Visual regression testing tools take screenshots of a page or component on every change and flag the pixels that moved.
This guide ranks them by cost as screenshot counts grow, whether baselines can leave with you, and how many browsers the cheaper plans cover. Smaller independent vendors come first, and frameworks that only bundle screenshot assertions sit lower.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What visual regression testing tools software does
Software that stores approved screenshots of pages or components, captures new ones after each code change, and highlights visual differences for a reviewer to accept or reject before release.
To rank visual regression testing tools we asked, in turn, how much work setup takes, what it truly costs, whether data can be taken back out, whether leaving is possible, and who the product suits. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Screenshot review for Playwright and Storybook, with a permanent hobby tier
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Visual Regression Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingEurope
Argos lists Playwright, Storybook, Vitest, Cypress, Puppeteer and WebdriverIO as topics in its repository, so one review tool can sit behind several test runners. The Hobby plan has no time limit and allows commercial use, which suits a small product team.
Pro costs $100 a month for 35,000 screenshots, and Storybook screenshots cost less per extra unit than ordinary ones. Enterprise adds a 99.99% uptime SLA, SAML SSO with SCIM and dedicated support.
What stands out
MIT-licensed repository
Cheaper Storybook screenshots
SAML SSO add-on
Where it costs you
Pro stops at 35,000 screenshots a month before overage of $0.004 each applies.
GitHub single sign-on costs $50 a month and SAML with SCIM $200 a month on top of the plan.
Right for
Teams with Playwright or Storybook suites wanting screenshot review at a stated monthly price
Wrong for
Buyers needing SAML sign-in without paying the add-on or Enterprise
FranceFree tier with no time limit; Pro published monthly with per-screenshot overage; 14-day Pro trial
Compares production and staging pages, starting at 500 screenshots monthly
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Visual Regression Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Diffy is built around comparing environments: the free plan names production and staging, and Pro adds multiple environments plus CI automation. Pro also lists screenshot modification, though the page does not explain what it changes.
Volume is chosen by the buyer on Pro, so the bill depends on how many pages get captured. The pricing page offers a monthly and annual toggle and says the annual plan saves about 16%.
What stands out
Production versus staging
One-month retention
Screenshot modification
Where it costs you
The monthly Pro price is not shown, only the annual one, so month-to-month cost cannot be compared.
History older than one month falls outside retention on the free plan.
Right for
Small site owners comparing a staging build against production on a tight budget
Wrong for
Teams that need more than six months of baseline history
Not stated by the vendorFree tier covering two environments; Pro published as an annual price with volume chosen by the buyer
Snapshot plans rising through five tiers, with browser coverage tied to price
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Visual Regression Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Snapshot allowances climb from 5,000 on the free plan to 50,000, 150,000 and 300,000 on the paid tiers, with Enterprise starting at 1,000,000. Starter and Growth both charge $0.006 for each snapshot over the allowance.
The cost question is browsers rather than volume: Chrome is the only engine until Starter, Safari arrives at Growth, and iOS Safari and Edge wait for Pro. Enterprise pricing goes through the sales team.
What stands out
Browser coverage by tier
Snapshot overage rate
Safari from Growth
Where it costs you
Testing Safari needs the Growth plan, and iOS Safari and Edge need Pro.
Pro costs $749 a month, a large step up from Growth at $399.
Right for
Front-end teams that need Firefox and Safari screenshots and can budget by tier
Wrong for
Teams needing iOS Safari coverage without a top-tier plan
Not stated by the vendorFree tier limited to Chrome; Starter, Growth and Pro published monthly, Enterprise quoted
Hosted visual tests for Storybook components from the maintainers of Storybook
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Visual Regression Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Chromatic's visual test looks for bugs in appearance, layout, fonts and colours, and the pricing page names TurboSnap and SteadySnap. Each plan lists its snapshots and the equivalent number of TurboSnaps.
Pro, at $399 a month, allows 85,000 snapshots and adds a custom domain. Enterprise adds SSO, custom Git integrations, priority support, an SLA and data retention. Extra snapshots on Starter cost $0.008 each.
What stands out
Storybook maintainers
TurboSnap equivalents
Chrome-only entry plan
Where it costs you
Cross-browser coverage starts at the $179 Starter plan, since the free plan is Chrome only.
Only hosted use is described, and an offline option is not mentioned.
Right for
Teams that already build and document their user interface components in Storybook
Wrong for
Projects without Storybook stories or needing a locally run service
Not stated by the vendorFree tier on Chrome only; Starter and Pro priced monthly, Enterprise by sales quote
Storybook screenshot tests that run in Docker or on simulators
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Visual Regression Testing Tools in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Loki's recommended setup renders Chrome inside Docker so that screenshots match across machines, which addresses the usual complaint that pixel tests differ between laptops and CI.
Other supported targets are a local Chrome application, an iOS simulator and Android emulators. The repository carries an MIT licence. Nothing on the site describes team approval steps, so review happens in whatever process the team builds around it.
What stands out
Docker rendering
iOS and Android targets
Storybook projects
Where it costs you
Storybook is the stated target, so pages outside Storybook are not covered by the description.
The site shows no plans, so any review workflow beyond the tool itself is not described.
Right for
Storybook teams that want local, Docker-rendered component screenshots without a subscription
Wrong for
Teams wanting a hosted dashboard for reviewing and approving changes
Not stated by the vendorMIT-licensed and open source; the site lists no plans or prices
Image-diff command line tool with S3 and Google Cloud Storage snapshot plugins
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Visual Regression Testing Tools in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
reg-suit sits at the comparison end of the workflow: it takes images, compares them with earlier snapshots and builds an HTML report. Storage is handled by plugins for S3 and Google Cloud Storage, while notifiers send results to GitHub, GitLab, Slack or Chatwork.
Because it runs as a CLI in CI services and on local machines, the repository mentions no account or plan. Cost is limited to whatever storage the team already pays for.
What stands out
HTML difference report
Chatwork notifier
Storage plugins
Where it costs you
The description covers comparing images and reporting, and names no screenshot capture step.
Snapshot storage depends on plugins, so a bucket must exist before the first run.
Right for
Teams with a storage bucket wanting image diffs reported to GitHub, GitLab or Slack
Wrong for
Teams wanting a hosted service with browser capture included
Not stated by the vendorNo prices or paid plans in the repository, which is open source with an MIT licence
Configurable screenshot comparison with Docker rendering and JUnit reports
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Visual Regression Testing Tools in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Created and maintained by Garris Shipon with contributors, BackstopJS keeps its work on your own machine or CI runner. Scenarios can be scripted with Playwright or Puppeteer, and rendering in Docker reduces differences between operating systems.
Three report formats are listed: an in-browser UI, CLI output and JUnit. The same README asks for a new maintainer, so the price is zero but the plan for ownership is open.
What stands out
Chrome Headless rendering
JUnit reports
Maintainer wanted
Where it costs you
BackstopJS asks for a new maintainer or owner on its repository page, so future updates are not assured.
It runs locally and no hosted service is mentioned, so the team supplies its own CI and report storage.
Right for
Developers who want a scriptable local screenshot tool with JUnit output for CI
Wrong for
Buyers who want vendor-backed support or a hosted dashboard
Not stated by the vendorOpen source, MIT licence, and no paid plan listed in the repository
Visual AI checkpoints priced by pages or components, with trial option
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Visual Regression Testing Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Pricing is counted in checkpoints, not screenshots: the Starter plan allows 100,000 component or 1,000 page checkpoints, so the same money buys far fewer full-page checks. Professional starts at 150 active pages or 1,500 components and Enterprise at 350 pages.
Named on the homepage are Playwright and Storybook support, self-healing tests, root cause analysis and an MCP server. Deployment in your own cloud is offered on three clouds.
What stands out
Visual AI
Checkpoint-based pricing
Own-cloud deployment
Where it costs you
Starter is billed annually, so the first commitment is a full year before real usage is known.
Professional and Enterprise start at 150 and 350 active pages, and their prices are hidden behind sales contact.
Right for
Teams with large page or component volumes who want AI-based comparison
Wrong for
Small teams wanting a monthly price they can leave quickly
Not stated by the vendorStarter published annually by checkpoint; Professional and Enterprise quoted after a conversation; trial offered
Visual Reviews bundled into Cypress Cloud on every plan, including Starter
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Visual Regression Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Visual Reviews are included on all plans, so the question is volume. Starter allows 500 test results and 100 prompt executions a month for 10 users. Team overage is $6 per 1,000 test results and Business is $5.
Enterprise features unlock for 30 days at no charge, and an open-source plan with a higher monthly limit can be requested. The Cypress App is described as free and open source.
What stands out
Visual Reviews included
Test-result metering
30-day Enterprise unlock
Where it costs you
Starter stops at 500 test results a month, which a busy suite can use up fast.
Billing counts test results rather than screenshots, so comparing it with snapshot-priced rivals needs a conversion.
Right for
Teams already writing Cypress tests who want visual review in the same dashboard
Wrong for
Teams on other test runners wanting standalone screenshot review
Not stated by the vendorFree Starter tier; Team and Business published monthly or yearly, with overage per 1,000 test results
Screenshot assertions built into Playwright tests, with tolerance settings
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Visual Regression Testing Tools in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
The comparison is one line in a test, await expect(page).toHaveScreenshot(), and the first run writes the reference. Re-running with --update-snapshots replaces those references.
The threshold runs from 0, strict, to 1, lax, with a default of 0.2, and maxDiffPixels is unset until the team sets it. A stylePath stylesheet hides elements that change between runs. Because host system, browser and hardware all affect rendering, references have to be made per platform.
What stands out
toHaveScreenshot assertion
Per-platform snapshots
Maintained by Microsoft
Where it costs you
Because snapshot names carry browser and platform, each combination produces its own reference image.
The pages read describe no approval screen, so reviewing changes happens in the repository or CI.
Right for
Teams already on Playwright that want screenshot checks with no extra vendor
Wrong for
Reviewers who want a dashboard to approve image changes together
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under the Apache-2.0 licence; no pricing or trial applies
AI Visual Testing inside the Katalon platform, priced per seat annually
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Visual Regression Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Visual keywords can be dragged into existing Katalon Studio scripts, and checks cover several browsers, devices, operating systems and viewports. Baselines are collected automatically while tests run, and ignored zones remove areas that change.
The Professional plan costs $1,800 per seat for a year and comes with parallel execution and unlimited AI sessions. Hosting for the visual testing product is not stated; only Enterprise lists private cloud or on-premises deployment.
What stands out
Ignored zones
Per-seat annual price
Visual keywords in Studio
Where it costs you
Pricing is per seat, so cost rises with every tester added.
The free plan is limited to local record and playback, and no page says that plan includes visual checks.
Right for
QA teams already scripting in Katalon Studio who want visual keywords added
Wrong for
Developers wanting screenshot tests inside their own code repository
Not stated by the vendorFree plan for local record and playback; Professional published per seat per year; Enterprise quoted; 30-day trial
Snapshot testing inside the Sauce Labs browser and device cloud
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Visual Regression Testing Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Visual testing sits inside a wider testing cloud: Selenium, Appium, Playwright, Cypress, Espresso and XCUITest are listed integrations, with Jenkins, CircleCI, Azure and GitHub Actions for CI.
Features named are snapshot testing, before-and-after views, end-to-end tests across browsers and resolutions, component testing, Figma integration and WCAG-aligned checks. Plans advertise unlimited users, and Enterprise is priced on request. The 500 snapshot allowance is the number to test against your suite.
What stands out
500 snapshots on cloud plans
Figma integration
WCAG-aligned checks
Where it costs you
Included visual testing stops at 500 monthly snapshots on the device cloud plans.
The plans that include visual testing start at $149 a month billed annually.
Right for
Teams already testing on Sauce Labs browsers and devices who want screenshots added
Wrong for
Teams buying only screenshot comparison with a snapshot-based price
Not stated by the vendorPublished device-cloud plans include 500 monthly snapshots; trials on three plans; Enterprise quoted
How to choose visual regression testing tools software
Software that stores approved screenshots of pages or components, captures new ones after each code change, and highlights visual differences for a reviewer to accept or reject before release. A feature table will not settle this choice. These steps will.
01
Start with pricing transparency
The split is 8 published against 4 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Argos, Diffy, Happo, Chromatic, Applitools, Cypress Visual, Katalon Visual, Sauce Visual.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
The 12 companies behind this list are established in 2 countries, by region Elsewhere 11, Europe 1. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Open source here means Argos, Loki, reg-suit, BackstopJS, Playwright Visual. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
How visual regression testing tools meter screenshots, checkpoints and test results
These tools bill in different units, and the unit decides the invoice. Argos and Happo count screenshots or snapshots, each with a 5,000 monthly allowance on its free plan. Chromatic counts snapshots and also quotes the equivalent in TurboSnaps. Applitools counts checkpoints, where Starter covers 100,000 component checkpoints but only 1,000 whole-page ones.
Cypress Visual meters test results, 500 a month on Starter, and not images at all. Before comparing prices, multiply pages by browsers by viewport widths and by runs per month, then convert that figure into each vendor's unit. A suite that looks small in screenshots can look large in test results, and the overage rate then sets the real bill.
Convert your monthly page, browser and viewport count into each vendor's unit
Ask whether a checkpoint means a whole page or a single component
Find the overage rate per extra snapshot before the first invoice
Browser coverage in visual regression testing is often a pricing tier, not a setting
Chromatic's free plan runs Chrome only, and Starter is where Safari, Firefox and Edge appear. Happo follows the same logic in finer steps: Chrome on the free plan, Firefox on Starter, Safari on Growth, then iOS Safari and Edge on Pro. If most of your visitors arrive on Safari, a tool that tests only Chrome will pass pages that look wrong to them.
Playwright Visual names each snapshot with the browser and platform, so every engine you test gets its own reference image to maintain. Argos lists Playwright, Cypress and Storybook among its supported tools, which leaves the browser choice with your test runner. Match the plan to the browsers your customers use, not the one your developers prefer.
List the browsers your analytics show before choosing a plan
Check which tier adds Safari and which adds iOS Safari
Confirm a Chrome-only plan is acceptable for your audience
Why flaky diffs decide the cost of BackstopJS, Loki and Playwright Visual
Rendering differs across host systems, browsers and hardware, which is why Playwright Visual puts the browser and platform into every snapshot name. BackstopJS integrates Docker rendering and Loki recommends Chrome in Docker for the same reason: a reference made on a laptop should match one made in CI. Tolerance settings help too.
Playwright's threshold defaults to 0.2 and maxDiffPixels stays unset until you choose a value, while Katalon Visual offers ignored zones for areas that change between runs. Set these choices deliberately in the first week, because otherwise the first month goes on approving noise, and developers learn to ignore the report that was meant to protect them. A tight tolerance on an unstable render produces a wall of red that nobody reads.
Render baselines and test runs in the same container image
Hide clocks, ads and animations with ignored zones or a stylesheet
Decide the tolerance before approving any baseline
Self-run comparison or hosted review in visual regression testing
The choice turns on who stores baselines and for how long. reg-suit builds an HTML report and uses plugins to put snapshots in S3 or Google Cloud Storage, so your own bucket holds the history. BackstopJS keeps its work local, and its repository asks for a new maintainer.
Hosted services remove that chore but set their own retention: Diffy keeps one month on its free plan and six months on Pro, and Chromatic lists data retention under Enterprise. Argos, Happo and Chromatic take storage off your hands, so ask each how baselines can be exported before you commit. Weigh the storage bill and the exit path against the time your team would spend on upkeep.
Ask how long a vendor keeps baselines on the plan you would buy
Check who owns the storage bucket or service holding your images
Ask how baselines can be exported if you leave
What goes wrong most often when buying visual regression testing tools software
Approving the first baseline without checking it against a clean production page locks existing defects into every later comparison.
Choosing a Chrome-only plan and then learning that the Safari bug reports come from paying customers.
Counting screenshots once instead of per browser and viewport, so a 5,000 allowance disappears within a handful of runs.
Assuming a tool with no licence fee costs nothing when someone still has to run Docker images, storage buckets and the approval routine.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best visual regression testing tools in 2026?
Our ranking of 12 puts Argos first. Argos is run by Smooth Code SAS, a company incorporated in France and registered in Paris. The free plan gives 5,000 screenshots a month and allows commercial use, while Pro adds 35,000 with a per-screenshot rate beyond that.
The repository is open source under the MIT licence. GitHub and SAML sign-in are priced add-ons, so single sign-on raises the bill.
Which visual regression testing tools publish their pricing?
8 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Argos: Free tier with no time limit; Pro published monthly with per-screenshot overage; 14-day Pro trial.
Diffy: Free tier covering two environments; Pro published as an annual price with volume chosen by the buyer.
Happo: Free tier limited to Chrome; Starter, Growth and Pro published monthly, Enterprise quoted.
Chromatic: Free tier on Chrome only; Starter and Pro priced monthly, Enterprise by sales quote.
Applitools: Starter published annually by checkpoint; Professional and Enterprise quoted after a conversation; trial offered.
Cypress Visual: Free Starter tier; Team and Business published monthly or yearly, with overage per 1,000 test results.
Katalon Visual: Free plan for local record and playback; Professional published per seat per year; Enterprise quoted; 30-day trial.
Sauce Visual: Published device-cloud plans include 500 monthly snapshots; trials on three plans; Enterprise quoted.
4 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free visual regression testing tool?
Argos, Diffy, Happo, Chromatic, Cypress Visual, Katalon Visual can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these visual regression testing tool vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 11, Europe 1:
Argos: France.
Diffy: Not stated by the vendor.
Happo: Not stated by the vendor.
Chromatic: Not stated by the vendor.
Loki: Not stated by the vendor.
reg-suit: Not stated by the vendor.
BackstopJS: Not stated by the vendor.
Applitools: Not stated by the vendor.
Cypress Visual: Not stated by the vendor.
Playwright Visual: Not stated by the vendor.
Katalon Visual: Not stated by the vendor.
Sauce Visual: Not stated by the vendor.
Which visual regression testing tools are open source?
Which visual regression testing tools can you host yourself?
Katalon Visual. The other 11 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Argos?
Second is Diffy, which suits small site owners comparing a staging build against production on a tight budget. Third is Happo, which suits Front-end teams that need Firefox and Safari screenshots and can budget by tier.
Who should not buy Argos?
Buyers needing SAML sign-in without paying the add-on or Enterprise. Pro stops at 35,000 screenshots a month before overage of $0.004 each applies..
Vendors who think their visual regression testing tools product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.