Writers weigh up a Scrivener alternative when the licence model, the platform split or the compile step stops fitting how they work. Some want a single browser tool that follows them across devices, some want planning or world-building modules, and some only need a cleaner route from manuscript to ebook. Others want a free tool, or an assistant that drafts alongside them.
Short answer: The first three alternatives to Scrivener in our novel writing software ranking are yWriter, Dabble and Novlr. Challengers take places 1 to 3 here. Big brands follow in the order of our category ranking. Choose yWriter if you work on Windows and want a no-cost scene organiser. Every one of the 11 products below comes from Best Novel Writing Software in 2026, with a note on how it departs from Scrivener.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
Pricing: Licence per platform; 30-day trial; desktop prices shown only at checkout
Established in: United Kingdom
Built for: Long-form authors who want drafting, research and compiling in one local project
Not for: Writers who want guided plotting templates or built-in cloud collaboration
01
Why buyers look past Scrivener
01
Three platforms, three separate purchases
Literature & Latte sells Scrivener per platform: the macOS and Windows licences are separate, and the iOS and iPadOS app costs US$23.99 on its own. A bundle for the two desktop systems exists at a discounted price the page does not state. A writer who drafts on a laptop, edits on a tablet and sometimes borrows a PC pays for each.
02
Version numbers differ between systems
The overview page lists Scrivener 3.5.2 for macOS, 3.1.6 for Windows and 1.2.4 for iOS, and the macOS build asks for macOS 11 or newer. Android is not mentioned. Anyone who mixes systems, or who wants one set of behaviour everywhere, will notice that the three editions do not move in step.
03
Sync and co-writing are your own arrangement
The page mentions moving projects between devices through Dropbox or iTunes transfer and does not describe collaboration with co-authors. Real-time shared drafting, comments and track changes are things people then look for in browser-based writing tools, several of which are listed below.
you want an assistant that proposes prose and edits, not only an organiser
#12
03
What each one does differently
1
yWriter
Not stated by the vendor · Published
yWriter is a free Windows program written by novelist Simon Haynes around chapters, scenes, characters and locations. Each scene carries viewpoint, goal, conflict and outcome fields, and it exports RTF, LaTeX, EPUB and Mobi. It works offline. The Mac and mobile versions are made by another developer and cost money.
Switch from Scrivener if you work on Windows and want a no-cost scene organiser.
Dabble Writer runs in the browser and puts a Plot Grid, goals, co-authoring and versioning on its entry plan, with comments and track changes from the middle tier. It has monthly, annual and lifetime pricing, and a 14-day trial. If you stop paying, manuscripts stay readable and exportable but not editable.
Switch from Scrivener if you want a cloud draft you can share with an editor or co-author.
Novlr starts with a free plan of two projects including sync, focus mode, sprints and analytics. Starter allows ten projects with 30-day version history, and Studio removes the project limit and adds a proofreader and backups to Google Drive and Dropbox. Tiers are billed yearly, and one lifetime offer is listed.
Switch from Scrivener if you want a simple sync-everywhere editor that you can try without paying.
Campfire is a module-based tool from Campfire Technology LLC, with separate areas for characters, timelines, maps, magic systems, languages and cultures. The free tier stops at a 25,000-word manuscript, and paid access lifts that cap, monthly, annually or as a lifetime option. Monthly payments are not refunded.
Switch from Scrivener if you write fantasy or science fiction and need reference material built into the project.
Plottr, made by Fictional Devices, arranges scenes and character arcs on a drag-and-drop timeline and does not draft the prose itself. The base tier is a Windows and Mac desktop app that works offline. Cloud sync, the browser app and collaboration need the Pro tier. Annual, monthly or lifetime options exist.
Switch from Scrivener if you want to plan structure visually and keep drafting in a separate editor.
Atticus joins a manuscript editor to a book formatter, so one file can leave as EPUB, PDF or DOCX. The vendor describes a single payment, no monthly fees and free updates, and it runs on Windows, Mac, Linux and Chromebook. Version control is shown as coming soon. A 30-day money-back guarantee stands in for a trial.
Switch from Scrivener if you want to pay once, write on any system and replace the compile step with a formatter.
Vellum is a Mac-only formatter for finished manuscripts. One edition covers ebooks, a dearer one adds paperbacks across 24 trim sizes plus large print, and the download is free to use before payment. It requires macOS 13 or newer. It does not plan or draft, and the page we read gives no refund terms.
Switch from Scrivener if you already have a manuscript and want polished ebook and print layouts.
Novelcrafter, from Germany, keeps characters and places in a Codex and drafts scenes from beats against it. Pricing is monthly in tiers with an annual discount, plus a 21-day trial. The cheapest tier has no AI, and AI arrives on the next one through your own model key, so model fees come on top.
Switch from Scrivener if you want your story notes to feed an AI drafting assistant under your control.
Reedsy Studio is free for core writing and formatting, with a chapter sidebar, daily goals, track changes and real-time collaboration. Templates export EPUB and print-ready PDF. Outlining tools, writing stats and dark mode sit in two monthly tiers, and a 30-day trial covers them. It is tied to the Reedsy marketplace for hiring editors.
Switch from Scrivener if you want free browser writing with live collaboration and a route to hired editors.
Ulysses, published by Ulysses GmbH & Co. KG in Leipzig, is a Markdown editor for Mac, iPad and iPhone, also offered through Setapp. Long work is split into sheets and groups, with goals and exports. It is a monthly or yearly subscription with no trial on the pricing page we read, and it has no Windows or Android version.
Switch from Scrivener if you live entirely on Apple devices and prefer a quiet Markdown workspace.
Sudowrite generates, rewrites, describes and expands passages using its own Muse and Ballad models and models from other providers. It sells credit-based monthly plans and offers a trial without a card. Developmental edits and beta reads need the middle plan, and credits roll over only on the top one. Cancelling removes AI access but keeps projects.
Switch from Scrivener if you want an assistant that proposes prose and edits, not only an organiser.
yWriter: It is free to download and use, tracks viewpoint, goal, conflict and outcome per scene, and exports RTF, LaTeX, EPUB and Mobi.
02
You want to share a draft with an editor or co-author
Dabble: Co-authoring and versioning sit on its entry plan, with comments and track changes from the middle tier.
03
You only need to format a finished manuscript
Atticus: One payment covers an editor and formatter that export EPUB, PDF or DOCX, on Windows, Mac, Linux and Chromebook.
04
You build a large invented world
Campfire: Separate modules cover characters, timelines, maps, magic systems, languages and cultures, with a free tier capped at 25,000 words.
05
You want AI that drafts from your story notes
Novelcrafter: Its Codex feeds scene drafting, with AI arriving on the second tier through your own model key.
04
When Scrivener is still the right choice
Scrivener stays the right choice when you want one project that holds chapters, notes, PDFs and web pages together, works offline and compiles to Word, PDF, EPUB and Kindle formats. The 30-day free trial makes it cheap to test before buying, and the licence is bought rather than rented. If your complaint is the compile dialog, spend an afternoon on its templates first, since that is where most of the learning curve sits.
05
What moving off Scrivener involves
01
Scrivener projects do not open elsewhere
A project is a folder of linked documents plus metadata, so the structure does not carry over by itself. Compile or export the draft to Word or RTF, then rebuild chapters in the new tool and check that footnotes, comments and snapshots made it across. Keep the original project as your archive.
02
Rebuild the compile step before the deadline
Compile presets are specific to Scrivener. Run a short test chapter through the new tool's EPUB or PDF export first, and compare headings, scene breaks and front matter, so that a late format surprise does not hit a launch date.
06
Questions about replacing Scrivener
6 answers
Does Scrivener have a subscription?
The pages we read describe licences bought per platform: macOS, Windows, and iOS and iPadOS at US$23.99.
The desktop prices are shown only at checkout, and a 30-day free trial is offered. A bundle for macOS and Windows is sold at a discounted price that the page does not give.
Is there a free Scrivener alternative?
yWriter is free on Windows. Reedsy Studio's core writing and formatting are free, Novlr has a free plan with two projects, and Campfire has a free tier capped at a 25,000-word manuscript.
Which alternative works in a browser?
Dabble, Novlr and Reedsy Studio are cloud editors, and Plottr's browser app needs the Pro tier. Browser tools avoid the sync step between devices, at the cost of depending on the vendor's service for access.
What can I use if I only need to format a finished book?
Vellum on a Mac and Atticus on Windows, Mac, Linux or Chromebook both turn a manuscript into ebook and print layouts. Neither is meant for planning a novel.
Which options include AI help?
Sudowrite is built around AI drafting, and Novelcrafter adds AI on its second tier through your own model key. Plottr's base tier lists no AI. Check each plan's credit or key terms, because fees are separate.
Can I write on Android?
The Scrivener overview page does not mention Android. Browser-based tools such as Dabble, Novlr and Reedsy Studio are reached through a browser, so check their pages for mobile support before relying on it.
—
Sources
Checked 6 November 2026
Scrivener overview: Versions 3.5.2, 3.1.6 and 1.2.4, system requirements, compile formats, Dropbox and iTunes syncing, free trial.
Scrivener store: iOS US$23.99, separate licences per platform, discounted bundle, 30-day free trial.
Scrivener FAQs: Each licence covers one platform, iOS sold separately.
Reedsy Studio: Free core writing and formatting, collaboration, paid tiers, EPUB and PDF export.
Plottr pricing: Desktop base tier, Pro for cloud and browser, lifetime option, 30-day trial.
Atticus: One-time payment, platforms, money-back guarantee, EPUB, PDF and DOCX.
Vellum: Mac only, two editions, 24 trim sizes, macOS 13, free download.
Ulysses pricing: Subscription, Apple platforms, Setapp, Ulysses GmbH & Co. KG.
yWriter: Free on Windows, scene fields, export formats, other developers' Mac and mobile versions.
Founder of The Knowledge Engineers and of 2 Steps Ahead, an AI search visibility agency. Editorially responsible for every page on this site; research and drafting are AI-assisted.
Checked and edited by Sebastiaan Smits, last on 7 November 2026. The editorial process explains the method.