Crazy Egg vs Smartlook
Crazy Egg counts tracked pageviews, heatmap reports and recordings, and prints those limits for four annual plans, so you can size a plan before you talk to anyone. Smartlook's pricing page shows no plan prices and sends buyers to an account manager, which leaves the meter it counts unknown. A free plan is named on that page until 30 September 2027, with limits the page does not state. The other split is ownership: Smartlook says it has joined Cisco and continues inside Splunk Observability Cloud, while Crazy Egg names only Crazy Egg, Inc.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
you want to read the monthly caps for pageviews, heatmap reports and recordings before you buy, and a hard stop is better than a surprise bill. You also want A/B tests and unlimited domains and team members on every plan.
you already work with Cisco or Splunk and are happy to get plan details from an account manager. You also want to try a free plan now, knowing its limits are not printed on the page.
Crazy Egg and Smartlook side by side
| Crazy Egg | Smartlook | |
|---|---|---|
| Our heatmap and session replay tool rank | #3 of 14 | #14 of 14 |
| Established in | Not stated by the vendor | Not stated by the vendor |
| List price, 7 November 2026 | Four annual plans (Starter, Plus, Pro, Enterprise) after a 30-day trial; no overage charges | No plan prices shown; ask an account manager; a Free plan is named until 30 September 2027 |
| Free tier | — | Yes |
| Open source | — | — |
| Self-hostable | — | — |
| Built for | Owners of a few key pages who want heatmaps and simple tests | Teams already in the Cisco or Splunk world who accept quoted pricing |
| Not for | Teams that need long recording history on a small budget | Buyers who need a stated country or published plan prices |
Both are reviewed in full in our heatmap and session replay tool ranking: Crazy Egg and Smartlook.
Where they differ
Crazy Egg 4 · Smartlook 0 · open 2- 01
Heatmap reports against an unstated meter
Crazy Egg treats the heatmap report as its core unit and lists the allowance per plan: 5 reports and 50 recordings on Starter, 75 and 1,000 on Plus, 100 and 5,000 on Pro, 200 and 10,000 on Enterprise. Tracked pageviews run from 5,000 to 1,000,000 a month across the same four tiers. The Smartlook pages we read do not show what it counts or any recording allowance, so a comparison of volume is only possible on Crazy Egg's side.
Edge: Crazy Egg
- 02
Reaching the monthly limit
On Crazy Egg there are no overage charges. When a plan hits its monthly limit, collection pauses and resumes on the first of the next month, so the invoice stays fixed but you lose data for the gap. Smartlook's pricing page does not describe what happens at a limit, and its free plan is said to carry limitations that the page does not spell out. A stated behaviour, even a blunt one, is easier to plan around.
Edge: Crazy Egg
- 03
Quotes, trials and a free route
Crazy Egg offers a 30-day free trial and bills all four plans annually, which means a mid-year change of mind has to wait. Smartlook shows no plan prices and refers buyers to an account manager or its support address. It does name a free plan, with access said to continue until 30 September 2027, and no free trial is mentioned. Crazy Egg gives numbers and a trial; Smartlook gives a free option with an end date.
Depends on the buyer
- 04
Testing and surveys on the plan
Crazy Egg states that web analytics, conversion tracking and surveys are unlimited on every plan, while A/B testing, calls to action and error tracking are unlimited from Plus upward. Unlimited website domains and team members apply on all four tiers, and Enterprise adds SAML SSO. The pages we read for Smartlook do not list features by plan, so no like-for-like feature check is possible, and the round goes to the vendor that publishes the list.
Edge: Crazy Egg
- 05
Where each vendor says it is based
Crazy Egg's terms are offered by Crazy Egg, Inc., and neither the terms nor the about page gives a country of establishment. Its about page says customers trust over 449,000 websites and mentions two co-founders. Smartlook likewise states no country and gives no registered address on the pricing, FAQ or about pages we read. Neither vendor answers the location question, so a buyer who needs a stated country must ask both vendors directly before signing anything.
Depends on the buyer
- 06
Independent company or Cisco product
Smartlook's about page says the company has joined Cisco and that the product continues within the Digital Experience Analytics suite inside Splunk Observability Cloud, with no date given. That suits a team already buying Splunk, but it means the product's direction sits with a large owner. Crazy Egg's pages name only Crazy Egg, Inc. and two co-founders, and mention no parent company. If standalone ownership matters to you, Crazy Egg's pages show less entanglement with any parent.
Edge: Crazy Egg
When neither fits
If you need published prices and a stated country of establishment from the same vendor, neither page here supplies both. Mouseflow and Hotjar are two other heatmap and replay tools worth putting beside these two before you decide.
Crazy Egg or Smartlook: questions
3 answersWhat happens if my Crazy Egg site outgrows its plan mid-month?
Collection pauses at the monthly limit and resumes on the first of the next month. Crazy Egg states there are no overage charges, so no extra bill arrives. The cost is a gap in your heatmap and recording data until the reset.
Is Smartlook free to use at the moment?
Its pricing page names a Smartlook Free plan with access said to continue until 30 September 2027. The limits of that plan are not stated on the page. No free trial is mentioned for paid plans, which are quoted through an account manager.
Which of the two tells you where it is based?
Neither does on the pages we read. Crazy Egg's terms name Crazy Egg, Inc. without a country, and Smartlook's about page gives no country or registered address. Smartlook does state that it has joined Cisco, which tells you the owner but not a location.
Sources
Checked 7 November 2026- Crazy Egg pricing: plan names, monthly pageview, report and recording caps, trial, annual billing, pause at limit, features by plan.
- Crazy Egg terms: the contracting entity is Crazy Egg, Inc., with no country given.
- Crazy Egg about: 449,000 websites and two co-founders named, no location.
- Smartlook pricing: no plan prices, account manager route, Free plan until 30 September 2027.
- Smartlook about: Cisco and Splunk Observability Cloud statement, no country or address.