown.
Pikwy: Published low-cost package beside a 100-screenshot free plan; enterprise by contact.
Thum.io: A free tier of 1,000 impressions a month without sign-up; published per-hit tiers with monthly minimums above that.
Microlink: Free plan of 25 requests a day, one published paid tier billed by request volume, other tiers without a listed price.
Screenshotlayer: Published monthly tiers by snapshot volume and dedicated workers; free plan limited to non-commercial use.
HTML/CSS to Image: Free plan of 50 images a month, then a long published ladder of volume tiers with a per-thousand overage.
The remaining 2 sell by quote.
Is there a free screenshot apis tool?
ApiFlash, Pikwy, Thum.io, Microlink, Screenshotlayer, HTML/CSS to Image can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these screenshot apis vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 3 countries and 3 regions, Elsewhere 9, North America 2, Europe 1:
ScreenshotOne: Not stated by the vendor.
ApiFlash: Not stated by the vendor.
Screenshot Machine: Not stated by the vendor.
Urlbox: United Kingdom.
ScreenshotAPI.net: Not stated by the vendor.
Browshot: United States.
Pikwy: Not stated by the vendor.
Thum.io: Not stated by the vendor.
Microlink: Not stated by the vendor.
Screenshotlayer: Not stated by the vendor.
URL2PNG: United States.
HTML/CSS to Image: Not stated by the vendor.
Which screenshot apis tools can you host yourself?
Urlbox. The remaining 11 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of ScreenshotOne?
Second is ApiFlash, which suits teams that want screenshots written straight to their own Amazon S3 bucket. Third is Screenshot Machine, which suits Buyers who want euro pricing, a refund window and no charge for repeats.
Who should not buy ScreenshotOne?
Buyers who need a named legal entity before signing a contract. Annual prices are not shown on the pricing page, only a two-months-free toggle..
Do you make a screenshot apis product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.