Best Version Control Software in 2026

Version control software tracks every change to a codebase, lets more than one person work on it without overwriting each other, and gives a team a pull request or merge request as the unit of review.

This guide ranks the platforms on what actually separates them once the demo is over: what a team of five to fifty actually pays once seats and CI minutes are added, how much of your existing automation carries over on day one, and who is really allowed to see and hold your source code.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. How that works.

In short

What version control software does

Version control software records every change made to a codebase over time, lets multiple people work on the same code without overwriting each other, and provides the pull or merge request workflow most teams use to review changes before they ship.

01

The top three

11 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether you can leave, and who each version control tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests: Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.

11tools reviewed
11publish a price
9have a free tier
6countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

11 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1BeanstalkUnited StatesFree account for 1 user and 1 repository; paid plans from $15 per month for 5 users and 10 repositories, published, rising to $200 per month for 200 usersYesHosted Git and Subversion with built-in deployment to your own servers—
#2GitoroDenmarkFree for up to 5 full members; Team plan €15 per month for up to 10 full members, published, excl. VATYesDanish-built Git hosting and CI/CD, with AI agents treated as first-class teammates—
#3Perforce P4 (formerly Helix Core)United StatesFree up to 5 users and 20 workspaces; P4 Cloud, hosted by Perforce, $39 per user per month for teams up to 100, published; self-managed Scale and Platform plans quotedYesVersion control for very large binaries and monorepos, built for games and hardware teams—
#4GitLabUnited StatesFree tier, capped at 5 users per private group on GitLab.com; Premium $29 per user per month billed annually, published; Ultimate custom pricedYesOne platform for repositories, pipelines, security scanning and planning—
#5GiteaNot disclosed by the vendorFree and open source to self-host; self-hosted Enterprise shown at $9.50 per user per month (list $19) on a one-year commitment, published; Gitea Cloud priced separatelyYesLightweight, self-hosted Git service that reads GitHub Actions workflow syntax—
#6Azure DevOpsUnited StatesBasic plan $6 per user per month after 5 free users; Basic + Test Plans $52 per user per month, published—Microsoft’s repos, boards, pipelines and artifacts bundle, with 5 free users—
#7GitHubUnited StatesFree plan with unlimited public and private repositories; Team $4 and Enterprise from $21 per user per month for the first twelve months, publishedYesThe default code host, with the largest ecosystem of Actions, integrations and hireable developers—
#8BitbucketAustraliaFree up to 5 users; Standard $3.65 per user per month; Premium $7.25 per user per month, publishedYesGit hosting built into the Atlassian suite, with Jira issue linking—
#9CodebergGermanyFreeYesFree, non-profit Git hosting for open source projects, run by a German association—
#10ForgejoGermanyFree and open source under GPL v3 or later; no paid editionYesCommunity-governed hard fork of Gitea, backed by the non-profit Codeberg e.V.—
#11SourceHutNetherlands€4, €8 or €12 a month excluding VAT, chosen according to your means, published; payment optional for Git hosting but required for CI during the public alpha—Minimalist Git hosting built around email patches instead of pull requests—

Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.

04

The 11 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Beanstalk · 2. Gitoro · 3. Perforce P4 (formerly Helix Core) · 4. GitLab · 5. Gitea · 6. Azure DevOps · 7. GitHub · 8. Bitbucket · 9. Codeberg · 10. Forgejo · 11. SourceHut

#1 Beanstalk

Hosted Git and Subversion with built-in deployment to your own servers

Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Version Control Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Beanstalk is one of the few hosted services that still supports Subversion alongside Git, and it deploys straight to your own servers over FTP or SSH without a separate CI tool. It is a small, quiet company next to GitHub or GitLab, with a correspondingly smaller integration ecosystem.

What stands out
  • Git and SVN in one place
  • Built-in deployment
  • Simple flat pricing
United StatesFree account for 1 user and 1 repository; paid plans from $15 per month for 5 users and 10 repositories, published, rising to $200 per month for 200 users

#2 Gitoro

Danish-built Git hosting and CI/CD, with AI agents treated as first-class teammates

Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Version Control Software in 2026.

Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingEurope

Gitoro combines repositories, pull requests, GitLab-compatible pipelines and code review, hosted exclusively on EU infrastructure, with service accounts and MCP tooling so AI coding agents work through the same branch-protection rules as a human contributor.

It is a young vendor with no published founding date or team page, and it is SaaS only, with no self-hosted edition.

What stands out
  • Free read-only collaborators
  • GitLab-compatible CI/CD syntax
  • Built-in AI agent tooling
DenmarkFree for up to 5 full members; Team plan €15 per month for up to 10 full members, published, excl. VAT

#3 Perforce P4 (formerly Helix Core)

Version control for very large binaries and monorepos, built for games and hardware teams

Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Version Control Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Where Git chokes on gigabytes of art assets or a single repository shared by thousands of engineers, Helix Core, now sold as Perforce P4, is the standard, especially in game studios.

It is a genuinely different tool from Git, so a team has to learn a new mental model. Perforce publishes a price only for its hosted P4 Cloud plan, $39 per user per month for up to 100 users; self-managed licences above the free tier are quoted.

What stands out
  • Built for huge binary files
  • Monorepo at scale
  • Free for small teams
United StatesFree up to 5 users and 20 workspaces; P4 Cloud, hosted by Perforce, $39 per user per month for teams up to 100, published; self-managed Scale and Platform plans quoted

#4 GitLab

One platform for repositories, pipelines, security scanning and planning

Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Version Control Software in 2026.

Free tierOpen sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America

GitLab answers version control, CI/CD, a container registry, security scanning and issue planning in one product under one permission model, and goes further on built-in security scanning than the other hosts here.

Every tier, including the free one, can be self-managed on your own infrastructure on an open source core. The breadth is more than a small team will use, and every GitHub Actions workflow becomes a GitLab CI pipeline written from scratch.

What stands out
  • Open source core
  • Self-hostable
  • CI/CD included
United StatesFree tier, capped at 5 users per private group on GitLab.com; Premium $29 per user per month billed annually, published; Ultimate custom priced

#5 Gitea

Lightweight, self-hosted Git service that reads GitHub Actions workflow syntax

Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Version Control Software in 2026.

Free tierOpen sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere

Gitea installs as one binary and a database, runs on hardware too small for GitLab, includes a package registry, and its Actions are designed to be compatible with GitHub Actions, so automation mostly carries over.

SAML single sign-on and audit logs sit in a paid Enterprise edition. The company behind it, CommitGo, Inc., publishes no address or place of business on its own site, which matters for the hosted Gitea Cloud product rather than for a self-hosted instance.

What stands out
  • Single binary
  • GitHub Actions-compatible
  • Very light on hardware
Not disclosed by the vendorFree and open source to self-host; self-hosted Enterprise shown at $9.50 per user per month (list $19) on a one-year commitment, published; Gitea Cloud priced separately

#6 Azure DevOps

Microsoft’s repos, boards, pipelines and artifacts bundle, with 5 free users

Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Version Control Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

Azure DevOps bundles repos, boards, pipelines, test plans and artifact feeds, and the first five users cost nothing, which makes it a cheap starting point for a Microsoft shop. Outside Azure and the .NET ecosystem the tooling feels bolted on rather than native, and teams report the interface as more cluttered than GitHub’s or GitLab’s.

What stands out
  • 5 free users
  • Deep Microsoft ecosystem ties
  • Boards and pipelines included
United StatesBasic plan $6 per user per month after 5 free users; Basic + Test Plans $52 per user per month, published

#7 GitHub

The default code host, with the largest ecosystem of Actions, integrations and hireable developers

Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Version Control Software in 2026.

Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America

GitHub is the market leader for a reason: the largest ecosystem of Actions, integrations and hireable developers who already have an account. It has no open-source core, and its self-hosted edition, GitHub Enterprise Server, comes only with the Enterprise plan, which is what keeps it behind GitLab here despite the market share.

What stands out
  • Largest developer ecosystem
  • GitHub Actions and Marketplace
  • Free plan with unlimited private repos
United StatesFree plan with unlimited public and private repositories; Team $4 and Enterprise from $21 per user per month for the first twelve months, published

#8 Bitbucket

Git hosting built into the Atlassian suite, with Jira issue linking

Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Version Control Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific

For a team already paying for Jira and Confluence, Bitbucket closes the loop: commits link to issues automatically and the free tier covers teams of up to five outright.

Paid plans now include a container registry, Bitbucket Packages, and a self-managed Data Center edition is sold through Atlassian's sales team. Outside the Atlassian ecosystem the pull request UI and marketplace feel thinner than GitHub's, and migrating a large history out is more work than moving it in.

What stands out
  • Jira integration
  • Free for small teams
  • Pipelines built in
AustraliaFree up to 5 users; Standard $3.65 per user per month; Premium $7.25 per user per month, published

#9 Codeberg

Free, non-profit Git hosting for open source projects, run by a German association

Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Version Control Software in 2026.

Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingEurope

Codeberg is git hosting, issues, a package registry and CI, the last granted on request, run by a registered German non-profit rather than a company, and it costs nothing regardless of size. It only accepts projects under a free and open source licence, so it replaces the public side of GitHub and nothing proprietary.

What stands out
  • Run by a non-profit association
  • No cost at any size
  • Open source projects only
GermanyFree

#10 Forgejo

Community-governed hard fork of Gitea, backed by the non-profit Codeberg e.V.

Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Version Control Software in 2026.

Free tierOpen sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingEurope

Forgejo exists because Gitea's domains and trademark passed to a for-profit company in 2022. Its governance is defined by its contributors, with Codeberg e.V., a non-profit, holding the domains and providing resources.

It has been a hard fork since early 2024 and is licensed under GPL v3 or later, so the two projects now develop separately: its Actions are familiar to GitHub Actions users but not designed to be compatible, so check the current release notes before assuming parity with Gitea.

What stands out
  • Community governance
  • Self-hosted
  • Hard fork of Gitea
GermanyFree and open source under GPL v3 or later; no paid edition

#11 SourceHut

Minimalist Git hosting built around email patches instead of pull requests

Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Version Control Software in 2026.

Open sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingEurope

SourceHut rejects the pull-request model entirely: patches arrive by email and get reviewed on a list, the way the Linux kernel has always worked. It is registered in the Netherlands, is fully open source and can be self-hosted, and prices itself on conscience rather than per seat.

It remains in public alpha with no SSO, audit logs kept per account rather than per organisation, and a genuine retraining cost for a team raised on GitHub's UI.

What stands out
  • Mailing-list code review
  • No JavaScript required
  • Pay-what-you-can pricing
Netherlands€4, €8 or €12 a month excluding VAT, chosen according to your means, published; payment optional for Git hosting but required for CI during the public alpha
06

How to choose version control software

Version control software records every change made to a codebase over time, lets multiple people work on the same code without overwriting each other, and provides the pull or merge request workflow most teams use to review changes before they ship. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.

  1. 01

    Decide whether you need a published price

    11 of the 11 tools here publish what they cost; the other 0 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Beanstalk, Gitoro, Perforce P4 (formerly Helix Core), GitLab, Gitea, Azure DevOps, GitHub, Bitbucket, Codeberg, Forgejo, SourceHut.

  2. 02

    Decide how much the jurisdiction matters

    These 11 vendors are established in 6 countries across 4 regions (North America 5, Europe 4, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.

  3. 03

    Consider whether you want the source

    5 of these are open source: GitLab, Gitea, Codeberg, Forgejo, SourceHut. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.

Your pipeline files, not your repositories, set the cost of moving

Repositories move between hosts in an afternoon; automation does not. Every GitHub Actions workflow has to be rewritten from scratch as a GitLab CI pipeline, whereas Gitea Actions are designed to be compatible with GitHub Actions, Forgejo Actions are familiar but not designed to be compatible, and Gitoro accepts GitLab-compatible pipeline syntax.

Beanstalk sidesteps the question for simple projects by deploying straight to your own servers over FTP or SSH without a separate CI tool.

  • Count your workflow files and the marketplace actions they call before shortlisting a host with a different syntax.
  • Run your slowest pipeline on the candidate host and compare the minutes it consumes.
  • Ask which secrets, runners and package registries have to be recreated by hand.

Self-hosting divides this page, and weight matters as much as licence

GitLab, Gitea and Forgejo can run on your own infrastructure at no licence cost, while GitHub Enterprise Server and Bitbucket Data Center are paid self-managed editions and Gitoro is SaaS only.

The options are not equal in effort: Gitea installs as one binary and a database on hardware too small for GitLab. Forgejo is a community-governed hard fork of Gitea, developed separately since early 2024 and diverging feature by feature.

  • Name the person who will patch, upgrade and back up the instance before choosing to self-host.
  • Compare the current Forgejo and Gitea release notes instead of assuming the two match.
  • Size the server GitLab needs against the one you have.

Git is the wrong tool for some repositories

Perforce Helix Core exists because Git chokes on gigabytes of art assets and on a single repository shared by thousands of engineers, which is why game studios standardise on it; the price is learning a different mental model.

Beanstalk still hosts Subversion alongside Git. SourceHut keeps Git but swaps pull requests for patches reviewed by email, a real retraining cost.

  • Measure your largest binary files and total repository size before assuming Git hosting will cope.
  • If legacy Subversion repositories exist, decide whether to convert them or host them as they are.
  • Have two developers send and review a patch by email before committing to SourceHut.

The suite you already pay for often picks the host

Bitbucket links commits to Jira issues automatically, and Azure DevOps bundles boards, pipelines, test plans and artifact feeds for a Microsoft shop; both feel thinner outside their own ecosystems.

Seat prices also hide steep steps: Azure DevOps rises from $6 to $52 per user with Test Plans, GitLab from $29 for Premium to a custom price for Ultimate. Codeberg costs nothing but accepts open source projects only.

  • Find the tier that holds the test or security features you need and price that one.
  • Count collaborators who only read code, since Gitoro does not charge for read-only collaborators.
  • Confirm your project's licence qualifies before planning around Codeberg.

What goes wrong most often when buying version control software

  • Treating a change of host as a repository move when rewriting the CI pipelines is the real work.
  • Standing up self-managed GitLab for a five-person team that a single Gitea binary would have served.
  • Forcing gigabytes of art assets into Git when the studio workflow calls for Perforce Helix Core.
  • Planning proprietary work on Codeberg, which only accepts projects under a free and open source licence.
07

Frequently asked questions

8 answers
What is the best version control software in 2026?

Beanstalk leads our ranking of 11. Beanstalk is one of the few hosted services that still supports Subversion alongside Git, and it deploys straight to your own servers over FTP or SSH without a separate CI tool.

It is a small, quiet company next to GitHub or GitLab, with a correspondingly smaller integration ecosystem.

Which version control tools publish their pricing?

11 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:

  • Beanstalk: Free account for 1 user and 1 repository; paid plans from $15 per month for 5 users and 10 repositories, published, rising to $200 per month for 200 users.
  • Gitoro: Free for up to 5 full members; Team plan €15 per month for up to 10 full members, published, excl. VAT.
  • Perforce P4 (formerly Helix Core): Free up to 5 users and 20 workspaces; P4 Cloud, hosted by Perforce, $39 per user per month for teams up to 100, published; self-managed Scale and Platform plans quoted.
  • GitLab: Free tier, capped at 5 users per private group on GitLab.com; Premium $29 per user per month billed annually, published; Ultimate custom priced.
  • Gitea: Free and open source to self-host; self-hosted Enterprise shown at $9.50 per user per month (list $19) on a one-year commitment, published; Gitea Cloud priced separately.
  • Azure DevOps: Basic plan $6 per user per month after 5 free users; Basic + Test Plans $52 per user per month, published.
  • GitHub: Free plan with unlimited public and private repositories; Team $4 and Enterprise from $21 per user per month for the first twelve months, published.
  • Bitbucket: Free up to 5 users; Standard $3.65 per user per month; Premium $7.25 per user per month, published.
  • Codeberg: Free.
  • Forgejo: Free and open source under GPL v3 or later; no paid edition.
  • SourceHut: €4, €8 or €12 a month excluding VAT, chosen according to your means, published; payment optional for Git hosting but required for CI during the public alpha.

The other 0 quote per organisation.

Is there a free version control tool?

Beanstalk, Gitoro, Perforce P4 (formerly Helix Core), GitLab, Gitea, GitHub, Bitbucket, Codeberg, Forgejo offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.

Where are these version control software vendors established?

In 6 countries across 4 regions: North America 5, Europe 4, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1.

  • Beanstalk: United States.
  • Gitoro: Denmark.
  • Perforce P4 (formerly Helix Core): United States.
  • GitLab: United States.
  • Gitea: Not disclosed by the vendor.
  • Azure DevOps: United States.
  • GitHub: United States.
  • Bitbucket: Australia.
  • Codeberg: Germany.
  • Forgejo: Germany.
  • SourceHut: Netherlands.
Which version control tools are open source?

GitLab, Gitea, Codeberg, Forgejo, SourceHut.

Which version control tools can you host yourself?

Gitoro, GitLab, Gitea, GitHub, Forgejo, SourceHut. The other 5 are hosted by the vendor only.

What should you use instead of Beanstalk?

Gitoro and Perforce P4 (formerly Helix Core) are the next two on this page.

Gitoro is for Danish-built Git hosting and CI/CD, with AI agents treated as first-class teammates; Perforce P4 (formerly Helix Core) is for Version control for very large binaries and monorepos, built for games and hardware teams.

Who should not buy Beanstalk?

Beanstalk is one of the few hosted services that still supports Subversion alongside Git, and it deploys straight to your own servers over FTP or SSH without a separate CI tool.

It is a small, quiet company next to GitHub or GitLab, with a correspondingly smaller integration ecosystem.

—

Tools reviewed

11 products
—

Head to head

All comparisons
—

Replacing a product on this page

All alternatives
—

More Data & IT software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

If your version control software product belongs among these 11, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.

Suggest a product →