Expensify vs Pleo

Expensify starts with a free Submit plan for single employees and charges per member once a company wants approvals, cards or accounting sync. Pleo has no free plan and prices per user in euro from the first seat, with card limits and fees tied to the plan. Expensify is a US operator; Pleo's legal entities sit in Copenhagen.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

01

Expensify and Pleo side by side

ExpensifyPleo
Our expense management rank#8 of 15#5 of 15
Established inUnited StatesDenmark
List price, 4 November 2026Submit free for individuals; Collect USD 5 per unique member per month (USD 10 for older organisations); Control USD 18 annual or USD 36 pay-per-useNo free plan; EUR 8 (Start, monthly), EUR 14 (Build) and EUR 18 (Optimise) per user per month, annual billing for Build and Optimise
Free tierYes—
Open source——
Self-hostable——
Built forA team that needs receipt scanning and nothing moreA team where employee adoption decides whether the numbers are real
Not forA finance function that wants European card issuingA finance function that needs granular pre-approval

Both are reviewed in full in our expense management ranking: Expensify and Pleo.

02

Where they differ

Expensify 3 · Pleo 1 · open 0
  1. 01

    What costs nothing

    Expensify's Submit plan is free for individual employees, covering receipts, mileage and reports, but leaves out approvals, payments, company cards and accounting integrations. Pleo lists no free plan, only a try-it-free button whose length the page does not state. If you want a zero-cost start, Expensify gives it.

    Edge: Expensify

  2. 02

    Entry price for a company

    Pleo's small-business Start plan is EUR 8 per seat each month with monthly billing, Build EUR 14 and Optimise EUR 18 on annual billing with three users minimum. Expensify's Collect is USD 5 per unique member for newer organisations, USD 10 for older ones, and Control is USD 18 to USD 36. Expensify is cheaper at the bottom.

    Edge: Expensify

  3. 03

    Cards and international costs

    Pleo publishes card foreign exchange fees of 2.00%, 1.75% and 1.49% across its three plans, plus EUR 8 or EUR 6 per international payment. Expensify says its Control rates can drop to USD 9 or USD 18 with its own card and a discount of up to 50%. Pleo is more explicit about per-transaction costs.

    Edge: Pleo

  4. 04

    Accounting connections

    Expensify's pricing page names QuickBooks Online, NetSuite, Xero, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Desktop and FinancialForce, each with default accounts. The Pleo page we read lists no integrations. For a finance team that must see the ledger link before buying, Expensify is the one that shows it.

    Edge: Expensify

03

When neither fits

If you need pre-approval depth or several legal entities, look at Payhawk. If you want a European spend platform with a different pricing model, Spendesk is the other one to price.

04

Expensify or Pleo: questions

3 answers
Is Expensify free?

Only the Submit plan, and only for individual employees. Approvals, payments, company cards and accounting integrations need a paid plan.

Does Pleo have a free plan?

No. Each plan has a try-it-free button, but the pricing page does not state how long the trial lasts.

Which one publishes prices in euro?

Both do. Pleo lists EUR per user, and Expensify lists fixed regional prices in GBP, EUR, AUD and NZD, for example Control annual at EUR 16 per included member.

—

Sources

Checked 4 November 2026
—

More comparisons