Linear vs Shortcut
Linear and Shortcut both track bugs next to feature work for software teams, but they draw their limits in different places. Linear's free plan allows unlimited members yet stops at 250 issues and 2 teams, while Shortcut's free plan stops at 10 users, one workspace and one workflow. Shortcut's Team plan costs $8.50 per user per month against $10 for Linear's Basic, and its top listed plan is $12 against $16. Linear states a San Francisco address and US hosting, whereas Shortcut names no country at all in the pages we read.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
you want unlimited free members and can live with 250 issues, or you will pay for Basic to remove that cap. You also want Zendesk and Intercom intake on Business and a vendor that states a US address and US hosting.
you have ten people or fewer and want a free plan that does not cap issues, or you need a lower per-seat price on paid tiers. You also accept that the vendor does not state its country of establishment.
Linear and Shortcut side by side
| Linear | Shortcut | |
|---|---|---|
| Our bug tracking software rank | #6 of 12 | #7 of 12 |
| Established in | United States | Not stated by the vendor |
| List price, 6 November 2026 | Yearly billing only: Basic $10, Business $16 per user per month; free plan capped at 250 issues | Team $8.50 and Business $12 per user per month; free for up to 10 users; 14-day trial |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Open source | — | — |
| Self-hostable | — | — |
| Built for | Software product teams that want a quick, opinionated tracker for bugs and planning | Small to mid-sized product teams who track bugs inside sprints |
| Not for | Teams that need a self-hosted install or flat pricing | Teams that need a self-hosted tracker or a stated jurisdiction |
Both are reviewed in full in our bug tracking software ranking: Linear and Shortcut.
Where they differ
Linear 2 · Shortcut 3 · open 1- 01
The 250-issue ceiling versus the 10-user ceiling
Linear's free plan is open to unlimited members but holds only 250 issues, 2 teams and 10 MB uploads, which a busy bug queue can fill. Shortcut's free plan caps people instead: up to 10 users, 1 workspace, 1 workflow and 5 GB of storage. A small team with a long backlog fits Shortcut's free tier better. A larger team with few open issues fits Linear's.
Edge: Shortcut
- 02
Seat cost at the middle and top tier
Linear lists Basic at $10 and Business at $16 per user per month, both on yearly billing only. Shortcut lists Team at $8.50 and Business at $12 per user per month. At each step the Shortcut figure is lower, and a 30-person team would see the gap grow with every seat. Both vendors quote Enterprise on request, so the top end cannot be compared by number.
Edge: Shortcut
- 03
Trying it before paying
Shortcut offers a free 14-day full-access trial with no credit card, and trial teams of 10 or fewer can simply carry on free. Larger teams must subscribe once the trial ends. Linear's pricing page mentions no trial, so testing means its free plan within the 250 issue limit. Shortcut also lists free membership for qualifying nonprofits and 12 months free for startups under 50 employees.
Edge: Shortcut
- 04
Bug intake from customers
Linear's Business plan adds Slack and email intake, guest accounts, Triage Intelligence, and Zendesk and Intercom integrations. Shortcut's Team plan lists access to all integrations, naming GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Slack, Figma, Miro, Notion, Sentry, Zendesk and Zapier. Shortcut names Sentry for error reports, a link Linear's page does not list. Linear is more specific about triage tooling on its pricing page.
Depends on the buyer
- 05
Single-sign-on and audit controls
Linear offers Google SSO on every plan, advanced authentication from Business, and SAML, SCIM, IP restrictions, audit log and HIPAA compliance on Enterprise. Shortcut lists SSO and SCIM on Enterprise, along with premier support SLAs and a dedicated Slack channel. It also lists encryption in transit and at rest, with SOC 2 Type II available by request. Linear's page is more detailed about security tiers.
Edge: Linear
- 06
Who stands behind the product
Linear's terms name Linear Orbit, Inc. under Delaware law, and its privacy policy gives a San Francisco address and says services are hosted in the United States. Shortcut's terms name Shortcut Software Company under New York law, founded in 2014, and gives no address, country or hosting location. Linear is clearer about where data sits, which matters when you have to answer a customer's questionnaire.
Edge: Linear
When neither fits
If you need a self-hosted tracker or a flat price that does not grow per seat, neither fits. Plane is the open option in this category to look at first, and Redmine is the long-established self-hosted choice.
Linear or Shortcut: questions
3 answersCan a team of twelve stay on a free plan with either tool?
Linear's free plan has unlimited members, so twelve people can use it until the 250-issue cap is reached.
Shortcut's free plan stops at 10 users, so twelve people need Team at $8.50 per user per month. Which one costs less over a year depends on how fast your issue count grows.
Does Linear's Business plan add anything for bug reports from customers?
Yes, on the pricing page it lists Slack and email intake and the Zendesk and Intercom integrations. Guest accounts also begin on Business. Basic does not include these.
Which of the two says where its data is hosted?
Linear's privacy policy states services are hosted in the United States. Shortcut's pricing page mentions encryption in transit and at rest but does not state a hosting location. Shortcut's terms and about page name no country of establishment.
Sources
Checked 6 November 2026- Linear pricing: Free plan limits, Basic $10, Business $16, intake and Zendesk/Intercom on Business, SSO and SAML tiers.
- Linear terms: Linear Orbit, Inc. as provider under Delaware law.
- Linear privacy policy: San Francisco address and United States hosting.
- Shortcut pricing: Free tier ceiling, Team $8.50, Business $12, 14-day trial, nonprofit and startup offers, integrations, encryption note.
- Shortcut about page: Founded 2014; no address or country shown.
- Shortcut terms: Shortcut Software Company under New York law, no country of establishment.